Ham Lake, MN 
Ham Lake DGC Share
Uploaded By: erickmj  



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3

5+    6/15/2014   6/30/2014
Review By: Blaaaake77
Played: 14  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 3.3 Years
Pros: - A close 9 hole course with challenging shots
- Good mix of open holes and a few wooded
- Minimal foot traffic depending on time of day and if the park is occupied by a baseball or softball team
- Fairways are cut nice, rough and fairway edges get long and never get cut, miss the fairway and lose sight of the disc can turn it into a pain to locate
Cons: - Lost the back 9 due to vandalism
- Buggy
- Can get wet and stay wet for a long time
- If you go at the wrong time of day there can be loads of people and usually all are beginners so it takes time, which is annoying at a 9 hole course
- A few wooded holes get muddy and a real pain with low hanging branches
- Not the best maintained course, trash and high grass sucks
Other Thoughts: Nothing really else to be added, except for maybe the back 9? Rumor has it though they could open them back up, according to a local shop, which would be great this course would be a 3.5-4.0 course with the back 9 they were so fun and challenging. I hope to see some maintenance done to this course, the city should take care of it more, since they do play baseball nightly here.

18 hole history

5+    7/8/2013   7/22/2013
Review By: Aim For The Chains
Played: 103  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Quick to play with easy access and some long/short tees giving a good mix of shots as well as distances. Holes range from open to tightly wooded and a good challenge for all skill levels.
Cons: City removed back 9 due to people defacing the property as well as it often becoming flooded and very tore up. Last 3 holes are also impacted by flooding with tons of bugs in the summer and lacks any solid amenities but a few signs, garbage cans and picnic tables are there...kinda :/
Other Thoughts: A good warm-up for BRP or quick 9 holes which is step above your typical pitch & putt style course. Too bad the city was forced to remove the back 9 but can see why with the amount of trash and work it made for the city just being there. RIP Back 9.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Free alternative to brp

5+    9/13/2011   12/31/2012
Review By: elmexdela
Played: 71  Reviewed: 24
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good long and short holes. Concrete teeboxes, holes have alternate shorter teeboxes too. Some teeboxes are in wooded areas requiring a solid straight drive out of the teebox, and if your not accurate you wont make it more than 30 ft past the teebox (can result in funny penalties made up by your friends and makes the driving accuracy challenging). Good use of different types of shots needed like hyzer and annys. A few long holes to really bomb it out there. Also some easy holes for two's. Free and good warm up for brp. Could either start at front nine or back nine depending on your preference.
Cons: Bugs can get bad at certain times of year. Sometimes swamp water builds up and parts of the course will be flooded. Few holes are easy to lose a disc. Back 9 seemed like some filler holes as the woods got super thick and swamp like and couldn't play half the time due to water flooding.
Other Thoughts: Last time I played here it was 18 holes. I heard that since then they took out the back nine because of vandalism. The back nine werent that great anyways. The front nine was way better.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

No back 9 );

5+    7/29/2012   7/29/2012
Review By: The_Babanator
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/3/2012
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1. This is a great course for beginners and advanced players.

2. Decent tees on every hole and sometimes 2 tees per hole for beginners.

3. Not as many bugs as many other courses

4. Great terrain. Hole #5 has downhill and up hill which is exciting. On hole #7 there is a huge dirt pile in the way of the course that acts like a obstacle but still possible to do great on.

5. Hole #9 has a pond to the right of it so you have to be careful. Most of the time (all of the times I have gone there) there is no water but I am sure that at times it can get high in certain areas. But it makes it more interesting.

6. Asphalt tee box was great

7. One of my favorite simply because everyone of all skill level can have a fun time here.
Cons: 1. First of all I wrote this review because no one has mentioned that there is no back 9. They have taken it out because of vandalism.

2. I do see some broken glass and beer bottles in the woods which is probably part of the reason the back 9 was taken out.

3. People have wrote on the signs and one of the signs by the old back 9 #10 says "The back 9 has been taken out due vandalism". Someone wrote "Gay!!" over it and I couldn't help but to chuckle.

4. Just went back 9-3-12 and The tee on 9 has fallen. It is still there but almost impossible to put back in the ground upright. I could not do anything about it but I hope some one will
Other Thoughts: I have heard from others that they are not going to put the back 9 up due to the vandalism. Some guy said that they will be making more baseball fields there instead which is a real bummer. Although I have recently gone to a nearby store called disc life and they said that they are having a meeting with the city and hopefully take ownership of the course. This means that they will be charging $3 a day (Which isn't bad),possibly mowing the grassy areas and wait for... wait for it... BACK 9 WILL GO IN! But only if the city lets them. Also I heard concession stands which will be great! (:

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course / Hidden Gem in city!

1    10/27/2011   10/28/2011
Review By: tarzan612
Played: 110  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Excellent and intuitive layout, some long holes and some technical holes. A hidden gem among courses throughout the metro area. A good balance of distance and challenging holes as well.
Cons: There is a few holes that have potential of being swampy and wet after a rain or especially during rainy seasons.
Other Thoughts: My best score on 18 holes to date!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, Quick 18

1    9/16/2011   9/16/2011
Review By: Badgerman
Played: 204  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 10.9 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) Good flow to course

2) Plays very quickly, with almost no time spent looking for lost discs.

