Disc Golf Store
Scarborough, ME
Pleasant Hill DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #14
5 / 514ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
You can throw rollers in Maine!

5+    10/15/2013   11/30/2013
Review By: Highway Bill
Played: 58  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 15.9 Years
Pros: In a word, this course is fun. Following an old ball golf course, most of the holes here have beautiful grassy, well manicured fairways. They're firm as well which makes for some of the best rolling fairways I've ever had the pleasure of throwing. This gives PH a unique feel and really sets it apart from other courses in the area.
There are a few small ponds here as well. They certainly add to the aesthetics but with the current design, they have been taken almost completely out of play.
The slightly undulating course meanders through an oak grove, two large white pine stands, and sporadic groupings of sugar and red maples that set themselves ablaze with color in late September. Overall, this is one of the more beautiful courses I've played and if you're in the area around peak foliage, you owe it to yourself to come play here.
The holes are mostly open and very forgiving which makes it an ideal place for beginners and intermediate players to hone their skills.
It's a blast for advanced players too. The wide open fairways allow you to really let loose on the par 4's and dial in your wind play. At a blue level par 59, it falls far short of any true test of golf but it's always fun chasing scores in the mid 40's.
The pro shop has a fair selection of plastic, accessories, and snacks. The cement tee boxes are great and the old Discatchers are holding up nicely. The staff is friendly and the course always looks immaculate.
Cons: The design is somewhere between pedestrian and downright horrible. I could go on and on about what's wrong with it but instead I'll say it's uninspired. **please don't let this deter you from trying this place out, I think almost every design I play is horrible**
-with 1 exception, the ponds are not in play
-course lacks multiple tees
-no tee signs
Other Thoughts: This place could be excellent with a redesign.

A breeze.

5+    6/29/2013   7/1/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 145  Reviewed: 142  Exp: 3.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Recently returned to the course where I learned to play after a long absence. I probably played my first twenty or so rounds here and I still remembered each hole, so I'll attempt to contain my bias.

That said, I couldn't imagine a better course to learn to learn the game at. It is very, very, beginner friendly. After a year in the south I remembered the open fairways, but my first though when I saw hole one was, "Good Lord, this is wide open." There is a ton of room for error on the majority of the holes.

So while the beginners will love this course, the bombers will too. There is some serious space to air it out, with numerous holes extending over 500 feet. And hole 8 gives most a chance for a personal best drive, with seven feet in front of you and a gradual downward slop most of the way to the cage.

That said, some of the par threes offer unique challenges. Hole 5 is perfectly set up for a RHFH shot to sweep in around the trees for a possible ace. (18 is the opposite set up) Hole 6 is an easy shot in a open field, but the cage is set in the middle of a three-trunk tree. Even a parked drive may give a difficult birdie put.

There is great flow to the course. The long open holes transition nicely to the short technical shots. It may not offer much challenge for the serious player, but it's a seriously fun course.

It's also a seriously beautiful course. It's former ball gold course and many of the fairways look the part. Many of the tee finds you driving down a freshly mowed fairway where the only thing missing is the sandtrap. A ton of work is done to maintain this on a daily basis, well justifying the time you spend
Cons: Pleasant Hill is not without its drawbacks. As mentioned, it's not challenging. The pars are way to high. (Not that this can't be negated by just playing them all as threes) But the fact that you can go wide left or right on a lot of the holes and not suffer much consequence is a flaw, regardless of what the par says.

It's also often crowded. It's not uncommon for there to be someone on every hole. There are two solutions to this. Come early on the weekdays if you can. After five you will find it hard to not spend a lot of time waiting at teeboxes, If you must come during peak hours, learn the course. There are plenty of places to skip from one hole to the next.

