Warren, OH 
Kent State University -Trumbull Share
Uploaded By: Brall Hole #8 (Taken 6/2012)
3 / 225ft.   5 / 630ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Basket



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
No Trumbull at all

1    10/4/2014   10/7/2014
Review By: Derek B
Played: 102  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 12.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) Concrete tees
2) Campus property
3) Can combine this with Young's Run course to make 27 holes
Cons: 1) Way open
2) Course design suffers because of openness
3) Lack of elevation changes
Other Thoughts: Played this course blind as part of the NE Ohio Open last weekend. My 100th course played! Woo-hoo!

Not a whole lot to say about this course. It's way open with a few mature trees scattered throughout. There's very little elevation change on it. That said, I can't really give it an impartial review because when we got to this course during the tournament, it was in the 40's with 20-30 mph wind and started raining on top of it, so we kind of suffered through it and played it quickly.

If I lived nearby, I would play all 27 all the time, if that tells you anything. Yes, the holes are rather generic, but when you see the land, you'll understand why. There were some mandos and OBs that helped to make it a little more interesting. I can only imagine that the scenery improves during the week when the students are in class.

This course isn't horrible and it's not too much Trumbull to play this in combination with Young's Run.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nice but nothing special

1    3/31/2014   4/8/2014
Review By: Burky
Played: 44  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.8 Years
Pros: *nicely manicured
*baskets in good shape
*close to a real nice course (across street)
*couple interesting tee shots #3,#7,#8
*clean, clean, clean
*can't imagine it gets much traffic

Cons: *amazingly flat
*seems like it could get very wet
*#8 tee gets cut off when heavy rain or in winter(disappointing because it looks like the most interesting shot on course)
*not much of a chance to lose a disc
*only playing once seems like the wind could get pretty rough at times
Other Thoughts: I'll echo the majority of the thoughts that everyone else has written. I drove about an hour to play across the street at Darrow and figured I'd kill two birds with one stone and play here. Course is the kinda course where a middling player such as myself can score on. Good place to work on nice straight throwing lines. The par fours as listed on card probably play better as par 3's. I've very rarely played a course I didn't like but some are just vanilla and this is one of those. Definitely benefits from such a fine course across the street but not one to go anywhere out of your way to play other then to build your course repertoire. Looks like #8 long tee which was inaccessible the day I played could be the signature hole but the up tee is woefully short and takes away any challenge of the hole.

Meh

1    10/7/2013   10/7/2013
Review By: Meesta_Bleesta
Played: 27  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 11.6 Years
Pros: -Easy to get there if you just follow the directions on this site. Pretty small campus

-Virtually no trash or vandalism; the lawn was freshly mowed and bushes/trees were fairly groomed

-Practically brand-new DGA Mach 3 baskets with the red numbers on top of each one indicating what hole you're on

-Signposts with 'maps' on them that show where the next tee is (very roughly)

-If you go to KSU, there's a freakin' 9-hole DGC on campus!
Cons: -The layout/design are pretty straightforward for the most part. Like really straightforward. Hole 8 in particular comes to mind; from pros you throw over some water but from shorts it's just a pad in a field, and 250 feet straight ahead is a basket. Just in a flat, wide open field. So, not a very memorable course overall, but then again it probably wasn't meant to be. Doesn't seem like the designers had much to work with anyway

-Many of the holes butt up right next to cars/parking lots or buildings. For me, it was uncomfortably close at times especially considering how windy of a day it was (and it seems possible that with the lay of the land it might be windy here often). It's really right in the middle of this campus

-Some of the distances are wrong on the signposts. 4 in particular is way off. It says it's 230ft, but it's like a 150ft hole. And the signs were also super simple - the vast majority of them were just an arrow pointing straight ahead with no obstacles illustrated

-This is gonna be one of those situations where you're just gonna have to walk around in some goose poop. It's not, like, insane...but it is definitely scattered everywhere. I'd say the lawn on this DGC is about 5-8% goose poop. Obviously no fault of the maintenance crew. Unless they're all geese.
Other Thoughts: Definitely not a destination, but like I said above, it probably wasn't meant to be. Don't get me wrong - if I went to KSU, I'd be playing this thing every day! It's better than nothing. But it's nothing special. It's a very, very simple layout.

