San Luis Obispo, CA 
Laguna Lake Share
Uploaded By: Legend KILLer   (Taken 3/2009)
Hole #24B Tee (Tournament Play)



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Fun. Windy. Long.

1    5/25/2016   5/26/2016
Review By: CIDG
Played: 20  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 0.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/27/2016
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Scenic course with a lake
-Good baskets (DGA)
-Great tee-pads: oversized and grippy concrete.
-Practice basket
-Very good signage (only one sign blank)
-*Every* basket has an arrow pointing to the next tee
-At least 3 or 4 pin positions per hole
-Benches very present
-Decent restroom facilities.
-Good drinking fountains with tasty water
-Ample parking
-Holes that desire power (over 600 feet depending on pin)
-Wind makes for a challenge on open holes
-Open, long front 9
-Fun semi technical back 9
-Road and fence OB
-Double loop design
-Uncrowded
-Very accessible from the 101.
-Nearby shopping center.
Cons: -Absurdly windy if later in the day
-Unchecked grass gets very long
-Some stickers in aforementioned overgrown grass
-Can be fairly unchallenging for big arms and experienced wind putters
-Some holes play right along park road
-Doesn't play over lake (layout doesn't really permit it)
Other Thoughts: I was surprised by just how fun this course was. I would honestly rate Laguna a little higher than a 3.5. Laguna Lake is huge park. If you have over 400 foot power, this course will reward you. The front 9 has some birdie opportunities or even ace runs if you have the power and know how to play the wind. The back 9 has some super fun tunnel style shots, a couple of which will again reward a power hyzer around everything. My favorite part of the course has to be the last 5 or 6 holes. Hole 13 was the most memorable tunnel shot, with a curtain of Eucalyptus on both sides and an OB fence on the left with a couple trees sitting right in the middle. You really get to rip into some drives here if you want. Sure, the front 9 maybe pretty open, but most of the baskets are guarded by at least one tree. The wind is what makes things interesting. It can howl here. Putting gets worlds more difficult in the high wind, making even shorter putts seem daunting. I played here on a weekday afternoon and saw one other golfer. It wasn't the busiest day, but everyone seemed to understand the presence of disc golf fairways, keeping far away from any drives coming through. The course and surrounding area is really beautiful, demanding some "stop and take a look around" moments. Signage was awesome, showing all the pin positions from birds-eye view and first person view. The arrows pointing to the next tee made for ridiculously easy navigation. I personally really enjoyed this course, and it would be nice to see some of the older reviews on this course get updated, but oh well. If you have time while in SLO, I'd recommend going here due to it's convenience and accessibility. Good old fashioned fun.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Home Course

5+    5/25/2016   5/25/2016
Review By: AdubSLO
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Home Course
Front 9 much different than back 9
Park in great location for after game food and beer
DG Club moves baskets often
Pets OK
Cons: Wind in afternoon can sometimes be rough
Trees have killer fungus on front 9
Grass can be very long
Dog park and reg park users can be in the way.
People don't clean up their trash
Other Thoughts: Secret 19th hole offers great elevation change.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fun Course

2-4    9/6/2014   9/10/2014
Review By: Hyzer Ale
Played: 55  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Nice Teepads
- Good Signage
- Lots of variety
- Drinking fountains and restrooms at park
- Holes don't really overlap
- Not crowded, played 18 holes in just over an hour
- Well maintained
- Near hotels, restaurants, grocery store
Cons: - Too many wide open holes
- Not enough elevation
- Lack of benches and signs to next tee
- Long walk to next tee on a few holes
- A few "vagabonds" seem to live in the park
- Some genius decided to park right next to the only basket that was near the road
Other Thoughts: I went to college in San Luis Obispo and the last time I played here the course was still being proposed. I just threw in an open field to where the hole was going to be. It was really nice to see how far this course has come. It has a good variety with holes ranging from a wooded 200' to an open 500'. Too many of the baskets were just sitting out in the open but where they could they have placed them in and around the trees. Be ready for wind. It blows out of Los Osos all day everyday. The drought has Laguna Lake almost dry, doesn't affect the course, just an observation. I stayed at the Best Western which was just a short walk to the course and is a dog friendly hotel! Overall this is a very good course that will never be great because of lack of trees (not that there are none), elevation, and some repetitive design. If you are in the area, I say play this course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Laguna

5+    11/29/2013   12/4/2013
Review By: 57759
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Long shots, a couple short holes, this course is fun every once in a while but i wouldnt want to play it all the time. Still a decent dgc.
Cons: Gets really windy sometimes , if grass isnt cut it grows upp to 3-4 feet tall which makes it hard yo locate your disc. Angry geese
Other Thoughts: Secret 19th hole ask the locals its pretty fun.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great for vacation...

2-4    3/17/2013   7/18/2013
Review By: ooochkchkooo
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -newer baskets
-Tee pads OK
-Closest course to our vacation house in morro bay
-a few tricky shots off the pad
Cons: -flat land course on front 9
-lots of park activity interfere with DGC play (sometimes)
Other Thoughts: front 9 is boring, would rather play back 9 twice

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Killer Potential

5+    10/1/2011   11/1/2011
Review By: SofaKing OATy
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course offers a challenge for all skill levels. All holes have multiple pin placements, some of which over 400'. The course can get really windy, offering a good challenge.