Lastly the signage isn't great. Navigating the course is very intuitive, so it doesn't need it in that respect. But I'd rather read the distances on the sign instead of having to keep pulling out the scorecard on the tee.
Other Thoughts: The course can get very wet. The staff does a great job putting up temporary stepping bridges when this happens but many of the fairways(ahem, 16) are prone to taking on water.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Pleasant Hill in Scarborough

1    3/17/2013   3/18/2013
Review By: sunnysomers19
Played: 26  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I traveled from California to visit family and decided to check out some disc golf courses in the area. Pleasant Hill was one I decided to stop at and it is a really nice course. It has fantastic scenery with ponds that make for some challenging water hazards. Or, when I went, frozen water hazards. They had fun pins to shoot at. Hole 6 sits in a set of trees and technically, the only way to putt it, is the gap in the center where you can see it from the tee pad. (Unless you can vertically putt from the sides or behind it) Hole 7, 12 and 17 were good challenges as well. Water is the only real hazards for losing discs. I don't see the trees claiming any discs but it might depend on the season. I went in mid-March.

I thought we had courses that were well maintained in California but, WOW. The tee pads were cleared of dirt/snow, it'd look like they were brushed that morning. Trash cans with tee numbers at every hole (Hard to get lost). New benches at every hole and all tee pads were concrete (big plus). Grass was soggy from the melted snow but I can only imagine how wonderfully green the course must be in the summer. BEST course maintenance I have ever seen. Every course should have fairways like these, but one can only dream. I would not have a problem paying $5 every time if they keep the course up like this year round, which I'm sure they do.

Pro Shop was incredible. MANY assortment of discs and they even have the new Westside Discs on the way. VERY impressed. One of the best pro shops I have been in. If you need a disc, get it HERE because I noticed their prices are slightly lower than anywhere else, especially if you order online. I am definitely going back for a disc and might even play a second round.
Cons: I went out in the middle of March and the weather was anything but pleasant that day. The strong winds made it challenging but also fun at the same time though. Boots were a necessity for the soggy grass. But this is not a con, just an experience.

I would like to see tee signs with a map and distance of the hole though. The pin is self-explanatory when you step on the tee pad, but it would make the course a little more prestigious; very minor detail.

And I don't think I'd list this as con either, because it's really just a matter of experience and opinion. I recognize and understand the course is family oriented and I'd say they nailed it to the tee. It's a GREAT place for beginning players and family rounds. It can get the first-time player easily addicted to the sport. However, since I have a bit of experience under my belt and play for my college team too, I would say this course is SUPER easy for the experienced/advanced player. Fun course, and it is worth the stop, but it wouldn't be a course I would regularly go back to for a challenge. Or, maybe if they had Par for beginners (current par), and created a Par for the advanced players, it would certainly make it more challenging. That would make me come back if I was a regular. Just a suggestion for thought though. Maybe even invest in alternate pins to change up the course. There is a lot of ground to work with out there, but also just a thought/suggestion. For the most part, the pars are generous, and I ended up -10 for my first time playing the course. A lot of Par 4's should be 3's and the Par 5's should be 4's and a couple could even be 3's too. I had two eagle opportunities, which is kind of cool to say, but experienced golfers should not have many of these, especially in 1 round. But I can see how this would make it fun too.
Other Thoughts: If someone asked me about this course, I would have nothing but good things to say about it. Beautiful course, excellent pro shop, well maintained, and I had fun. If the McLaughlin family is reading this, keep it up. You're doing everything right for this sport and some other people could benefit from using your course as a building block for future courses or altering some current courses. I'm glad to have had the opportunity to play your course. Do your best to expand the sport of disc golf to younger crowds like high schoolers, if you haven't already. I know they would love your course and the sport.

Another thing, my discs skipped A LOT due to the extremely nice grass on the course. Aim right/left and hyzer skip your discs. If you throw straight at it, it may skip out of your putting range, especially if it is as windy as when I went. But, that is also what made this course a bit challenging.

