Scarborough, ME 
Pleasant Hill DGC Share
Uploaded By: PHill Disc Golf Hole #15 (Taken 11/2011)
4 / 415ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Basket



Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    8/27/2012   8/29/2012
Review By: tcolby
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
Pros: Wide open fairways, great conditions and sweet pro shop. The wide open shots allow you to build on your drives with accuracy.
Cons: The only thing I didn't agree with was the pars for most of the holes. There were several 300' holes that are par 4 and 500' par 5. I played the course at a par 60 instead of 70.
Other Thoughts: I had a blast. Drove 2hrs to get there and enjoyed all 54! Look forward to getting back up there.

 Get your Pleasant fill

5+    7/20/2012   8/7/2012
Review By: Jeronimo
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Course maintenance
-Dog Friendly
-Good Pro Shop/Fair prices
-Numerous long holes
-Scenery
-Water Hazards

When reviewing Pleasant Hill one really cannot start without admiring the dedication and attention to detail put forth by the course owners in maintaining the course grounds. Concrete tee pads are located on every hole, trash cans/recycling as well, debris is rarely ever seen on fairways, the "rough" is rarely rough, and I have never seen the grass on the fairways longer than 1". When your disc lands on the ground at PHill it doesn't stop, it skips… and I love it. Wetness is periodically alleviated through temporary boardwalks or stepping stones, though this obviously does not help if your shot was an errant one. The course is (well behaved) dog friendly and doggie bags are provided COMPLIMENTARY and as such doggie "bombs" have a zero tolerance policy.

The owners are able to strike an incredible balance between business and casual. They really excel at making their regulars feel like family while still maintaining professionalism. The course boasts a pro shop on the grounds that is continually staffed, with bathrooms, more than enough stock to sate your appetite for plastic, snacks/drinks for sale, and prices that are more than reasonable. A massive Lost and Found is also maintained in case your disc was pulled out of the water or found on the course by a very kind person with a conscience...

The course acquaints itself quite nicely to the individual that enjoys the aspect of disc golf that involves throwing a disc… a very long ways. The vast majority of the holes exceed 350' and even push up to the 750' distance range, though elevation is frequently in play so as to alleviate some of the excessively long holes. If you are not one of those individuals, the monotony of distance throwing is broken up in two other sections by "deuce or die" holes that require nothing more than a mid range and/or putter. Water comes into play in at least 3 locations which in my opinion adds a degree of excitement and difficulty that the otherwise open course lacks. Tree's occasionally come into play but this is not a wooded course even by the loosest standards. Open players should expect to shoot in the sub 52 range, AM1's 2-3 strokes behind them, and AM2 typically around 54-59 range. The course also holds tournaments, weekly Monday leagues, weekly Wednesday womens leagues, and random doubles on Friday evenings.
Cons: -Crowds
-Wetness
-Water hazards
-Long holes
-Sketchy parking
-Apparent Sandbaggery

Pleasant Hill is just outside of Portland, which is a populous and busy city in southern Maine filled to the brim with demographs that are naturally drawn to a fringe sport such as Disc Golf. As such, the course is regularly just above, at, or even occasionally just below capacity. Groups of 4-5 or more players on a hole ahead of you are a common occurrence, though in my experience I have rarely had issues playing through slower groups.

While the course is extremely well maintained, there are several locations with inherent drainage issues that make rounds after a fresh rainfall an exercise in high stepping and gore-tex limit testing. As I mentioned previously, the owners really do go above and beyond to alleviate the wetness through temporary bridges and stepping stones to give you a dry path to traverse the holes. In lieu of wet grounds, do not plan to enter the standing water either to retrieve errant discs as the water is extremely unsanitary. Thanks largely to insurance liability reasons the owners have a stiff "no diving, wading, or swimming" policy in effect. Divers are sent into the ponds for complimentary disc retrieval duties on a fairly regular basis though, so lost plastic rarely remains lost.

Most local complaints of the course come from experienced players looking for variety because PHill is a mostly open course that requires little more than a driver and a putter. While I don't consider this a deterring characteristic of the course, many would as large audiences tend to contain diverse tastes that aren't necessarily shared amongst everyone else. As I had stated earlier, if you like a course with little opportunity to lose your disc, comfortable walking terrain, and the opportunity to pull out your big drivers on a regular basis, you will love this course. Otherwise, it most certainly will not be your favorite.

