Ham Lake, MN 
Ham Lake DGC Share
Uploaded By: erickmj  



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2

5+    6/15/2014   6/30/2014
Review By: Blaaaake77
Played: 19  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 3.4 Years
Pros: - A close 9 hole course with challenging shots
- Good mix of open holes and a few wooded
- Minimal foot traffic depending on time of day and if the park is occupied by a baseball or softball team
- Fairways are cut nice, rough and fairway edges get long and never get cut, miss the fairway and lose sight of the disc can turn it into a pain to locate
Cons: - Lost the back 9 due to vandalism
- Buggy
- Can get wet and stay wet for a long time
- If you go at the wrong time of day there can be loads of people and usually all are beginners so it takes time, which is annoying at a 9 hole course
- A few wooded holes get muddy and a real pain with low hanging branches
- Not the best maintained course, trash and high grass sucks
Other Thoughts: Nothing really else to be added, except for maybe the back 9? Rumor has it though they could open them back up, according to a local shop, which would be great this course would be a 3.5-4.0 course with the back 9 they were so fun and challenging. I hope to see some maintenance done to this course, the city should take care of it more, since they do play baseball nightly here.

Free alternative to brp

5+    9/13/2011   12/31/2012
Review By: elmexdela
Played: 73  Reviewed: 24
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good long and short holes. Concrete teeboxes, holes have alternate shorter teeboxes too. Some teeboxes are in wooded areas requiring a solid straight drive out of the teebox, and if your not accurate you wont make it more than 30 ft past the teebox (can result in funny penalties made up by your friends and makes the driving accuracy challenging). Good use of different types of shots needed like hyzer and annys. A few long holes to really bomb it out there. Also some easy holes for two's. Free and good warm up for brp. Could either start at front nine or back nine depending on your preference.
Cons: Bugs can get bad at certain times of year. Sometimes swamp water builds up and parts of the course will be flooded. Few holes are easy to lose a disc. Back 9 seemed like some filler holes as the woods got super thick and swamp like and couldn't play half the time due to water flooding.
Other Thoughts: Last time I played here it was 18 holes. I heard that since then they took out the back nine because of vandalism. The back nine werent that great anyways. The front nine was way better.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 No back 9 );

5+    7/29/2012   7/29/2012
Review By: The_Babanator
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/3/2012
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1. This is a great course for beginners and advanced players.

2. Decent tees on every hole and sometimes 2 tees per hole for beginners.

3. Not as many bugs as many other courses

4. Great terrain. Hole #5 has downhill and up hill which is exciting. On hole #7 there is a huge dirt pile in the way of the course that acts like a obstacle but still possible to do great on.

5. Hole #9 has a pond to the right of it so you have to be careful. Most of the time (all of the times I have gone there) there is no water but I am sure that at times it can get high in certain areas. But it makes it more interesting.

6. Asphalt tee box was great

7. One of my favorite simply because everyone of all skill level can have a fun time here.
Cons: 1. First of all I wrote this review because no one has mentioned that there is no back 9. They have taken it out because of vandalism.

2. I do see some broken glass and beer bottles in the woods which is probably part of the reason the back 9 was taken out.

3. People have wrote on the signs and one of the signs by the old back 9 #10 says "The back 9 has been taken out due vandalism". Someone wrote "Gay!!" over it and I couldn't help but to chuckle.

4. Just went back 9-3-12 and The tee on 9 has fallen. It is still there but almost impossible to put back in the ground upright. I could not do anything about it but I hope some one will
Other Thoughts: I have heard from others that they are not going to put the back 9 up due to the vandalism. Some guy said that they will be making more baseball fields there instead which is a real bummer. Although I have recently gone to a nearby store called disc life and they said that they are having a meeting with the city and hopefully take ownership of the course. This means that they will be charging $3 a day (Which isn't bad),possibly mowing the grassy areas and wait for... wait for it... BACK 9 WILL GO IN! But only if the city lets them. Also I heard concession stands which will be great! (:

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Good BRP warm up

5+    6/27/2011   7/11/2011
Review By: E_Rock25
Played: 74  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 4.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Ham Lake DGC is a great advanced beginner course. There is a good mix of most everything a Disc Golf Course needs. I is located in a city park right next to Ham Lake "hence the name". The park is full of all sorts of other activates and make for a great day. There are gazebos, grills, volleyball courts, a fishing pier and a boat launch. Whether you are on your way to BRP or out for the day with the family this is a fun stop for all.

1.Good mix of hyzer, anhyzer and straight shots.

2.For the most part easy to fallow with good flow.

3.Great signage with distance and hole description.

4.Decent mix of somewhat long to short holes with a few ace runs.

5.Good mix of wooded and open shots.

6.Nice cement tee pads with alt pads on some holes.

7.Baskets are in good shape.

8.Not too much litter.

9.Course is mostly separated from other park activates.

10.Shot shaping is required not just a pitch and putt.

