Silver Spring Township, PA 
Willow Mill Park Share
Uploaded By: KAK3990 Hole #1 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 190ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Approach



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 A Quick and Pleasant 9

1    7/20/2009   9/19/2010
Review By: Jimb
Played: 78  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 7.8 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice park setting with well maintained grounds. Close to several other courses and other things to do (eat, shop, etc.).

Good tees. Baskets in good shape. Excellent signage with hole layout & footage. Very easy to navigate and super quick to play.

Nice variety of tee shot options, in spite of short length. All holes but #1 give you multiple options off of the tee (possible right & left turning or straight options). A couple give you options just because they're pretty wide open, but several have genuine alternate paths to the pins.

The layout uses the available elevation changes as much as possible pretty much. Trees can come into play on most holes so you have adequate opportunities to shape your lines.
Cons: Short length. Hole #5, at 345', is the longest hole. Playing slightly down hill, even I can reach the pin off of the tee.

Shule to the left of #1 can come into play on an errant shot and it's pretty thick in there. Of course, my driver shouldn't have ended up over there in the first place so not really a con, just a heads up. And the creek could come into play on #1 & #2, although it's not really "part of the course" per se.
Other Thoughts: Not a destination course by any stretch of the imagination. But it is a fun little play. I played a speed round on the 4th 9 that I played and finished with a 24 in just over 15 minutes. So it really is that easy to get around the course.

Highlights:
#3... As weird as it was to have a blind tee shot over/around a storage building, there was just something enjoyable about doing it. #4 at 262' was a pretty cool up-hill, right turning tee shot through some trees. I think that my best drive was actually a roller going around the trees to the left. And #9, at only 168', pretty much just has the pin planted directly behind, and totally concealed by, one huge tree. Again, I don't know why, but I just really enjoyed that little hole.

Bring the kids and other noobs and have a good time showing them the game. Or bring a couple discs when you only have a little bit of time and get in some good short game practice in a hurry.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Simple Fun!

1    8/5/2009   8/8/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.6 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Perfect grippy concrete tees, signage, and nice baskets in a nice park. First 2 holes incorporate low ceilings nearby a river...watch your plinko trees here! Hole 3 is a different blind shot either left,right or over a windowless utility building! Hole 4 is a fun anhyzer up and through a tree gap. Hole 8 is a fun slightly downhill sharp anhyzer around some hardwoods to an island green surrounded by roads, and you finish your day with an ace chance around a big old tree. Great for beginners or as a relaxing round. I played it after getting tree whupped at White Tail and was glad I did. Bathrooms and plenty of parking. Also it is not far off of I-81 so worth a stop on your way to Paw Paw or Whispering Falls.
Cons: Short and will not provide any challenge to most disc golfers. Holes 5,6,and 7 are just open field hucks. A little confusion of which basket to throw to on hole 5. (read the sign!) OOB Access roads and river may bother beginners a bit. A shame as it is best suited for beginners.
Other Thoughts: I like simple niners as a way to practice and to restore confidence. This was a nice park and given it's proximity to I-81 I will probably stop by again sometime. Still seeking my first ace....this course has a slew of ace chances! I was very curious about the mini car dirt track and asphalt race track near the entrance of the park.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner / Recreational

7/1/2008   7/1/2008
Review By: Asvetic
Played: 28  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 16.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is very clean, well marked with large concrete tee pads and visible holes. This course has potential for longer alternative pin placement, especially on holes 2, 5, 6, 7 and 9. The layout is fairly smooth and there are bathrooms and water on site.
Cons: This course suffers from short-hole syndrome. The longest hole is 345 feet, the second is 255, and the shortest is 168 (though it's a overhand left). This is a great course if you want to practice your short game and putting, because there aren't any holes long enough to use a driver on.
Other Thoughts: I shot a -3 (after two rounds of 9 holes) and only used a Coyote, Cro and Aviar Putter.

I can see this as a perfect place to take a date that might not play DG much or ever. It sits along a beautiful, albeit small, lake and has lots of wide open areas. Bring the kids.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner's Course

6/28/2008   6/29/2008
Review By: DWill
Played: 232  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 36.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course and park very well maintained - grass cut. Tee signs on every hole, with distance and flight path. Nice concrete tee pads. Nice Discatcher baskets.
Cons: Only 9 holes. Short, open and not challenging for non beginner or rec players.
Other Thoughts: This would make a perfect course to introduce new players too. Also would be good for children under age 12.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Pitch-n-Putt

5/25/2007   4/25/2008
Review By: Crawdaddy
Played: 25  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 9 Discatcher baskets. Course plays 2 holes along the Conodoguinet Creek, the other 7 play on the fringes of a SMALL park. Concrete tees
Cons: Nothing more than a Roc or Buzz and/ or a putter. Course gets pulled in winter. longest hole 270'.
Other Thoughts: I would love to use the creek as a transport between Willow Mill and Creekside. Play the 9 at Willow Mill (as a warm up), then jump in a kayak or canoe and float down to the Creek and play a full 18. Oh, what a wonderful day ;o)

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.