Scarborough, ME 
Pleasant Hill DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #4
4 / 304ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 39
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Get your Pleasant fill

5+    7/20/2012   8/7/2012
Review By: Jeronimo
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Course maintenance
-Dog Friendly
-Good Pro Shop/Fair prices
-Numerous long holes
-Scenery
-Water Hazards

When reviewing Pleasant Hill one really cannot start without admiring the dedication and attention to detail put forth by the course owners in maintaining the course grounds. Concrete tee pads are located on every hole, trash cans/recycling as well, debris is rarely ever seen on fairways, the "rough" is rarely rough, and I have never seen the grass on the fairways longer than 1". When your disc lands on the ground at PHill it doesn't stop, it skips… and I love it. Wetness is periodically alleviated through temporary boardwalks or stepping stones, though this obviously does not help if your shot was an errant one. The course is (well behaved) dog friendly and doggie bags are provided COMPLIMENTARY and as such doggie "bombs" have a zero tolerance policy.

The owners are able to strike an incredible balance between business and casual. They really excel at making their regulars feel like family while still maintaining professionalism. The course boasts a pro shop on the grounds that is continually staffed, with bathrooms, more than enough stock to sate your appetite for plastic, snacks/drinks for sale, and prices that are more than reasonable. A massive Lost and Found is also maintained in case your disc was pulled out of the water or found on the course by a very kind person with a conscience...

The course acquaints itself quite nicely to the individual that enjoys the aspect of disc golf that involves throwing a disc… a very long ways. The vast majority of the holes exceed 350' and even push up to the 750' distance range, though elevation is frequently in play so as to alleviate some of the excessively long holes. If you are not one of those individuals, the monotony of distance throwing is broken up in two other sections by "deuce or die" holes that require nothing more than a mid range and/or putter. Water comes into play in at least 3 locations which in my opinion adds a degree of excitement and difficulty that the otherwise open course lacks. Tree's occasionally come into play but this is not a wooded course even by the loosest standards. Open players should expect to shoot in the sub 52 range, AM1's 2-3 strokes behind them, and AM2 typically around 54-59 range. The course also holds tournaments, weekly Monday leagues, weekly Wednesday womens leagues, and random doubles on Friday evenings.
Cons: -Crowds
-Wetness
-Water hazards
-Long holes
-Sketchy parking
-Apparent Sandbaggery

Pleasant Hill is just outside of Portland, which is a populous and busy city in southern Maine filled to the brim with demographs that are naturally drawn to a fringe sport such as Disc Golf. As such, the course is regularly just above, at, or even occasionally just below capacity. Groups of 4-5 or more players on a hole ahead of you are a common occurrence, though in my experience I have rarely had issues playing through slower groups.

While the course is extremely well maintained, there are several locations with inherent drainage issues that make rounds after a fresh rainfall an exercise in high stepping and gore-tex limit testing. As I mentioned previously, the owners really do go above and beyond to alleviate the wetness through temporary bridges and stepping stones to give you a dry path to traverse the holes. In lieu of wet grounds, do not plan to enter the standing water either to retrieve errant discs as the water is extremely unsanitary. Thanks largely to insurance liability reasons the owners have a stiff "no diving, wading, or swimming" policy in effect. Divers are sent into the ponds for complimentary disc retrieval duties on a fairly regular basis though, so lost plastic rarely remains lost.

Most local complaints of the course come from experienced players looking for variety because PHill is a mostly open course that requires little more than a driver and a putter. While I don't consider this a deterring characteristic of the course, many would as large audiences tend to contain diverse tastes that aren't necessarily shared amongst everyone else. As I had stated earlier, if you like a course with little opportunity to lose your disc, comfortable walking terrain, and the opportunity to pull out your big drivers on a regular basis, you will love this course. Otherwise, it most certainly will not be your favorite.

The only two other minor complaints I can think of would be the parking lot which is frequently crowded and the opportunity for errant discs to hit parked cars. A net is in place along the edge of the fairway though to help prevent such a scenario. Finally, if you do intend to visit the course with the purpose of participating in a competitive event, be aware of the presence of some level of sand bagging. Due to the open nature of the course, player's scores are frequently tightly grouped and the difference in divisions can end up being quite minimal.
Other Thoughts: If you plan to play late afternoon/evening rounds bring bugspray! Ticks are of little to no concern.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course, bring bug repellent

