Virginia Beach, VA 
Munden Point Share
Uploaded By: Aaron D'Angelo Hole #15
3 / 185ft.   3 / 265ft.   3 / 265ft.   3 / 345ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Short Tee



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Vacay Disc Golf!

2-4    8/22/2014   8/24/2014
Review By: jeditden
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 3.4 Years
Pros: -2 large differently colored concrete tee boxes and baskets for every hole.
-Accurate signs showing you where each basket is as well as distances for both tees.
-Nicely maintained facility with bathrooms on site
-Hole 8 was especially cool playing out to the edge of the water.
-Mostly open fairways with only a few obstacles/wooded holes.
-Wasn't crowded at all, though we did play early in the middle of the week. Dunno how it gets come weekends.
Cons: -Some holes felt a little too open/similar. Just a chuck it as far as you can get feel.
-Not enough garbage cans on the course. But on the flip side garbage wasn't an issue that I could see.
-Maybe it was just the time of day we played (Before 9am) but the ground was pretty soggy on some of the holes, despite it not raining much at all.
-The grass was being mowed as we were playing, but they need a lawn bag for all their trimmings. My shoes looked like camouflage by the end of the game.
-Since it's a mostly open course, some of the "fairways" are real close to each other. 7, 8, and 9 in particular.
Other Thoughts: Some signage directing you to the next holes would be helpful if you don't have a map. Hole 5 is across the street from 4 on the other side of the fence, and as other folks have said. It's a decent hike between 9 and 10. I prefer my courses to have a nice out and back design, but that's a personal preference I don;t think counts as a negative. On the whole, this was a great course. It's about 30 minutes outside of Virginia Beach in the middle of farmlands, but it's worth the trek for sure if you are down there.

knoxstephen5

1    6/15/2014   6/16/2014
Review By: knoxstephen5
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 27.3 Years
Pros: This course has a nice variety of open holes, long and short holes, and some wooded holes. It is in a beautiful park and it wraps around the edges of the park so that there is little distraction from others at the park that are not playing disc golf. I have played this course several times this year and there is rarely a lot of others playing so there is no waiting. Most of the time i play there is actually only a few other people playing. Me and my girlfriend played there on fathers day and that was the most people we had seen there so far. This has become our favorite course in the hampton roads area! There are picnic areas throughout the park if you need to take a break and eat and bathrooms here too. I highly recommend spending some time in this beautiful and uncrowded park throwing some disc!
Cons: There is a little bit of a walk between holes 9 and 10. Just follow the edge of the water to the left and go past the boat launch area to find tee for 10. Other than that there is nothing negative to report about this course. Look at a map before you play if you have never been here otherwise you may get a little confused.
Other Thoughts: The best disc golf course in the area( even though i feel we need more courses around here). It is well worth the drive!

May be the best course in VA Beach

5+    5/3/2014   5/13/2014
Review By: Ray Gunnell
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great variety in two tees and two basket options for each hole.

The grounds are kept extremely well once Parks & Rec has their seasonal staffing on.

Some LONG holes, and a great mix of short. The long holes go for about 400' or more. The shorter holes range from 190'-250', and they're typically mixed in together, so you'll go from a long to a short, to another short, then a long. Again, great variety. The course lends itself to a variety of player types - whether you're BH or FH, there are plenty of lines to choose from. Trees are kept pruned, so you can take high lines if needed when trees come into play on 3-8 and 10-13.

The only really difficult holes are 3, 8, & 9. On 3, there's a grove of bushes that you can easily lose your disc in (if anyone ever finds my yellow Prodigy F7, I'd love to have it back!), and the 8 & 9 holes both have water in play. 10-13 all have marsh/tall grass playing to the left, but the baskets are both to the right, so you shouldn't have issue there.

There are a couple blind shots, but the tee signage does a great job of telling you where each basket is, and the distance.

You rarely get held up, and while it's much longer than Bayville, you can play a round solo in about an hour. There are about five-six shelters and numerous playgrounds around the course as well, so great for families with kids. The playgrounds are usually within sight of each hole.
Cons: I actually don't have any cons for this course other than it's WAY out there, almost at the NC/VA state line - but it's also nice to be away from the urban sprawl and have space to play.

The only other possible gripe I could have would be the people who fish or take up the fairway on hole 9 (it's on the peninsula.
Other Thoughts: A great food suggestion if you're making this a day trip: stop at Pungo Pizza on your way back up Princess Anne. It's a locals' favorite.

Also, don't play the course in the days following heavy rains. There will be standing water like crazy given the low elevation and high water table - hey, it's the beach!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Worth the drive

2-4    5/11/2014   5/11/2014
Review By: Discgolf Duncan
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Nicely kept and manicured park.

- A good variety in length and difficulty on each hole.

- Two tee pads and two baskets for each hole.

- Each tee pad has a map showing where both baskets are in relation to the tee. The map also shows the distance to both baskets.

-Difficult water hazard shots on holes 8 and 9. Made for a good challenging tee off.

-Benches and trash cans all around the course.

-The park is nowhere near a major expressway. So people may find that as a con, but I love the country road drives to nowhere.
Cons: -There are some spots where the park has tables near baskets. Hole 10 is one of these instances. Every time I've been there, I have to hold back on my tee off at hole 10 because there's usually a family RIGHT BEHIND the basket. Some people even set up a chair near the red basket because it's under the shady tree.


That is seriously the only con I came across in the few times I've played there.
Other Thoughts: This is definitely one of my favorite courses in the area. The whole park is overall a wonderful place to go on a nice hot day. There's a boat launch, multiple spots to fish from the shore, baseball diamonds, pavilions, a playground for children, horseshoe pits, and basketball courts. After playing a round of 18, I head to the baseball diamonds (which are conveniently right behind hole 18) to toss my drivers around.

