Virginia Beach, VA 
Munden Point Share
Uploaded By: Aaron D'Angelo Hole #6
3 / 163ft.   3 / 206ft.   3 / 163ft.   3 / 205ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Short Tee



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 At least you're at the beach

1    9/11/2007   4/11/2009
Review By: tmahan
Played: 86  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 31.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/5/2011
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: There is a lot to do in the area and you are playing golf. #8 is an epic shot, might be wise to throw something expendable on this one if you plan on going for it. Beautiful scenery. The park itself is well kept, the fairways are as manicured as ball golf fairways.
Cons: The designers just weren't given much to work with here. Flat as a pancake and lightly wooded. What obstacles that are there are used, but it's basically field golf. It's also a pretty good haul from Va. Beach, it's at least another 20-30 minutes from Rudy Inlet
Other Thoughts: The words flat and mostly featureless are what comes to mind when I think of most of this course, with #8 being a major exception. There are a handful of pretty decent holes other than #8, and the rest are driving range. I don't know if Blue Pete's is still there but if it is you can get a great meal nearby. I get down to VA Beach a couple times a year, I'm glad I played it once but I probably won't make the drive back out there.

I guess I'll have to give this track another try since every review since mine has given it 3-4 discs. Hopefully the saplings have grown to force more shot shaping, I recall throwing straight at the target off most every tee. I'll give the long tees a look as this may add some obstacles. Others have correctly pointed out the steady breeze as a factor here. I'd call that as a pro since this is definitely part of learning the game. If you want calm you can always hit up Bayville ;-)

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 firdt time munden

1    2/8/2009   2/9/2009
Review By: bobojones666
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.3 Years
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Fun course good range of wooded and open. good area to go too not crowded at all.
Cons: can be very windy. The water holes can be tricky in the wind. could use some more elevations
Other Thoughts: would be good if they added some back holes

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course, takes a while to get there

1    10/25/2008   10/29/2008
Review By: Drew Craft
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Excellent layout, Nice views, two tee pads, two disccatchers per hole
Cons: Signs after 4 and 9 to point you in the right direction
Other Thoughts: This course was crazy windy, the water was crashing over the sides on 8 and 10. Overall, I shot good, and cant wait to get back out there when Im back at the beach

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    1/1/2008   10/26/2008
Review By: swellerdiscgolf
Played: 11  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 2/14/2009
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is a nice course in a great well maintained park. There are 2 concrete tee pads and 2 pin placements for every hole. It is usually pretty quiet with no wait to play. It is an open course and easy to see most of the pins from the tee box. The signage is easy to follow and give the distances for anyone who likes that. Water comes into play on holes # 8 and 9. With a breeze off of the water, it could get a little tricky, but it helps to keep it cool in the summer.
Cons: It is a far drive from any kind of civilization. There is no elevation change to speak of. Would be better if park used mounds of dirt to make some elevation changes. There is a long walk from the front 9 to the back 9, with no directions on how to get there. I would also like benches and trash cans at every hole, but that is nit-picking. Sometimes the grass can get a little high in the field, and the underbrush on the side of the course can get a little thick.
Other Thoughts: This is a beautiful well maintained, family friendly park. There are playgrounds for the kids, shelters to host parties, basketball courts, baseball fields, and a boatslip. It feels like the park was made for disc golf not the other way around. For all you parents with kids out there, it is a STROLLER FRIENDLY course.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Open Layout Course

8/7/2008   8/9/2008
Review By: Aaron D'Angelo
Played: 11  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great, well kept course in a large open municipal park on the water. 2 concrete tee pads for each hole with good signage at each tee. 2 baskets for each hole and a bench at every back tee and trashcan at nearly every hole. 4 ways to play really give you a lot of choice to play this course, even has a great practice area.
Cons: It's in the middle of nowhere and takes a bit to get there. The bathrooms were locked up? (At least on the #1 tee) I couldn't find any information on the course, besides direcitons anywhere online. Not truely knowing the par was annoying.
Other Thoughts: I'm not kidding when I said that it is in the middle of nowhere. That being said however, this is a great course and well worth the drive to play, and I am very glad I did.

There is no real elevation, and no true wooded holes. The open layout uses trees and bushes with a couple mando routes and OB areas to give you some challenge, and a bad shot by a beginner (me) can still be overcome and get you back into play. If you play the Gold course - rear tees to long baskets, it will give you some good distance to try and overcome. Wind can be a great factor here but it wasn't too bad the day I played.

I didn't need a map to get around, however there is a good portion of the park that must be traversed to get from the front to the back 9.

#8 would be the signature hole, and when windy could be very dangerous especially when playing the rear tees on this long hole as it is set close to the water.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Scenic Rural Waterside Course

1    4/14/2006   9/12/2007
Review By: jaymon1
Played: 77  Reviewed: 77  Exp: 13.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/14/2011
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Setting, tee pads
Other Thoughts: Setting is the key appeal of Munden Point. Though technically in Virginia Beach, the course is actually in the still rural southern area of Virginia Beach, a mere four miles from the North Carolina border. The course plays through a perfectly maintained city park in this rural area and sits upon the beautiful and undeveloped North Landing river. So while the water is only a factor on holes 8 and 9, the river is in view for most of the course and the view is completely natural - water and marshlands, no houses or other signs of development. In terms of setting and natural beauty, Munden Point is one of the best disc golf courses I've visited.

The course itself, however, is a bit on the easy side. While the course features nice concrete teepads, it's not particularly long, even from the pro tees, and is mostly open, though bushes and trees provide some challenge on most holes. This park looks fairly new, and lots of young trees and bushes are in play on the course, so perhaps in five or ten years the course will be considerably more challenging. The course does have two particularly long holes, and a couple of holes that are not entirely straight shots, but overall it's a par 3 course and good players will probably break par, even from the pro tees. Munden Point is well worth the drive and the effort, though; it's a beautiful course in a beautiful part of Virginia.

Favorite Hole - #8 - One of the longer holes on the course plays out to a pennisula with the basket at the very end on the river.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 An average course in a beautiful rural setting on the water

1    4/8/2007   8/2/2007
Review By: Olorin
Played: 303  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 35.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/18/2008
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It's in a beautiful natural area and the water is in view on most of the holes.
2 sets of tees and 2 basket layouts per hole. Nice concrete tees and nice tee signs.
Cons: A very long walk from basket 9 to tee 10. Make sure to get a map to know where to go. The wind off the water can be fierce.
Other Thoughts: Favorite hole- #8- the signature hole. It plays out onto the peninsula with water on 3 sides. Really a challenge when the wind is blowing off the water and the basket is in the longest position.

NOTE: Look in the "Links/Files" section for my files with Hole-by-hole evaluations, and a more detailed Overall review. You can also read more of my reviews at the Yahoo Group, DG Course Reviews, http://sports.groups.yahoo.co...ourseReviews/

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.