San Luis Obispo, CA 
Laguna Lake Share
Uploaded By: Discette Hole #9 (Taken 12/2012)
-- / --   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Basket



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Laguna Lake

5+    6/20/2013   6/20/2013
Review By: gnarcaster
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
Pros: Big cement pads that angle outward on both sides creating the box to grow allowing for more approaches. The pins are usually visible from each pad so even with the lack of signage it's not so bad (signs may be coming very soon). The back 9 plays mostly through the trees and protect the baskets pretty well so technical shots are required, not so much on the front 9. Very fun "bonus" hole after 18 up the trail from the basket across the T intersection of the park road to hole 7, it'll boost your morale after struggling for par on 18 :) assuming it's in the long position over the hill.
Cons: No garbage cans except near the barbecue areas. The front 9 are mostly wide open shots so a strong drive is easily rewarded. The course layout is a little confusing if you're playing for the first time, luckily I joined a small group my first time and they showed me the way, sometimes it's a somewhat long walk to the next tee pad. 18 ends very far away from 1, so you have to walk back to your car or to play another round, but you can play a couple extra holes back if no one is on them.
Other Thoughts: It's been windy 80% of the time I've played out there so stable to overstable discs are a must. Seems that the mornings are better before the 15-20+ mph winds come, some evenings it calms down as well. The locals and SLO Throwers group are very friendly and helpful if you happen to come by them. There were very very tall yellow weeds the first handful of times I played there this summer so finding discs can be a pain sometimes, especially with multiple throws, but it has been recently mowed as of early June.

 Fun Intermediate 18 with Variety

1    12/14/2012   12/15/2012
Review By: Hazer
Played: 156  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 10.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice big cement tees. Nice sign posts (but no signs - yet?). Multiple pin locations. Good balance of longer wide open shots to protected baskets and more technical holes in moderately to heavily wooded areas requiring precise shots. A couple baskets on the back 9 are really well protected (probably the most protected I have ever seen) and can make even pars hard to come by. Hole 15 is a great long straight shot along a tight row of tall, mature trees on your right and a fence line on your left with ob beyond the fence. Nice bonus 'top of the world' hole shooting from up on the mountain side to the left of 18's basket down to 7's basket. Nice scenery throughout the course with views of the lake and mountains. Low traffic. A few garbage cans throughout the course.
Cons: No signs despite great sign posts. Very confusing layout (course map essential for 1st time playing). A couple baskets are close to one another and other tees, and on some holes there are long walks and back-tracks to get to the next tee. Most holes on the front nine are wide open shots and offer little difficulty. Long walk from 18 to 1 to shoot another round. Bad flow throughout the course. The available course map has some inaccuracies including the location of hole 4 (I'm not sure if it even exists anymore as I couldn't find it at all). No water in play.
Other Thoughts: Moderately challenging intermediate level course great for toning different skills. This is a very fun course to play and I'm glad I read the reviews and printed the course map before playing as the layout is not easy to navigate without it. I enjoyed the back nine much more than the front as those holes require a lot of precision and are not very forgiving. Playing around the lake I was hoping for some holes with water in play, but there are none unfortunately (maybe if they expand it?). There was very little traffic on the course and surprisingly no wind when I played midday in mid-December.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Killer Potential

5+    10/1/2011   11/1/2011
Review By: SofaKing OATy
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course offers a challenge for all skill levels. All holes have multiple pin placements, some of which over 400'. The course can get really windy, offering a good challenge.

Incredible top of the world shot after hole 18, play to the 7 basket.

Cons: No maps, the flow is not logical. PRINT OUT THE MAP. If you go without a local guide or a map you will not have fun. . . . be warned.
Other Thoughts: Once you get the flow for this course it is actually a lot of fun. But if you don't have a map and can't throw far in the wind you will not have a good time.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Awful

2-4    5/16/2011   7/16/2011
Review By: pnkgtr
Played: 38  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 32.1 Years
1 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: SLO is a great city. The locals are friendly and proactive.
Cons: Poor layout. No imagination. No signage.
Other Thoughts: This is easily the worst course I've ever played and I've played many. The property could support a good course, but this isn't it. I understand that some of the areas with trees were off limits to golfers. It's too bad. I'm sure the golfers there are happy to have a course but they should have held out for a better design either at LL or another park. If you want to play good course go to Santa Maria.

