San Luis Obispo, CA 
Laguna Lake Share
Uploaded By: Discette Hole #13 (Taken 12/2012)
-- / --   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Fun. Windy. Long.

1    5/25/2016   5/26/2016
Review By: CIDG
Played: 16  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 0.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/27/2016
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Scenic course with a lake
-Good baskets (DGA)
-Great tee-pads: oversized and grippy concrete.
-Practice basket
-Very good signage (only one sign blank)
-*Every* basket has an arrow pointing to the next tee
-At least 3 or 4 pin positions per hole
-Benches very present
-Decent restroom facilities.
-Good drinking fountains with tasty water
-Ample parking
-Holes that desire power (over 600 feet depending on pin)
-Wind makes for a challenge on open holes
-Open, long front 9
-Fun semi technical back 9
-Road and fence OB
-Double loop design
-Uncrowded
-Very accessible from the 101.
-Nearby shopping center.
Cons: -Absurdly windy if later in the day
-Unchecked grass gets very long
-Some stickers in aforementioned overgrown grass
-Can be fairly unchallenging for big arms and experienced wind putters
-Some holes play right along park road
-Doesn't play over lake (layout doesn't really permit it)
Other Thoughts: I was surprised by just how fun this course was. I would honestly rate Laguna a little higher than a 3.5. Laguna Lake is huge park. If you have over 400 foot power, this course will reward you. The front 9 has some birdie opportunities or even ace runs if you have the power and know how to play the wind. The back 9 has some super fun tunnel style shots, a couple of which will again reward a power hyzer around everything. My favorite part of the course has to be the last 5 or 6 holes. Hole 13 was the most memorable tunnel shot, with a curtain of Eucalyptus on both sides and an OB fence on the left with a couple trees sitting right in the middle. You really get to rip into some drives here if you want. Sure, the front 9 maybe pretty open, but most of the baskets are guarded by at least one tree. The wind is what makes things interesting. It can howl here. Putting gets worlds more difficult in the high wind, making even shorter putts seem daunting. I played here on a weekday afternoon and saw one other golfer. It wasn't the busiest day, but everyone seemed to understand the presence of disc golf fairways, keeping far away from any drives coming through. The course and surrounding area is really beautiful, demanding some "stop and take a look around" moments. Signage was awesome, showing all the pin positions from birds-eye view and first person view. The arrows pointing to the next tee made for ridiculously easy navigation. I personally really enjoyed this course, and it would be nice to see some of the older reviews on this course get updated, but oh well. If you have time while in SLO, I'd recommend going here due to it's convenience and accessibility. Good old fashioned fun.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Home Course

5+    5/25/2016   5/25/2016
Review By: AdubSLO
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Home Course
Front 9 much different than back 9
Park in great location for after game food and beer
DG Club moves baskets often
Pets OK
Cons: Wind in afternoon can sometimes be rough
Trees have killer fungus on front 9
Grass can be very long
Dog park and reg park users can be in the way.
People don't clean up their trash
Other Thoughts: Secret 19th hole offers great elevation change.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Don't want to 'Disc' my course but here goes

5+    12/13/2015   3/25/2015
Review By: geodude
Played: 23  Reviewed: 22
This review was updated on 1/4/2016
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: almost no poison oak. very few people in the way, nice views. great on a hot day due to wind. multi hole settings. I hit an Ace on 16 once. good tees. Did I say cool breeze? nice on a hot day. It is a natural wind tunnel and that is the main challenge. Warm up cage near bathrooms. Even though the trees are being cut down this course changes because you are throwing up wind, side wind, down wind. Course gets better as you play it, holes 10-18 are all pretty good holes. Drinking fountain at hole 16 tee which can also be reached after playing hole 10. Easy access off US 101.
Cons: trees are dying and being cut down on holes 1-8 making a few of the holes that were a little repetitive into somewhat duplicate fairways, not enough technical with trees dying.
Other Thoughts: The more course I play, the more I like Laguna, which is my 'home course'. The challenge here is the wind. So that being said, this course offers a lot. You will curse the wind, here is a tip, if super windy, you might want to put with a heavy driver.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fun Course

2-4    9/6/2014   9/10/2014
Review By: Hyzer Ale
Played: 55  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Nice Teepads
- Good Signage
- Lots of variety
- Drinking fountains and restrooms at park
- Holes don't really overlap
- Not crowded, played 18 holes in just over an hour
- Well maintained
- Near hotels, restaurants, grocery store
Cons: - Too many wide open holes
- Not enough elevation
- Lack of benches and signs to next tee
- Long walk to next tee on a few holes
- A few "vagabonds" seem to live in the park
- Some genius decided to park right next to the only basket that was near the road
Other Thoughts: I went to college in San Luis Obispo and the last time I played here the course was still being proposed. I just threw in an open field to where the hole was going to be. It was really nice to see how far this course has come. It has a good variety with holes ranging from a wooded 200' to an open 500'. Too many of the baskets were just sitting out in the open but where they could they have placed them in and around the trees. Be ready for wind. It blows out of Los Osos all day everyday. The drought has Laguna Lake almost dry, doesn't affect the course, just an observation. I stayed at the Best Western which was just a short walk to the course and is a dog friendly hotel! Overall this is a very good course that will never be great because of lack of trees (not that there are none), elevation, and some repetitive design. If you are in the area, I say play this course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