Hole 3 makes good use of obstacles, moreso than the others. It's still straight ahead, but there are a number of bushes and trees to navigate, best done with a nice big hyzer bomb. Hole 7 is a nice variation in the holes, tucked away behind some pines with some possible water hazard nearby. And hole 9 is pretty cool, pretty well designed in terms of obstacles, the only use of elevation on the whole course - but again, the basket is like 30 feet from the main campus building. It just feels a little awkward, especially with my not having any business with KSU.

Play this course to warm up for Young's Run across the street.

little 9 hole neighbor of Young's Run

1    6/23/2013   7/5/2013
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads and minimal tee signs.
Practice Basket
Some Navigational aids (arrow to find hole 4's tee)
Water in play by hole 7.
Grass freshly mowed, course up keep seems to take place frequently.
Another course across the street, plenty of places to eat nearby.
Cons: Basket 1 was put in with very little concrete and spins around and leans over.
Several tee signs are unreadable, others are very vague.
There were safety issues with holes 2 and 9. Hole 2 throws near several parking lots. 9 Throws at student union, over roads, parking lot entrance, and walkways.
Flat and mostly open, with no real memorable holes, for example; Hole 8 is 235 flat and wide open.
It took a long time to find hole 1.
Other Thoughts: If I were local the only time I would play this would be when Young's Run is too busy, There is a superior 18 hole course literally across the street. This course is quick and easy with nothing too memorable about it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Flat but Fun

2-4    6/16/2012   6/19/2012
Review By: Brall
Played: 43  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 6.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Surprising amount of angles are used. Excellent use of trees, bushes and fences as obstacles.
- There is a nice variety of distances being used. 6 of the 9 holes are over 300' and there are two holes over 500'. This course allows you to test your max distance.
- The course has a nice flow overall with a short walk from the parking lot to the Practice Basket & Hole #1. Hole #9 finished right at the parking lot. There is a slight hiccough in the flow with Hole #4 & 5. The map has been updated but someone needs to update the tee signs. When playing, just note that the Tee Sign that says #5 is actually #4 and vice versa (according to the map and easy of flow).
- Safety ranks pretty good on this course. The only holes that come close to overlapping are #4 & 5. If there is a group on each you will just need to use good judgment . Hole #9 does have a docking area to the left of the basket but it most likely does not get a lot of traffic.
- Hole #8 has multiple tees with Long Tee giving you a 630' fairway!
- The concrete Tees are in excellent condition
- The Tee Signs are located on poles to the rear of each Tee and are very helpful. They are a little beat up but they show the Basket, Mando & Next Tee. The map is handy but really wont be needed once Hole #4 & 5 is updated on the Tee Signs. Navigation is very simple here.
- The Baskets are in excellent condition and are well labeled
- The water hazard greatly adds to the play factor on Hole #8
- Good upkeep by the university
- Low traffic by disc golfers and civilians
- Practice Basket located near Hole #1
- Plenty of parking
- Near the highway, easy to get to
Cons: - Very little in elevation changes on this mostly wide open course
- Could use a bench or two and a trash receptacle near one of the Tees
- A sign guiding you to Hole #1 would be an excellent addition to assist first time goers
- Flow on Hole #4 & 5 (previously discussed) slowed us down a bit
- Hole #8, Short Tee, is a wide open boring light toss. Could this be helped by moving the basket back and toward the water or in another direction?
- Even though I like the layout of Hole #5 with the fence and tree making you pick your path I do find it extremely short at 179'.
Other Thoughts: - This course is set on the university school grounds and is mostly flat but well mowed. Typical college setting with nice buildings and trees scattered lightly around the large yards. I do not know the politics on this course but there seems to be plenty more room to add another 9 holes.
- There seemed to be a constant wind on Hole #8 & 9 even though the weather was clear. Not a pro or con but something to be aware of. Bring your windy discs just in case.
- As 9 hole courses go this course was fun even though it is very flat. I would say there are some challenges but it's certainly not a 'challenging' course.
- I think that Hole #7 is the most challenging with it's right turning fairway toward the water into a small putting area.
- My favorite hole is #3 I guess. Fun course but nothing really sticks out as a favorite.
- Overall I enjoyed the course but I would not consider this something to travel far to try out. It does mix well when you want to hit this course up before lunch then do a round across the street at Young's Run DGC. As with most 9 hole courses I'm happy it's there as it adds to our sport. Thanks to those that put this course together for all of us to use.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Kent Read Kent Wright, Throw Plastic

