Scarborough, ME 
Pleasant Hill DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #6
3 / 206ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 42
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Pleasant Hill in Scarborough

1    3/17/2013   3/18/2013
Review By: sunnysomers19
Played: 26  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I traveled from California to visit family and decided to check out some disc golf courses in the area. Pleasant Hill was one I decided to stop at and it is a really nice course. It has fantastic scenery with ponds that make for some challenging water hazards. Or, when I went, frozen water hazards. They had fun pins to shoot at. Hole 6 sits in a set of trees and technically, the only way to putt it, is the gap in the center where you can see it from the tee pad. (Unless you can vertically putt from the sides or behind it) Hole 7, 12 and 17 were good challenges as well. Water is the only real hazards for losing discs. I don't see the trees claiming any discs but it might depend on the season. I went in mid-March.

I thought we had courses that were well maintained in California but, WOW. The tee pads were cleared of dirt/snow, it'd look like they were brushed that morning. Trash cans with tee numbers at every hole (Hard to get lost). New benches at every hole and all tee pads were concrete (big plus). Grass was soggy from the melted snow but I can only imagine how wonderfully green the course must be in the summer. BEST course maintenance I have ever seen. Every course should have fairways like these, but one can only dream. I would not have a problem paying $5 every time if they keep the course up like this year round, which I'm sure they do.

Pro Shop was incredible. MANY assortment of discs and they even have the new Westside Discs on the way. VERY impressed. One of the best pro shops I have been in. If you need a disc, get it HERE because I noticed their prices are slightly lower than anywhere else, especially if you order online. I am definitely going back for a disc and might even play a second round.
Cons: I went out in the middle of March and the weather was anything but pleasant that day. The strong winds made it challenging but also fun at the same time though. Boots were a necessity for the soggy grass. But this is not a con, just an experience.

I would like to see tee signs with a map and distance of the hole though. The pin is self-explanatory when you step on the tee pad, but it would make the course a little more prestigious; very minor detail.

And I don't think I'd list this as con either, because it's really just a matter of experience and opinion. I recognize and understand the course is family oriented and I'd say they nailed it to the tee. It's a GREAT place for beginning players and family rounds. It can get the first-time player easily addicted to the sport. However, since I have a bit of experience under my belt and play for my college team too, I would say this course is SUPER easy for the experienced/advanced player. Fun course, and it is worth the stop, but it wouldn't be a course I would regularly go back to for a challenge. Or, maybe if they had Par for beginners (current par), and created a Par for the advanced players, it would certainly make it more challenging. That would make me come back if I was a regular. Just a suggestion for thought though. Maybe even invest in alternate pins to change up the course. There is a lot of ground to work with out there, but also just a thought/suggestion. For the most part, the pars are generous, and I ended up -10 for my first time playing the course. A lot of Par 4's should be 3's and the Par 5's should be 4's and a couple could even be 3's too. I had two eagle opportunities, which is kind of cool to say, but experienced golfers should not have many of these, especially in 1 round. But I can see how this would make it fun too.
Other Thoughts: If someone asked me about this course, I would have nothing but good things to say about it. Beautiful course, excellent pro shop, well maintained, and I had fun. If the McLaughlin family is reading this, keep it up. You're doing everything right for this sport and some other people could benefit from using your course as a building block for future courses or altering some current courses. I'm glad to have had the opportunity to play your course. Do your best to expand the sport of disc golf to younger crowds like high schoolers, if you haven't already. I know they would love your course and the sport.

Another thing, my discs skipped A LOT due to the extremely nice grass on the course. Aim right/left and hyzer skip your discs. If you throw straight at it, it may skip out of your putting range, especially if it is as windy as when I went. But, that is also what made this course a bit challenging.

BONUS: Get a scorecard, and you get a deal at Buffalo Wild Wings.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/27/2012   8/29/2012
Review By: tcolby
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
Pros: Wide open fairways, great conditions and sweet pro shop. The wide open shots allow you to build on your drives with accuracy.
Cons: The only thing I didn't agree with was the pars for most of the holes. There were several 300' holes that are par 4 and 500' par 5. I played the course at a par 60 instead of 70.
Other Thoughts: I had a blast. Drove 2hrs to get there and enjoyed all 54! Look forward to getting back up there.