The only two other minor complaints I can think of would be the parking lot which is frequently crowded and the opportunity for errant discs to hit parked cars. A net is in place along the edge of the fairway though to help prevent such a scenario. Finally, if you do intend to visit the course with the purpose of participating in a competitive event, be aware of the presence of some level of sand bagging. Due to the open nature of the course, player's scores are frequently tightly grouped and the difference in divisions can end up being quite minimal.
Other Thoughts: If you plan to play late afternoon/evening rounds bring bugspray! Ticks are of little to no concern.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Long Bombs and dog friendly

5+    7/16/2012   7/22/2012
Review By: Rhyno14
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course is in great shape and well maintained. Baskets are great and tee pads are long enough for those people (like myself) that need a big run up. Pro shop is run by a disc golfer with a lot of experience willing to answer any questions and assist with disc selections. $5 all day GREAT DEAL!! Dog friendly!
Cons: Haven't had rain in at least two weeks, course is soggy on a few holes.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/29/2011   11/2/2011
Review By: seano2222
Played: 56  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The most prominent feature of this course is the immaculate grounds keeping. Fairways are plush grass, maintained to the height found on a typical ball golf course. Old-growth willows and oaks adorn the landscape, intermixed with ornate duck ponds and a few man-made decorations. First time through I swear I looked over my shoulder a couple times to make sure no one was coming up from behind to kick me out of their country club. Throughout this summer, we witnessed continuous efforts to improve the grounds including bridges, wood chips, filling of low spots that held water, drainage ditches, brush clearing, tee box reconstruction and permanent benches.

The course bounces back from the elements like no other - This characteristic alone often tips the balance for us to drive the extra miles. Drainage is excellent after the big rains, no mud or standing water to contend with. From what I understand the openness lends itself well to winter play when after the sun has a chance to skin the snow over.

- Five bucks plays all day.
- 9 & 18 finish back at the clubhouse
- Clubhouse has packaged snacks, restrooms and heat.
- Disc prices are competitive with the internet
- Friendly owners
- Retrieval tools at water hazards
- Baskets have arrowed bricks to mark direction of next tee
- Concrete tees (set forms or pavers) with grip textured surface and good drainage
- Stray discs are easily found

The course utilizes a very clever standardization of hole distances in increments of 100 feet, plus the number of feet matching the hole number. For instance hole #1 is 501 ft, hole #2 is 302 ft, so on through hole 18 at 218 ft. You can easily distinguish the difference of a hundred feet, so this allows you to always have awareness for distance management, without having to look at or remember what a sign said. To compliment this, you can always see the basket from the tee in the direction the tee pad is set (might have to lean right or left on a couple to get a clean look). There are no signs at the tee box, only the hole number stenciled on each hole's trash bin. I guess I would prefer both, but if I had to pick between a sign and this method, I think I get more value from this way.

The course is widely open with only a couple tees you can't rip a bomb from. As fun as that is, it's arguably rather uniform and perhaps unchallenging in this regard. However, by my quick count there are only 5 holes that don't have some form of standing obstacle or water hazard to contend with. A few more obstacles would be better, but as-is, this course is not too far south of an open/technical balance, which I find makes for an enjoyable, not overly frustrating, round.
Cons: There aren't really any cons that would deter me in from coming back often - but here are a few opportunities for improvement … or not.

- Tee box signage
- Discs are kept behind the counter; I prefer to thumb through all the fluorescent baubles when making a selection. (When requested though, they are quick to set a selection of them on the counter for you.)
- There is a selection of Discraft, Latitude and Innova discs, but the variety of colors and weights for each disc is a bit limited compared to the largest area pro shops.
- The follow-through step off the tee boxes has caught me off guard a couple times. Some are slippery and some a drop which could lead to a groin pull or twisted ankle.

In the category of "it is what it is" cons:
- The course has essentially no elevation changes in play.
- Can be impossibly blustery at times from being open and near the ocean
- At least 10 minutes from the highway, more in traffic.
Other Thoughts: For right hand back hand, I don't find the water hazards threatening at all. That said, I've played the course a dozen or so times and have been in the water twice. Hole three got in my head once and I grip locked one into the water (retrieved) and the wind helped an understable Wahoo on eight carry way over to go for a tour of the water on three (also retrieved).

Because of the location in a population center, the course is often well attended. There have been times I thought for sure we would get hung up behind slower groups or five+ groups, but we never have. Even the newbs here seem to catch on to offering through play pretty readily. My last 4 weekend rounds, played in a twosome, ranged between 1:17 and 1:44, according to the scorecard app on my phone.