3) With the exception of #16 (See Cons) the entire course was very well maintained, free of undergrowth, only 1 downed tree(which actually made the hole better)

4) Front 9 ends at the parking lot, so it's easy to play a quick 9 if that's all you have time for.

5) Fairways are Unique. I don't think i threw the same throw twice. hole 13 is a sharp, short right angle and the elevation changes added an odd wind current.
Cons: 1) Holes 9, 10, and 16 were very muddy.

2) Hole 16 must be some sort of joke, the fairway is just a giant mess of downed trees, saplings, hanging branches and mud. Nicknamed "The Devil's Vagina", I believe that name to be much too generous.
Other Thoughts: Except for 16, this was a very fun course, challenging holes interspersed with some easy dueces

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Water water everywhere. And not a sign in sight!

1    7/31/2011   7/31/2011
Review By: Timmylom
Played: 23  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is a great challenge for new players like myself. The fact that each hole has a track description with distance info is huge, because alot of the holes are obscured from the tee box. I liked the concrete pads with garbage cans and some benches. The fact that they added the back 9 not long ago bodes well for this course in the future. The baskets and tee boxes where in great shape.
Cons: I like the "wild" courses as much as the next guy, but if you are going to carve the course out of the forest and place the tee boxes a considerable distance from the last hole you need to let a player know where the next tee is. If you are not lucky you will spend some time wandering from the basket trying to find your next tee. Holes 9 thru 18 are wrapped around a swamp and if there has been any rain recent precipitation, they will be wet...Hole 9,10,11 and 15,16,17 were completely submerged. 15 is ridiculous, the tee box is separated from the basket by 100' of knee deep water with no markings as to how to get around the swamp.
Other Thoughts: I actually liked the course even though the review might not look like it. I will try again in the future, perhaps during a dryer season...maybe winter :)

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good BRP warm up

5+    6/27/2011   7/11/2011
Review By: E_Rock25
Played: 69  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 4.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Ham Lake DGC is a great advanced beginner course. There is a good mix of most everything a Disc Golf Course needs. I is located in a city park right next to Ham Lake "hence the name". The park is full of all sorts of other activates and make for a great day. There are gazebos, grills, volleyball courts, a fishing pier and a boat launch. Whether you are on your way to BRP or out for the day with the family this is a fun stop for all.

1.Good mix of hyzer, anhyzer and straight shots.

2.For the most part easy to fallow with good flow.

3.Great signage with distance and hole description.

4.Decent mix of somewhat long to short holes with a few ace runs.

5.Good mix of wooded and open shots.

6.Nice cement tee pads with alt pads on some holes.

7.Baskets are in good shape.

8.Not too much litter.

9.Course is mostly separated from other park activates.

10.Shot shaping is required not just a pitch and putt.

11.Well maintained and mowed when I was there.

12.Great warm up round for BRP.
Cons: The course has a few draw back in my opinion, but it is still worth playing.

1.It is for the most part pretty short. Only one big bomber 522', everything else is under 400'.

2.No elevation to speak of. A few holes have a little bit but not more than 10' up or down.

3.A few of the wooded holes have no real line what so ever just throw and hope to get lucky. I play a lot of heavily wooded course's and really like them but hole #11 is crazy thick.

4.Pad are kind of short but most holes are too so it's not that bad.

5.The rough is thick and if you go off the fairway you could be spending some time looking for disc's. This gets worse as the summer goes on. There is also poison ivy in the rough so watch out.

6.I play this course in the morning and it is not too busy but I guess it can get really bad at peak times.

7.If there is a lot of water some of the pins get really muddy to the point where you don't want to putt.

8.No signature hole and most of the holes are close to the same length. Bring some mids and putters.

9.Bugs can be a problem because it is close to the water.
Other Thoughts: I really like this course for what it is. It's not going to blow your mind but is nice for a free town park course. It plays quick if you play it in the morning on your way to BRP. You can get two rounds in in about an hour and a half or a bit less. It's a good course for working on your short game and there are some real fun ace runs. It is defiantly worth your time if you are in the area.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 One of my go-to courses

5+    6/19/2011   6/20/2011
Review By: Jboost
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Good flow and well marked.
-Nice signs provide all the necessary info to make sure your not going in blind.
-You can choose to play 9 or 18 even after you make it all the way to 9.
Cons: -Mosquitoes can get pretty gnarly in some areas, bring bug spray.
-Some holes have poor drainage and are fairly muddy.


0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    5/4/2011   6/2/2011
Review By: Sargentgeneral
Played: 85  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Many tight wooded shots
- Great for beginner players
- Multiple tees
- Great warm-up course
Cons: - Never really get to let loose a big drive
- Tough to play when little league is playing (somebody parked on the tee box once when we were trying to play)
- Play can be slowed by the amount of players
Other Thoughts: Fun course if you live there. Nothing to go out of the way to play, but a fun little course where the less experienced can still shoot a good score. Better warm up for the courses that are more advanced.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.