San Luis Obispo, CA 
Laguna Lake Share
Uploaded By: Discette Hole #18 (Taken 12/2012)
-- / --   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Basket



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Fun Course

2-4    9/6/2014   9/10/2014
Review By: Hyzer Ale
Played: 35  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.4 Years
Pros: - Nice Teepads
- Good Signage
- Lots of variety
- Drinking fountains and restrooms at park
- Holes don't really overlap
- Not crowded, played 18 holes in just over an hour
- Well maintained
- Near hotels, restaurants, grocery store
Cons: - Too many wide open holes
- Not enough elevation
- Lack of benches and signs to next tee
- Long walk to next tee on a few holes
- A few "vagabonds" seem to live in the park
- Some genius decided to park right next to the only basket that was near the road
Other Thoughts: I went to college in San Luis Obispo and the last time I played here the course was still being proposed. I just threw in an open field to where the hole was going to be. It was really nice to see how far this course has come. It has a good variety with holes ranging from a wooded 200' to an open 500'. Too many of the baskets were just sitting out in the open but where they could they have placed them in and around the trees. Be ready for wind. It blows out of Los Osos all day everyday. The drought has Laguna Lake almost dry, doesn't affect the course, just an observation. I stayed at the Best Western which was just a short walk to the course and is a dog friendly hotel! Overall this is a very good course that will never be great because of lack of trees (not that there are none), elevation, and some repetitive design. If you are in the area, I say play this course.

a good windy challenge

2-4    8/17/2014   8/18/2014
Review By: DEG III
Played: 102  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7 Years
Pros: Good signage
Multiple pins
Challenging
Nice setting next to a small lake in a valley
Cons: - As with most of the California courses I've played, no marker for where next tee is.
- Excessively long walk from 18 to 1.
- Windy(I do not view this as a con, but some do)
Other Thoughts: - I really enjoy a windy course, but I'm also the type of golfer that likes a challenge. The terrain in combination with a pretty constant wind is used very well on this course. I especially like the challenge of the tail wind on hole 13's tunnel shot with OB on the left.
- I also strongly believe that hole 9 should be played as hole 1 and then follow the course from hole 1 to hole 8 and then continuing on to hole 10 for the rest of the course. This effectively turns hole 8 into hole 9, with a long walkout between the front and back nine(though shorter than 18 to 1 walk); and places new hole 1(old hole 9) much closer to the end of the course. The tee signs on this course are all sponsored and very well made, so I could see their reluctance to fix this issue.

Laguna

5+    11/29/2013   12/4/2013
Review By: 57759
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Long shots, a couple short holes, this course is fun every once in a while but i wouldnt want to play it all the time. Still a decent dgc.
Cons: Gets really windy sometimes , if grass isnt cut it grows upp to 3-4 feet tall which makes it hard yo locate your disc. Angry geese
Other Thoughts: Secret 19th hole ask the locals its pretty fun.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/22/2013   9/12/2013
Review By: MoundsPounds
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is fairly well maintained.
Nice baskets, good tees. Maps to show chain location.
Offers a good amount of throwing down "hallways", into trees, and some elevation changes.
Low traffic.
Cons: They have different basket locations, which is nice, but several of them are very close together. My brother and I ended up playing the wrong basket once. There is also a long walk between a couple holes.
Other Thoughts: I wouldn't pass it up. Its a fun place to play and offers you the freedom to enjoy yourself without worrying about a crowd. Not a super tough course but it offers a good mix of shots.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Long and rugged!

5+    8/3/2013   9/2/2013
Review By: tdkrizenshine
Played: 26  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 1.6 Years
Pros: Long holes, no crowds! Wind- makes some otherwise straight forward holes a real challenge! Rugged and solitary feel in a truly wide open regional park set on gorgeous lake- really a nice setting. Good tees, signage and baskets.
Cons: A few holes lack creativity. A few of the basket to tee walks are ridiculous and could definitely support some short and techy holes! No pro shop, but Dick's Sporting Goods is nearby
Other Thoughts: I actually really like this course- rugged and a good workout (read long walk for an 18). I play here whenever visiting family in Morro Bay and it's a good improvement gauge as I play other more challenging courses. This park could easily support a 27-36 hole course!

Good effort, needs more.

