Scarborough, ME
Pleasant Hill DGC Share
Uploaded By: PHill Disc Golf Hole #15 (Taken 11/2011)
4 / 415ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Basket



Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
You can throw rollers in Maine!

5+    10/15/2013   11/30/2013
Review By: Highway Bill
Played: 58  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 15.9 Years
Pros: In a word, this course is fun. Following an old ball golf course, most of the holes here have beautiful grassy, well manicured fairways. They're firm as well which makes for some of the best rolling fairways I've ever had the pleasure of throwing. This gives PH a unique feel and really sets it apart from other courses in the area.
There are a few small ponds here as well. They certainly add to the aesthetics but with the current design, they have been taken almost completely out of play.
The slightly undulating course meanders through an oak grove, two large white pine stands, and sporadic groupings of sugar and red maples that set themselves ablaze with color in late September. Overall, this is one of the more beautiful courses I've played and if you're in the area around peak foliage, you owe it to yourself to come play here.
The holes are mostly open and very forgiving which makes it an ideal place for beginners and intermediate players to hone their skills.
It's a blast for advanced players too. The wide open fairways allow you to really let loose on the par 4's and dial in your wind play. At a blue level par 59, it falls far short of any true test of golf but it's always fun chasing scores in the mid 40's.
The pro shop has a fair selection of plastic, accessories, and snacks. The cement tee boxes are great and the old Discatchers are holding up nicely. The staff is friendly and the course always looks immaculate.
Cons: The design is somewhere between pedestrian and downright horrible. I could go on and on about what's wrong with it but instead I'll say it's uninspired. **please don't let this deter you from trying this place out, I think almost every design I play is horrible**
-with 1 exception, the ponds are not in play
-course lacks multiple tees
-no tee signs
Other Thoughts: This place could be excellent with a redesign.

Great Beginner Course

1    11/29/2013   11/29/2013
Review By: rcj333
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: PH is a great place to take new players and a great place to let it rip. Wide open fairways, very good tee pads and mostly intuitive layout. Nice pro shop. Liked the practice baskets right when you walk in. Can easily play just 9 if you want.
Cons: While layout is pretty intuitive, tee signs would be nice and arrows to next tee would be even better. I knew pars because of DGCR, but if not for that would not have known.
Other Thoughts: Was surprisingly busy for a cold Friday (Black Friday) in November. Would imagine it could be quite busy during the summer. Has a couple of ace chances. All and all, a very nice course that is most suitable for newer players. There are a couple of water hazards but PH is great about fishing out lost discs and notifying owners. Very cool.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Credit where credit is due

1    8/3/2013   8/5/2013
Review By: twicetenturns
Played: 26  Reviewed: 3
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Impeccable maintenance and landscaping
-Pro shop with good deals and excellent service
-Intuitive navigation
-Good variety in distance
-Trash can at every hole
-Complimentary disc dredging service (so lake shots are not permanently lost)
-Popular but not too crowded (seriously, some people complained about this elsewhere but i played on a beautiful summer Saturday and never had to wait for more than one group. Once you've played Morley or Golden Gate, you know this isn't crowded)
-One of the very few good "wide open" courses in New England
- Very convenient to the Portland metro area
- Price is expensive for disc golf, but VERY reasonable when the maintenance is considered.


Cons: -Almost all "straight ahead" shots
-No tee signs (even though not truly needed)
-Single pin/basket layout
Other Thoughts: This course gains as high a rating from me as it does because it achieves its own goal so well. This is a beautiful, beginner/intermediate friendly course that is impeccably maintained, fills a niche in "quality open course layout" for new England, and is a great one to introduce players to the game with. It is not championship caliber or highly technical. The rough, if played as OB, matters, but won't have you searching for a disc for hours. Advanced players will find this course very casual, but that's fine. With some more variety in needed shots, some tee signs, and multiple layouts this would be a best of the best course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

A breeze.

5+    6/29/2013   7/1/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 145  Reviewed: 142  Exp: 3.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Recently returned to the course where I learned to play after a long absence. I probably played my first twenty or so rounds here and I still remembered each hole, so I'll attempt to contain my bias.

That said, I couldn't imagine a better course to learn to learn the game at. It is very, very, beginner friendly. After a year in the south I remembered the open fairways, but my first though when I saw hole one was, "Good Lord, this is wide open." There is a ton of room for error on the majority of the holes.

So while the beginners will love this course, the bombers will too. There is some serious space to air it out, with numerous holes extending over 500 feet. And hole 8 gives most a chance for a personal best drive, with seven feet in front of you and a gradual downward slop most of the way to the cage.

