Scarborough, ME 
Pleasant Hill DGC Share
Uploaded By: PHill Disc Golf Hole #10 (Taken 10/2011)
4 / 410ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Basket



Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great Beginner Course

1    11/29/2013   11/29/2013
Review By: rcj333
Played: 14  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: PH is a great place to take new players and a great place to let it rip. Wide open fairways, very good tee pads and mostly intuitive layout. Nice pro shop. Liked the practice baskets right when you walk in. Can easily play just 9 if you want.
Cons: While layout is pretty intuitive, tee signs would be nice and arrows to next tee would be even better. I knew pars because of DGCR, but if not for that would not have known.
Other Thoughts: Was surprisingly busy for a cold Friday (Black Friday) in November. Would imagine it could be quite busy during the summer. Has a couple of ace chances. All and all, a very nice course that is most suitable for newer players. There are a couple of water hazards but PH is great about fishing out lost discs and notifying owners. Very cool.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/1/2012   8/2/2012
Review By: disq
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice wide open course, very well maintained. Dog friendly, which is awesome, so do us all a favor a grab some doggie bags in the shop and clean up after your pet!!
Owners and employee's are great, friendly, knowledgeable of the game/discs.
This is definitely one of my favorite courses, and conveniently close to Portland, So.Po...
Cons: There are not a lot of cons to this course other than the pond dragging.
In the past there were more frequent diving trips, even if you had to pay a couple bucks to cover the cost - this year if you hit that water your probably better off buying a new disc and waiting until the end of the summer to get your other one back.
League play is not sectioned off properly. 'A' and 'B' pool is the split, however, the top A and B players are both throwing in the upper 40's to lower 50's - which leaves no room for lesser players (actual B players) to have a shot at winning. There should be a defined cut-off set by the club house to prevent 'A' players from throwing in the 'B' class. Otherwise, why not create a 'C' class or eliminate the classes all together.
Other Thoughts: Club house is nicely stocked, with a fast growing selection of discs. It's more than doubled since last year. Prices are nice also - costs about the same as if you ordered online.
Tons of parking with a new net protecting lot so your car no longer gets mangled by newbies.


3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Very Open. A place to work on your drives.

5+    2/12/2011   2/25/2011
Review By: dsm767
Played: 16  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 11.2 Years
12 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Decent Pro shop well stocked and a friendly helpful guy behind the desk.

There is a bathroom in the pro shop as well and a TV and couches to relax in.

Very open greens for the most part with some nice pin placement on a lot of the holes. This is a course to work on your back hand drives, I am a RHBH thrower primarily and this is the place where I learned to throw over 300'.

Rentals are cheap last I checked they were like a buck, but it has been awhile since I checked the price since pretty much everyone I know has their own gear. Beginners should have fun here to say the least I have gotten at least 10 friends to pick up disc golf as a sport from playing at this location.

Its not to hard on the feet in the summer time since they irrigated it for last the 2010 season and there are cement tee pads on almost every hole now, I helped put a few in myself for work for play.

This was always a plus for me at Pleasant Hill Disc Golf in Maine- they had a alphabetized list of lost discs. The sheet had every disc including the type of disc it was, the color and who made it. The sheet itself was organized by the owners name so disc recovery was easy, and if you had more then one you did not have to go searching around.
Cons: Water Hazards beware!! I can't tell you how many times I've brought a friend this year and taught them how to play and lost a disc in the pond on the 3rd hole (Which as of last year they reversed the course so it would be hole 12 now) More then I can count. Since this is my home course I hardely loose discs here myself knowing the layout all too well.

There are in total 6 holes where water comes into play since the course loops around on itself and doubles back on the opposite side of almost everyone of the four ponds.

Since this is a pretty open course and the fairways are long on most of the holes, there is a pretty reasonable chance for loosing discs in the water hazards.

I also had the chance to play here in the winter several times and was able to walk out on the ponds grab my disc once when they were frozen over, which made for a great round in the snow and allowed me to tweak shots in previous years for the spring time to avoid these hazards; be careful as always I not saying you should walk out on the ice at any course and grab your discs.

Recovered most of my discs because they drag the ponds every few months and send divers in every so ofter too to get some big pulls out, but note you will have to pay $2 to get you disc back, they have to pay the diver and they don't want to do it out of pocket.

The course use to be pretty wet two years ago or so, since then they irrigated the course much better and course has dried out considerably.
Other Thoughts: I heard that Dragon Disc Golf has stopped affiliating themselves with the course after last season since their lease was up, not sure what the fate of the course will be in spring, as of now its free play for the winter and the club house is shut down. thanks for letting us play still even for the time being!

12 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Very well kept private course

1    5/20/2010   7/11/2010
Review By: Hamilton
Played: 55  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 6.3 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course has great facilities. A fully stocked pro shop, good restrooms, plenty of parking. There are plenty of garbage cans on the course to get rid of your trash.

The grounds are very well kept, and look like the course is mowed regularly. I was very impressed with the overall appearance of the course.

Tees in good condition, baskets were very nice.

My memorable holes consisted of (not sure of hole numbers, pictures are not current on the course page:
- I believe hole 2, a line of trees on the right, have to throw a severe anhyzer, or use a forehand, as the angle of the trees blocks a straight run at the basket.
- Fairly open shot, but the basket was in the middle of three trees grown up together, pretty neat.
- BIG downhill shot (1100 feet I believe) with the basket off right before some trees. Really gives you a chance to let it rip
- On the back nine, a really cool tunnel type shot with the basket right before a knoll.
Cons: Overall it is pretty plain. There is very little terrain, and while the existing trees and water are used about as well as they can be, some holes are pretty much straight ahead and open.
As mentioned previously, water really puddles in the fairways. It had rained the day before I played, and it was just soupy on any flat or low-laying areas.
I don't mind pay-to-play courses for the most part, and it's not like the $5 here is completely unwarranted given how well the course is kept up, I have played other courses that are free and blow this one out of the water. For comparison Maple hill outside Boston is a world-class course and only costs $5.
Other Thoughts: My rating of a 3 is based on the fact that the course is very well kept, even if the layout is a bit bland. Other than the aforementioned shortcoming and the drainage issue, this was a fun little course to play, and definitely worth the $5 charge.

If you are in the Portland area, this one is easy to find and a great way to spend a couple hours, it just might be crowded so plan for that.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 A Great Beginner Course

1    6/29/2010   7/1/2010
Review By: sneakyalien
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of variation from hole to hole
Interesting pin placement
Decent pro-shop
Cons: Can get wet
Busy at times
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a great place to hit up in order to play a quick game in the Portland area. This is a great place to bring a beginner to practice.
Would play here again, but nothing really stands out as "special."

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 good variety

5+    4/13/2010   4/14/2010
Review By: eric.peavey
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: awesome grooming. Great pro shop.
Cons: marshy everywhere! learn how to dig an irrigation canal. cramped. Not enough variety and trees.
Other Thoughts: ive been playing this course plenty of times in the past four years. It's only been very very slightly improved in that time, compare this to gorham that gets much better every year.

i enjoy this course much more now that i've purchased an expensive pair of waterproof shoes.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.