Sedro Woolley, WA 
NSRA DGC Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #9 (Taken 5/2010)
3 / 260ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Potential for Epic-ness

2-4    11/10/2013   11/12/2013
Review By: Phlick
Played: 44  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 32.5 Years
Pros: -Diverse layout. Some tight shots, some open bombers, some hyzer tee shots, some anny tee shots.
- Great park! NSRA is HUGE! Interesting scenery (abandoned dairy farm) set in the Skagit valley with views of the Cascade Mountains in almost every backdrop. Beautiful.
- Huge parking lot
- Brand new baskets
- Alternate 'Art' baskets on some holes
- Port-o-Pottys on site!
-Great Flow! Never have to walk very far to next basket, 18 puts you right back where you started.
- Great finishing hole (18)
Cons: -$5 dollars for this?
-Poorly maintained Teepads
-No/Minimal signage
-No benches/trashcans
-Rarely maintained - can be super scraggy
Other Thoughts: This course has a lot of potential. The park is huge and the disc golf course is well laid out. There is good variety to the holes - there's a couple of long bombers (640' hole 16) and plenty of duece-able shorter holes. Elevation and trees are well utilized. No water holes. I noticed the parks department was requesting a $5 donation for use of the park. Side note: I don't mind paying/donating to play golf - I think it's a great idea. When you charge $$ to play a golf course though, there is an expectation beyond 'grass will be mowed'. When you're charging $$ for a course, I expect to see concrete tee pads with benches, trash cans and signs. I didn't see ANY of that here. Teepads were strips of mud with 3" of standing water with a little gravel in it - typically on a slope. If you're lucky. No benches. No trash cans. No signs. Fairways were recently mowed, but I understand that's a highly unusual event (maybe twice a year?) and the blackberries were in their typical fall retreat, but still look like they could be a big factor come spring time. I really had no intent to bag this course just because they are asking for a $5/donation, I only wanted to note it, but now that I'm writing about it, it did leave a bad taste in my mouth overall. I'm giving this course a 4/5 rating because it is an epic lay-out and a very well designed course. With the teepads sorted out and some more 'grooming' done to the fairways/blackberry acreage it could be 5/5.

 pretty unique

2-4    4/14/2013   5/14/2013
Review By: gunkie
Played: 21  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.2 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: setting, cool abandoned buildings, art baskets, decent variety of hole types
Cons: can be squishy after a good rain, art baskets seem to being phased out :-(, some epic blackberry thickets, oh those horrid tee pads...
Other Thoughts: Love this course but I'm really bummed to see the art baskets go. I loved them as it added an extra challenge and changed some the norms you've come to expect. Change is good right?

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 An Artistic Challenge

1    11/28/2010   3/22/2011
Review By: pablocruz1
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Excellent mix of different shots, elevation changes, occasional trees and obstacles, and unusual basket targets which I loved. Great adventure in nature worth the miles of hike.
Cons: LONG course which took 3+ hrs to finish but that's what I like - did seem like the 6 miles they claim it might be in total. Some holes far apart or confusing. Might loose a disc in swamp or blackberries.
Other Thoughts: Can't wait to see it in the summer time.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A Great Course to Serve the Area

2-4    3/17/2011   3/17/2011
Review By: Menacewarf
Played: 60  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 5.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Like any great course the NSRA DGC requires a wider variety of disc golf shots. Long, short, left, right, forehand, backhand, anhyzer, hyzer, overhand, and rolling shot's will all make an appearance in a well executed round at this course. In addition the fairways offer nice additional textures (ie. from open areas into thicker forest, rounding corners to enter different areas, throwing through tight gaps into more open areas) Great use of existing landscape. Great use of alternative style targets. Great use of existing fairways. Good spacing between holes. Interesting layout. Relatively few muddy or wet areas.
Cons: Very little negative to say. The course is a bit rough but really not very bad. Brambles are limited to distinct areas (ie. not the fairways). The alternative style targets are open to a bit of interpretation which I'm sure the locals have figured out but it is plain enough.
Other Thoughts: By designing the course with a high degree of sensitivity to the existing natural, and disturbed landscape features the course attains a very nice degree of harmony with the land. The alternative targets add to this strong sense of place, which makes this not only a great place for disc golf, but also a very popular place for hikers, dog-walkers, and joggers. The land is likely used by birdwatchers or other naturalists as well.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 One to remember

1    1/1/2008   11/21/2009
Review By: menmabassguitar
Played: 20  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 8.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Creativity! I REALLY dig the sculpture art baskets they have scattered around. I remember one that looked like a slide and another was simply a bucket upside down on the pin.
Its perfect length, no over crowding trees and super secluded.
Great elevation changes throughout the course.
Quite surroundings.
Cons: I was in high top shoes, should have brought some hiking boots or wellies.

Don't remember seeing a bathroom or a water source so be weary of that.

A little tough to follow the first time around considering the dirt tee pads and small signage.
Other Thoughts: When I played this course it had rained a day or so prior which created some muddy terrain. The course staggers around a connection of fields and always leaves you with a new set up.

A must for anyone living near the Puget Sound.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  When the grass is short, best course in whatcom/skagit/snohomish counties.

5+    7/15/2009   7/18/2009
Review By: soccerfreako
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 16.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
- Big, long distance.
- Open design allows wind to make course more difficult.
- Beautiful scenery.
- Great course layout, no fairways cross each other.
- The few art baskets add to the difficulty and creativity of the course.
- NEVER CROWDED!
Cons:
- Only a couple holes have substantial elevation changes (3,6,18). I would like more.
- Blackberries on the borders of a couple holes make it easier to lose discs.
- Beginners will be frustrated by the distance of this course (especially if they are comparing it to cornwall park).
- Art baskets (some people don't like them).
- The GRASS! From late April to Mid July this course becomes very difficult to play (without losing discs) with 3ft tall grass surrounding the fairways.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.