Virginia Beach, VA 
Munden Point Share
Uploaded By: Aaron D'Angelo Hole #6
3 / 163ft.   3 / 206ft.   3 / 163ft.   3 / 205ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Short Tee



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  cool course but a drive

2-4    12/26/2011   12/30/2011
Review By: blackracer64
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: clean course and a beautiful view of the bay. two pins per hole and most holes have 2 pads. Lots of facilities and park for the kids.
Cons: The only thing that i have a problem with is that it is about a 45 minute drive to almost another state for me.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    11/18/2011   11/27/2011
Review By: H3LlIoN
Played: 15  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 3.2 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is very clean and well kept. There are multiple concrete tee pads and baskets on every hole, allowing for repeated play without becoming too mundane. There are plenty of park facilities including bathrooms, courts, playgrounds, etc, so you can take the kids and they can still have fun. This park is situated right on the water, and it makes for a gorgeous round of disc golf. Some of the holes have a decent bit of distance to them. There are some sweet ace lines if you're feeling frisky. There are plenty of benches and trashcans, and some entertaining mandos to spice it up. There are also signs at each tee pad showing the layout and distances.
Cons: While this course is beautiful, it's kind of boring. There are only a couple holes with any kind of challenge to them....the rest are pretty much just clear open holes with a cage at the end. Also, referring to half of the course as "wooded" is using the term very loosely. There are only about 5 holes that have trees that ACTUALLY get in the way. The course is out of the way and somewhat hard to find without a GPS.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course for beginner to intermediate level players, as the holes are mostly set up such that you can see the cages from the tee, and there aren't really a whole lot of places for discs to hide. It's also a very beautiful park...I will definitely be playing there again if only for that reason. While the rounds are enjoyable, they're just not very challenging. Playing long tees/baskets helps. Also, when you finish on 9, head towards the boat ramp and just keep walking...you'll find 10 next to the closest shelter past the park office. Other than that, it's all pretty easy to follow. Try and avoid sunset rounds...there are a couple holes where you'll be blinded trying to shoot in to the sun. There IS the sweet water hole, so floaters would be nice to have in the bag, and this is a great place to work on your wind game, as the breeze coming off the water can be super strong.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Great course

5+    6/12/2011   6/14/2011
Review By: pheend
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -It has a nice blend of wooded and open holes. -The park is kept clean.
-It has water hazards.
-White and red tees have signs marking distance to yellow and red baskets.
-2 practice baskets located in the center parking lot.
-Constant breeze off of the river with an occasional gust, adds a little extra difficulty.
Cons: -Holes are short.
-Long drive to get to the park.
-It has water hazards.
Other Thoughts: This course could easily fit 2 more holes somewhere, like Bayville fit in.
Could benefit from the addition of blue and gold tees.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Beginner's coure

5+    3/19/2011   4/1/2011
Review By: tombraiderchuck
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Flat course. Almost no trees. This course is reminiscent of a golf course. Has 2 Baskets and 2 tee pads on each hole. White pads to yellow baskets is the short course and red pads to red baskets is the long course. Can play four courses. also fast play with three people shorts can be finished in 1hr 20 minutes. Some trees so pinging into woods or bad lies doesn't happen. 9 holes have benches. Hole 8 is the signature hole. It plays out to a peninsula surrounded by water right on the Currituck Sound. Haven't seen another hole like it yet.
Cons: No trees. Course is very easy. No shade in the summer and no protection in the wind. very far from anywhere. so bring friends.
Other Thoughts: Red to red is a long course that any bomber would love. The wind is fierce out here. In the winter 20 mph is not uncommon and 30- 40 mph is possible.
I have seen disc float on the wind 200 feet and the wrong direction. Will improve your wind game.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the drive

