Disc Golf Store
Warren, OH 
Kent State University -Trumbull Share
Uploaded By: Brall   (Taken 6/2012)
Scorecard Box



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Nice but nothing special

1    3/31/2014   4/8/2014
Review By: Burky
Played: 43  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.6 Years
Pros: *nicely manicured
*baskets in good shape
*close to a real nice course (across street)
*couple interesting tee shots #3,#7,#8
*clean, clean, clean
*can't imagine it gets much traffic

Cons: *amazingly flat
*seems like it could get very wet
*#8 tee gets cut off when heavy rain or in winter(disappointing because it looks like the most interesting shot on course)
*not much of a chance to lose a disc
*only playing once seems like the wind could get pretty rough at times
Other Thoughts: I'll echo the majority of the thoughts that everyone else has written. I drove about an hour to play across the street at Darrow and figured I'd kill two birds with one stone and play here. Course is the kinda course where a middling player such as myself can score on. Good place to work on nice straight throwing lines. The par fours as listed on card probably play better as par 3's. I've very rarely played a course I didn't like but some are just vanilla and this is one of those. Definitely benefits from such a fine course across the street but not one to go anywhere out of your way to play other then to build your course repertoire. Looks like #8 long tee which was inaccessible the day I played could be the signature hole but the up tee is woefully short and takes away any challenge of the hole.

Meh

1    10/7/2013   10/7/2013
Review By: Meesta_Bleesta
Played: 27  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 11.3 Years
Pros: -Easy to get there if you just follow the directions on this site. Pretty small campus

-Virtually no trash or vandalism; the lawn was freshly mowed and bushes/trees were fairly groomed

-Practically brand-new DGA Mach 3 baskets with the red numbers on top of each one indicating what hole you're on

-Signposts with 'maps' on them that show where the next tee is (very roughly)

-If you go to KSU, there's a freakin' 9-hole DGC on campus!
Cons: -The layout/design are pretty straightforward for the most part. Like really straightforward. Hole 8 in particular comes to mind; from pros you throw over some water but from shorts it's just a pad in a field, and 250 feet straight ahead is a basket. Just in a flat, wide open field. So, not a very memorable course overall, but then again it probably wasn't meant to be. Doesn't seem like the designers had much to work with anyway

-Many of the holes butt up right next to cars/parking lots or buildings. For me, it was uncomfortably close at times especially considering how windy of a day it was (and it seems possible that with the lay of the land it might be windy here often). It's really right in the middle of this campus

-Some of the distances are wrong on the signposts. 4 in particular is way off. It says it's 230ft, but it's like a 150ft hole. And the signs were also super simple - the vast majority of them were just an arrow pointing straight ahead with no obstacles illustrated

-This is gonna be one of those situations where you're just gonna have to walk around in some goose poop. It's not, like, insane...but it is definitely scattered everywhere. I'd say the lawn on this DGC is about 5-8% goose poop. Obviously no fault of the maintenance crew. Unless they're all geese.
Other Thoughts: Definitely not a destination, but like I said above, it probably wasn't meant to be. Don't get me wrong - if I went to KSU, I'd be playing this thing every day! It's better than nothing. But it's nothing special. It's a very, very simple layout.

Hole 3 makes good use of obstacles, moreso than the others. It's still straight ahead, but there are a number of bushes and trees to navigate, best done with a nice big hyzer bomb. Hole 7 is a nice variation in the holes, tucked away behind some pines with some possible water hazard nearby. And hole 9 is pretty cool, pretty well designed in terms of obstacles, the only use of elevation on the whole course - but again, the basket is like 30 feet from the main campus building. It just feels a little awkward, especially with my not having any business with KSU.

Play this course to warm up for Young's Run across the street.

 Kent Read Kent Wright, Throw Plastic

1    7/1/2011   7/1/2011
Review By: kinger
Played: 36  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 4.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
~9 hole mixer across the street from Young's Run
~Concrete tees & nice baskets
~Decent commuter college setting
~Easy in/Easy out
~A handful of really fun holes
Cons:
~Flat and mostly wide open
~Signage missing from half of the tee posts (bring map)
~No other amenities available
~Repetitive with limited challenges
Other Thoughts:
A 9-hole "extension" of Young's Run I suppose would best describe this course. Hopefully it' used by the students, but worst case it gives the locals an opportunity to open up on some drives which isn't primarily available in the wooded course across the street. I enjoyed my round and nailed a couple birdies which is always a plus. The available land was put to good use and most of the holes are fun to play.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Work with what ya got

1    2/12/2011   3/1/2011
Review By: tistoude
Played: 166  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 6.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has very nice newish baskets and concrete tees. A few of the holes have an extra tee added to add some difficulty.

This course really does the best it can with the available land, bringing some trees and water into play in an otherwise open space.

There is pretty good variation in hole distance from very short 140' to an extra long 600' (from the long tee).

Highlight holes for me were #9 with the pin on a slope and surrounded by OB, #3 short but through a gauntlet of trees, and #7 which has a tight window to the pin with water nearby.

The course is very well maintained by the college.
Cons: Not super challenging. You can play this course with pretty much straight drives off every tee.

There is a significant layout problem around holes 5 and 6. I was told by a local that they play 5 then 4 followed by 6. All in all strange design.

The whole course is just kind of blah. Mostly flat, mostly open, mostly short, mostly boring.
Other Thoughts: This course is very good to have on campus since it can get people interested in disc golf and can play easy enough to not discourage new players.

Literally across the road is the (now) 18 hole course Young's Run which is pretty cool. These two courses together provide a nice contrast and tournaments or events held here will often include both courses for 27 holes.

This is not a bad 9 hole course but definitely not one I would travel out of my way for.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Basic course

1    6/22/2008   9/21/2008
Review By: gcoghill
Played: 50  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 14.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: New course, well-maintained grounds. Easy to navigate from hole-to-hole.
Cons: Not very technically challenging, mostly open. Right on a (very small) branch college campus; buildings/roads all around.
Other Thoughts: This course isn't much to rave about. Mostly just baskets out in open fields, so you'll throw to one basket then head to the next. not much in the way of obstacles or need for a variety of discs or throws.

The Clarence Darrow/Young's Run 15-hole course is a 30-second drive from here, best to hit both courses or just skip this one altogether.

However, the course is pretty new, so all the baslets are new and every hole has a sign with a map. Since it's on a Kent State University branch campus, the grounds are well-maintained.

Probably a good casual course if you are in the area, but not worth an extended drive. The nearby Young's Run course is pretty cool though, so if you hit that one it's not much effort to stop by the KSU Trumbull course as well.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.