Sedro Woolley, WA 
NSRA DGC Share
Uploaded By: kidtree Hole #1
4 / 540ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket: Tucked under trees at the junction of two old farm lanes.



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Interesting, but dangerous

2-4    7/20/2013   7/23/2013
Review By: jawildey
Played: 19  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Love the course layout. Lots of different distances, obstacles and elevation changes. All of the "art" targets also have actual baskets near them now, so it's up to your group which ones you want to shoot at.
Cons: Blackberries everywhere. After two rounds here I came out with extremely bloody shins. I definitely recommend jeans and gloves unless you're a lot more accurate than I am. #6 has a six foot wide fairway. Even a skilled player would have a hard time hitting that with the thirty foot elevation drop thrown in. At least that hole doesn't have the blackberries. It has other thorny plants, but those are easier to avoid.
Other Thoughts: Hole #13 would be much better if they mowed the top off the second hill. For shorter throwers, that would give you a target to try to land one on top of the hill so you would be throwing back down towards the basket. As it is, you have to try blind land your disc somewhere in the winding fairway or throw 100 feet at a time to follow it directly.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

unique to this area

5+    3/10/2013   3/27/2013
Review By: porchmike
Played: 25  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 11.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: unusually open course for this region. many long holes where you can really let 'er rip, as opposed to the super-tight woodsy, short nature of most courses in this region.

they recently placed real baskets on every hole. some "art targets" are still in place, but there are real targets next to them.

great use of the gentle elevation the terrain provides- in general the course is flat, but the designers used the rolling terrain to maximum effect.

cool old buildings on the property.

limited interference from other park users, with the exception of hole 1.

Cons: the teepads suck, like super bad. i assume there are plans to improve them now that they have real targets on every hole. it would be a great place for real-deal tourneys then.

the briars are insane, so don't throw your disc into them!!
Other Thoughts: this place is such a nice change of pace from the other courses in the area since it has such big distance. come here to stretch your arm out and watch 'em fly! with new teepads, this would be a very worthy spot for big tournaments.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    10/25/2012   10/26/2012
Review By: Ranger Rick
Played: 41  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 2.1 Years
This review was updated on 4/13/2013
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great variation in hole lengths and elevation. Really makes you think about shot placement when shooting around dog-legs and over gullies. Some very long holes that made me work harder on my driving! *****edit*****New baskets have replaced all of the art baskets, so now it is a complete course!
Cons: No sign at 17 tee box. Most tee boxes were unusable, and had to throw from the grass next to it. Hard to follow without a map first time out, but once you play it a few times it's not a problem. *******edit*****blackberries and brambles make the out of bounds areas treacherous! Bring a machete, or at least some garden clippers in case of an errant throw.
Other Thoughts: This place has the potential to really be something special with some new (concrete) tee boxes and better signage this place would be the gem of the Northwest! *****edit*****The parks department has put up a donation box, so it looks like they are taking an increased interest in the course, and money collected is going to be used to upgrade the park!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

A place i call home

5+    1/2/2012   1/3/2012
Review By: northwestblazinfire
Played: 11  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.1 Years
This review was updated on 4/13/2014
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautifully secluded at the foothills of the cascade mountains this epic course will give even the most skilled players a great round of disc golf. This course is LONG and has a variety of different looks that require different vastly different touch. The change of elavation shots are by far my favorite shots. This is a course where big arms will get a chance to show there stuff

Edit. Holes 2,3,7,8,9,10,11,17 redesigned!!! TEE PADS ON APRIL 12Th!
Cons: No water fountains so bring drink,
no trash other then at the start so pack it in pack it out!!!
The brambles are a work in progress.
Playing the hero at this course will likely have you watching your favorite disc vanish in the thickets
.In spring/summer we have got to get together this next year and make sure it dosnt get overgrown like it has.
It is not a course very newbie friendly, in fact i believe you have to have a certain level of skill to really appreciate its difficulty.
Other Thoughts: Signs and benches are on their way. I was a part of the work party that put the tee pads in and the discgolf community is really behind this course. B tier's are soon and coming

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Long time ago

1    7/14/2010   6/18/2011
Review By: ninja-don
Played: 29  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 6.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The feel of this course is really amazing. That being said please not that it was about a year ago when I first (and only) played this course.
What I do remember is that the area was awesome, they used the landscape to the max.
Every shot in the book can and should be used here.
The place was not crowded, but also not abandoned either... I saw a few disc golfers as well as dog walkers and what not... it is a great place to see... the disc golf course is the topping on the cake that makes this place even better.
I liked the custom holes, they required some extra finesse to each of these holes.
Cons: When I was there some of the fairways were cut short out of the tall grass which was awesome, but the tall "rough" areas were disc eaters. If it was a blind shot into tall grass you could easily loose a disc or will be looking for it for a while.
I don't remember any water fountains, or bathrooms, or trash cans.
Other Thoughts: I plan to go back here again and will update this review afterwords.
That being said I know that this review is not as informative as it could be. Please remember that I wrote this almost a year after I played.
I will say that i look forward to going back again and would totally recommend this course to all players.
Bring a map... I do remember it really helped.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  NSRA

5+    4/21/2010   4/21/2010
Review By: promoe
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has a little of everything from beginners to pros. The course covers all terrain and moves from lightly wooded to open fields for power drives.
Cons: Just like all courses and throws together there is nothing perfect, the course has lots of rough to get lost in so keep your eye on the disc.
Other Thoughts: There is a local movement with the county parks to improve the course with the help of volunteers so all you locals try to do your part and check the reader board for more info!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 NSRA DGC

5+    11/15/2008   2/26/2008
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 191  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 14.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/23/2009
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is challenging and well designed. The baskets are great and the 6 art targets are both original and creative. This course is full of possibilities due to the endless acres surrounding the course. When playing, one must be able to do a little of everything from big throws to precision shooting. Some of the holes are not very forgiving so sink that putt. The backdrop of the skagit valley and cascades is breathtaking which allows for a truely unique experience. Pin placement on several holes are guarded and present challenging putts. Course flow makes sense, as it brings you back to the start. The holes are spread througout several acres and makes great use of the elevation.
Cons: The one thing that could quickly improve the course is installing cement tee pads, or atleast flattening the gravel pads for a smoother release. Tee pad # 5 has players releasing uphill which makes it difficult at times. Lack of maintenance can be an issue at times as well, especially during the summer months.
Other Thoughts: The designer of the course is usually seen out on the course and is always willing to show you around or even play a round, which says a lot about him. He is truely genuine and is always open to new ideas to better serve the discgolf community. He also carries discs for sale so be on the lookout! Also, there are tournaments on the third (random doubles $6/person) and fourth (singles $8/adv $12/pro) weekend of each month during the winter. The first and second weekend same format but held at Mossy Roc in Bellinham, WA.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.