That said, some of the par threes offer unique challenges. Hole 5 is perfectly set up for a RHFH shot to sweep in around the trees for a possible ace. (18 is the opposite set up) Hole 6 is an easy shot in a open field, but the cage is set in the middle of a three-trunk tree. Even a parked drive may give a difficult birdie put.

There is great flow to the course. The long open holes transition nicely to the short technical shots. It may not offer much challenge for the serious player, but it's a seriously fun course.

It's also a seriously beautiful course. It's former ball gold course and many of the fairways look the part. Many of the tee finds you driving down a freshly mowed fairway where the only thing missing is the sandtrap. A ton of work is done to maintain this on a daily basis, well justifying the time you spend
Cons: Pleasant Hill is not without its drawbacks. As mentioned, it's not challenging. The pars are way to high. (Not that this can't be negated by just playing them all as threes) But the fact that you can go wide left or right on a lot of the holes and not suffer much consequence is a flaw, regardless of what the par says.

It's also often crowded. It's not uncommon for there to be someone on every hole. There are two solutions to this. Come early on the weekdays if you can. After five you will find it hard to not spend a lot of time waiting at teeboxes, If you must come during peak hours, learn the course. There are plenty of places to skip from one hole to the next.

Lastly the signage isn't great. Navigating the course is very intuitive, so it doesn't need it in that respect. But I'd rather read the distances on the sign instead of having to keep pulling out the scorecard on the tee.
Other Thoughts: The course can get very wet. The staff does a great job putting up temporary stepping bridges when this happens but many of the fairways(ahem, 16) are prone to taking on water.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Pleasant Hill in Scarborough

1    3/17/2013   3/18/2013
Review By: sunnysomers19
Played: 26  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I traveled from California to visit family and decided to check out some disc golf courses in the area. Pleasant Hill was one I decided to stop at and it is a really nice course. It has fantastic scenery with ponds that make for some challenging water hazards. Or, when I went, frozen water hazards. They had fun pins to shoot at. Hole 6 sits in a set of trees and technically, the only way to putt it, is the gap in the center where you can see it from the tee pad. (Unless you can vertically putt from the sides or behind it) Hole 7, 12 and 17 were good challenges as well. Water is the only real hazards for losing discs. I don't see the trees claiming any discs but it might depend on the season. I went in mid-March.

I thought we had courses that were well maintained in California but, WOW. The tee pads were cleared of dirt/snow, it'd look like they were brushed that morning. Trash cans with tee numbers at every hole (Hard to get lost). New benches at every hole and all tee pads were concrete (big plus). Grass was soggy from the melted snow but I can only imagine how wonderfully green the course must be in the summer. BEST course maintenance I have ever seen. Every course should have fairways like these, but one can only dream. I would not have a problem paying $5 every time if they keep the course up like this year round, which I'm sure they do.

Pro Shop was incredible. MANY assortment of discs and they even have the new Westside Discs on the way. VERY impressed. One of the best pro shops I have been in. If you need a disc, get it HERE because I noticed their prices are slightly lower than anywhere else, especially if you order online. I am definitely going back for a disc and might even play a second round.
Cons: I went out in the middle of March and the weather was anything but pleasant that day. The strong winds made it challenging but also fun at the same time though. Boots were a necessity for the soggy grass. But this is not a con, just an experience.

I would like to see tee signs with a map and distance of the hole though. The pin is self-explanatory when you step on the tee pad, but it would make the course a little more prestigious; very minor detail.

And I don't think I'd list this as con either, because it's really just a matter of experience and opinion. I recognize and understand the course is family oriented and I'd say they nailed it to the tee. It's a GREAT place for beginning players and family rounds. It can get the first-time player easily addicted to the sport. However, since I have a bit of experience under my belt and play for my college team too, I would say this course is SUPER easy for the experienced/advanced player. Fun course, and it is worth the stop, but it wouldn't be a course I would regularly go back to for a challenge. Or, maybe if they had Par for beginners (current par), and created a Par for the advanced players, it would certainly make it more challenging. That would make me come back if I was a regular. Just a suggestion for thought though. Maybe even invest in alternate pins to change up the course. There is a lot of ground to work with out there, but also just a thought/suggestion. For the most part, the pars are generous, and I ended up -10 for my first time playing the course. A lot of Par 4's should be 3's and the Par 5's should be 4's and a couple could even be 3's too. I had two eagle opportunities, which is kind of cool to say, but experienced golfers should not have many of these, especially in 1 round. But I can see how this would make it fun too.
Other Thoughts: If someone asked me about this course, I would have nothing but good things to say about it. Beautiful course, excellent pro shop, well maintained, and I had fun. If the McLaughlin family is reading this, keep it up. You're doing everything right for this sport and some other people could benefit from using your course as a building block for future courses or altering some current courses. I'm glad to have had the opportunity to play your course. Do your best to expand the sport of disc golf to younger crowds like high schoolers, if you haven't already. I know they would love your course and the sport.

