Candler, NC 
Enka High School NT DGC Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #7 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 228ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee Sign

Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
NT course in NK

1    8/1/2015   8/6/2015
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 209  Reviewed: 202  Exp: 11.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Enka High School is a pleasant addition to the Nature Trail family of courses. I wasn't sure what to expect with the dual-tee pad layout. What I got was a nice round of disc golf on a Saturday afternoon.
- This is a nice, beginner-friendly layout. There are an array of enjoyable holes, with some being potential ace runs (#1, 6, 10 & 17), some offering a decent degree of challenge (at least when it comes to making birdie - #12, 16 & 18) and others presenting a good risk/reward challenge, especially for those who get too aggressive (#8, 11, 14 & 15). This variety will present a good challenge to all lower-level skilled players.
- For such a small plot of land, I was impressed at the variety of hole layouts. There are holes with an elevation factor (#1, 5, 8 among others), holes that have tight fairways (#4, 5, 11, 16 & 17), ones with wider fairways (3, 10, 12 & 17) and others with doglegs (3, 4, 7, 15 & 16).
- Good course to practice the mid-range game. I never pulled out driver on the course. The longest hole is #12 at 372 feet. The only other hole that played long is #18. It's listed at 283, but is clearly longer - tee pad is more than 60 feet behind #11 (it's dual-tee counterpart) and it plays slight uphill.
- Great tee signs. As is the standard for Nature Trail courses, I'm a big fan of these descriptive signs that feature a picture of the hole (along with a highlighted line showing the route to the basket), a disc golf tip and a bit of nature knowledge. Kids, just think. You can learn while playing disc golf.
Cons: The obvious drawback to the course is that the course overlaps with seven baskets being used for 14 of the holes. Not only that, but other holes play so close to each other. As an example, I teed off on #1 right in front of a duo. After finishing the hole, I had to wait for them to throw their tee shots before I could safely throw my tee shot. This is all attributed to having too many holes in such a small space.
- Navigation can be tricky for first-timers and/or people without a map. There are multiple times on the course where after finishing one hole, you walk past other tee pads to get to the correct one. I got stuck behind a family who were following a logical progression around the course rather than the confusing, numerical one.
- Course would be extremely difficult to play if there were many other disc golfers on the course. Between all the issues above, you'd have long waits on tee pads while also having to watch for stray discs from other holes. There were only two other groups playing, in addition to myself and the aforementioned family, and it was seeming crowded enough. This isn't a course where you can easily skip a hole to pass a slow group because you could easily get stuck behind another group playing the alternative tee on the same basket.
Other Thoughts: Enka High School won't be everyone's cup of tea. It'll be too easy for some. Others won't like the layout and/or the potential confusion. Still it serves a purpose in the disc golf course spectrum and it could be good for a change of pace. I wouldn't play here often if this were in my hometown, but it would be good for the occasional visit.
- There are enough enjoyable holes here that it kept my interest throughout. Granted, a lot of holes lost their luster after playing them from a different tee pad. That recipe works well, for some reason, for Park Circle in North Charleston, SC. It doesn't work as well here.
- This is a course you can play carrying only a couple of discs. As I mentioned above, I never used a driver, so the ones in my bag ended up being extra weight I was lugging around.
- Taking everything into consideration, I'm giving this course a 2.0 rating. That's slightly below average; but, considering this is a short course with limited space and seven shared baskets, this course probably overachieves with those limitations. Given more space with 18 unique baskets, this could have been an enjoyable course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Decent beginner/intermediate course

1    5/18/2014   6/26/2014
Review By: LeeLK
Played: 60  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 7.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Baskets are decent, tee pads are okay. Decent variety in holes. Good use of the land--the multiple pads per basket didn't bother me much.
Cons: The mulch tees could be loose. Not exactly a wilderness experience since you're walking on sidewalks and concrete for a good chunk of the round.
Other Thoughts: Decent course if you haven't played much and want to play closer to par.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 nice short course

