Virginia Beach, VA 
Munden Point Share
Uploaded By: Aaron D'Angelo Hole #2
3 / 203ft.   3 / 239ft.   3 / 277ft.   3 / 315ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Short Tee



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
knoxstephen5

1    6/15/2014   6/16/2014
Review By: knoxstephen5
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 27.2 Years
Pros: This course has a nice variety of open holes, long and short holes, and some wooded holes. It is in a beautiful park and it wraps around the edges of the park so that there is little distraction from others at the park that are not playing disc golf. I have played this course several times this year and there is rarely a lot of others playing so there is no waiting. Most of the time i play there is actually only a few other people playing. Me and my girlfriend played there on fathers day and that was the most people we had seen there so far. This has become our favorite course in the hampton roads area! There are picnic areas throughout the park if you need to take a break and eat and bathrooms here too. I highly recommend spending some time in this beautiful and uncrowded park throwing some disc!
Cons: There is a little bit of a walk between holes 9 and 10. Just follow the edge of the water to the left and go past the boat launch area to find tee for 10. Other than that there is nothing negative to report about this course. Look at a map before you play if you have never been here otherwise you may get a little confused.
Other Thoughts: The best disc golf course in the area( even though i feel we need more courses around here). It is well worth the drive!

May be the best course in VA Beach

5+    5/3/2014   5/13/2014
Review By: Ray Gunnell
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great variety in two tees and two basket options for each hole.

The grounds are kept extremely well once Parks & Rec has their seasonal staffing on.

Some LONG holes, and a great mix of short. The long holes go for about 400' or more. The shorter holes range from 190'-250', and they're typically mixed in together, so you'll go from a long to a short, to another short, then a long. Again, great variety. The course lends itself to a variety of player types - whether you're BH or FH, there are plenty of lines to choose from. Trees are kept pruned, so you can take high lines if needed when trees come into play on 3-8 and 10-13.

The only really difficult holes are 3, 8, & 9. On 3, there's a grove of bushes that you can easily lose your disc in (if anyone ever finds my yellow Prodigy F7, I'd love to have it back!), and the 8 & 9 holes both have water in play. 10-13 all have marsh/tall grass playing to the left, but the baskets are both to the right, so you shouldn't have issue there.

There are a couple blind shots, but the tee signage does a great job of telling you where each basket is, and the distance.

You rarely get held up, and while it's much longer than Bayville, you can play a round solo in about an hour. There are about five-six shelters and numerous playgrounds around the course as well, so great for families with kids. The playgrounds are usually within sight of each hole.
Cons: I actually don't have any cons for this course other than it's WAY out there, almost at the NC/VA state line - but it's also nice to be away from the urban sprawl and have space to play.

The only other possible gripe I could have would be the people who fish or take up the fairway on hole 9 (it's on the peninsula.
Other Thoughts: A great food suggestion if you're making this a day trip: stop at Pungo Pizza on your way back up Princess Anne. It's a locals' favorite.

Also, don't play the course in the days following heavy rains. There will be standing water like crazy given the low elevation and high water table - hey, it's the beach!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Worth the drive

2-4    5/11/2014   5/11/2014
Review By: Discgolf Duncan
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Nicely kept and manicured park.

- A good variety in length and difficulty on each hole.

- Two tee pads and two baskets for each hole.

- Each tee pad has a map showing where both baskets are in relation to the tee. The map also shows the distance to both baskets.

-Difficult water hazard shots on holes 8 and 9. Made for a good challenging tee off.

-Benches and trash cans all around the course.

-The park is nowhere near a major expressway. So people may find that as a con, but I love the country road drives to nowhere.
Cons: -There are some spots where the park has tables near baskets. Hole 10 is one of these instances. Every time I've been there, I have to hold back on my tee off at hole 10 because there's usually a family RIGHT BEHIND the basket. Some people even set up a chair near the red basket because it's under the shady tree.


That is seriously the only con I came across in the few times I've played there.
Other Thoughts: This is definitely one of my favorite courses in the area. The whole park is overall a wonderful place to go on a nice hot day. There's a boat launch, multiple spots to fish from the shore, baseball diamonds, pavilions, a playground for children, horseshoe pits, and basketball courts. After playing a round of 18, I head to the baseball diamonds (which are conveniently right behind hole 18) to toss my drivers around.

Most of the course is in open fields, so you can grip-n-rip a lot here. However, a lot of the baskets are around the 200 ft mark, so you can overthrow a lot here too.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  cool course but a drive

2-4    12/26/2011   12/30/2011
Review By: blackracer64
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: clean course and a beautiful view of the bay. two pins per hole and most holes have 2 pads. Lots of facilities and park for the kids.
Cons: The only thing that i have a problem with is that it is about a 45 minute drive to almost another state for me.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Great course

5+    6/12/2011   6/14/2011
Review By: pheend
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -It has a nice blend of wooded and open holes. -The park is kept clean.
-It has water hazards.
-White and red tees have signs marking distance to yellow and red baskets.
-2 practice baskets located in the center parking lot.
-Constant breeze off of the river with an occasional gust, adds a little extra difficulty.
Cons: -Holes are short.
-Long drive to get to the park.
-It has water hazards.
Other Thoughts: This course could easily fit 2 more holes somewhere, like Bayville fit in.
Could benefit from the addition of blue and gold tees.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course in the Middle of Nowhere