Another thing, my discs skipped A LOT due to the extremely nice grass on the course. Aim right/left and hyzer skip your discs. If you throw straight at it, it may skip out of your putting range, especially if it is as windy as when I went. But, that is also what made this course a bit challenging.

BONUS: Get a scorecard, and you get a deal at Buffalo Wild Wings.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    8/27/2012   8/29/2012
Review By: tcolby
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
Pros: Wide open fairways, great conditions and sweet pro shop. The wide open shots allow you to build on your drives with accuracy.
Cons: The only thing I didn't agree with was the pars for most of the holes. There were several 300' holes that are par 4 and 500' par 5. I played the course at a par 60 instead of 70.
Other Thoughts: I had a blast. Drove 2hrs to get there and enjoyed all 54! Look forward to getting back up there.

Real golf

2-4    8/23/2012   8/25/2012
Review By: iHitTree
Played: 38  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 11.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/13/2013
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -groomed like a real golf course with fairways trimmed well, pond obstacles...literally looked like what a smaller actual golf course would look like
-solid pro shop
-scorecards, good tee areas mostly, good arrow markers under each basket pointing to next hole.
-staff in pro shop gave good tips (example: watch out for 3,8, 11, and 15..those are where you can lose discs)
-easier and popular course that attracts younger players and family, but inexperienced players had good etiquette and allowed me to play through
-creative mix of shots needed, but usually a few line choices
-bathrooms
-disc rental for beginners
-dogs welcome
Cons: -Can get crowded
-Pars are designed for Ams. Shooting par is prob around an 880 rated round. Playing everything as a 3 except 8, 13, 14, and 15 as 4's makes a reasonable pro par 58.
-NEED BUG SPRAY!
-little change in elevation
-lots of water so be careful (I did find out that they pull over 1000 discs out of the pond on hole 3 in May and about the same amount in September and they've returned over 6000 discs to date)
Other Thoughts: Fun story: one of the discs pulled out of the pond on 3: Avery Jenkins' Star Destroyer--his that he lost, proving even the best mess up too! They messaged him and he donated it to the course to show ppl. Nice!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Get your Pleasant fill

5+    7/20/2012   8/7/2012
Review By: Jeronimo
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Course maintenance
-Dog Friendly
-Good Pro Shop/Fair prices
-Numerous long holes
-Scenery
-Water Hazards

When reviewing Pleasant Hill one really cannot start without admiring the dedication and attention to detail put forth by the course owners in maintaining the course grounds. Concrete tee pads are located on every hole, trash cans/recycling as well, debris is rarely ever seen on fairways, the "rough" is rarely rough, and I have never seen the grass on the fairways longer than 1". When your disc lands on the ground at PHill it doesn't stop, it skips… and I love it. Wetness is periodically alleviated through temporary boardwalks or stepping stones, though this obviously does not help if your shot was an errant one. The course is (well behaved) dog friendly and doggie bags are provided COMPLIMENTARY and as such doggie "bombs" have a zero tolerance policy.

The owners are able to strike an incredible balance between business and casual. They really excel at making their regulars feel like family while still maintaining professionalism. The course boasts a pro shop on the grounds that is continually staffed, with bathrooms, more than enough stock to sate your appetite for plastic, snacks/drinks for sale, and prices that are more than reasonable. A massive Lost and Found is also maintained in case your disc was pulled out of the water or found on the course by a very kind person with a conscience...

The course acquaints itself quite nicely to the individual that enjoys the aspect of disc golf that involves throwing a disc… a very long ways. The vast majority of the holes exceed 350' and even push up to the 750' distance range, though elevation is frequently in play so as to alleviate some of the excessively long holes. If you are not one of those individuals, the monotony of distance throwing is broken up in two other sections by "deuce or die" holes that require nothing more than a mid range and/or putter. Water comes into play in at least 3 locations which in my opinion adds a degree of excitement and difficulty that the otherwise open course lacks. Tree's occasionally come into play but this is not a wooded course even by the loosest standards. Open players should expect to shoot in the sub 52 range, AM1's 2-3 strokes behind them, and AM2 typically around 54-59 range. The course also holds tournaments, weekly Monday leagues, weekly Wednesday womens leagues, and random doubles on Friday evenings.
Cons: -Crowds
-Wetness
-Water hazards
-Long holes
-Sketchy parking
-Apparent Sandbaggery

Pleasant Hill is just outside of Portland, which is a populous and busy city in southern Maine filled to the brim with demographs that are naturally drawn to a fringe sport such as Disc Golf. As such, the course is regularly just above, at, or even occasionally just below capacity. Groups of 4-5 or more players on a hole ahead of you are a common occurrence, though in my experience I have rarely had issues playing through slower groups.