1    7/1/2011   7/1/2011
Review By: kinger
Played: 37  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 4.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
~9 hole mixer across the street from Young's Run
~Concrete tees & nice baskets
~Decent commuter college setting
~Easy in/Easy out
~A handful of really fun holes
Cons:
~Flat and mostly wide open
~Signage missing from half of the tee posts (bring map)
~No other amenities available
~Repetitive with limited challenges
Other Thoughts:
A 9-hole "extension" of Young's Run I suppose would best describe this course. Hopefully it' used by the students, but worst case it gives the locals an opportunity to open up on some drives which isn't primarily available in the wooded course across the street. I enjoyed my round and nailed a couple birdies which is always a plus. The available land was put to good use and most of the holes are fun to play.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Unique

1    6/13/2011   6/14/2011
Review By: thadon
Played: 33  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 9.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good Signage
Concrete Tees
Wide open for the most part
Mandos
Course flow is good..from one hole the next
Very well Maintained
Cons: Not much to complain about.
Definitely not a Pro's course
Water hazards

Other Thoughts: We started the course on hole 2, Becuase it is right next to the parking lot.
Holes 2 and 3 you have to navigate some trees.
4 has a mando , that goes around the trees...seems to be the longest hole on the
course
For the most part its grip and rip .
Be careful 6 and 7 will punish any errant shot that goes right. There is a small stream there.

Also be mindful of the time of day you are there. You can probably get away with parking in the faculty parking, but just beaware. I parked there, and the security did approach me about it. She was actually really cool about it, and seemed enthused that we were there to play .

Nice park for beginners, or a confidence builder after a bad day Youngs Run ( across the street)

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Work with what ya got

1    2/12/2011   3/1/2011
Review By: tistoude
Played: 166  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 6.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has very nice newish baskets and concrete tees. A few of the holes have an extra tee added to add some difficulty.

This course really does the best it can with the available land, bringing some trees and water into play in an otherwise open space.

There is pretty good variation in hole distance from very short 140' to an extra long 600' (from the long tee).

Highlight holes for me were #9 with the pin on a slope and surrounded by OB, #3 short but through a gauntlet of trees, and #7 which has a tight window to the pin with water nearby.

The course is very well maintained by the college.
Cons: Not super challenging. You can play this course with pretty much straight drives off every tee.

There is a significant layout problem around holes 5 and 6. I was told by a local that they play 5 then 4 followed by 6. All in all strange design.

The whole course is just kind of blah. Mostly flat, mostly open, mostly short, mostly boring.
Other Thoughts: This course is very good to have on campus since it can get people interested in disc golf and can play easy enough to not discourage new players.

Literally across the road is the (now) 18 hole course Young's Run which is pretty cool. These two courses together provide a nice contrast and tournaments or events held here will often include both courses for 27 holes.

This is not a bad 9 hole course but definitely not one I would travel out of my way for.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Uses All It Has

1    6/27/2010   7/9/2010
Review By: swatso
Played: 370  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Concrete tees, practice basket, close to Clarence Darrow course. Good map.
Cons:
Flat as they come. Single tee/pin location. Minor flow issue - have to re-trace steps from basket-5 to tee-6.
Other Thoughts:
Plays around the grassy open space along the southeast side of a small campus. Minimal obstacles, but does what it can with what is available - scattered trees, an edge of woods, and a bit of water. Mostly straight throws needed of the tee, except long, sweeping left-turner on #4, and a tight right at the end of short hole #5.

If you enter the campus a road too early (across from Arby's), you can park in the back left-corner of the far parking lot and start at #2.

Certainly some challenge here - basket-7 near water's edge behind a small window - and suitable for safari and/or glow.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 It's a good compliment to youngs Run

1    9/13/2008   9/23/2008
Review By: chris deitzel
Played: 184  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 21.3 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It's a 9 hole course on a college campus. Some decent hole designs. Really is a good 9-hole course that I thought had some good shots to throw. I believe it is hole 9, that has a really nice green surrounded by OB. It's a great course for newer players.
Cons: I couldn't really find any cons. It is short, but there are 2 or 3 tough longer holes that make up for the 2 ro3 short holes.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed this course. It played well with the other 15 at Youngs Run just across the road. No poison ivy on this course like Youngs Run which is a big plus. For a small-college campus course, it is just what they need to get people into disc golf.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.