Dundas, ON 
Christie Lake Conservation Area Share
Uploaded By: dusty5150 Hole #4 (Taken 12/2014)
4 / 263ft.   4 / 294ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee Sign



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Apparently the “Most Improved” Course of the decade!

2-4    12/30/2014   12/30/2014
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 191  Reviewed: 173  Exp: 3.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/13/2015
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The DG course in the Christie Lake Conservation Area just north of Hamilton was a real surprise to me. I hadn't planned on playing it this time as I visited my daughter, but wound up with a calm, cold day, and the opportunity, so I grabbed it. The diversity on the course is tremendous, the scenery is spectacular regardless of the time of year, and the cost to enter the park supports nature conservancy, as well as a featured, competition-worthy disc golf course! I couldn't ask for more!

With two large, grippy rubber tee pads for each hole, good signage, plus next tee arrows for finding your way, as well as Canadian flags atop for visibility, the Discatcher baskets are in very nice repair, and the fairways are generous and well-maintained throughout. There are nice stone steps down and up by the two ponds as you transition to hole ten, and a beautiful steel staircase leading you up to 'the green mile' above the tricky, rollaway 11th basket position. The second set of tees produce very different lines and challenges on holes 1, 3, 4, 8, 12 & 17, plus different angles, but similar challenge on some others ( like 6 & 7). The park has a huge amount of parking, trash cans, a helpful kiosk map (plus signage directing you to the front and back nines), and the first hole throws over the prairie grasses and into the woods above the football pitch.

You will remember holes like #4, with a nifty, mid-fairway set of guardian trees giving you fits as you try to sweep left to right and over the blind ridge. #6 emerges from the first run through the woods with an open field bomber for us meager arms, and a rollaway basket position. # 11 is a cool ace run, but don't skip off downhill to the left! #16 is a pretty, turnover (rhbh) ace run with the pond hidden behind the basket, so they've built up a little 'fence' out of tree debris to keep the more ambitious from doing too much fishing. And you might think they've wrapped it up when you putt out on 17, but they've left one nice multi-stage hole back uphill for you.

In all, the variety here is incredible, the use of elevations, woods, open spaces, views, and everything, make this fun for any player. Rec to Intermediate players will love the short tees, and Advanced and Open players will find challenges from the longs, all without crushing the spirit. My kind of course!
Cons: Not much to complain about, overall, but most disc golfers I know would balk at the park admission costs, starting at $9 Canadian for the car and driver, and more for passengers, but I would suggest locals look into the yearly pass option.

There are a couple of places with long walks (9 to 10 and 16 to 17), as well as a walk back up a blind fairway going to hole 18, but the course flow is fairly intuitive, and easy, even for first timers who bring the aerial map and watch the next tee signs.

The course seems to slightly favor left to right lines, but not cruelly so. And there aren't a whole lot of huge bomber hole for those who really demand that.
Other Thoughts: I chuckled at the Lost & found box with the sign that reads, "Disc Thieves Taste Like Chicken"!

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Rivals the best in the province

5+    9/18/2014   10/4/2014
Review By: Bobbily
Played: 37  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 12.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Incredibly well maintained course. Great variety of long short, open and tight technical holes.
Beautiful setting, in a conservation area. Course is dedicated meaning very few park users come up to this area of the park. Many times i play this course without seeing another soul for my entire round. The hanging basket on 15 is great fun. Elevated tee pad on 7 makes for a great ace run, and shooting over the valley on 6 to the basket 350' is a hole I dream about. The local golfers here are also fantastic. I've had many lost discs returned to me, and met some wonderful folks out on the course. While pros might not find the difficulty here that something like Ward's Island presents, for intermediate players it'd be hard to find a course that is this much fun to play in a setting as serene as this one. Go play it. Also, new chains recently.
Cons: You have to pay to get through the gates. The money goes to the Hamilton Conservation authority which I'm sure helps to maintain the course.
Other Thoughts: Facilities available. Hole 10 might be a bit difficult to find through the path to the far end of the parking lot as you walk off 9. You'll pass basket 17, walk through a bog of sorts and come out at #10 tee pad on the other side. There is a small sign there directing you.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great way to spend the day

5+    8/30/2012   8/30/2013
Review By: mandrew.manlypants
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.7 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Fun & challenging course in a great location. The park is very clean & large and the course takes you through a good part of it. It's like being on a frolfing adventure through the meadows & woods. My favourite course in the area by far.

Some pretty long & open holes, nice to be able to really whip those drives without having to worry.

Course is pretty easy to navigate, though if you do it on a nice day you might find people relaxing or bbq-ing in the middle of the course. Don't they realize that space is there for frolfers?? =P
Cons: Have to pay to get into the park. I haven't figured out a good way to get around this one, but it's worth doing especially if you bring a picnic & spend some time there afterward.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

One of the best in SW Ontario

5+    3/23/2013   11/2/2011
Review By: 3j0hn
Played: 84  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 11.9 Years
This review was updated on 3/28/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a fun technical course with a good variety of holes and good use of the elevation.
Tee pads are large rubber mats and all tees are well signed and easy to find. The maintenance has been excellent over the past few years! There is a (flush!) bathroom close to tees 1 and 10.
Cons: Entry fee of $9 (+$5 per additional person in peak season) is almost as bad as Bronte Provincial park. This is mitigated by the fact that the entry system is automated with credit card payment so you can still play early or late in the day when the gate is not manned.
Other Thoughts: This course gets better every season.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.