Crescent City, CA 
Joe Hamilton Elementary Share
Uploaded By: lanningmorgen Hole #6 (Taken 7/2009)
-- / --   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Perfectly Serviceable Little Rec Course!

1    8/16/2013   8/18/2013
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This works as a great little rec/beginner course when you don't want to tackle Beachfront. The baskets are DGA models. They're older and are showing some signs of rust but catch well here. At the base are small blue triangle pieces of tile set in the concrete base pointing to the next tee. They're not really needed here but I liked having them anyway.

Question?? Why do course designers put great navigation aids like these little blue triangles on small pitch and putts courses like Joe Hamilton where you don't need them and not on some wilderness courses where you end up wandering around around forever trying to find the next tee pad?

This end up having a couple of nice ACE runs. The on-line map was excellent! I guess it's fairly simple to make a map for a 7 hole course.
Cons: For a course designed for elementary students, it's a little too long, a little too difficult, with too many baskets too near fences and opportunities for students to throw into the nearby apartment complex or as in the case with # 7, into the teacher's parking lot.

Basket's # 1 and 3 are both set too near the fence for elementary kids. They'll be firing their discs over those fences all day long.

Teeing off from # 6 near the apartment fence, students will throw over the fence here. Also there is currently a branch hanging broken down right in your way. It needs to be removed. Right now, it forces you to roll so I kinda liked it. Gives you another look.

On # 7, kids will find a way to throw into the parking lot. Believe me, I teach elementary Physical Education and I know how poorly these students throw.
Other Thoughts: I like this course a lot as a recreational course. A place to bring a newbie or just to practice. It's shady and has some fun ACE ops.

I don't care for it in regards to elementary students. I don't think I would trust kids to use it at recess. It might work as a structured P.E. activity.

So I'd rate it about a 2.5 as a rec course and about a 1.0 as an elem. school course. We don't have a 1.75 rating so I'm rounding it up.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Crecent City realy needs a good course...

2-4    2/4/2010   2/12/2010
Review By: humchris85
Played: 113  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 9.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -It's on a school grounds so students have a chance to be exposed to the sport in a safe environment
-Concrete teepads
-All holes have an ace posibility...(also a con)
-Baskets have a piece of tile pointing the way to the next tee (though it's not realy needed)
-Wind adds some challenge to an otherwise boring course.
Cons: -Super short
-Most holes way too easy for a player beyond beginer level
-2 holes require you to throw at apartment complexes that are behind the school.
-A couple holes play neer the playground equipment so if kids are around this could get quite dangerous
-1 hole plays is short with a school bulding behind the basket just waiting for a disc on an ace run to break some windows.
-Only 7 holes
-The field that the course is on has quite a few low spots around that become quite the flood zone in winter.
-Very few obsticles, trees only on the edge of the field that the course plays around.
-Baskets rusting in the ocean air.
-The few trees that are there are disc eaters
Other Thoughts: This is a good course for what it was put in for, an elementary school. The holes are all very short and easly 2-able on all holes, if not aceable. It is definatly not ment to be a course that anyone looking for a chalenging round should play. It is though a good course for geting kids to learn the sport of disc golf in a less intimidating place than some more chalenging courses might be. This seems like the kind of course that would be good for a quick lunch time round if you worked in the area, but that would only be posible if school was not in session.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Morgen

1    7/30/2009   7/30/2009
Review By: lanningmorgen
Played: 45  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 18.2 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: See Mike Shoys review. He did a good job with his information.
Cons: See Mike Shoys review.
Other Thoughts: My wife and I played this course on July 26th. School was out for summer. We brought our dogs and it was perfect for them.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/7/2007   1/21/2009
Review By: mike shoys
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 8.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/23/2009
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -a couple baskets behind trees. one behind a backstop was challenging.
-not crowded at all.
-the course in the city park shared too much area with bikers, walkers, and sunbathers, making this the only comfortable alternative in the area.
-wind makes the otherwise very easy holes a bit tougher.
Cons: -mostly just some baskets in a field
-set on about 2 acres, so sharing the space with just a few groups would be crowded, though my group as all alone there.
-one of the baskets was located feet in front of a fence that had apartments only feet behind it, so i was constantly worrying about putting a disc in the kitchen sink on that hole...
-located at a school, so no playing til 3? or whenever they get out and clear the fields
Other Thoughts: this is a great spot to teach someone the game. Not challenging, but most importantly we had fun there... good for fine tuning your windy approaches.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center