1    4/12/2014   4/13/2014
Review By: Bengi
Played: 32  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 13.8 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The baskets were great big fan is DIScatcher baskets..the grounds and course was well maintained (teeboxes, fairways, signage)
Cons: I would say one of the things I didn't like too much about the course is the use of multiple teepads for one basket.. after about hole 11 it did get a little confusing even with a map.. and the teepads weren't level so it was a little difficult to get max power out of some throws
Other Thoughts: I usually play Richmond Hill one of the best courses in this area so I wanted to give this one a try.. it was a fun course walked away feeling good playing 2 rounds and staying well below par for both.. seasoned players may get a little bored with the shorter distance holes but overall a great course for someone new to the sport.. glad the school put this course on their property

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 More people should play here

5+    7/7/2013   7/14/2013
Review By: Chickenwing
Played: 33  Reviewed: 4
Pros: Plenty of room for you to play because you will probably have the course to yourself in the summer and weekends. Variety of holes that are easy and difficult. Medium and short length holes mostly. Plenty of birdie chances.
Cons: Tee boxes need work. Not level and not very wide or long.

11 and 18 have no good route to the basket in my opinion. Not much better with 7 and 16. These of course are the same basket with two tee pads.

This course will be too short for good players. Use it to practice approach shots as some holes are very tight.
Other Thoughts: Never played on a busy day yet so a round can be done in short time. Think more people should get out here to learn and to practice. Not as hilly as some other courses in the area if you are looking for time throw extra shots for practice and to focus on golf not exercise. This course is underrated especially considering how crowded other courses are like RH which I love.

 Back to High School

2-4    7/13/2012   7/21/2012
Review By: New013
Played: 150  Reviewed: 101  Exp: 5.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Layout - It's a shorter course that's pretty well rounded on High School grounds. For what it is I think the designer has done a good job of getting 18 holes in with the area available.

There's a solid mixture of open/wooded holes as well as holes that start in the open then go in to the woods & vice versa. There's also a some holes in the 300' range and one at 375' that let you get a drive in.

The individual hole layouts give you a chance to use a variety of shots and work on your short game, approaches. I used BH, FH and OH shots quite a bit.

There's actually a good amount of elevation change here and it's used very well, you'll have to shape shots on top of going down or up.

Atmosphere - It's on high school grounds but the grounds are pretty well landscaped. There was never anybody in my way even though I played during school hours.

Equipment - The baskets are in good shape and there are tee signs.
Cons: Layout - The course is limited by the space available and while I think it is better served by having 18 holes some holes are very forced. There's some holes that are stuck in patches of trees that are ridiculously tight.

This course is aimed towards younger and beginner players and some of those tight holes are not the best way to teach players imo.

There's also a bit of a danger factor here which is why you're not supposed to play during school hours. Many holes are near walking paths, school buildings and roads. One hole even crosses right over a road (I threw directly over a cop car.)

There is a drawback in that you use some baskets multiple times. As well as some of the fairways cross.

Not a lot of risk/reward here, even with a bad drive it's still pretty easy to make par. Not many multiple routes either.

Equipment - The tee pads are framed but natural. Not the best not the worst, just not level in all places.

Atmosphere - It's on high school grounds, so be on your best behavior. I know it's not a con for everybody but it's going here just because there are restrictions on your activities and how you can act.

Not the most scenic part of Asheville either just because you're at a high school. Not the secluded mountain feel that you get at some other courses in the area.
Other Thoughts: I think this a superb course to teach people about disc golf and a nice place to learn the sport and work on your short game.

However for more seasoned and skilled disc golfers this is definitely not a course you have to play.

Keep in mind at all times that you're on government property and representing the dg community. The designer which is a teacher at the school has done a good job of creating something positive for our community and let's not ruin it.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Not a bad HS course

2-4    3/5/2011   12/2/2011
Review By: ashevillain
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: One of the main things I look for in a course is a nice variety of shots...none being too difficult or too easy. I think this modest course fits this description.
Cons: I dislike how the course uses some of the baskets twice. I don't hate this practice in general but I don't think they executed the idea as well as they could have. I would have preferred a 9 hole course and maybe some of the holes a bit longer.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great use of a small area

1    7/10/2011   7/10/2011
Review By: ncjay
Played: 18  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Wooded and hilly. There didn't seem to be alot of traffic through there.
Cons: We could not find #9 tee so we just threw from the sidewalk near where it should be based on the course map
Other Thoughts: Overall a decent shorter course. i think if alot of people were playing it could get hairy using the same baskets for different holes

