Course Extinct
Fredericton, NB 
Sunset Strawberry U-Pick DGC Share
Uploaded By: josser Hole #2 (Taken 6/2009)
-- / --   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Long Tee (basket to the right is hole six)



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  Best Course in New Brunswick Right Now!

5+    6/21/2010   6/22/2010
Review By: DiscForLife
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Quick to play/can be played with buzz or roc
- Good accuracy practice
- Now open to play all year
Cons: - Narrow/shortish fairways
- No Baskets
- Only nine holes
Other Thoughts: This is a fun little course. The locals have done some redesigning in order to make it playable throughout the berry season and have been doing some creative trimming in order to open the fairways up a bit and make some variation in the kind of throw you need for each hole. Most holes are still pretty tight but being that they're relatively short opening them up too much would take away any of the challenge. This course can be played with just a buzz or roc but there is room to bust out a T-Bird or Leopard for most holes. The super fast drivers aren't really needed for berry season layout.

Missing signs have been replaced/painted as have the targets so the course is a little easier to find your way around. I posted a copy of the new map in the links section.

I think this course has potential and will keep improving as things get cleaned up and tweaked.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/21/2009   12/1/2009
Review By: DaKineSurfer32
Played: 407  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 13.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - it's one of the only courses in New Brunswick
- it's a quick play, and a fun course
- the homemade tone poles are made from piping for a stove, very creative and economical
- dual tees (shorts are marked by small numbered stakes in the ground, longs are marked by neon orange stakes)
Cons: - no baskets, just tones
- no concrete tees, and poor markings that can be difficult to spot if you're unfamiliar with the course
- no bathrooms
- navigation can be difficult because of missing tee signs, or faded numbers on the tones, but using the pictures from this site you should be able to navigate fairly easily
- it is a 15+ minute drive off of the TCH, so don't try and go there during rush hour
Other Thoughts: When I played, I ran into Steve? the course designer, who has move to Fredericton from the Ottawa area in the last year, and created this course because there wasn't anything to play there. I think that's a great idea, and he did the best he could with what he had to work with. He's also a really nice, helpful guy, so if you see him on the course you should say hi and talk disc golf with him for a little while.

For the tricky parts to navigate, hole 1 starts just down the path from where you enter the park. After hole 2, the closest tone to you is hole 6, the one that you see farther down the road is 3. After 3, hole 4 is the first hole that plays into the woods, then you take a long path off to the right of the tone to find hole 5 (about a 100m walk). Holes 7-9 play around the far edge of the leftmost strawberry fields (looking at the fields from the park entrance)

Sunset Strawberry was a fun course, but not much of a challenge. It's nice to see disc golf growing in other areas of the world, and Steve has done a good thing starting it in Fredericton. This course is far from spectacular, but it is better than not having a course, and if you want to say you played in NB it's worth a stop.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Ok course if you're really aching to play

1    6/11/2009   6/11/2009
Review By: josser
Played: 20  Reviewed: 8
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Two sets of tees for each hole (even though I couldn't always find both tees). The far tees are usually quite a bit more challenging than the close tees because of the very narrow fairways.
Cons: Although there is a mix of narrow fairways and wide open holes, each hole of a certain type is too similar to the others. Holes 3, 4, 5 and 6 are all almost identical with a very tight fairway with a basket to the left at the end. Other than hole 9, the wide-open holes are all pretty similar to each other. The tone-poles make the sound of trash cans instead of the musical "ding" I typically expect of tone poles.
Other Thoughts: Since the narrow fairways are all on wide paths, I got lots of practice with my overhead rollers. And I spent just about as much time looking for my discs in the bushes as I did actually playing. Not a course that I would play again if I'm ever in the area again.

The map shows approximately where the far tees are located and it is tough to track down all the tees and holes without it.

Don't forget your bug spray!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

10/31/2007   3/19/2008
Review By: CanadaDisc
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fredericton finally has a disc golf course! This is a step in the right direction towards getting a permanent course in the area. The course is laid out well considering the land is primarily a strawberry field.
Cons: Not real baskets, just the tubes. No maintenance staff, just one guy, Steve Seabrook, doing all the work to put it together. The course is only available for use from August until late November.
Other Thoughts: Great to see a course in Freddy. The course is decent considering the lack of financial resources and the land type.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.