Bloomfield, IA 
Lake Fisher DGC Share
Uploaded By: RussMB Hole #10 (Taken 6/2015)
3 / 385ft.   3 / 385ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers

1    6/3/2015   6/7/2015
Review By: RussMB
Played: 110  Reviewed: 96  Exp: 10.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Located on a beautiful lake with rolling hills and defined fairways. Very scenic and picturesque and made for an enjoyable round.
Tee Signs with maps and distance
Course navigation is very easy to follow. I didn't have to look at the map.
Beginners and Advanced players can have a good time here.
Front 9 plays back to, and the back 9 starts near the parking area. This allows for quick rounds or stopping at the car.
Good variety of long and short fairways
The fairways bend and turn requiring turnover and flex shots.
Varying terrain. You will be throwing up and down hills
Fairways are lined by tall grass, but you're given a wide area to throw down.
The Challenge was above average, but was pretty straight forward. Staying in the fairway and working the doglegs are the main objectives when playing Lake Fisher.
FWIW: Camping and fishing on site, as well as nice areas to walk around.
Road Trip Tip: However you approach them, Lake Fisher DGC and the Centerville DGC complement each other nicely. If you add one, add the other in the same trip.
Cons: Though it's already been addressed, there are no teepads or tee areas. You just throw from near the Teesign. I realize that the "Clean Air & Water Act" can prohibit the pouring of concrete on wetlands, but rubber mats could be utilized here. It would go a long way in stepping up the course, as well as giving shorter shots to beginners on the longer holes
* It is possible that pads are planned for the future.

When going from 11 to 12 you have to cross 8's Fairway. Although this is sometimes unavoidable, signs should be placed for safety sake. A Sidewinder to the head can put a damper on ones round.
The rough lives up to its name. The rough will tear up your legs if you are wearing shorts and/or sandals. My legs were on fire and bleeding by the time my round was finished.
Other Thoughts: Lake Fisher reminded me a little of Edmundson Park in Oskaloosa, Ia. Coupled with the defined fairways of Oakland Mills in Mount Pleasant, Ia. It was a good time and I really enjoyed playing here. The fairways varied from basket to basket, and even had a few canyon shots. #8 was a cool down hill run that backdrops against the lake. Don't over throw! Though it's not extremely challenging, the long distance runs definitely make it hard to stay in the fairway. I felt it had a good fun factor, with a medium challenge.

It is an open course and there isn't much relief from shade, so bring fluids for the hot days. The rough is brutal, and can be tough on those wearing shorts. Lake Fisher is worth checking out if you live in one of the surrounding towns. It also has the potential to host some good tournaments. I had a good time, and hope that I can make it back one day. It's definitely one to check out.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Tee pads would add a lot

1    5/2/2015   5/11/2015
Review By: owenrae
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course reminds me of Pickard Park in Indianola. It has hills, mostly open, mowed grass fairways. When I played, we were the only people on the course for the duration we were there. Two holes play over water but not in real danger of throwing one in unless it is a really poor shot. I thought the course was fun and challenging for someone with an average length drive. A few chances for birdies makes the course more enjoyable for the average player. The signage is good.
Cons: Lack of concrete tee pads would be worse if there was a wet spell. As it was it makes it a little less attractive to play.
Other Thoughts: We made a day trip driving down from Des Moines and played this course and Centerville DGC. Both these courses compare favorably with Central Iowa courses and it was fun playing something new. Stop for Ice Cream on your way north out of town at the small Ice Cream shop. Good way to finish up a fun day.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great course needs tee pads.

1    10/21/2013   11/9/2013
Review By: earseneaux
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Very well maintained
-Most holes have accurate satellite signs
-Variety of challenges at different holes
-Fairways were recently mowed
Cons: -No tee pads just the sign and some grass
-Course was hard to find since we weren't from area and we had to drive down a gravel road
-The rough is pretty high and thick in some areas.
Other Thoughts: We drove an hour to play disc golf at this course and we were very happy with this course. At first we were skeptical of the course after having a hard time finding the course and throwing towards the wrong basket off the first tee. But after the first couple of holes this course really had a good feel to it with a variety of different shots. The course is mostly field shots with no woods. You do have to throw over a lake on one hole which made for a pretty cool shot.

Make sure you watch your disc after you throw if it ends up in the rough. It is a lot thicker than it seems in some spots. We lost a disc in the rough even though it was probably only 1-2 feet high. Rough also has some thorns, be careful.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Has good potential

1    7/9/2012   7/13/2012
Review By: iblanchard
Played: 224  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 12.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very well maintained fairways. On holes you have trouble finding the basket you can assume it follows the fairway. Had a variety of distances for the holes. Rough has tall grass (1-2ft), but it thin enough that you shouldnt look too long for your disc. Very easy to find the next hole. Hole 9 you have a choice to go for it over the water...probably 275ft to clear it or lay up. Hole 18 has a really cool peninsula tee pad.
Cons: Grass tee pads. Some tee pads are too close to the previous basket. Could cause problems if you are close to another group. Hole one was hard to find. (We found out after the first shot it curves with the outfield fence). Holes 10-18 only had a post to mark tee with no distance. We guessed the midde 3 of those were 400+, maybe one in the 500 range.
Other Thoughts: I would consider giving this course a 4 when they finish it. Still need tee pads that are not grass and get better signs...especially 1, 10-18.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Lake Fisher Disc Golf Course

1    10/23/2010   10/23/2010
Review By: Berryiowa
Played: 14  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * Sighn at hole 1 Telling about Disc Golf
* Very well maintained
* Signs on all Tee's
* Next Tee right beside the basket making it easy to find
* Fairways mowed shorter than rough making it easy to see fairway
* some use of elavation on a few holes
* course flows nicely around North West corner of park
* Course ends near start of course.
* one Risk/Reward hole (Hole 9) with a shot across corner of lake.
Cons: * Grass Tee pads (can be slipery when wet)
* a post acros from tee sighn to make a line for end of tee pad would help
* course is wide open on most holes
* Sign at hole 1 said OB would be marked at each hole NONE are marked.
* Some of the marked distances on signs seemed off (Basket seemed closer than what sign said.)
* a shign at the Parking lot with course layout would help players form out of town a lot.
* a Bridge on hole 9 would help soo you don't have a long walk around (Good if you are waiting for your floating disk to come in.)
Other Thoughts: This is a nice course in a nice park. This is the perfect type of course to take a new player to with short open drive and two hole with water in play. On hole 8 is you over drive the basket by very much you will be in the lake and on hole 9 you must throw across the lake but you can use your 1st throw to get you closer to lake to make it an easyer shot across. I had fun on this course and will play it again when in the area. I would like to see the park make it a 18 hole course and try to get a few more trees and water shots in play.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.