Virginia Beach, VA
Munden Point Share
Uploaded By: Aaron D'Angelo Hole #4
3 / 221ft.   3 / 255ft.   3 / 265ft.   3 / 299ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Short Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 Beautiful Open Layout Course

8/7/2008   8/9/2008
Review By: Aaron D'Angelo
Played: 11  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great, well kept course in a large open municipal park on the water. 2 concrete tee pads for each hole with good signage at each tee. 2 baskets for each hole and a bench at every back tee and trashcan at nearly every hole. 4 ways to play really give you a lot of choice to play this course, even has a great practice area.
Cons: It's in the middle of nowhere and takes a bit to get there. The bathrooms were locked up? (At least on the #1 tee) I couldn't find any information on the course, besides direcitons anywhere online. Not truely knowing the par was annoying.
Other Thoughts: I'm not kidding when I said that it is in the middle of nowhere. That being said however, this is a great course and well worth the drive to play, and I am very glad I did.

There is no real elevation, and no true wooded holes. The open layout uses trees and bushes with a couple mando routes and OB areas to give you some challenge, and a bad shot by a beginner (me) can still be overcome and get you back into play. If you play the Gold course - rear tees to long baskets, it will give you some good distance to try and overcome. Wind can be a great factor here but it wasn't too bad the day I played.

I didn't need a map to get around, however there is a good portion of the park that must be traversed to get from the front to the back 9.

#8 would be the signature hole, and when windy could be very dangerous especially when playing the rear tees on this long hole as it is set close to the water.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Scenic Rural Waterside Course

1    4/14/2006   9/12/2007
Review By: jaymon1
Played: 77  Reviewed: 77  Exp: 12.9 Years
This review was updated on 6/14/2011
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Setting, tee pads
Other Thoughts: Setting is the key appeal of Munden Point. Though technically in Virginia Beach, the course is actually in the still rural southern area of Virginia Beach, a mere four miles from the North Carolina border. The course plays through a perfectly maintained city park in this rural area and sits upon the beautiful and undeveloped North Landing river. So while the water is only a factor on holes 8 and 9, the river is in view for most of the course and the view is completely natural - water and marshlands, no houses or other signs of development. In terms of setting and natural beauty, Munden Point is one of the best disc golf courses I've visited.

The course itself, however, is a bit on the easy side. While the course features nice concrete teepads, it's not particularly long, even from the pro tees, and is mostly open, though bushes and trees provide some challenge on most holes. This park looks fairly new, and lots of young trees and bushes are in play on the course, so perhaps in five or ten years the course will be considerably more challenging. The course does have two particularly long holes, and a couple of holes that are not entirely straight shots, but overall it's a par 3 course and good players will probably break par, even from the pro tees. Munden Point is well worth the drive and the effort, though; it's a beautiful course in a beautiful part of Virginia.

Favorite Hole - #8 - One of the longer holes on the course plays out to a pennisula with the basket at the very end on the river.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 An average course in a beautiful rural setting on the water

1    4/8/2007   8/2/2007
Review By: Olorin
Played: 295  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 34.9 Years
This review was updated on 11/18/2008
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It's in a beautiful natural area and the water is in view on most of the holes.
2 sets of tees and 2 basket layouts per hole. Nice concrete tees and nice tee signs.
Cons: A very long walk from basket 9 to tee 10. Make sure to get a map to know where to go. The wind off the water can be fierce.
Other Thoughts: Favorite hole- #8- the signature hole. It plays out onto the peninsula with water on 3 sides. Really a challenge when the wind is blowing off the water and the basket is in the longest position.

NOTE: Look in the "Links/Files" section for my files with Hole-by-hole evaluations, and a more detailed Overall review. You can also read more of my reviews at the Yahoo Group, DG Course Reviews, http://sports.groups.yahoo.co...ourseReviews/

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.