a good windy challenge

2-4    8/17/2014   8/18/2014
Review By: DEG III
Played: 111  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good signage
Multiple pins
Challenging
Nice setting next to a small lake in a valley
Cons: - As with most of the California courses I've played, no marker for where next tee is.
- Excessively long walk from 18 to 1.
- Windy(I do not view this as a con, but some do)
Other Thoughts: - I really enjoy a windy course, but I'm also the type of golfer that likes a challenge. The terrain in combination with a pretty constant wind is used very well on this course. I especially like the challenge of the tail wind on hole 13's tunnel shot with OB on the left.
- I also strongly believe that hole 9 should be played as hole 1 and then follow the course from hole 1 to hole 8 and then continuing on to hole 10 for the rest of the course. This effectively turns hole 8 into hole 9, with a long walkout between the front and back nine(though shorter than 18 to 1 walk); and places new hole 1(old hole 9) much closer to the end of the course. The tee signs on this course are all sponsored and very well made, so I could see their reluctance to fix this issue.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Laguna

5+    11/29/2013   12/4/2013
Review By: 57759
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Long shots, a couple short holes, this course is fun every once in a while but i wouldnt want to play it all the time. Still a decent dgc.
Cons: Gets really windy sometimes , if grass isnt cut it grows upp to 3-4 feet tall which makes it hard yo locate your disc. Angry geese
Other Thoughts: Secret 19th hole ask the locals its pretty fun.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  

1    6/22/2013   9/12/2013
Review By: MoundsPounds
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is fairly well maintained.
Nice baskets, good tees. Maps to show chain location.
Offers a good amount of throwing down "hallways", into trees, and some elevation changes.
Low traffic.
Cons: They have different basket locations, which is nice, but several of them are very close together. My brother and I ended up playing the wrong basket once. There is also a long walk between a couple holes.
Other Thoughts: I wouldn't pass it up. Its a fun place to play and offers you the freedom to enjoy yourself without worrying about a crowd. Not a super tough course but it offers a good mix of shots.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Long and rugged!

5+    8/3/2013   9/2/2013
Review By: tdkrizenshine
Played: 30  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 3.2 Years
Pros: Long holes, no crowds! Wind- makes some otherwise straight forward holes a real challenge! Rugged and solitary feel in a truly wide open regional park set on gorgeous lake- really a nice setting. Good tees, signage and baskets.
Cons: A few holes lack creativity. A few of the basket to tee walks are ridiculous and could definitely support some short and techy holes! No pro shop, but Dick's Sporting Goods is nearby
Other Thoughts: I actually really like this course- rugged and a good workout (read long walk for an 18). I play here whenever visiting family in Morro Bay and it's a good improvement gauge as I play other more challenging courses. This park could easily support a 27-36 hole course!

 Good effort, needs more.

1    8/4/2013   8/4/2013
Review By: beereakfast
Played: 19  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 7.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice concrete tee pads. Nice, new-looking signs, showing the alternate pin positions. The signs also included a photo view of the hole as seen from the tee that also shows the pin positions relative to the trees. Baskets are all in good condition. The grass was all cut and dead on the course making finding discs easy. Restrooms near hole1. Amazingly low traffic for an 'in town' course on a weekend.
Cons: Hmmm, where to begin?
The flow was very hard to follow. (I did not have a map) A few holes left you wandering a few hundred yards in every direction to find the next tee. The tee boxes all have raised signs that are visible a long way off, but it isn't readily apparent from the basket which one you walk too next. This was compounded by the lack of grass. Meaning, there was almost never an obvious trail to follow. It seems to me that hole four, as shown on the map is wrong. The tee was on the other side of the basket, 180 degrees from where the map shows it.
The front nine had a lot of holes with one obstacle, be it a gap in the trees, or a single tree in the way. If the obstacle is passed, the basket is just sitting out in the open field in front of you. It get's kind of lame after a while. A few holes, while not directly overlapping, were close enough to another fairway, that they could easily pose a hazard. Especially when compounded by the wind that seems to be a constant factor.
Other Thoughts: There were only a couple of other groups playing when I was here on a Sunday. It was nice and quiet.This park had a good steady wind when I played, that effected every hole differently. The back nine has a lot more trees than the front, and is a lot more fun to play. That said, This is where the navigation issues are the worst. Having to backtrack that far to find the next tee is just ridiculous. Having signs pointing to the next tee, or even a sticker on the rim of the basket suggesting which direction to walk, would be a vast improvement. The scenery is really nice here, with the course set on a lake and next to a large, open valley between abrupt, sharp, costal hills. For a course with no elevation change, it did keep me working. Not sure i'll come back, but while in the area, it's worth checking out.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great for vacation...

2-4    3/17/2013   7/18/2013
Review By: ooochkchkooo
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -newer baskets
-Tee pads OK
-Closest course to our vacation house in morro bay
-a few tricky shots off the pad
Cons: -flat land course on front 9
-lots of park activity interfere with DGC play (sometimes)
Other Thoughts: front 9 is boring, would rather play back 9 twice

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.