Silver Spring Township, PA 
Willow Mill Park Share
Uploaded By: solomon.trenton Hole #8 (Taken 5/2010)
3 / 200ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee Sign



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Simple Fun!

1    8/5/2009   8/8/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Perfect grippy concrete tees, signage, and nice baskets in a nice park. First 2 holes incorporate low ceilings nearby a river...watch your plinko trees here! Hole 3 is a different blind shot either left,right or over a windowless utility building! Hole 4 is a fun anhyzer up and through a tree gap. Hole 8 is a fun slightly downhill sharp anhyzer around some hardwoods to an island green surrounded by roads, and you finish your day with an ace chance around a big old tree. Great for beginners or as a relaxing round. I played it after getting tree whupped at White Tail and was glad I did. Bathrooms and plenty of parking. Also it is not far off of I-81 so worth a stop on your way to Paw Paw or Whispering Falls.
Cons: Short and will not provide any challenge to most disc golfers. Holes 5,6,and 7 are just open field hucks. A little confusion of which basket to throw to on hole 5. (read the sign!) OOB Access roads and river may bother beginners a bit. A shame as it is best suited for beginners.
Other Thoughts: I like simple niners as a way to practice and to restore confidence. This was a nice park and given it's proximity to I-81 I will probably stop by again sometime. Still seeking my first ace....this course has a slew of ace chances! I was very curious about the mini car dirt track and asphalt race track near the entrance of the park.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Cute Family Friendly Course

1    4/10/2009   4/10/2009
Review By: prerube
Played: 210  Reviewed: 187  Exp: 7.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy to navigate, excellent signage, nice views, and porto-potties
I would rate this course a 5 for teaching beginners or taking a date on the weekend. Great confidence booster.
Cons: 9 holes and 9 tees. Course is not for advanced players. Holes are less than 300 feet and very few obsticles. Intermediate players will hit the basket in 2 throws most of the time.
This course will probably never see a tournament...maybe an ace race.
Other Thoughts: If you are experienced and looking for a course to play, look 6.3 miles away. But, if you are anywhere near this park, bring the discs it is a quick, easy, and short course.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner / Recreational

7/1/2008   7/1/2008
Review By: Asvetic
Played: 28  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 16.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is very clean, well marked with large concrete tee pads and visible holes. This course has potential for longer alternative pin placement, especially on holes 2, 5, 6, 7 and 9. The layout is fairly smooth and there are bathrooms and water on site.
Cons: This course suffers from short-hole syndrome. The longest hole is 345 feet, the second is 255, and the shortest is 168 (though it's a overhand left). This is a great course if you want to practice your short game and putting, because there aren't any holes long enough to use a driver on.
Other Thoughts: I shot a -3 (after two rounds of 9 holes) and only used a Coyote, Cro and Aviar Putter.

I can see this as a perfect place to take a date that might not play DG much or ever. It sits along a beautiful, albeit small, lake and has lots of wide open areas. Bring the kids.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner's Course

6/28/2008   6/29/2008
Review By: DWill
Played: 226  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 36.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course and park very well maintained - grass cut. Tee signs on every hole, with distance and flight path. Nice concrete tee pads. Nice Discatcher baskets.
Cons: Only 9 holes. Short, open and not challenging for non beginner or rec players.
Other Thoughts: This would make a perfect course to introduce new players too. Also would be good for children under age 12.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Pitch-n-Putt

5/25/2007   4/25/2008
Review By: Crawdaddy
Played: 25  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 9 Discatcher baskets. Course plays 2 holes along the Conodoguinet Creek, the other 7 play on the fringes of a SMALL park. Concrete tees
Cons: Nothing more than a Roc or Buzz and/ or a putter. Course gets pulled in winter. longest hole 270'.
Other Thoughts: I would love to use the creek as a transport between Willow Mill and Creekside. Play the 9 at Willow Mill (as a warm up), then jump in a kayak or canoe and float down to the Creek and play a full 18. Oh, what a wonderful day ;o)

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.