2-4    6/26/2009   6/26/2009
Review By: SomeChump
Played: 33  Reviewed: 33
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a fantastic course located, way, way South of Virginia Beach. It really isn't on the way to anywhere. Even if you're on the way to the Outer Banks, you've still got to drive a long way from the freeway to get here. But once you do, it is worth it. The terrain is flat, but that really isn't much different from any other course within 2 hours drive. The Tidewater area's only thing that resembles a mountain is an old landfill (Mt. Trashmore.) But it is almost impossible to lose a disc here on any hole other than the infamous #8, and you've got to work pretty hard there too. The entire place is MANICURED. I mean the grass/bushes/shrubs etc. It's all perfect, like someone's little garden. I would go to this park just to look at the landscaping. Plus, the fact that it is way out there means there isn't much of a wait. In the two days I went there, I saw three or four other groups playing total. Like Bayville, there are two teepads and two baskets on each hole. Unlike Bayville, they are on every hole, rather than just some of them. Hole #8 is very scenic, of course, but there is water near a number of the other holes. You have to look closely though, since it is hidden behind a very thin layer of trees, just thick enough to keep your disc from going through into the water that nearly surrounds the course. You rarely get out into the thick trees, but when you do there are a few thorns out there. There are lots of fun shots on this course. There are 3 playgrounds here and the course is very family friendly. My 5 year old even played a couple of entire holes (shot a 7 on #5.) The bathrooms by #1 were locked one day, unlocked the next. Can't explain that. Nice cold water in the fountain though. The tees are all concrete, and these are the first tees I've played that I can actually start my run-up on the teepad. So nice. The signage is awesome. The only possible place to get even a little lost is between #9 and #10, but if you print out the map on the links page, you'll have zero problem. In fact, if you just know that you need to walk to the other side of the boat ramp you'll have no problem. You will not get lost here. People who think this course has "navigation issues" need to travel more. Aside from 9/10, you can see the next tee easily from every basket. Every tee (both the short and the long) has a nice sign next to it with an accurate picture and what seemed to me to be quite accurate distances.
Cons: The really big con about this course, IMHO, aside from how far it is from a major highway, is that too many of the holes are open shots. Sure, there are a few scattered trees, but when you really look at it, you can throw a standard straight shot with a standard fade on almost all of them, whether you're throwing right handed, left handed, back handed, or forehanded. If you're playing short-short, you're throwing almost all putters/mids off the tees (some really good ace-runs with tons of easy birdies, I was really disappointed that I only shot -5 my first time there.) If you play long-long, far too many of the holes are just wide-open "huck-it" holes. And if you can't huck it at least 350 feet, you don't stand a chance at birdie on most of them. I generally throw 250-300 and found that there were a lot of holes where I just wound up and let it go, then ended up with a 50-100 foot approach shot and an easy putt. Not very interesting. (I ended up +6, but few of those bogeys were due to hitting trees. Most of them were just poor approaches/putts.)
Hole #8, of course, is MUCH more interesting if you're playing long-long. Over 600 feet, a true par 4, which requires a driver be thrown on your second shot down a 60 foot wide peninsula to a basket all the way at the end with water 20-30 feet behind it. You should be proud to card a 3 on this hole and I'd feel honored to see someone deuce it. Playing short-short, the water almost doesn't come into play. Same with #9.

What I really, really would have liked to see is hole #9 located on the next finger over from hole #8, with the long tee on the #8 finger, and the short tee down on the next finger so the rookies didn't have to try to cross the water. Oh well. I'm sure they thought of it but were probably vetoed by the park folks. THAT would be an epic shot worthy of losing a disc.
Other Thoughts: Aside from the obvious #8, #3, #7, #10, and #12 were fun.

I don't know if I'll ever make it back, but I'm glad I took the time to go at least once.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Vacation Golf

1    6/13/2009   6/17/2009
Review By: Brida
Played: 10  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is in a very well taken care of park with lots to do beside disc golf. They have running water and clean bathrooms. The course is flat but they have tried there best with some really well placed trees, plus the water is a factor on four of the holes. I like the fact that there are 2 pads and 2 pins for each hole that way as your game expands you don't out grow the course, also a group of players on different levels can play together without anyone being board or over extended. Every hole has a bench close to it so you can take a break and every pad hase a metal sign with a map and distance on it. The park office also has maps for all the players.
Cons: Not much shade and on the day I was there I could have really used to get out of the sun for a little. They also could use signs pointing you on from some of the holes.
Other Thoughts: Really enjoyed this course and can't wait to play it again on my way to NC for vacation...

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    1/1/2008   10/26/2008
Review By: swellerdiscgolf
Played: 11  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 2/14/2009
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is a nice course in a great well maintained park. There are 2 concrete tee pads and 2 pin placements for every hole. It is usually pretty quiet with no wait to play. It is an open course and easy to see most of the pins from the tee box. The signage is easy to follow and give the distances for anyone who likes that. Water comes into play on holes # 8 and 9. With a breeze off of the water, it could get a little tricky, but it helps to keep it cool in the summer.
Cons: It is a far drive from any kind of civilization. There is no elevation change to speak of. Would be better if park used mounds of dirt to make some elevation changes. There is a long walk from the front 9 to the back 9, with no directions on how to get there. I would also like benches and trash cans at every hole, but that is nit-picking. Sometimes the grass can get a little high in the field, and the underbrush on the side of the course can get a little thick.
Other Thoughts: This is a beautiful well maintained, family friendly park. There are playgrounds for the kids, shelters to host parties, basketball courts, baseball fields, and a boatslip. It feels like the park was made for disc golf not the other way around. For all you parents with kids out there, it is a STROLLER FRIENDLY course.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.