5+    12/25/2010   12/26/2010
Review By: Kent18
Played: 121  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 5.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Munden Point Disc Golf course sits on Back Bay in Southern Virginia Beach. The course plays clockwise on the perimeter of a rather large city park that offers a whole host of other attractions. Two concrete tee-pads to two baskets on every hole which offers lots of distance variety. Tee signs from every tee pad with clearly marked out distances to each basket. There are plenty of trashcans and benches throughout course with shelters available for tournaments. This course has the best practice area I have seen at a course with two specific practice baskets set in a 50 yard grid with trees and other obstacles to practice approaches as well as putting. No matter what tee/basket combination you play there is a fair balance for lefty's and righty's. Signature hole is number 8 that plays from 350-600ft onto a thin peninsula out into a beautiful bay with the basket placed in a tricky placement that sure is to cause many water OB's. Park is well kept and clean. Mando's come into play on a third of the holes here that provides safety and a more creative approach to those holes. Rarely crowded on the course.
Cons: Number 1 issue for me is the wind. The bay breeze will always be factor based on the location of this course (especially holes 7-10). There are 3 holes here where the trees that have been planted to eventually add more challenge still have years to go to make those holes merely anything more than just field golf. The bathrooms located at hole 1 are frequently closed requiring you to traverse the park to the other location near hole 9. Long walk from hole 9 to hole 10. This disc golf course is located 30 minutes from any major state or highway. Pro players would probably only appreciate this course from long tees to long baskets for any other combination most baskets can be reached with midranges. From the shorter tees this course can feel rhythmic and may not offer enough variety or uniqueness for some. I could see this park being very crowded in spring summer due to its ideal choice for non-disc golf events causing spectators to be in fairways.
Other Thoughts: I have played this course from all the combinations and each choice offers a different concentration of your game. Short tees to short baskets you will have to shape your midrange discs to get on the birdie train. Long tees to long baskets is I believe a great pro level course where you need to execute to stay under par. Several long 350ft tunnel anhyzer shots are required which are always a strain for any pro. I would recommend this course for pros and advanced for the long tees and everyone else from any other combination. It is a drive to reach this course but for this area of Southeastern Virginia well worth it. Even though the course is a couple years old it feels fairly brand new. It does need some trees to develop but as is still offers a good challenge or fun factor depending on the route you select.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 relaxed

1    2/21/2010   2/21/2010
Review By: whiskeytreefrog
Played: 25  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 10 Years
This review was updated on 3/9/2010
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Two tee's, and two baskets for each hole - 4 shots.
decent mix of shots.
few people there; no waiting. people seemed nice.
beautiful scenery.
well maintained, wont lose a disc in the woods, maybe in the water though!
Cons: water hazard on # 8
a lot of open area shots with a slight turn or a bush in the way.
monotonous shots. no variety.
anyone can put baskets up randomly in an open park. no challenge. even from the long tees the distances arent that varying.
Other Thoughts: awesome scenery and not many people. there are playgrounds, cookout areas, basketball courts and much more to do here. can make a day going here and play a few rounds from the different tees/baskets.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    11/30/2009   11/30/2009
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 103  Reviewed: 103  Exp: 5.8 Years
This review was updated on 6/6/2012
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is rarely crowded but it is a hidden gem. The course is mostly open. Water in play on 2 holes.

-clean and safe
-2 tees, 2 baskets per hole
-concrete tee pads, long tees dyed red
-beautiful park on the North Landing River
- away from civilization
-practice baskets
- 2 sets of clean bathrooms (1 near tee #1 and 1 near tee #10)

Signature hole: #8 out to a penisula
Cons: There aren't many obstacles but it can still be challenging.
- can be windy
- Snakes near the water hazards.
- No elevation
- long walk from #9 to #10
-bathroom near the 1st tee is not open in winter
Other Thoughts: The park is located on Pefley Rd. off of Munden Point Rd. The 1st hole is near the basketball courts. The practice baskets are across the road from the 1st tee to the right.

Tricky navigation spots:
After #6 look to the right for the next tee, straight ahead is #8's tee. After basket nine follow the perimeter of the park past the boat launch to find tee #10. Other than those it isnt hard to find your way around.

This is my home course and I will gladly be your guide!

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course in the Middle of Nowhere