1    8/4/2013   8/4/2013
Review By: beereakfast
Played: 18  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice concrete tee pads. Nice, new-looking signs, showing the alternate pin positions. The signs also included a photo view of the hole as seen from the tee that also shows the pin positions relative to the trees. Baskets are all in good condition. The grass was all cut and dead on the course making finding discs easy. Restrooms near hole1. Amazingly low traffic for an 'in town' course on a weekend.
Cons: Hmmm, where to begin?
The flow was very hard to follow. (I did not have a map) A few holes left you wandering a few hundred yards in every direction to find the next tee. The tee boxes all have raised signs that are visible a long way off, but it isn't readily apparent from the basket which one you walk too next. This was compounded by the lack of grass. Meaning, there was almost never an obvious trail to follow. It seems to me that hole four, as shown on the map is wrong. The tee was on the other side of the basket, 180 degrees from where the map shows it.
The front nine had a lot of holes with one obstacle, be it a gap in the trees, or a single tree in the way. If the obstacle is passed, the basket is just sitting out in the open field in front of you. It get's kind of lame after a while. A few holes, while not directly overlapping, were close enough to another fairway, that they could easily pose a hazard. Especially when compounded by the wind that seems to be a constant factor.
Other Thoughts: There were only a couple of other groups playing when I was here on a Sunday. It was nice and quiet.This park had a good steady wind when I played, that effected every hole differently. The back nine has a lot more trees than the front, and is a lot more fun to play. That said, This is where the navigation issues are the worst. Having to backtrack that far to find the next tee is just ridiculous. Having signs pointing to the next tee, or even a sticker on the rim of the basket suggesting which direction to walk, would be a vast improvement. The scenery is really nice here, with the course set on a lake and next to a large, open valley between abrupt, sharp, costal hills. For a course with no elevation change, it did keep me working. Not sure i'll come back, but while in the area, it's worth checking out.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great for vacation...

2-4    3/17/2013   7/18/2013
Review By: ooochkchkooo
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -newer baskets
-Tee pads OK
-Closest course to our vacation house in morro bay
-a few tricky shots off the pad
Cons: -flat land course on front 9
-lots of park activity interfere with DGC play (sometimes)
Other Thoughts: front 9 is boring, would rather play back 9 twice

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Laguna Lake

5+    6/20/2013   6/20/2013
Review By: gnarcaster
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
Pros: Big cement pads that angle outward on both sides creating the box to grow allowing for more approaches. The pins are usually visible from each pad so even with the lack of signage it's not so bad (signs may be coming very soon). The back 9 plays mostly through the trees and protect the baskets pretty well so technical shots are required, not so much on the front 9. Very fun "bonus" hole after 18 up the trail from the basket across the T intersection of the park road to hole 7, it'll boost your morale after struggling for par on 18 :) assuming it's in the long position over the hill.
Cons: No garbage cans except near the barbecue areas. The front 9 are mostly wide open shots so a strong drive is easily rewarded. The course layout is a little confusing if you're playing for the first time, luckily I joined a small group my first time and they showed me the way, sometimes it's a somewhat long walk to the next tee pad. 18 ends very far away from 1, so you have to walk back to your car or to play another round, but you can play a couple extra holes back if no one is on them.
Other Thoughts: It's been windy 80% of the time I've played out there so stable to overstable discs are a must. Seems that the mornings are better before the 15-20+ mph winds come, some evenings it calms down as well. The locals and SLO Throwers group are very friendly and helpful if you happen to come by them. There were very very tall yellow weeds the first handful of times I played there this summer so finding discs can be a pain sometimes, especially with multiple throws, but it has been recently mowed as of early June.

 Fun Intermediate 18 with Variety

1    12/14/2012   12/15/2012
Review By: Hazer
Played: 141  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 8.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice big cement tees. Nice sign posts (but no signs - yet?). Multiple pin locations. Good balance of longer wide open shots to protected baskets and more technical holes in moderately to heavily wooded areas requiring precise shots. A couple baskets on the back 9 are really well protected (probably the most protected I have ever seen) and can make even pars hard to come by. Hole 15 is a great long straight shot along a tight row of tall, mature trees on your right and a fence line on your left with ob beyond the fence. Nice bonus 'top of the world' hole shooting from up on the mountain side to the left of 18's basket down to 7's basket. Nice scenery throughout the course with views of the lake and mountains. Low traffic. A few garbage cans throughout the course.
Cons: No signs despite great sign posts. Very confusing layout (course map essential for 1st time playing). A couple baskets are close to one another and other tees, and on some holes there are long walks and back-tracks to get to the next tee. Most holes on the front nine are wide open shots and offer little difficulty. Long walk from 18 to 1 to shoot another round. Bad flow throughout the course. The available course map has some inaccuracies including the location of hole 4 (I'm not sure if it even exists anymore as I couldn't find it at all). No water in play.
Other Thoughts: Moderately challenging intermediate level course great for toning different skills. This is a very fun course to play and I'm glad I read the reviews and printed the course map before playing as the layout is not easy to navigate without it. I enjoyed the back nine much more than the front as those holes require a lot of precision and are not very forgiving. Playing around the lake I was hoping for some holes with water in play, but there are none unfortunately (maybe if they expand it?). There was very little traffic on the course and surprisingly no wind when I played midday in mid-December.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Killer Potential

5+    10/1/2011   11/1/2011
Review By: SofaKing OATy
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course offers a challenge for all skill levels. All holes have multiple pin placements, some of which over 400'. The course can get really windy, offering a good challenge.

Incredible top of the world shot after hole 18, play to the 7 basket.

Cons: No maps, the flow is not logical. PRINT OUT THE MAP. If you go without a local guide or a map you will not have fun. . . . be warned.
Other Thoughts: Once you get the flow for this course it is actually a lot of fun. But if you don't have a map and can't throw far in the wind you will not have a good time.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.