Incredible top of the world shot after hole 18, play to the 7 basket.

Cons: No maps, the flow is not logical. PRINT OUT THE MAP. If you go without a local guide or a map you will not have fun. . . . be warned.
Other Thoughts: Once you get the flow for this course it is actually a lot of fun. But if you don't have a map and can't throw far in the wind you will not have a good time.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/4/2010   8/4/2010
Review By: DocHaole
Played: 79  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 9.1 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -18 holes with multiple pin placement that are changed regularly.

- Nice new tee pads that are wider at the end.

- Howling wind: almost all of the time, this is a great place to learn how to play in strong wind (some may see this as a con).

- Decent use of obstacles: Especially on the back nine, every pin is guarded by a tree close by. There are also some ridiculous pin placements where you have a hard time walking through the trees to get to the basket, let alone get a disc there.

- Lots of distance holes: Depending on the pin positions, but you usually have pleanty of opportunities to let it rip.

- Variety of holes- on the back 9, (see cons for front 9). This is the course that finally forced me to develop my overhand shots. It just puts you at a big disadvantage if you can't throw a thumber or tomahawk.

- Beautiful setting: With the lake and Madonna Mountain in view it is a very picturesque central coast atmosphere.
Cons: - Navigation is a nightmare for first timers. If you are going for the first time PRINT OUT THE MAP. And this course is usually not too crowded so you can't always follow the group in front of you. Many of the holes really backtrack, making it almost impossible without a guide or map.

- Distances are off on most of the signs. I know that they put in some serious effort to make signs with distances for all the alternate pin placements but a lot of them are way off.

- The front nine gets kind of repetitive. Usualy a long open shot to the basket guarded by trees. You can usually throw any style you want to get into the trees.

- Not a great course for begginners. If you can't throw +300' consistently in the wind this course will get boring and frustrating quickly. The combination of strong winds and high grass can be brutal.
Other Thoughts: This course seems to bring about extreme opinions. The things I like about this course I really like. And the things I don't like I find really annoying at first. I will say that once you get past the navigation issues and the poorly marked distances this course starts to grow on you. I have found that the more I play this course the more lines I find though the trees and the more routes I end up trying, especially on the back nine.

Also it is important to view this course as a work in progress. There are plans on expanding to 27 holes, pending approval I think. Assuming that the next 9 holes are in the same style as the back 9 this course could potentially be much better.

The unofficial 19th hole is an awsome "top of the world" shot that earns an extra 1/2 point in my book. Up the hill from the 18th basket is a ledge where you can launch it at the 7th hole basket. Definitely use a spotter to watch for cars on that one.

All in all this is a solid course with a lot of potential to improve. It's hard to compete with Waller and Heilman in the area but this course could get there with the necessary improvements. Love it or hate it the course offers a decent challenge and the designers should be proud of that.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Another day on the course.

2-4    4/3/2010   4/4/2010
Review By: RIPE MELON
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Wide open spaces with fairly new cement pads. Posted aerial photo's near pads with distances in feet. 18 holes. Never to close to other players.
Cons: Very windy in the late afternoon. The grass length varies for med to tall and hunting for a disc isn't uncommon.
Other Thoughts: A dog park is close by. Hot girls are suckers for dogs.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Cool coastal course

2-4    4/24/2012   2/24/2010
Review By: Danger
Played: 87  Reviewed: 70  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 4/25/2012
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Great, large tees
-Most of the course is DG exclusive
-Layout changes, pin rotations
-Variety...short tunnels, big bombs and everything in between.
-Plays like 2 separate 9 hole courses. The front 9 is open, the back 9 is more wooded
Cons: -Signage is minimal and mostly at ground level. You should print a map or find others to play with. There are a few long walks along the way, and tee pads that appear to be the next hole but isn't.
-The grass can get long, I recommend pants.
Other Thoughts: Laguna Lake plays around a small lake in a park/open space region. While mostly flat, there is some very minimal sloping throughout the course that does affect your choice for throws at times. The lake does not come into play at any point.

The front 9 of the course plays mostly in a large field bordered by the lake, parking lot, entry road, and Madonna Rd. This section of the course really compliments the tighter, more wooded second half.

The back of this course incorporated lots of large trees, mostly eucalyptus, and played around a central picnicking pavilion. While close to the course, I don't think it would affect play even if the area was busy. There were lots of shorter, more technical holes which included a few doglegs, and a blind.

Hole 13 was a narrow, long drive between an OB fence and a tight line of trees. 4 additional trees in the middle of the fairway exist to laugh at you and make you cry.

Some of the pictures on this website are from the tournament course, which is not set up regularly. You can, however, climb up the hill next to hole 18 and play down to the pin from there, its a really cool downhill ace run.

Pictures on this site do not do justice for the LONG wintertime grass we found there. Grass was up to 2 feet long in areas, and disc finding became a challenge at times, even though we swore we knew where it landed. We went on an overcast drizzling day, and our feet were slowly soaked from the grass by the end of the round. When it's dry, it's not as bad but pants and foxtail resistant shoes are a must in the summertime.

Like most courses on the central course, I find this one to be a bit underrated and definitely find it to be better than average. I can first time players knocking it for being difficult to follow, but if you plan ahead you can really enjoy the variety this course offers.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.