While the course is extremely well maintained, there are several locations with inherent drainage issues that make rounds after a fresh rainfall an exercise in high stepping and gore-tex limit testing. As I mentioned previously, the owners really do go above and beyond to alleviate the wetness through temporary bridges and stepping stones to give you a dry path to traverse the holes. In lieu of wet grounds, do not plan to enter the standing water either to retrieve errant discs as the water is extremely unsanitary. Thanks largely to insurance liability reasons the owners have a stiff "no diving, wading, or swimming" policy in effect. Divers are sent into the ponds for complimentary disc retrieval duties on a fairly regular basis though, so lost plastic rarely remains lost.

Most local complaints of the course come from experienced players looking for variety because PHill is a mostly open course that requires little more than a driver and a putter. While I don't consider this a deterring characteristic of the course, many would as large audiences tend to contain diverse tastes that aren't necessarily shared amongst everyone else. As I had stated earlier, if you like a course with little opportunity to lose your disc, comfortable walking terrain, and the opportunity to pull out your big drivers on a regular basis, you will love this course. Otherwise, it most certainly will not be your favorite.

The only two other minor complaints I can think of would be the parking lot which is frequently crowded and the opportunity for errant discs to hit parked cars. A net is in place along the edge of the fairway though to help prevent such a scenario. Finally, if you do intend to visit the course with the purpose of participating in a competitive event, be aware of the presence of some level of sand bagging. Due to the open nature of the course, player's scores are frequently tightly grouped and the difference in divisions can end up being quite minimal.
Other Thoughts: If you plan to play late afternoon/evening rounds bring bugspray! Ticks are of little to no concern.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Fun course, bring bug repellent

1    8/6/2012   8/6/2012
Review By: g8orade
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well groomed course, nice tee pads, good store with friendly staff (Thanks David) and lots of discs and throwing charts right on the counter.
Mix of open holes and some wooded ones, some fun tee placements, it actually is accommodating for the whole family or a variety of levels.
They provide a map on the back of the scorecard, nice for first timers. I was playing alone for two full rounds and all the groups in front let me play through.
Cons: Don't forget the OFF / bug repellent, at least at teh moment. Big rains last night and even with the breeze today, I got devoured by Maine's state bird... Plus I'm a tenderfoot from NC on vacation.
More open holes than wooded, not much up and down, no doglegs, if those are cons for you. There is water all along one side of a hole, so don't grip lock. I would go back and do recommend trying this course if you're in the area. If you're not used to playing in the wind, that can be a distraction.
Other Thoughts: I drove up from Wells to play. My home courses are Bradford and Bailey Rd in Huntersville, NC, with Hornets Nest, Nevin, and Stumpy Creek other regulars. This is a well maintained course with some good length and a nice mix of holes. Bring a floater if you have any doubts about your accuracy or buy one in the store.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/1/2012   8/2/2012
Review By: disq
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice wide open course, very well maintained. Dog friendly, which is awesome, so do us all a favor a grab some doggie bags in the shop and clean up after your pet!!
Owners and employee's are great, friendly, knowledgeable of the game/discs.
This is definitely one of my favorite courses, and conveniently close to Portland, So.Po...
Cons: There are not a lot of cons to this course other than the pond dragging.
In the past there were more frequent diving trips, even if you had to pay a couple bucks to cover the cost - this year if you hit that water your probably better off buying a new disc and waiting until the end of the summer to get your other one back.
League play is not sectioned off properly. 'A' and 'B' pool is the split, however, the top A and B players are both throwing in the upper 40's to lower 50's - which leaves no room for lesser players (actual B players) to have a shot at winning. There should be a defined cut-off set by the club house to prevent 'A' players from throwing in the 'B' class. Otherwise, why not create a 'C' class or eliminate the classes all together.
Other Thoughts: Club house is nicely stocked, with a fast growing selection of discs. It's more than doubled since last year. Prices are nice also - costs about the same as if you ordered online.
Tons of parking with a new net protecting lot so your car no longer gets mangled by newbies.


3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.