1 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Home Course

5+    12/23/2010   12/28/2010
Review By: brent44940
Played: 23  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.3 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: big mix up in shots.open field.trees.narrow lanes.o.b.'s.close shots.really tough far shots...great views.beautiful lake..also its a hugh course,so its just fun and really relaxing,great atmosphere.
Cons: strong winds usually all the time later in the day.could get frustating for first timers...if its your first time playing you really need a map or be with someone that has played.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Loving Laguna

5+    9/23/2010   9/24/2010
Review By: sastheatre
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Beautiful setting, good mix of long and short locations, challenging wind, and big tee pads.
Cons: Layout could be more strategic for parking. Hole #8 should be #1, since most people park and start there or #9 to back 9, first. It's a long walk from #18 to #1, if you park at #1.
Other Thoughts: Can't wait for benches and better signs.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/4/2010   8/4/2010
Review By: DocHaole
Played: 79  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 8.9 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -18 holes with multiple pin placement that are changed regularly.

- Nice new tee pads that are wider at the end.

- Howling wind: almost all of the time, this is a great place to learn how to play in strong wind (some may see this as a con).

- Decent use of obstacles: Especially on the back nine, every pin is guarded by a tree close by. There are also some ridiculous pin placements where you have a hard time walking through the trees to get to the basket, let alone get a disc there.

- Lots of distance holes: Depending on the pin positions, but you usually have pleanty of opportunities to let it rip.

- Variety of holes- on the back 9, (see cons for front 9). This is the course that finally forced me to develop my overhand shots. It just puts you at a big disadvantage if you can't throw a thumber or tomahawk.

- Beautiful setting: With the lake and Madonna Mountain in view it is a very picturesque central coast atmosphere.
Cons: - Navigation is a nightmare for first timers. If you are going for the first time PRINT OUT THE MAP. And this course is usually not too crowded so you can't always follow the group in front of you. Many of the holes really backtrack, making it almost impossible without a guide or map.

- Distances are off on most of the signs. I know that they put in some serious effort to make signs with distances for all the alternate pin placements but a lot of them are way off.

- The front nine gets kind of repetitive. Usualy a long open shot to the basket guarded by trees. You can usually throw any style you want to get into the trees.

- Not a great course for begginners. If you can't throw +300' consistently in the wind this course will get boring and frustrating quickly. The combination of strong winds and high grass can be brutal.
Other Thoughts: This course seems to bring about extreme opinions. The things I like about this course I really like. And the things I don't like I find really annoying at first. I will say that once you get past the navigation issues and the poorly marked distances this course starts to grow on you. I have found that the more I play this course the more lines I find though the trees and the more routes I end up trying, especially on the back nine.

Also it is important to view this course as a work in progress. There are plans on expanding to 27 holes, pending approval I think. Assuming that the next 9 holes are in the same style as the back 9 this course could potentially be much better.

The unofficial 19th hole is an awsome "top of the world" shot that earns an extra 1/2 point in my book. Up the hill from the 18th basket is a ledge where you can launch it at the 7th hole basket. Definitely use a spotter to watch for cars on that one.

All in all this is a solid course with a lot of potential to improve. It's hard to compete with Waller and Heilman in the area but this course could get there with the necessary improvements. Love it or hate it the course offers a decent challenge and the designers should be proud of that.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Words cannot describe...

1    4/29/2010   4/30/2010
Review By: Officermick
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Good views of the mountains/hills.
Clean air.
Pretty lake.
Good Tee Boxes
Cons: Horrible mapping.
Laid out poorly (no flow at all).
The signs are about 1-2' off of the ground and the grass is 2.5'+.
Other Thoughts: I took a buddy here to experience his first time at Disc Golf. Now I know that the wind is beyond control but the grooming of this thing was horrible. And the maps/signs were WAY off. The designer(s) should really use a better protractor method.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Good Challenge

5+    4/24/2010   4/24/2010
Review By: GeoWolf
Played: 66  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 12.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Played yesterday and some of the grass was mowed, hopefully the city is finally getting around to the rest of the grass.

Overall, the course is challenging with the front nine demanding a powerful drive (usually with wind a factor) while the back nine is more wooded and tighter shots are required.

The lake setting is beautiful, especially for late afternoon rounds after work.

Finally, the locals are still working on the course and I've heard another 9 holes are planned. Pin placements often change weekly, usually after the Thursday tournament.
Cons: Course flow could have been better planned out, holes 15, 16 and 17 for example.


3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Another day on the course.

2-4    4/3/2010   4/4/2010
Review By: RIPE MELON
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Wide open spaces with fairly new cement pads. Posted aerial photo's near pads with distances in feet. 18 holes. Never to close to other players.
Cons: Very windy in the late afternoon. The grass length varies for med to tall and hunting for a disc isn't uncommon.
Other Thoughts: A dog park is close by. Hot girls are suckers for dogs.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.