San Luis Obispo, CA 
Laguna Lake Share
Uploaded By: Discette Hole #1 (Taken 12/2012)
-- / --   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Approach



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Good effort, needs more.

1    8/4/2013   8/4/2013
Review By: beereakfast
Played: 18  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice concrete tee pads. Nice, new-looking signs, showing the alternate pin positions. The signs also included a photo view of the hole as seen from the tee that also shows the pin positions relative to the trees. Baskets are all in good condition. The grass was all cut and dead on the course making finding discs easy. Restrooms near hole1. Amazingly low traffic for an 'in town' course on a weekend.
Cons: Hmmm, where to begin?
The flow was very hard to follow. (I did not have a map) A few holes left you wandering a few hundred yards in every direction to find the next tee. The tee boxes all have raised signs that are visible a long way off, but it isn't readily apparent from the basket which one you walk too next. This was compounded by the lack of grass. Meaning, there was almost never an obvious trail to follow. It seems to me that hole four, as shown on the map is wrong. The tee was on the other side of the basket, 180 degrees from where the map shows it.
The front nine had a lot of holes with one obstacle, be it a gap in the trees, or a single tree in the way. If the obstacle is passed, the basket is just sitting out in the open field in front of you. It get's kind of lame after a while. A few holes, while not directly overlapping, were close enough to another fairway, that they could easily pose a hazard. Especially when compounded by the wind that seems to be a constant factor.
Other Thoughts: There were only a couple of other groups playing when I was here on a Sunday. It was nice and quiet.This park had a good steady wind when I played, that effected every hole differently. The back nine has a lot more trees than the front, and is a lot more fun to play. That said, This is where the navigation issues are the worst. Having to backtrack that far to find the next tee is just ridiculous. Having signs pointing to the next tee, or even a sticker on the rim of the basket suggesting which direction to walk, would be a vast improvement. The scenery is really nice here, with the course set on a lake and next to a large, open valley between abrupt, sharp, costal hills. For a course with no elevation change, it did keep me working. Not sure i'll come back, but while in the area, it's worth checking out.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Intermediate 18 with Variety

1    12/14/2012   12/15/2012
Review By: Hazer
Played: 141  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 8.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice big cement tees. Nice sign posts (but no signs - yet?). Multiple pin locations. Good balance of longer wide open shots to protected baskets and more technical holes in moderately to heavily wooded areas requiring precise shots. A couple baskets on the back 9 are really well protected (probably the most protected I have ever seen) and can make even pars hard to come by. Hole 15 is a great long straight shot along a tight row of tall, mature trees on your right and a fence line on your left with ob beyond the fence. Nice bonus 'top of the world' hole shooting from up on the mountain side to the left of 18's basket down to 7's basket. Nice scenery throughout the course with views of the lake and mountains. Low traffic. A few garbage cans throughout the course.
Cons: No signs despite great sign posts. Very confusing layout (course map essential for 1st time playing). A couple baskets are close to one another and other tees, and on some holes there are long walks and back-tracks to get to the next tee. Most holes on the front nine are wide open shots and offer little difficulty. Long walk from 18 to 1 to shoot another round. Bad flow throughout the course. The available course map has some inaccuracies including the location of hole 4 (I'm not sure if it even exists anymore as I couldn't find it at all). No water in play.
Other Thoughts: Moderately challenging intermediate level course great for toning different skills. This is a very fun course to play and I'm glad I read the reviews and printed the course map before playing as the layout is not easy to navigate without it. I enjoyed the back nine much more than the front as those holes require a lot of precision and are not very forgiving. Playing around the lake I was hoping for some holes with water in play, but there are none unfortunately (maybe if they expand it?). There was very little traffic on the course and surprisingly no wind when I played midday in mid-December.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Making Improvements

2-4    1/5/2010   1/6/2010
Review By: ajfish22
Played: 32  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5 Years
This review was updated on 1/30/2010
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice new concrete tee pads with lots of grip, variety of hole types (front nine being more open and back nine more wooded and challenging), you can see they are working to improve the course and i talked to someone working out there and they said they will soon have benches at every hole and signs to help navigate the course
Cons: As of right now, no signs are in place so it is difficult to find some of the holes, SLO is often very windy so that can be a big challenge
Other Thoughts: For the most part i was very happy with the course layout and the creativity of the course. Like i said they are working on improvements that will make this course much better!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Difficult when Windy (which is often)

5+    1/11/2009   1/16/2009
Review By: Legend KILLer
Played: 47  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/26/2009
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wide open which limits possibility of losing discs
Some variety in hole length depending on pin placement
When wind is blowing (which is often), the difficulty jumps tremendously
Parks serves a variety of uses (recreation, dog park, trails, water activities, bbq pits, ect)
Restroom facilities
Cons: The front 9 can be frustrating if wind is in play
The front 9 can also be boring because of it's open layout
Trees are not maintained and you will often find branches down
Poor signage
Tees are loose earth which often cause you to slip
Trails are everywhere so people are often on the course
The start of the course is no where near where you end on 18
Other Thoughts: I believe the park is easy when the wind isn't blowing but deeply difficult when it is. Don't be surprised to go into the back nine with a awful score. You are definitely going to need a heavy disc to get through the front nine. The back nine is actually quite fun to play so I suggest starting on the back nine like progprowl suggested. An update to the course is that all the baskets are in place. They no longer have pole holes which is great.

Update: I have updated the pictures of each hole as of March 26, 2009. The most noticeable changes have been to hole #3 (the trees were cut down due to sickness), the tee pad for hole #5 (was moved closer due to the young trees constantly being hit by discs), and I have added the extra holes which are played during tourneys. I have posted a map in case you would like to know where they are. Obviously, they have no baskets though.

Update (2): There are plans in motion by the local club to start putting in concrete tees. Plans are to start on the back 9.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.