Disc Golf Store
San Luis Obispo, CA 
Laguna Lake Share
Uploaded By: Legend KILLer Hole #7 (Taken 11/2009)
-- / --   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Home Course

5+    12/23/2010   12/28/2010
Review By: brent44940
Played: 22  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.5 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: big mix up in shots.open field.trees.narrow lanes.o.b.'s.close shots.really tough far shots...great views.beautiful lake..also its a hugh course,so its just fun and really relaxing,great atmosphere.
Cons: strong winds usually all the time later in the day.could get frustating for first timers...if its your first time playing you really need a map or be with someone that has played.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Loving Laguna

5+    9/23/2010   9/24/2010
Review By: sastheatre
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Beautiful setting, good mix of long and short locations, challenging wind, and big tee pads.
Cons: Layout could be more strategic for parking. Hole #8 should be #1, since most people park and start there or #9 to back 9, first. It's a long walk from #18 to #1, if you park at #1.
Other Thoughts: Can't wait for benches and better signs.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/4/2010   8/4/2010
Review By: DocHaole
Played: 72  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 7.1 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -18 holes with multiple pin placement that are changed regularly.

- Nice new tee pads that are wider at the end.

- Howling wind: almost all of the time, this is a great place to learn how to play in strong wind (some may see this as a con).

- Decent use of obstacles: Especially on the back nine, every pin is guarded by a tree close by. There are also some ridiculous pin placements where you have a hard time walking through the trees to get to the basket, let alone get a disc there.

- Lots of distance holes: Depending on the pin positions, but you usually have pleanty of opportunities to let it rip.

- Variety of holes- on the back 9, (see cons for front 9). This is the course that finally forced me to develop my overhand shots. It just puts you at a big disadvantage if you can't throw a thumber or tomahawk.

- Beautiful setting: With the lake and Madonna Mountain in view it is a very picturesque central coast atmosphere.
Cons: - Navigation is a nightmare for first timers. If you are going for the first time PRINT OUT THE MAP. And this course is usually not too crowded so you can't always follow the group in front of you. Many of the holes really backtrack, making it almost impossible without a guide or map.

- Distances are off on most of the signs. I know that they put in some serious effort to make signs with distances for all the alternate pin placements but a lot of them are way off.

- The front nine gets kind of repetitive. Usualy a long open shot to the basket guarded by trees. You can usually throw any style you want to get into the trees.

- Not a great course for begginners. If you can't throw +300' consistently in the wind this course will get boring and frustrating quickly. The combination of strong winds and high grass can be brutal.
Other Thoughts: This course seems to bring about extreme opinions. The things I like about this course I really like. And the things I don't like I find really annoying at first. I will say that once you get past the navigation issues and the poorly marked distances this course starts to grow on you. I have found that the more I play this course the more lines I find though the trees and the more routes I end up trying, especially on the back nine.

Also it is important to view this course as a work in progress. There are plans on expanding to 27 holes, pending approval I think. Assuming that the next 9 holes are in the same style as the back 9 this course could potentially be much better.

The unofficial 19th hole is an awsome "top of the world" shot that earns an extra 1/2 point in my book. Up the hill from the 18th basket is a ledge where you can launch it at the 7th hole basket. Definitely use a spotter to watch for cars on that one.

All in all this is a solid course with a lot of potential to improve. It's hard to compete with Waller and Heilman in the area but this course could get there with the necessary improvements. Love it or hate it the course offers a decent challenge and the designers should be proud of that.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Words cannot describe...

1    4/29/2010   4/30/2010
Review By: Officermick
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Good views of the mountains/hills.
Clean air.
Pretty lake.
Good Tee Boxes
Cons: Horrible mapping.
Laid out poorly (no flow at all).
The signs are about 1-2' off of the ground and the grass is 2.5'+.
Other Thoughts: I took a buddy here to experience his first time at Disc Golf. Now I know that the wind is beyond control but the grooming of this thing was horrible. And the maps/signs were WAY off. The designer(s) should really use a better protractor method.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Good Challenge

5+    4/24/2010   4/24/2010
Review By: GeoWolf
Played: 54  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Played yesterday and some of the grass was mowed, hopefully the city is finally getting around to the rest of the grass.

Overall, the course is challenging with the front nine demanding a powerful drive (usually with wind a factor) while the back nine is more wooded and tighter shots are required.

The lake setting is beautiful, especially for late afternoon rounds after work.

Finally, the locals are still working on the course and I've heard another 9 holes are planned. Pin placements often change weekly, usually after the Thursday tournament.
Cons: Course flow could have been better planned out, holes 15, 16 and 17 for example.


3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Another day on the course.