BONUS: Get a scorecard, and you get a deal at Buffalo Wild Wings.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Real golf

2-4    8/23/2012   8/25/2012
Review By: iHitTree
Played: 38  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 11.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/13/2013
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -groomed like a real golf course with fairways trimmed well, pond obstacles...literally looked like what a smaller actual golf course would look like
-solid pro shop
-scorecards, good tee areas mostly, good arrow markers under each basket pointing to next hole.
-staff in pro shop gave good tips (example: watch out for 3,8, 11, and 15..those are where you can lose discs)
-easier and popular course that attracts younger players and family, but inexperienced players had good etiquette and allowed me to play through
-creative mix of shots needed, but usually a few line choices
-bathrooms
-disc rental for beginners
-dogs welcome
Cons: -Can get crowded
-Pars are designed for Ams. Shooting par is prob around an 880 rated round. Playing everything as a 3 except 8, 13, 14, and 15 as 4's makes a reasonable pro par 58.
-NEED BUG SPRAY!
-little change in elevation
-lots of water so be careful (I did find out that they pull over 1000 discs out of the pond on hole 3 in May and about the same amount in September and they've returned over 6000 discs to date)
Other Thoughts: Fun story: one of the discs pulled out of the pond on 3: Avery Jenkins' Star Destroyer--his that he lost, proving even the best mess up too! They messaged him and he donated it to the course to show ppl. Nice!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fun course, bring bug repellent

1    8/6/2012   8/6/2012
Review By: g8orade
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well groomed course, nice tee pads, good store with friendly staff (Thanks David) and lots of discs and throwing charts right on the counter.
Mix of open holes and some wooded ones, some fun tee placements, it actually is accommodating for the whole family or a variety of levels.
They provide a map on the back of the scorecard, nice for first timers. I was playing alone for two full rounds and all the groups in front let me play through.
Cons: Don't forget the OFF / bug repellent, at least at teh moment. Big rains last night and even with the breeze today, I got devoured by Maine's state bird... Plus I'm a tenderfoot from NC on vacation.
More open holes than wooded, not much up and down, no doglegs, if those are cons for you. There is water all along one side of a hole, so don't grip lock. I would go back and do recommend trying this course if you're in the area. If you're not used to playing in the wind, that can be a distraction.
Other Thoughts: I drove up from Wells to play. My home courses are Bradford and Bailey Rd in Huntersville, NC, with Hornets Nest, Nevin, and Stumpy Creek other regulars. This is a well maintained course with some good length and a nice mix of holes. Bring a floater if you have any doubts about your accuracy or buy one in the store.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Fun, friendly, relaxing

5+    9/24/2011   11/21/2011
Review By: Raina B
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Well-groomed, good mix of open holes along with fun challenges like tricky trees and a couple ponds. Easy to get to. Knowledgeable and friendly staff - you always feel welcome.
Cons: Walking can get a little "squishy" around the water hazards.
Other Thoughts: Great way to enjoy the outdoors on a Saturday morning.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Don't Miss P-Hill

5+    11/7/2011   11/8/2011
Review By: Discobedience
Played: 77  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pleasant Hill is one of Southern Maine's most played and loved disc golf courses. Residing in the Greater Portland area it is very easy to access from the highway/turnpike and is one of the only courses within a 30 minute drive of Portland. The ownership of the course has recently changed and you can see the dedication and effort that being reflected in the condition of the property. Fairways are crisp and clean, brush is picked up and taken care of, and the clubhouse is now fully stocked with discs at unreasonably low prices.

Changes are always happening at Pleasant Hill and always for the better. The course owners are very receptive to player feedback and strive to make it the best experience for the whole. Any day you head to Pleasant Hill you will always be greeted by friendly staff and there are always people out working on the course. As a side note, the course design is in the middle of a very large change. The property which used to hold two courses will be utilizing the entirety of the acreage for one amazing course. I have heard rumors of the new holes and can't wait to see them this spring after the snow melts and fairways are redesigned.

If you are looking to come out and throw bombs this is the place for you. It is an open set up, a former ball golf course, redisigned perfectly for disc golf. The openess of the course makes for forgiving shots and also a great place to take beginers.
Cons: There are a couple major water hazards to be aware of at Pleasant Hill. Hole 3 is lined on the right side by a pond, your second shot on hole 8 is worth double checking, a long drive on 10 will drop you in the drink, as well as an errant shot left or right on hole 11, and lastly hole 17 is a big disc eater. Hole 17 sits 317 feet ahead in an open field with a pond on the left hand side, inviting you to toss that hyzer right into the pond. But do not fear, the diver comes to Pleasant Hill often and is very effective, normally surfacing with upwards of 500 discs per dive session. The clubhouse will document your disc on their website and give you a courtesy call that they have retrieved it.