Most of the course is in open fields, so you can grip-n-rip a lot here. However, a lot of the baskets are around the 200 ft mark, so you can overthrow a lot here too.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nice Course in the Middle of Nowhere

5+    9/7/2013   9/13/2013
Review By: jskew113
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -2 concrete tees and baskets per hole
-Good Signage
-Decent layout
-Beautiful multi-use park on Back Bay
-Very well maintained
-Light if any course traffic
Cons: -Flat and fairly open
-Wind can be an issue
-Remote Location
Other Thoughts: First the park is always very well maintained, which is impressive for a park of its size. The layout generally runs clockwise around the park. Most holes are fairly short, but there are a few the player could open up on. Scoring -10+ is very doable for the intermediate player. Risk/ reward level is fairly low making it a good course for newer players.

The park is kinda far from most amenities. The village of Pungo is close with a couple of gas stations. Course is flat, but that is typical for the area. Hole 8 could be considered the signature hole as it plays on a peninsula, but if you can throw straight it is not too much of a challenge. Wind can be an issue.

All in all it is a fun, but not overly difficult course in a very nice park. Definitely worth the trip out.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Simple Pleasures

2-4    4/5/2013   4/24/2013
Review By: swatso
Played: 359  Reviewed: 346  Exp: 6.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Two top quality baskets (red band = long, yellow band = short) per hole. Two practice baskets located next to parking lot, equidistant between tees-1 and baskets-18.

Two top quality 4'x12' concrete teepads per hole. Signs with distance information at each teepad.
Cons:
Quite flat. Long-to-short and short-to-long fairly similar.
Other Thoughts:
Course plays next to the woods and water forming the border of a very nice and well maintained multi-purpose park. The course skirts the woods, and only plays near the water on a couple (#8 and #9 fairways) of holes. The views of the water (fairways 8, 9, 12, basket 14) are quite nice.

Course is dead flat. Holes are open in their near entirety, at times needing to miss a couple of large tree trunks, typically early or mid flight. Most holes are either dead straight the whole way, or require a bid of left fade at the end, although a few holes have mandos to force right mid-fairway turns. Errant throws are not severely punished, unless you find the water, or penetrate into the dense treeline forming the park border.

Navigation: The online map makes navigation automatic. Fairly simple even without it - course plays in a clockwise around the edges of the park, the only "long" walks being - practice baskets to tee-1, basket-9 to tee-10, and basket-18 to practice baskets.

A bit off the beaten path, but a pleasant play in nice surroundings. If technical/tight is your preference, don't bother, but if 225'-350', flat, mostly open with a few trees to miss appeals to you, pay a visit.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Ehhh...

2-4    2/10/2013   2/10/2013
Review By: GhostAcer
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Well maintained.
Cons: It's out there a ways. Slightly east of east bumf@$?. It's wide open and flat. Boring and doesn't present many challenges.
Other Thoughts: If you're desperate to add courses to your resume go ahead but I wouldn't recommend it. You're better off going to an open field and throwing. You'll get the same enjoyment and feeling.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

One of the nicest!

5+    10/2/2012   10/2/2012
Review By: Rayzor442
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Two concrete pads & two baskets on each hole for variety, super nice, clean, and well maintained park with plenty for everyone, a lot of open holes, some with a few with trees, very little fairway overlaps, most days has no traffic (since it's so far from everything.)
Cons: Is a long drive from almost anywhere. Some would say that the course is boring w/no elevation changes but, hey, that's the topography here; FLAT!
Other Thoughts: This course ruined me for all other courses! This was the first course I ever played and I've since played on 6 others (in 3 different states) and though some are nice, they all come up short compared to this one. The park is very large and adjoins the sound. It has modern playground equipment in several areas, benches, picnic tables, and shelters throughout. There is baseball/softball, volleyball, basketball, horse shoes, boat ramps, equipment rental (including canoe's), picnic areas on the water...something for everyone. The course is well kept (almost manicured) with a mix of tree'd and open holes. (True, there aren't a LOT of trees but enough to give some holes a bit of a challenge. I would not consider this a wooded course!) Holes 8 and 9 have water hazards which might cost you a disk of you don't take the wind coming off the water into account. The course if very flat (as everthing around here is) so there is virtually no elevation changes. Some have complained that this is boring but anyone (including "tagalongs") that might not be in the best shape should still have no problems walking the course and still have a good time. On some holes, there's just enough underbrush along the edges to punish you for getting especially sloppy but not so much that you have to spend half the game in the thorns if your throw is only a little off. There are 2 tees and 2 baskets for every hole giving some variety though I must admit that the long tees are very challenging (almost tedios for someone of my limited skill level at least) with some having obstacles nearly in front of the tees. Though most fairways are open, screening / obstacle trees have ben planted and have grown nicely over the last couple of years. (I now have to go around trees that I once could have simply thrown over!) Overall, the best course I've played and worth the 45 minute drive to get there.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/23/2012   7/23/2012
Review By: 3gray
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Easy to navigate the course. Two tees and two baskets per hole to play 4 course possibility. Has some distance holes. The signature hole is nice.
Cons: All holes are pretty much open. Some of the short baskets are in the way of the long baskets. Felt like the same shots on the holes. Not a big variety of shots. Very flat.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great place for some golf

1    5/6/2012   5/6/2012
Review By: xb400
Played: 14  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 18.4 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Red and white tee pads for all holes, as well as red and yellow baskets for each hole. This course is on a wonderful park for the whole family and very well taken care of.
Cons: Some of the fairways come a bit too close to people that are picnicking or grilling.
Other Thoughts: This was a great place to play and it is well worth the trip.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.