Scarborough, ME 
Pleasant Hill DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #1
5 / 501ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee

Reviews: 41
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Fun fun fun!

1    10/19/2010   10/31/2010
Review By: pinochle
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Beautiful place to learn. The guy working in the shop is really nice and super helpful to beginners. They have rental discs for a buck a piece and a nice shop to boot!
Cons: The course is a little confusing if you're starting out new. However, there is a map on the back of the scorecards to help out. Be prepared to get lost a few times. Also, watch out for the ponds. They're all over and you will play near them.
Other Thoughts: It was my wife and my first time playing disc golf. We had such a great experience that we got ourselves a bunch of discs and are now disc golfers! Whee!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


5+    8/26/2010   10/7/2010
Review By: cubby96
Played: 42  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 19.8 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Let's start with a previous flaw that has been fixed: in years past, the footing was pretty sloppy, as the course seemed to have a drainage problem in several areas. They listened to the complaints (presumably here and from locals) and the course maintenance has changed. Despite rain the week I was there, the ground was in good shape. In fact, it was possibly a bit too dry earlier in the week (I played there on multiple days in the same week).

The course is cut and appears more like a ball golf course than most, since it started as one. That said, it is well laid out, with plenty of variety and challenge. If you play the pro tees/pins (I didn't), there are a couple of real doozies.

Love the pin placement on #15, nestled tightly inside a ring of trees, slightly elevated.
Cons: Not terribly easy to find the first time, but I can get there without a map now.

The pro shop meets their needs, but after seeing other courses in the area, it really could do with an update, especially the amount of discs in stock. Prices are good.
Other Thoughts: Pay-to-play hasn't caught on in my area, but it is the norm in Maine. This course was worth the price.

The course pro/manager, Dave, was very pleasant and explained the course changes to me. He is an asset to the course and an enthusiastic ambassador for the sport - a sharp contrast to some of the 'clerks' I saw running the shop at other area courses.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Very well kept private course

1    5/20/2010   7/11/2010
Review By: Hamilton
Played: 55  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 7.5 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course has great facilities. A fully stocked pro shop, good restrooms, plenty of parking. There are plenty of garbage cans on the course to get rid of your trash.

The grounds are very well kept, and look like the course is mowed regularly. I was very impressed with the overall appearance of the course.

Tees in good condition, baskets were very nice.

My memorable holes consisted of (not sure of hole numbers, pictures are not current on the course page:
- I believe hole 2, a line of trees on the right, have to throw a severe anhyzer, or use a forehand, as the angle of the trees blocks a straight run at the basket.
- Fairly open shot, but the basket was in the middle of three trees grown up together, pretty neat.
- BIG downhill shot (1100 feet I believe) with the basket off right before some trees. Really gives you a chance to let it rip
- On the back nine, a really cool tunnel type shot with the basket right before a knoll.
Cons: Overall it is pretty plain. There is very little terrain, and while the existing trees and water are used about as well as they can be, some holes are pretty much straight ahead and open.
As mentioned previously, water really puddles in the fairways. It had rained the day before I played, and it was just soupy on any flat or low-laying areas.
I don't mind pay-to-play courses for the most part, and it's not like the $5 here is completely unwarranted given how well the course is kept up, I have played other courses that are free and blow this one out of the water. For comparison Maple hill outside Boston is a world-class course and only costs $5.
Other Thoughts: My rating of a 3 is based on the fact that the course is very well kept, even if the layout is a bit bland. Other than the aforementioned shortcoming and the drainage issue, this was a fun little course to play, and definitely worth the $5 charge.

If you are in the Portland area, this one is easy to find and a great way to spend a couple hours, it just might be crowded so plan for that.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 best of the best

5+    6/2/2010   7/6/2010
Review By: kfitz
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: funnest gunner in the state, just rip it and watch it fly, love that ocean breeze, baskets are great, lots of area places {mall, beach, night life oldport} to entertain the gf
Cons: i have 2 z flicks, 1 buzz, 2 wraiths, 1 destroyer, 1 tee rex in that damn pond....u must play that 1100 foot par 5 and birdie or u havent lived
Other Thoughts: the last 300 plus feet of that 1100 feet plays over the pond or out though a wooded line

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A Great Beginner Course

1    6/29/2010   7/1/2010
Review By: sneakyalien
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of variation from hole to hole
Interesting pin placement
Decent pro-shop
Cons: Can get wet
Busy at times
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a great place to hit up in order to play a quick game in the Portland area. This is a great place to bring a beginner to practice.
Would play here again, but nothing really stands out as "special."

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and convenient

5+    6/24/2010   6/27/2010
Review By: xphelanx
Played: 21  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The pro shop is great, with excellent pricing on a wide variety of discs. Dave is very knowledgeable and willing to help out. They post lost discs online from time to time and usually call if you mark your phone number. I know I've received a couple calls for my discs that were dredged out of the dreaded Water Hole of Doom. Interesting pin placement makes for challenging shots on a few holes. I play here every week and I don't get tired of it. It currently has the longest hole in Maine, known to some as "the Don Johnson" on the Pro course. Always very well manicured greens with barrels at each tee pad for refuse/recycling.
Cons: Definitely use water-safe footwear, as it can get pretty soggy out there, even after some dry weather. The Water Hole of Doom (was 3, now 12 after the flip-flop)
Other Thoughts: I think the $5 fee to play is very reasonable for what you get. It's an easy 10 minute drive from downtown Portland, so it's great for an after-work round (or two).

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Grip it and rip it!

5+    4/19/2010   4/21/2010
Review By: Bendoggin
Played: 31  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 13.1 Years
This review was updated on 6/13/2014
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well groomed, open course with challenging water and woods shots. Convenient to the highway and Portland Area.
Cons: Lots of wet spots, wear boots. Windy at times.
Other Thoughts: There are some great pin placements (hole #6) and lots of room for the big arms (#1, #8, #13). The prices are about average for a pay-to-play, and they put in the effort.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 good variety

5+    4/13/2010   4/14/2010
Review By: eric.peavey
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: awesome grooming. Great pro shop.
Cons: marshy everywhere! learn how to dig an irrigation canal. cramped. Not enough variety and trees.
Other Thoughts: ive been playing this course plenty of times in the past four years. It's only been very very slightly improved in that time, compare this to gorham that gets much better every year.

i enjoy this course much more now that i've purchased an expensive pair of waterproof shoes.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Pleasant Surprise!

1    7/25/2009   8/9/2009
Review By: Spoonie-J
Played: 23  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 16.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Extremely well manicured grounds like a traditional golf course. This may be a turn off for some who would rather a conventional DG course with more woods but I found it unique and refreshing. Well designed with challenging water hazards and basket positions. 1108 ft. hole 9 is the longest I've played to date and was really tough.
Cons: Mostly out in the open with a country club/traditional golf course vibe. Lack of trees would make it very tough on a windy day.
Other Thoughts: Water hazards may bother some but they are supposed to make it hard! If you don't want to lose a disc just lay up and play it safe! The price may be high for DG, but I did not have an issue with it because it was clear they have invested a lot of time and money in professionally maintaining the course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


5+    11/2/2008   11/18/2008
Review By: javy.pierre
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 13.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/7/2011
4 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: $5 for all day play, great course for those who like to air out big drives. Although it's open, it plays to a technical player's strengths also.
Cons: Water hazards may scare some newer players away, but just play away from them.
Other Thoughts: Great course for beginners and skilled players. Highly recommended.

4 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.