Being that this course is the only Greater Portland area, you see a varying range in type of player on the course. Everything from local pro's to 1 discers with a 30 rack. That being said; don't leave your discs on the fairway here. I find the return rate of those left behind to be on the rather low side. Whether it be the riff-raff type of players who have no respect for others property or players new to the game that don't understand the "even if you find it, it's not yours" rule. You will often find large groups of people at Pleasant Hill and often times playing through with smaller groups is not much of an issue.
Other Thoughts: Pleasant Hill is a pcturesque landscape that is a must play for anyone coming to the State of Maine. If you want true beauty, check out a sunset at pleasant hill with the shadows of the huge pines stretched out over the ponds.

Hope to see you out there.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Recreational and relaxing

2-4    10/16/2011   10/21/2011
Review By: jtreadwell
Played: 31  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/7/2012
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -One of the best maintained (if not the best) in the area
-Decent mix of shots and hole types
-An excellent pro shop and snack bar
-Family friendly with a relaxed atmosphere
-Decent signage
Cons: -A bit damp
-Larger groups abound
-Some holes leave you with dejavu
-The transition from hole 8 to 9
Other Thoughts: Having played about 10 area courses, this is the first one that had anywhere near the level of maintenance as a ball golf course. The fairways were neatly trimmed for optimal disc skipping, and the rough, while accomplishing it's purpose of stopping your discs, was never a hindrance to finding a disc. Baskets and concrete tee pads are all in great shape, and many of the holes had greens made of stone circles or wood chips. The par is very generous (I shot a -7 and -9 course par) but that works out well for the multitudes of younger and newer players that were in attendance. Despite newer players, most everyone was polite and respectful of the course and there was no trash on the ground anywhere or rambunctious guys causing trouble. The ponds are utilized very well and are usually avoidable with cautious play. Only those truly going for the glory will really risk a wet disc. While the holes are all entertaining, some felt a bit repetitive, particularly the long, open holes. This was tempered somewhat by many large trees, including some devastating weeping willows. Signage is decent, with a lot of holes using easily spotted stones and stumps to direct you to the next tee. The only navigation problem we had was finding hole 9. The flow of the course is completely thrown out the window and you have to walk past several tee boxes and around the lake to find it. Even with the map we had to ask the locals where it was. Aside from that, this was a lovely course with a very relaxed atmosphere and a lot of disc golf fun. We also played BAP in Gorham and the two courses (exact opposites of each other) made for an unforgettable day. Try it! Everybody's doing it!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Grip it and rip it!

5+    4/19/2010   4/21/2010
Review By: Bendoggin
Played: 26  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 11.7 Years
This review was updated on 4/27/2010
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well groomed, open course with challenging water and woods shots. Convenient to the highway and Portland Area.
Cons: Lots of wet spots, wear boots. Windy at times.
Other Thoughts: There are some great pin placements (hole #6) and lots of room for the big arms (#1, #8, #13). The prices are about average for a pay-to-play, and they put in the effort.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Pleasant Surprise!

1    7/25/2009   8/9/2009
Review By: Spoonie-J
Played: 23  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 14.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Extremely well manicured grounds like a traditional golf course. This may be a turn off for some who would rather a conventional DG course with more woods but I found it unique and refreshing. Well designed with challenging water hazards and basket positions. 1108 ft. hole 9 is the longest I've played to date and was really tough.
Cons: Mostly out in the open with a country club/traditional golf course vibe. Lack of trees would make it very tough on a windy day.
Other Thoughts: Water hazards may bother some but they are supposed to make it hard! If you don't want to lose a disc just lay up and play it safe! The price may be high for DG, but I did not have an issue with it because it was clear they have invested a lot of time and money in professionally maintaining the course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.