 Real golf

2-4    8/23/2012   8/25/2012
Review By: iHitTree
Played: 58  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 14.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/13/2013
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -groomed like a real golf course with fairways trimmed well, pond obstacles...literally looked like what a smaller actual golf course would look like
-solid pro shop
-scorecards, good tee areas mostly, good arrow markers under each basket pointing to next hole.
-staff in pro shop gave good tips (example: watch out for 3,8, 11, and 15..those are where you can lose discs)
-easier and popular course that attracts younger players and family, but inexperienced players had good etiquette and allowed me to play through
-creative mix of shots needed, but usually a few line choices
-bathrooms
-disc rental for beginners
-dogs welcome
Cons: -Can get crowded
-Pars are designed for Ams. Shooting par is prob around an 880 rated round. Playing everything as a 3 except 8, 13, 14, and 15 as 4's makes a reasonable pro par 58.
-NEED BUG SPRAY!
-little change in elevation
-lots of water so be careful (I did find out that they pull over 1000 discs out of the pond on hole 3 in May and about the same amount in September and they've returned over 6000 discs to date)
Other Thoughts: Fun story: one of the discs pulled out of the pond on 3: Avery Jenkins' Star Destroyer--his that he lost, proving even the best mess up too! They messaged him and he donated it to the course to show ppl. Nice!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Get your Pleasant fill

5+    7/20/2012   8/7/2012
Review By: Jeronimo
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Course maintenance
-Dog Friendly
-Good Pro Shop/Fair prices
-Numerous long holes
-Scenery
-Water Hazards

When reviewing Pleasant Hill one really cannot start without admiring the dedication and attention to detail put forth by the course owners in maintaining the course grounds. Concrete tee pads are located on every hole, trash cans/recycling as well, debris is rarely ever seen on fairways, the "rough" is rarely rough, and I have never seen the grass on the fairways longer than 1". When your disc lands on the ground at PHill it doesn't stop, it skips... and I love it. Wetness is periodically alleviated through temporary boardwalks or stepping stones, though this obviously does not help if your shot was an errant one. The course is (well behaved) dog friendly and doggie bags are provided COMPLIMENTARY and as such doggie "bombs" have a zero tolerance policy.

The owners are able to strike an incredible balance between business and casual. They really excel at making their regulars feel like family while still maintaining professionalism. The course boasts a pro shop on the grounds that is continually staffed, with bathrooms, more than enough stock to sate your appetite for plastic, snacks/drinks for sale, and prices that are more than reasonable. A massive Lost and Found is also maintained in case your disc was pulled out of the water or found on the course by a very kind person with a conscience...

The course acquaints itself quite nicely to the individual that enjoys the aspect of disc golf that involves throwing a disc... a very long ways. The vast majority of the holes exceed 350' and even push up to the 750' distance range, though elevation is frequently in play so as to alleviate some of the excessively long holes. If you are not one of those individuals, the monotony of distance throwing is broken up in two other sections by "deuce or die" holes that require nothing more than a mid range and/or putter. Water comes into play in at least 3 locations which in my opinion adds a degree of excitement and difficulty that the otherwise open course lacks. Tree's occasionally come into play but this is not a wooded course even by the loosest standards. Open players should expect to shoot in the sub 52 range, AM1's 2-3 strokes behind them, and AM2 typically around 54-59 range. The course also holds tournaments, weekly Monday leagues, weekly Wednesday womens leagues, and random doubles on Friday evenings.
Cons: -Crowds
-Wetness
-Water hazards
-Long holes
-Sketchy parking
-Apparent Sandbaggery

Pleasant Hill is just outside of Portland, which is a populous and busy city in southern Maine filled to the brim with demographs that are naturally drawn to a fringe sport such as Disc Golf. As such, the course is regularly just above, at, or even occasionally just below capacity. Groups of 4-5 or more players on a hole ahead of you are a common occurrence, though in my experience I have rarely had issues playing through slower groups.

While the course is extremely well maintained, there are several locations with inherent drainage issues that make rounds after a fresh rainfall an exercise in high stepping and gore-tex limit testing. As I mentioned previously, the owners really do go above and beyond to alleviate the wetness through temporary bridges and stepping stones to give you a dry path to traverse the holes. In lieu of wet grounds, do not plan to enter the standing water either to retrieve errant discs as the water is extremely unsanitary. Thanks largely to insurance liability reasons the owners have a stiff "no diving, wading, or swimming" policy in effect. Divers are sent into the ponds for complimentary disc retrieval duties on a fairly regular basis though, so lost plastic rarely remains lost.

Most local complaints of the course come from experienced players looking for variety because PHill is a mostly open course that requires little more than a driver and a putter. While I don't consider this a deterring characteristic of the course, many would as large audiences tend to contain diverse tastes that aren't necessarily shared amongst everyone else. As I had stated earlier, if you like a course with little opportunity to lose your disc, comfortable walking terrain, and the opportunity to pull out your big drivers on a regular basis, you will love this course. Otherwise, it most certainly will not be your favorite.