2-4    6/26/2009   6/26/2009
Review By: SomeChump
Played: 33  Reviewed: 33
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a fantastic course located, way, way South of Virginia Beach. It really isn't on the way to anywhere. Even if you're on the way to the Outer Banks, you've still got to drive a long way from the freeway to get here. But once you do, it is worth it. The terrain is flat, but that really isn't much different from any other course within 2 hours drive. The Tidewater area's only thing that resembles a mountain is an old landfill (Mt. Trashmore.) But it is almost impossible to lose a disc here on any hole other than the infamous #8, and you've got to work pretty hard there too. The entire place is MANICURED. I mean the grass/bushes/shrubs etc. It's all perfect, like someone's little garden. I would go to this park just to look at the landscaping. Plus, the fact that it is way out there means there isn't much of a wait. In the two days I went there, I saw three or four other groups playing total. Like Bayville, there are two teepads and two baskets on each hole. Unlike Bayville, they are on every hole, rather than just some of them. Hole #8 is very scenic, of course, but there is water near a number of the other holes. You have to look closely though, since it is hidden behind a very thin layer of trees, just thick enough to keep your disc from going through into the water that nearly surrounds the course. You rarely get out into the thick trees, but when you do there are a few thorns out there. There are lots of fun shots on this course. There are 3 playgrounds here and the course is very family friendly. My 5 year old even played a couple of entire holes (shot a 7 on #5.) The bathrooms by #1 were locked one day, unlocked the next. Can't explain that. Nice cold water in the fountain though. The tees are all concrete, and these are the first tees I've played that I can actually start my run-up on the teepad. So nice. The signage is awesome. The only possible place to get even a little lost is between #9 and #10, but if you print out the map on the links page, you'll have zero problem. In fact, if you just know that you need to walk to the other side of the boat ramp you'll have no problem. You will not get lost here. People who think this course has "navigation issues" need to travel more. Aside from 9/10, you can see the next tee easily from every basket. Every tee (both the short and the long) has a nice sign next to it with an accurate picture and what seemed to me to be quite accurate distances.
Cons: The really big con about this course, IMHO, aside from how far it is from a major highway, is that too many of the holes are open shots. Sure, there are a few scattered trees, but when you really look at it, you can throw a standard straight shot with a standard fade on almost all of them, whether you're throwing right handed, left handed, back handed, or forehanded. If you're playing short-short, you're throwing almost all putters/mids off the tees (some really good ace-runs with tons of easy birdies, I was really disappointed that I only shot -5 my first time there.) If you play long-long, far too many of the holes are just wide-open "huck-it" holes. And if you can't huck it at least 350 feet, you don't stand a chance at birdie on most of them. I generally throw 250-300 and found that there were a lot of holes where I just wound up and let it go, then ended up with a 50-100 foot approach shot and an easy putt. Not very interesting. (I ended up +6, but few of those bogeys were due to hitting trees. Most of them were just poor approaches/putts.)
Hole #8, of course, is MUCH more interesting if you're playing long-long. Over 600 feet, a true par 4, which requires a driver be thrown on your second shot down a 60 foot wide peninsula to a basket all the way at the end with water 20-30 feet behind it. You should be proud to card a 3 on this hole and I'd feel honored to see someone deuce it. Playing short-short, the water almost doesn't come into play. Same with #9.

What I really, really would have liked to see is hole #9 located on the next finger over from hole #8, with the long tee on the #8 finger, and the short tee down on the next finger so the rookies didn't have to try to cross the water. Oh well. I'm sure they thought of it but were probably vetoed by the park folks. THAT would be an epic shot worthy of losing a disc.
Other Thoughts: Aside from the obvious #8, #3, #7, #10, and #12 were fun.

I don't know if I'll ever make it back, but I'm glad I took the time to go at least once.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Vacation Golf

1    6/13/2009   6/17/2009
Review By: Brida
Played: 10  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is in a very well taken care of park with lots to do beside disc golf. They have running water and clean bathrooms. The course is flat but they have tried there best with some really well placed trees, plus the water is a factor on four of the holes. I like the fact that there are 2 pads and 2 pins for each hole that way as your game expands you don't out grow the course, also a group of players on different levels can play together without anyone being board or over extended. Every hole has a bench close to it so you can take a break and every pad hase a metal sign with a map and distance on it. The park office also has maps for all the players.
Cons: Not much shade and on the day I was there I could have really used to get out of the sun for a little. They also could use signs pointing you on from some of the holes.
Other Thoughts: Really enjoyed this course and can't wait to play it again on my way to NC for vacation...

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 At least you're at the beach

1    9/11/2007   4/11/2009
Review By: tmahan
Played: 86  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 31.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/5/2011
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: There is a lot to do in the area and you are playing golf. #8 is an epic shot, might be wise to throw something expendable on this one if you plan on going for it. Beautiful scenery. The park itself is well kept, the fairways are as manicured as ball golf fairways.
Cons: The designers just weren't given much to work with here. Flat as a pancake and lightly wooded. What obstacles that are there are used, but it's basically field golf. It's also a pretty good haul from Va. Beach, it's at least another 20-30 minutes from Rudy Inlet
Other Thoughts: The words flat and mostly featureless are what comes to mind when I think of most of this course, with #8 being a major exception. There are a handful of pretty decent holes other than #8, and the rest are driving range. I don't know if Blue Pete's is still there but if it is you can get a great meal nearby. I get down to VA Beach a couple times a year, I'm glad I played it once but I probably won't make the drive back out there.

I guess I'll have to give this track another try since every review since mine has given it 3-4 discs. Hopefully the saplings have grown to force more shot shaping, I recall throwing straight at the target off most every tee. I'll give the long tees a look as this may add some obstacles. Others have correctly pointed out the steady breeze as a factor here. I'd call that as a pro since this is definitely part of learning the game. If you want calm you can always hit up Bayville ;-)

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.