11.Well maintained and mowed when I was there.

12.Great warm up round for BRP.
Cons: The course has a few draw back in my opinion, but it is still worth playing.

1.It is for the most part pretty short. Only one big bomber 522', everything else is under 400'.

2.No elevation to speak of. A few holes have a little bit but not more than 10' up or down.

3.A few of the wooded holes have no real line what so ever just throw and hope to get lucky. I play a lot of heavily wooded course's and really like them but hole #11 is crazy thick.

4.Pad are kind of short but most holes are too so it's not that bad.

5.The rough is thick and if you go off the fairway you could be spending some time looking for disc's. This gets worse as the summer goes on. There is also poison ivy in the rough so watch out.

6.I play this course in the morning and it is not too busy but I guess it can get really bad at peak times.

7.If there is a lot of water some of the pins get really muddy to the point where you don't want to putt.

8.No signature hole and most of the holes are close to the same length. Bring some mids and putters.

9.Bugs can be a problem because it is close to the water.
Other Thoughts: I really like this course for what it is. It's not going to blow your mind but is nice for a free town park course. It plays quick if you play it in the morning on your way to BRP. You can get two rounds in in about an hour and a half or a bit less. It's a good course for working on your short game and there are some real fun ace runs. It is defiantly worth your time if you are in the area.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 One of my go-to courses

5+    6/19/2011   6/20/2011
Review By: Jboost
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Good flow and well marked.
-Nice signs provide all the necessary info to make sure your not going in blind.
-You can choose to play 9 or 18 even after you make it all the way to 9.
Cons: -Mosquitoes can get pretty gnarly in some areas, bring bug spray.
-Some holes have poor drainage and are fairly muddy.


0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    5/4/2011   6/2/2011
Review By: Sargentgeneral
Played: 85  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Many tight wooded shots
- Great for beginner players
- Multiple tees
- Great warm-up course
Cons: - Never really get to let loose a big drive
- Tough to play when little league is playing (somebody parked on the tee box once when we were trying to play)
- Play can be slowed by the amount of players
Other Thoughts: Fun course if you live there. Nothing to go out of the way to play, but a fun little course where the less experienced can still shoot a good score. Better warm up for the courses that are more advanced.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice 18

1    8/21/2010   8/20/2010
Review By: deadbody
Played: 103  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 10.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Solid warm-up for Blue Ribbon Pines, nice 18 hole layout, multiple tees in a couple spots. Nice asphalt tees, nice baskets. Mix of tight and wooded holes, and open holes. Good signs at the tee boxes, give you distance and how the hole moves. Was well mowed when I played, but the guy who joined us mid-round said it isn't always like that.
Cons: Short, I think the longest hole is about 380. Some of the tight holes are too tight, the lanes are really tough to hit, making a few of the holes for of a luck shot than skill. No elevation, this is a flat park, no water.
Other Thoughts: My son said he thinks this should be a 3.5 course, and I think the lack of evelation drops it a bit to a 3, but I would have a hard time arguing against a 3.5, it is a good but not great course, you aren't really going to be able to air it out too much, but it will give you a pretty fair challenge, good course for younger players, not great for newer players as the tree filled holes would be very frustrating. Good warm up for Blue Ribbon Pines that is just a bit down the road, I could be convinced to make the 30 minute trip out to play this course another couple times because it really was pretty enjoyable.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Good Recreational Course

5+    5/21/2010   5/24/2010
Review By: pokey.mott
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A lot of new work has been done this year with the addition of men's tees on multiple holes and all tees cemented. Expansion to back nine is nice to have a longer course and hole fourteen is a personal favorite (skip ace'd).
Cons: On a nice day around four o'clock this course can get crowded. Especially on weekends there can be large slow family groups.
Other Thoughts: This course is fun if you are out in the area and want to play more than a nine hole course and don't want to pay to play. If you really want to enjoy your round I would suggest Blue Ribbon Pines.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Short but fun

1    4/10/2010   4/12/2010
Review By: jbenjohnson
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - New 9 added so there are now 18 holes.
- Variety of shots needed, the new back 9 is very short, but very wooded, with many of the holes having no path to the pin
- Clean, pretty easy to find the next hole
Cons: - Short course, only two or three holes where you can even think about using a driver
- Short asphalt tee boxes on the front 9, dirt tees on the back 9
Other Thoughts: - Good course for a quick round, only takes about 45 mins for 18 holes

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Ham Lake - not bad

5+    4/30/2009   4/30/2009
Review By: cmhouser
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Clean course. Easy to navigate. Not crowded at all. Close to park/picnic areas.
Cons: Not REAL challenging by any means. Holes a little short. Only 9 holes total.
Other Thoughts: This Ham Lake course is nice for a quick round over lunch or after hours. While it isn't real challenging it is a good course for those just getting in the game who are still a bit of a novice. You should be able to par the course after a few times playing.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.