The only two other minor complaints I can think of would be the parking lot which is frequently crowded and the opportunity for errant discs to hit parked cars. A net is in place along the edge of the fairway though to help prevent such a scenario. Finally, if you do intend to visit the course with the purpose of participating in a competitive event, be aware of the presence of some level of sand bagging. Due to the open nature of the course, player's scores are frequently tightly grouped and the difference in divisions can end up being quite minimal.
Other Thoughts: If you plan to play late afternoon/evening rounds bring bugspray! Ticks are of little to no concern.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course, bring bug repellent

1    8/6/2012   8/6/2012
Review By: g8orade
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well groomed course, nice tee pads, good store with friendly staff (Thanks David) and lots of discs and throwing charts right on the counter.
Mix of open holes and some wooded ones, some fun tee placements, it actually is accommodating for the whole family or a variety of levels.
They provide a map on the back of the scorecard, nice for first timers. I was playing alone for two full rounds and all the groups in front let me play through.
Cons: Don't forget the OFF / bug repellent, at least at teh moment. Big rains last night and even with the breeze today, I got devoured by Maine's state bird... Plus I'm a tenderfoot from NC on vacation.
More open holes than wooded, not much up and down, no doglegs, if those are cons for you. There is water all along one side of a hole, so don't grip lock. I would go back and do recommend trying this course if you're in the area. If you're not used to playing in the wind, that can be a distraction.
Other Thoughts: I drove up from Wells to play. My home courses are Bradford and Bailey Rd in Huntersville, NC, with Hornets Nest, Nevin, and Stumpy Creek other regulars. This is a well maintained course with some good length and a nice mix of holes. Bring a floater if you have any doubts about your accuracy or buy one in the store.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    8/1/2012   8/2/2012
Review By: disq
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice wide open course, very well maintained. Dog friendly, which is awesome, so do us all a favor a grab some doggie bags in the shop and clean up after your pet!!
Owners and employee's are great, friendly, knowledgeable of the game/discs.
This is definitely one of my favorite courses, and conveniently close to Portland, So.Po...
Cons: There are not a lot of cons to this course other than the pond dragging.
In the past there were more frequent diving trips, even if you had to pay a couple bucks to cover the cost - this year if you hit that water your probably better off buying a new disc and waiting until the end of the summer to get your other one back.
League play is not sectioned off properly. 'A' and 'B' pool is the split, however, the top A and B players are both throwing in the upper 40's to lower 50's - which leaves no room for lesser players (actual B players) to have a shot at winning. There should be a defined cut-off set by the club house to prevent 'A' players from throwing in the 'B' class. Otherwise, why not create a 'C' class or eliminate the classes all together.
Other Thoughts: Club house is nicely stocked, with a fast growing selection of discs. It's more than doubled since last year. Prices are nice also - costs about the same as if you ordered online.
Tons of parking with a new net protecting lot so your car no longer gets mangled by newbies.


3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Long Bombs and dog friendly

5+    7/16/2012   7/22/2012
Review By: Rhyno14
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course is in great shape and well maintained. Baskets are great and tee pads are long enough for those people (like myself) that need a big run up. Pro shop is run by a disc golfer with a lot of experience willing to answer any questions and assist with disc selections. $5 all day GREAT DEAL!! Dog friendly!
Cons: Haven't had rain in at least two weeks, course is soggy on a few holes.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  A place to call HOME!

5+    7/4/2012   7/9/2012
Review By: LauraDoraDG
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 8/6/2012
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: EVERYTHING - the people, the course, the prices, the GAME! It's my home away from home- KRISTI AND MIKE are the best owners imaginable!
Cons: THE PONDS...and the people that STEAL YOUR DISCS - should they float!

A big thank you to Mike, Kristi, Gippy and Brandon for all the hard work they have done after the diver comes. It's much appreciated!!!
Other Thoughts: Mike and Kristi are the best owners (and family friends!) that any disc golfer could ask for.

You HAVE to try their course - you won't regret it.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Boring...

1    2/10/2012   2/10/2012
Review By: sperry1288
Played: 39  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.4 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Hole 12 is a nice throw through some tall tree and 18 is decent. You can definitely practice your distance driving abilities. Tee boxes are nice.
Cons: The price, or being charged to play here in general. Pretty much everything about this course is boring. I felt like I was throwing the same hole over and over and over. Reading the scorecard seems intimidating but quickly learn that there is little variation from hole to hole.
Other Thoughts: I won't waste my time stopping here again. I would rather take an extra 40 minutes driving and play Dragan Field, Beauty and the Beast, or Cranberry Valley.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Fun, friendly, relaxing

5+    9/24/2011   11/21/2011
Review By: Raina B
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Well-groomed, good mix of open holes along with fun challenges like tricky trees and a couple ponds. Easy to get to. Knowledgeable and friendly staff - you always feel welcome.
Cons: Walking can get a little "squishy" around the water hazards.
Other Thoughts: Great way to enjoy the outdoors on a Saturday morning.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.