2-4    4/3/2010   4/4/2010
Review By: RIPE MELON
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Wide open spaces with fairly new cement pads. Posted aerial photo's near pads with distances in feet. 18 holes. Never to close to other players.
Cons: Very windy in the late afternoon. The grass length varies for med to tall and hunting for a disc isn't uncommon.
Other Thoughts: A dog park is close by. Hot girls are suckers for dogs.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Almost Impossible to Navigate

1    3/16/2010   3/28/2010
Review By: Nate Brooks
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The concrete tee boxes are very large, allowing you to angle your body without having to fear slipping off the tee.

Restrooms are centrally located.

Most of the course is DG exclusive.

Those are the only good things I could think of.
Cons: This course was impossible to do without a guide. There are no signs, and the baskets are very poorly marked. If you don't have a guide, expect to spend most your time trying to figure out the layout.

The grass is over 3 feet tall for most of the course (and that's the fairway...)

The front 9 is essentially the same hole played 9 times. Long, open drive through a 3 foot tall grass field into a clump of trees with the basket in the middle.

Reputation has it that this course is nearly impossible in the wind. It was the rare windless day when I played it, according to the local group I played with.
Other Thoughts: Playing here was the least fun I've ever had playing DG. The front nine is terrible. The back nine is fairly well done, but not good enough to make up for the monotony of the front.

Holes 15-18 are what make the course. Eighteen is a beautiful sloping dogleg played under the peak of a rocky hill overlooking the lake. If the rest of the course was like 18, this course would be incredible.

If you're from out of the area, check out Heilmann or Sinsheimer first.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Cool coastal course

2-4    4/24/2012   2/24/2010
Review By: Danger
Played: 87  Reviewed: 70  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 4/25/2012
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Great, large tees
-Most of the course is DG exclusive
-Layout changes, pin rotations
-Variety...short tunnels, big bombs and everything in between.
-Plays like 2 separate 9 hole courses. The front 9 is open, the back 9 is more wooded
Cons: -Signage is minimal and mostly at ground level. You should print a map or find others to play with. There are a few long walks along the way, and tee pads that appear to be the next hole but isn't.
-The grass can get long, I recommend pants.
Other Thoughts: Laguna Lake plays around a small lake in a park/open space region. While mostly flat, there is some very minimal sloping throughout the course that does affect your choice for throws at times. The lake does not come into play at any point.

The front 9 of the course plays mostly in a large field bordered by the lake, parking lot, entry road, and Madonna Rd. This section of the course really compliments the tighter, more wooded second half.

The back of this course incorporated lots of large trees, mostly eucalyptus, and played around a central picnicking pavilion. While close to the course, I don't think it would affect play even if the area was busy. There were lots of shorter, more technical holes which included a few doglegs, and a blind.

Hole 13 was a narrow, long drive between an OB fence and a tight line of trees. 4 additional trees in the middle of the fairway exist to laugh at you and make you cry.

Some of the pictures on this website are from the tournament course, which is not set up regularly. You can, however, climb up the hill next to hole 18 and play down to the pin from there, its a really cool downhill ace run.

Pictures on this site do not do justice for the LONG wintertime grass we found there. Grass was up to 2 feet long in areas, and disc finding became a challenge at times, even though we swore we knew where it landed. We went on an overcast drizzling day, and our feet were slowly soaked from the grass by the end of the round. When it's dry, it's not as bad but pants and foxtail resistant shoes are a must in the summertime.

Like most courses on the central course, I find this one to be a bit underrated and definitely find it to be better than average. I can first time players knocking it for being difficult to follow, but if you plan ahead you can really enjoy the variety this course offers.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  Making Improvements

2-4    1/5/2010   1/6/2010
Review By: ajfish22
Played: 32  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.8 Years
This review was updated on 1/30/2010
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice new concrete tee pads with lots of grip, variety of hole types (front nine being more open and back nine more wooded and challenging), you can see they are working to improve the course and i talked to someone working out there and they said they will soon have benches at every hole and signs to help navigate the course
Cons: As of right now, no signs are in place so it is difficult to find some of the holes, SLO is often very windy so that can be a big challenge
Other Thoughts: For the most part i was very happy with the course layout and the creativity of the course. Like i said they are working on improvements that will make this course much better!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/27/2009   6/27/2009
Review By: DiscGolfinTheD
Played: 21  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 10.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very straight ahead layout most of the time. Very open so its hard to lose a disc and gives you a good opportunity to bomb some drives. A few shots where the pins are hidden. The back is definitely the better choice to play.
Cons: Signage, signage, signage. There was a complete lack of signs on the course. My friend and I basically would walk to a basket then spend a good 5 to 10 min trying to find the next tee spot(this is on the front 9)
Other Thoughts: All in all the back nine of this course was awesome! relatively easy to find your way through it and alot of fun shots thru the trees. Very needed shade if you are a summertime player. The front though definitely looks like they are working on it. So do not take my cons so hard, since it seems that soon they will be replacing the earth tees and i imagine replacing the signs at the sametime.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.