Ripley, WV 
Parchment Valley Winter Lake DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #4
4 / 258ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Basket



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Another Safari

1    2/5/2013   3/17/2013
Review By: knettles
Played: 62  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 4.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/6/2014
Pros: -Actually nice homemade baskets.
-Layout isn't too horrible (even a throw over a lake.)
Cons: -NO TEES! Some people say they're there, but I couldn't find anything, and I looked pretty hard.
-Only 9 holes.
Other Thoughts: I have a hard time liking a course no matter how good the layout is when there aren't any tees. To me, it just doesn't count as a course. In my mind, safari golf isn't disc golf. It's just throwing discs around. If they put tees in (or ones you could actually find), this wouldn't be too bad of a 9 hole. Sure, Cedar Lakes is definitely better, but it'd be worth the trip given a little extra work.

 

1    10/6/2011   11/6/2011
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 106  Reviewed: 103  Exp: 5.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a fine 9 hole course located on a Baptist Conference Center's property. It is very secluded and quiet.

Other Pros:

- risk/reward with water in play
- restrooms nearby
- some elevation used
- distances are beginner friendly
- seasonal camping on site
- friendly staff
Cons: The tees are very tough to find. Besides trying to find the tees, I don't really have any other complaints. I don't really have many memorable holes played either.
Other Thoughts: I actually camped on site right next to the course. There are showers nearby. My overall experience was great.

If you are passing through the area and need some inexpensive camping this is a great place for you. Otherwise, the course isn't worth a special trip.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/15/2011   7/20/2011
Review By: thewishman
Played: 67  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Quiet, no other players
Camp staff are very nice
Cons: Could not find a single tee.
Other Thoughts: Was nice to find a course in the area
Would have enjoyed playing from the proper tee
The course map doesn't reflect what I saw - some holes have been moved

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Its fun.

5+    3/20/2010   3/23/2010
Review By: Darth Bob
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 9 holes go by pretty quick. But a nice, quiet park and most that plat there are great people. Not to much walking up and down hills!!!
Cons: Beware the disc eating pines on 5 & 6!!!! On a Baptist Confrence Centers property, NO "refeshing beverages." Fine by me.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    12/1/2009   12/1/2009
Review By: airforcechck
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.2 Years
Pros: The area is big and spacious. They do have long and short tees. There are tree and a lake to throw across (if you shoot the long tees many discs have been lost in the water) There is picnic tables and a grill out there.
Cons: They haven't gotten the tees well marked yet. The tees are pieces of wood that get buried occasionally and one of the tees the wood marker is missing.
Other Thoughts: There is a Reverend that live in a brick house right next to hole one, so if you see an orange car he might be available to show you where the location of the tees are. It really helps having someone who has played this course before.

 Parchment Valley DGC

2-4    7/18/2009   7/20/2009
Review By: Dixie Boy
Played: 10  Reviewed: 6
Pros: Pretty area. The grass was well taken care of. Had the whole place to myself.
Cons: Tee boxes where hard to find. They are just pieces of wood embedded in the ground. No signs or directions as to where the next tee or basket is located.
Other Thoughts: Not many other courses around. A place to play and practice.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.