San Luis Obispo, CA 
Laguna Lake Share
Uploaded By: Discette Hole #1 (Taken 12/2012)
-- / --   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Approach



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 3 Next >
 Almost Impossible to Navigate

1    3/16/2010   3/28/2010
Review By: Nate Brooks
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: The concrete tee boxes are very large, allowing you to angle your body without having to fear slipping off the tee.

Restrooms are centrally located.

Most of the course is DG exclusive.

Those are the only good things I could think of.
Cons: This course was impossible to do without a guide. There are no signs, and the baskets are very poorly marked. If you don't have a guide, expect to spend most your time trying to figure out the layout.

The grass is over 3 feet tall for most of the course (and that's the fairway...)

The front 9 is essentially the same hole played 9 times. Long, open drive through a 3 foot tall grass field into a clump of trees with the basket in the middle.

Reputation has it that this course is nearly impossible in the wind. It was the rare windless day when I played it, according to the local group I played with.
Other Thoughts: Playing here was the least fun I've ever had playing DG. The front nine is terrible. The back nine is fairly well done, but not good enough to make up for the monotony of the front.

Holes 15-18 are what make the course. Eighteen is a beautiful sloping dogleg played under the peak of a rocky hill overlooking the lake. If the rest of the course was like 18, this course would be incredible.

If you're from out of the area, check out Heilmann or Sinsheimer first.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Cool coastal course

2-4    4/24/2012   2/24/2010
Review By: Danger
Played: 87  Reviewed: 70  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/25/2012
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Great, large tees
-Most of the course is DG exclusive
-Layout changes, pin rotations
-Variety...short tunnels, big bombs and everything in between.
-Plays like 2 separate 9 hole courses. The front 9 is open, the back 9 is more wooded
Cons: -Signage is minimal and mostly at ground level. You should print a map or find others to play with. There are a few long walks along the way, and tee pads that appear to be the next hole but isn't.
-The grass can get long, I recommend pants.
Other Thoughts: Laguna Lake plays around a small lake in a park/open space region. While mostly flat, there is some very minimal sloping throughout the course that does affect your choice for throws at times. The lake does not come into play at any point.

The front 9 of the course plays mostly in a large field bordered by the lake, parking lot, entry road, and Madonna Rd. This section of the course really compliments the tighter, more wooded second half.

The back of this course incorporated lots of large trees, mostly eucalyptus, and played around a central picnicking pavilion. While close to the course, I don't think it would affect play even if the area was busy. There were lots of shorter, more technical holes which included a few doglegs, and a blind.

Hole 13 was a narrow, long drive between an OB fence and a tight line of trees. 4 additional trees in the middle of the fairway exist to laugh at you and make you cry.

Some of the pictures on this website are from the tournament course, which is not set up regularly. You can, however, climb up the hill next to hole 18 and play down to the pin from there, its a really cool downhill ace run.

Pictures on this site do not do justice for the LONG wintertime grass we found there. Grass was up to 2 feet long in areas, and disc finding became a challenge at times, even though we swore we knew where it landed. We went on an overcast drizzling day, and our feet were slowly soaked from the grass by the end of the round. When it's dry, it's not as bad but pants and foxtail resistant shoes are a must in the summertime.

Like most courses on the central course, I find this one to be a bit underrated and definitely find it to be better than average. I can first time players knocking it for being difficult to follow, but if you plan ahead you can really enjoy the variety this course offers.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  Making Improvements

2-4    1/5/2010   1/6/2010
Review By: ajfish22
Played: 32  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.8 Years
This review was updated on 1/30/2010
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice new concrete tee pads with lots of grip, variety of hole types (front nine being more open and back nine more wooded and challenging), you can see they are working to improve the course and i talked to someone working out there and they said they will soon have benches at every hole and signs to help navigate the course
Cons: As of right now, no signs are in place so it is difficult to find some of the holes, SLO is often very windy so that can be a big challenge
Other Thoughts: For the most part i was very happy with the course layout and the creativity of the course. Like i said they are working on improvements that will make this course much better!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/27/2009   6/27/2009
Review By: DiscGolfinTheD
Played: 21  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 12.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very straight ahead layout most of the time. Very open so its hard to lose a disc and gives you a good opportunity to bomb some drives. A few shots where the pins are hidden. The back is definitely the better choice to play.
Cons: Signage, signage, signage. There was a complete lack of signs on the course. My friend and I basically would walk to a basket then spend a good 5 to 10 min trying to find the next tee spot(this is on the front 9)
Other Thoughts: All in all the back nine of this course was awesome! relatively easy to find your way through it and alot of fun shots thru the trees. Very needed shade if you are a summertime player. The front though definitely looks like they are working on it. So do not take my cons so hard, since it seems that soon they will be replacing the earth tees and i imagine replacing the signs at the sametime.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Difficult when Windy (which is often)

5+    1/11/2009   1/16/2009
Review By: Legend KILLer
Played: 47  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 9.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/26/2009
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wide open which limits possibility of losing discs
Some variety in hole length depending on pin placement
When wind is blowing (which is often), the difficulty jumps tremendously
Parks serves a variety of uses (recreation, dog park, trails, water activities, bbq pits, ect)
Restroom facilities
Cons: The front 9 can be frustrating if wind is in play
The front 9 can also be boring because of it's open layout
Trees are not maintained and you will often find branches down
Poor signage
Tees are loose earth which often cause you to slip
Trails are everywhere so people are often on the course
The start of the course is no where near where you end on 18
Other Thoughts: I believe the park is easy when the wind isn't blowing but deeply difficult when it is. Don't be surprised to go into the back nine with a awful score. You are definitely going to need a heavy disc to get through the front nine. The back nine is actually quite fun to play so I suggest starting on the back nine like progprowl suggested. An update to the course is that all the baskets are in place. They no longer have pole holes which is great.

Update: I have updated the pictures of each hole as of March 26, 2009. The most noticeable changes have been to hole #3 (the trees were cut down due to sickness), the tee pad for hole #5 (was moved closer due to the young trees constantly being hit by discs), and I have added the extra holes which are played during tourneys. I have posted a map in case you would like to know where they are. Obviously, they have no baskets though.

Update (2): There are plans in motion by the local club to start putting in concrete tees. Plans are to start on the back 9.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 No fun

2-4    1/4/2009   1/4/2009
Review By: progprowl
Played: 18  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 14.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/2/2009
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1. Wind can really force you to think about shot selection.
2. Going out on the first 5 holes of the front nine you are into the wind, then you come back with it, Drives can really get away from you.
Cons: 1. I played in January and the tees were mud. In the summer the course is barren and in the winter it can be slop. Spring and fall would be the best to play.
2. I used to sail on Laguna lake and the wind can be tremendous 20-30 mph winds are common. The day I played was no different. Bring your heavy destroyer to get through some of the longer holes.
3. Distances can be difficult to judge, much of the course is wide open with few trees, etc as reference points.
4. Pole targets (I hear they've been replaced) on the front nine are more difficult to hit especially in the wind.
5. I would prefer to play the back nine first and if the wind gets to you, take off.
Other Thoughts: I would go to Sinsheimer if you only had time to play one course in San Luis Obispo.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.