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Go back to High School

5+    4/11/2010   4/12/2010
Review By: DiscChainBasket18
Played: 92  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 11.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/14/2010
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very clean, well manicured course on school grounds. New DISCatcher dbl chain baskets. A decent mix of wooded & open holes. Some open to wooded shots & vise-versa. Interesting course layout for the space allotted. Easy to navigate after the first time. Course takes advantage of what little elevation available. 18 holes out of only 11 baskets. Nice tee signs.
Cons: You'll need to download a course map to figure out where to go the first time around. No benches. Tee pads are too narrow & short. Frame only with no filler. Need concrete! Some drives cross walking paths & streets (#10 is scary).
Other Thoughts: This is not a world class course. It is a high
school course with intentions of bring young golfers into the sport. It turns out to be a fun layout that's easy to enjoy.
The course superintendent is very open to suggestions to make this course better. He takes ideas from local golfers & makes changes fast (sometimes overnight). Example: they installed new tee signs but the placement was not correct. We advised (casually) that the signs should be moved out of the way of the thrower. He changed all the tee signs within a few days! That's accommodating! You have to admire & respect this kind of disc golf enthusiasm.
My favorite hole: #13. Drive across an open area, slightly uphill into a gap in the trees.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A really bad course.

1    9/20/2009   9/20/2009
Review By: El Oso Peligroso
Played: 27  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 15.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/2/2010
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: #6, #7, and #8 are decent. There is nothing wrong with these holes and if the rest of the course was like them it would be a 3 star course. I know they are trying to change the course and if it's more in this direction it could be good, but the first five need to be redesigned entirely.
Cons: As a whole, this course is absolutely terrible. I arrived and spent about 20 minutes looking for hole 1. From the tee the pin is 200 feet away, and in the middle of a clump of trees. Get used to that, because that's every hole. You never need a driver.

I use the word "hole" lightly here. I mean there's a tee and a basket but they don't really flow like the were designed by a player. The only real concern of the designer was putting as many obstacles in the way as he could. That might sound challenging or exciting but it's neither.
Other Thoughts: I've never walked off a course without finishing it before, but after 10 holes I was pretty much done with it.

Every hole just felt like it was intended to be as frustrating as possible, when the land could support a good course.

If they used that fairway that #2 and #3 play across, you could have a good hole there. If #4 used a different tee pad that would be a good hole too. It's the unrealized potential that makes me so frustrated with this course. If they gave up on a full 18 and stuck to nine they wouldn't cramp themselves into these really weird holes. And maybe people would play all of them.

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Must be a New Course!

5+    9/28/2009   8/9/2009
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 342  Reviewed: 131  Exp: 14.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/16/2009
5 Helpful / 1 Not
NOTE: This course must have a new layout. There were 18 holes with 11 baskets (some baskets were used twice from different tee-pads). I never played the old design... but, the course I played is not the course I read about in the reviews below. For example: holes 2 and 3 do not share the same tee-pad anymore.

- NEW T-SIGNS. Every hole now has a tee-sign (except hole 9... from 8 pin walk up the hill and play from the fat crack square in the sidewalk). This should make navigation much easier.
- Obviously a course at a high school is going to expose kids to the game. And, since some of the shots on this course are real quality shots, it could breed some talent.
- Numbers 2, 6, 7, 11, 12, 16, 17, 18 are really great holes.
- Demands variation in skill set... open, tight, short, long, right, left, BH, FH, overhands, cut rollers.
- Great use of elevation and terrain.
- Hard to navigate the first time!... But, since then the course has installed NEW T-SIGNS and uploaded a MAP (under the links section), therefore, navigation should be much much easier.
- Dangerous! Not only would having multiple tee-pads firing at one pin be a hazard, but several of the shots throw over roads, next to parking lots and near places kids might want to hang out. I'm happy because those holes are dope! But, for beginners (i.e. most high schoolers) it's dangerous.
Other Thoughts:
- Since this course is on a high school, we have to be on our best behavior. Otherwise, they could yank it.
- I play this course at least twice a week now. It's a nice course with quality shots that could really tune your game.
- I will sign up as a guide... since it's so difficult to navigate the first time.
- But, if you don't want a guide here are some tips:
a) print out the map.
b) pay attention during the first 10 and you will see where the alternate tees are for the second loop. It really is a breeze once you play it once.
- My Best Score: -10
- My Avg: -6

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.