Wind is part of the game here - Take it as a challenge to be mastered.
Grass is part of the game here too - Holy rollers! (Wish I were better at throwing them)

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  P. Hill - Scarborough, ME

5+    9/18/2011   9/19/2011
Review By: Lerch
Played: 17  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Over the past year the new owners have completely made this one of the better courses in Maine. What was once a soggy marsh covered in duck crap is now a maintained great looking course. The course itself is a great mix of open field and wooden holes. The pro shop is always stocked with Innova, Discraft, Lat64, and Gateway plastic, not mention snacks and drinks. The staff is friendly, knowledgeable and always has 5 minutes to offer tips on your game. P. Hill is also DOG FRIENDLY which is a big plus if you are a pooch owner. A lot of people don't like the 3 water hazards, however the course has a diver go in and pull out roguh 600 discs monthly, they clean, catalog and even call everybody. Best part is they don't charge for returning a lost disc.
Cons: The course isn't physically demanding as other courses (Bennett's, LaVallee), but being so close to the Portland metro you can't really complain.. My only big gripe is there are a lot of newbies, and larger groups ( 5+) which can easily add unnecessary time to your round.
Other Thoughts: Rumors have surfaced about 2 18 hole courses next year

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  very pleasant

5+    8/24/2011   9/7/2011
Review By: mainracefan
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.9 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: friendly staff,well stocked pro shop,well maintained course,variety of open holes and obstacles,friendly people playing,ample parking when people cooperate
Cons: drainage makes for wet feet,but wearing waterproof shoes takes care of that
Other Thoughts: been playing disc golf for about a year now,and have tried several local courses and pleasant hill is by far the best course for beginners as well as all other skill levels.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun fun fun!

1    10/19/2010   10/31/2010
Review By: pinochle
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.9 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Beautiful place to learn. The guy working in the shop is really nice and super helpful to beginners. They have rental discs for a buck a piece and a nice shop to boot!
Cons: The course is a little confusing if you're starting out new. However, there is a map on the back of the scorecards to help out. Be prepared to get lost a few times. Also, watch out for the ponds. They're all over and you will play near them.
Other Thoughts: It was my wife and my first time playing disc golf. We had such a great experience that we got ourselves a bunch of discs and are now disc golfers! Whee!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/26/2010   10/7/2010
Review By: cubby96
Played: 36  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 18.7 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Let's start with a previous flaw that has been fixed: in years past, the footing was pretty sloppy, as the course seemed to have a drainage problem in several areas. They listened to the complaints (presumably here and from locals) and the course maintenance has changed. Despite rain the week I was there, the ground was in good shape. In fact, it was possibly a bit too dry earlier in the week (I played there on multiple days in the same week).

The course is cut and appears more like a ball golf course than most, since it started as one. That said, it is well laid out, with plenty of variety and challenge. If you play the pro tees/pins (I didn't), there are a couple of real doozies.

Love the pin placement on #15, nestled tightly inside a ring of trees, slightly elevated.
Cons: Not terribly easy to find the first time, but I can get there without a map now.

The pro shop meets their needs, but after seeing other courses in the area, it really could do with an update, especially the amount of discs in stock. Prices are good.
Other Thoughts: Pay-to-play hasn't caught on in my area, but it is the norm in Maine. This course was worth the price.

The course pro/manager, Dave, was very pleasant and explained the course changes to me. He is an asset to the course and an enthusiastic ambassador for the sport - a sharp contrast to some of the 'clerks' I saw running the shop at other area courses.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and convenient

5+    6/24/2010   6/27/2010
Review By: xphelanx
Played: 21  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The pro shop is great, with excellent pricing on a wide variety of discs. Dave is very knowledgeable and willing to help out. They post lost discs online from time to time and usually call if you mark your phone number. I know I've received a couple calls for my discs that were dredged out of the dreaded Water Hole of Doom. Interesting pin placement makes for challenging shots on a few holes. I play here every week and I don't get tired of it. It currently has the longest hole in Maine, known to some as "the Don Johnson" on the Pro course. Always very well manicured greens with barrels at each tee pad for refuse/recycling.
Cons: Definitely use water-safe footwear, as it can get pretty soggy out there, even after some dry weather. The Water Hole of Doom (was 3, now 12 after the flip-flop)
Other Thoughts: I think the $5 fee to play is very reasonable for what you get. It's an easy 10 minute drive from downtown Portland, so it's great for an after-work round (or two).

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.