San Luis Obispo, CA 
Laguna Lake Share
Uploaded By: Discette Hole #6 (Taken 12/2012)
-- / --   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Basket



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
a good windy challenge

2-4    8/17/2014   8/18/2014
Review By: DEG III
Played: 102  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.7 Years
Pros: Good signage
Multiple pins
Challenging
Nice setting next to a small lake in a valley
Cons: - As with most of the California courses I've played, no marker for where next tee is.
- Excessively long walk from 18 to 1.
- Windy(I do not view this as a con, but some do)
Other Thoughts: - I really enjoy a windy course, but I'm also the type of golfer that likes a challenge. The terrain in combination with a pretty constant wind is used very well on this course. I especially like the challenge of the tail wind on hole 13's tunnel shot with OB on the left.
- I also strongly believe that hole 9 should be played as hole 1 and then follow the course from hole 1 to hole 8 and then continuing on to hole 10 for the rest of the course. This effectively turns hole 8 into hole 9, with a long walkout between the front and back nine(though shorter than 18 to 1 walk); and places new hole 1(old hole 9) much closer to the end of the course. The tee signs on this course are all sponsored and very well made, so I could see their reluctance to fix this issue.

 

1    6/22/2013   9/12/2013
Review By: MoundsPounds
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is fairly well maintained.
Nice baskets, good tees. Maps to show chain location.
Offers a good amount of throwing down "hallways", into trees, and some elevation changes.
Low traffic.
Cons: They have different basket locations, which is nice, but several of them are very close together. My brother and I ended up playing the wrong basket once. There is also a long walk between a couple holes.
Other Thoughts: I wouldn't pass it up. Its a fun place to play and offers you the freedom to enjoy yourself without worrying about a crowd. Not a super tough course but it offers a good mix of shots.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Long and rugged!

5+    8/3/2013   9/2/2013
Review By: tdkrizenshine
Played: 26  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 1.3 Years
Pros: Long holes, no crowds! Wind- makes some otherwise straight forward holes a real challenge! Rugged and solitary feel in a truly wide open regional park set on gorgeous lake- really a nice setting. Good tees, signage and baskets.
Cons: A few holes lack creativity. A few of the basket to tee walks are ridiculous and could definitely support some short and techy holes! No pro shop, but Dick's Sporting Goods is nearby
Other Thoughts: I actually really like this course- rugged and a good workout (read long walk for an 18). I play here whenever visiting family in Morro Bay and it's a good improvement gauge as I play other more challenging courses. This park could easily support a 27-36 hole course!

Laguna Lake

5+    6/20/2013   6/20/2013
Review By: gnarcaster
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
Pros: Big cement pads that angle outward on both sides creating the box to grow allowing for more approaches. The pins are usually visible from each pad so even with the lack of signage it's not so bad (signs may be coming very soon). The back 9 plays mostly through the trees and protect the baskets pretty well so technical shots are required, not so much on the front 9. Very fun "bonus" hole after 18 up the trail from the basket across the T intersection of the park road to hole 7, it'll boost your morale after struggling for par on 18 :) assuming it's in the long position over the hill.
Cons: No garbage cans except near the barbecue areas. The front 9 are mostly wide open shots so a strong drive is easily rewarded. The course layout is a little confusing if you're playing for the first time, luckily I joined a small group my first time and they showed me the way, sometimes it's a somewhat long walk to the next tee pad. 18 ends very far away from 1, so you have to walk back to your car or to play another round, but you can play a couple extra holes back if no one is on them.
Other Thoughts: It's been windy 80% of the time I've played out there so stable to overstable discs are a must. Seems that the mornings are better before the 15-20+ mph winds come, some evenings it calms down as well. The locals and SLO Throwers group are very friendly and helpful if you happen to come by them. There were very very tall yellow weeds the first handful of times I played there this summer so finding discs can be a pain sometimes, especially with multiple throws, but it has been recently mowed as of early June.

 Good Challenge

5+    4/24/2010   4/24/2010
Review By: GeoWolf
Played: 58  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Played yesterday and some of the grass was mowed, hopefully the city is finally getting around to the rest of the grass.

Overall, the course is challenging with the front nine demanding a powerful drive (usually with wind a factor) while the back nine is more wooded and tighter shots are required.

The lake setting is beautiful, especially for late afternoon rounds after work.

Finally, the locals are still working on the course and I've heard another 9 holes are planned. Pin placements often change weekly, usually after the Thursday tournament.
Cons: Course flow could have been better planned out, holes 15, 16 and 17 for example.


3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.