Course Extinct
Ham Lake, MN 
Ham Lake DGC Share
Uploaded By: erickmj  



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Fun course / Hidden Gem in city!

1    10/27/2011   10/28/2011
Review By: tarzan612
Played: 110  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Excellent and intuitive layout, some long holes and some technical holes. A hidden gem among courses throughout the metro area. A good balance of distance and challenging holes as well.
Cons: There is a few holes that have potential of being swampy and wet after a rain or especially during rainy seasons.
Other Thoughts: My best score on 18 holes to date!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, Quick 18

1    9/16/2011   9/16/2011
Review By: Badgerman
Played: 211  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 11.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) Good flow to course

2) Plays very quickly, with almost no time spent looking for lost discs.

3) With the exception of #16 (See Cons) the entire course was very well maintained, free of undergrowth, only 1 downed tree(which actually made the hole better)

4) Front 9 ends at the parking lot, so it's easy to play a quick 9 if that's all you have time for.

5) Fairways are Unique. I don't think i threw the same throw twice. hole 13 is a sharp, short right angle and the elevation changes added an odd wind current.
Cons: 1) Holes 9, 10, and 16 were very muddy.

2) Hole 16 must be some sort of joke, the fairway is just a giant mess of downed trees, saplings, hanging branches and mud. Nicknamed "The Devil's Vagina", I believe that name to be much too generous.
Other Thoughts: Except for 16, this was a very fun course, challenging holes interspersed with some easy dueces

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great course, worth whatever drive, and testing of all skills!

2-4    7/2/2010   7/4/2010
Review By: a_beautifulplace
Played: 36  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 11.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is great. From the first to the last, every single hole on this course delivers something new to players of all skill levels. As an intermediate player, I found myself getting very close to par on the course playing all the long shots and fell behind on a few of the more intricate woods holes that were challenging and still very fun. The notable shots for me were the double hook shot near the end and the right angle hook in the middle. Course makes sense, varies in terrain and grade, and is guaranteed to challenge anyone.
Cons: It's far away, but I don't even care. Also, they could stand to do some mowing/trimming in a few areas as the course is riddled with poison ivy and oak. The worst thing about this course having played it two times is how much time YOU CAN spend looking for your disc here. A lot of foliage.
Other Thoughts: This place is worth any drive you have to make. HLDGC is going to the top of my rotation for the next few weeks, and maybe longer. There are a lot of awesome shots to get here but some take quite a bit of practice.


STAY OUT OF THE TALL GRASS. A BUDDY OF MINE BROKE OUT IN HORRIBLE POISON IVY!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 a

1    5/10/2010   5/10/2010
Review By: airick150
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: this course just got new tees on hole 3, 4, 5 and i think thats it not really sure and the back nine now have concrete tees and new signs no more are they generic with permanate markers
Cons: pretty busy on a nice day with big groups of slow people, the new tees have a miss type some of them are marked as par 3 when they should be par 4
Other Thoughts: great course and nice ppl usually for locals you see alot of your disc golfing buddies

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Four Fun

2-4    10/31/2009   10/31/2009
Review By: Gflap
Played: 319  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 11.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent use of available land. I'm usually not wild about courses that wrap around ball fields, but as previous reviewer noted, this is not an issue with this design. 7 X 3 asphalt tee pads with 6x6 timber bordering front of box. 6x6 tee sign posts with inlay of hole picture on metal plate. Although back 9 pads and signs are not yet completed. Good use of trees as obstacles on all holes with some lines semi open and others with very tight lines to baskets. multiple type shots needed for this course. Well maintained park with trash cans strategically placed.
Cons: Unfinished tee pads and signs on back 9.
Other Thoughts: Played this course on a breezy fall day and loved it. This course is a perfect example of fun holes that are not ridiculous in length. Advanced and recreational players, alike, will have an equal amount of fun here. Kudos, to whoever designed the new back 9.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.