San Luis Obispo, CA 
Laguna Lake Share
Uploaded By: Legend KILLer   (Taken 3/2009)
Hole #25 Tee (Tournament Play)



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 

1    6/27/2009   6/27/2009
Review By: DiscGolfinTheD
Played: 21  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 10.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very straight ahead layout most of the time. Very open so its hard to lose a disc and gives you a good opportunity to bomb some drives. A few shots where the pins are hidden. The back is definitely the better choice to play.
Cons: Signage, signage, signage. There was a complete lack of signs on the course. My friend and I basically would walk to a basket then spend a good 5 to 10 min trying to find the next tee spot(this is on the front 9)
Other Thoughts: All in all the back nine of this course was awesome! relatively easy to find your way through it and alot of fun shots thru the trees. Very needed shade if you are a summertime player. The front though definitely looks like they are working on it. So do not take my cons so hard, since it seems that soon they will be replacing the earth tees and i imagine replacing the signs at the sametime.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Difficult when Windy (which is often)

5+    1/11/2009   1/16/2009
Review By: Legend KILLer
Played: 47  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/26/2009
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wide open which limits possibility of losing discs
Some variety in hole length depending on pin placement
When wind is blowing (which is often), the difficulty jumps tremendously
Parks serves a variety of uses (recreation, dog park, trails, water activities, bbq pits, ect)
Restroom facilities
Cons: The front 9 can be frustrating if wind is in play
The front 9 can also be boring because of it's open layout
Trees are not maintained and you will often find branches down
Poor signage
Tees are loose earth which often cause you to slip
Trails are everywhere so people are often on the course
The start of the course is no where near where you end on 18
Other Thoughts: I believe the park is easy when the wind isn't blowing but deeply difficult when it is. Don't be surprised to go into the back nine with a awful score. You are definitely going to need a heavy disc to get through the front nine. The back nine is actually quite fun to play so I suggest starting on the back nine like progprowl suggested. An update to the course is that all the baskets are in place. They no longer have pole holes which is great.

Update: I have updated the pictures of each hole as of March 26, 2009. The most noticeable changes have been to hole #3 (the trees were cut down due to sickness), the tee pad for hole #5 (was moved closer due to the young trees constantly being hit by discs), and I have added the extra holes which are played during tourneys. I have posted a map in case you would like to know where they are. Obviously, they have no baskets though.

Update (2): There are plans in motion by the local club to start putting in concrete tees. Plans are to start on the back 9.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 No fun

2-4    1/4/2009   1/4/2009
Review By: progprowl
Played: 18  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 12.4 Years
This review was updated on 3/2/2009
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1. Wind can really force you to think about shot selection.
2. Going out on the first 5 holes of the front nine you are into the wind, then you come back with it, Drives can really get away from you.
Cons: 1. I played in January and the tees were mud. In the summer the course is barren and in the winter it can be slop. Spring and fall would be the best to play.
2. I used to sail on Laguna lake and the wind can be tremendous 20-30 mph winds are common. The day I played was no different. Bring your heavy destroyer to get through some of the longer holes.
3. Distances can be difficult to judge, much of the course is wide open with few trees, etc as reference points.
4. Pole targets (I hear they've been replaced) on the front nine are more difficult to hit especially in the wind.
5. I would prefer to play the back nine first and if the wind gets to you, take off.
Other Thoughts: I would go to Sinsheimer if you only had time to play one course in San Luis Obispo.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.