1    8/6/2012   8/6/2012
Review By: g8orade
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well groomed course, nice tee pads, good store with friendly staff (Thanks David) and lots of discs and throwing charts right on the counter.
Mix of open holes and some wooded ones, some fun tee placements, it actually is accommodating for the whole family or a variety of levels.
They provide a map on the back of the scorecard, nice for first timers. I was playing alone for two full rounds and all the groups in front let me play through.
Cons: Don't forget the OFF / bug repellent, at least at teh moment. Big rains last night and even with the breeze today, I got devoured by Maine's state bird... Plus I'm a tenderfoot from NC on vacation.
More open holes than wooded, not much up and down, no doglegs, if those are cons for you. There is water all along one side of a hole, so don't grip lock. I would go back and do recommend trying this course if you're in the area. If you're not used to playing in the wind, that can be a distraction.
Other Thoughts: I drove up from Wells to play. My home courses are Bradford and Bailey Rd in Huntersville, NC, with Hornets Nest, Nevin, and Stumpy Creek other regulars. This is a well maintained course with some good length and a nice mix of holes. Bring a floater if you have any doubts about your accuracy or buy one in the store.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    8/1/2012   8/2/2012
Review By: disq
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice wide open course, very well maintained. Dog friendly, which is awesome, so do us all a favor a grab some doggie bags in the shop and clean up after your pet!!
Owners and employee's are great, friendly, knowledgeable of the game/discs.
This is definitely one of my favorite courses, and conveniently close to Portland, So.Po...
Cons: There are not a lot of cons to this course other than the pond dragging.
In the past there were more frequent diving trips, even if you had to pay a couple bucks to cover the cost - this year if you hit that water your probably better off buying a new disc and waiting until the end of the summer to get your other one back.
League play is not sectioned off properly. 'A' and 'B' pool is the split, however, the top A and B players are both throwing in the upper 40's to lower 50's - which leaves no room for lesser players (actual B players) to have a shot at winning. There should be a defined cut-off set by the club house to prevent 'A' players from throwing in the 'B' class. Otherwise, why not create a 'C' class or eliminate the classes all together.
Other Thoughts: Club house is nicely stocked, with a fast growing selection of discs. It's more than doubled since last year. Prices are nice also - costs about the same as if you ordered online.
Tons of parking with a new net protecting lot so your car no longer gets mangled by newbies.


3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Long Bombs and dog friendly

5+    7/16/2012   7/22/2012
Review By: Rhyno14
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course is in great shape and well maintained. Baskets are great and tee pads are long enough for those people (like myself) that need a big run up. Pro shop is run by a disc golfer with a lot of experience willing to answer any questions and assist with disc selections. $5 all day GREAT DEAL!! Dog friendly!
Cons: Haven't had rain in at least two weeks, course is soggy on a few holes.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  A place to call HOME!

5+    7/4/2012   7/9/2012
Review By: LauraDoraDG
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 8/6/2012
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: EVERYTHING - the people, the course, the prices, the GAME! It's my home away from home- KRISTI AND MIKE are the best owners imaginable!
Cons: THE PONDS...and the people that STEAL YOUR DISCS - should they float!

A big thank you to Mike, Kristi, Gippy and Brandon for all the hard work they have done after the diver comes. It's much appreciated!!!
Other Thoughts: Mike and Kristi are the best owners (and family friends!) that any disc golfer could ask for.

You HAVE to try their course - you won't regret it.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Boring...

1    2/10/2012   2/10/2012
Review By: sperry1288
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.7 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Hole 12 is a nice throw through some tall tree and 18 is decent. You can definitely practice your distance driving abilities. Tee boxes are nice.
Cons: The price, or being charged to play here in general. Pretty much everything about this course is boring. I felt like I was throwing the same hole over and over and over. Reading the scorecard seems intimidating but quickly learn that there is little variation from hole to hole.
Other Thoughts: I won't waste my time stopping here again. I would rather take an extra 40 minutes driving and play Dragan Field, Beauty and the Beast, or Cranberry Valley.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Fun, friendly, relaxing

5+    9/24/2011   11/21/2011
Review By: Raina B
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Well-groomed, good mix of open holes along with fun challenges like tricky trees and a couple ponds. Easy to get to. Knowledgeable and friendly staff - you always feel welcome.
Cons: Walking can get a little "squishy" around the water hazards.
Other Thoughts: Great way to enjoy the outdoors on a Saturday morning.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Don't Miss P-Hill

5+    11/7/2011   11/8/2011
Review By: Discobedience
Played: 81  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/15/2014
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Cons: There are a couple major water hazards to be aware of at Pleasant Hill. Hole 3 is lined on the right side by a pond, your second shot on hole 8 is worth double checking, a long drive on 10 will drop you in the drink, as well as an errant shot left or right on hole 11, and lastly hole 17 is a big disc eater. Hole 17 sits 317 feet ahead in an open field with a pond on the left hand side, inviting you to toss that hyzer right into the pond. But do not fear, the diver comes to Pleasant Hill often and is very effective, normally surfacing with upwards of 500 discs per dive session. The clubhouse will document your disc on their website and give you a courtesy call that they have retrieved it.

Being that this course is the only Greater Portland area, you see a varying range in type of player on the course. Everything from local pro's to 1 discers with a 30 rack. That being said; don't leave your discs on the fairway here. I find the return rate of those left behind to be on the rather low side. Whether it be the riff-raff type of players who have no respect for others property or players new to the game that don't understand the "even if you find it, it's not yours" rule. You will often find large groups of people at Pleasant Hill and often times playing through with smaller groups is not much of an issue.
Other Thoughts: Pleasant Hill is a pcturesque landscape that is a must play for anyone coming to the State of Maine. If you want true beauty, check out a sunset at pleasant hill with the shadows of the huge pines stretched out over the ponds.

Hope to see you out there.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/29/2011   11/2/2011
Review By: seano2222
Played: 58  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The most prominent feature of this course is the immaculate grounds keeping. Fairways are plush grass, maintained to the height found on a typical ball golf course. Old-growth willows and oaks adorn the landscape, intermixed with ornate duck ponds and a few man-made decorations. First time through I swear I looked over my shoulder a couple times to make sure no one was coming up from behind to kick me out of their country club. Throughout this summer, we witnessed continuous efforts to improve the grounds including bridges, wood chips, filling of low spots that held water, drainage ditches, brush clearing, tee box reconstruction and permanent benches.

The course bounces back from the elements like no other - This characteristic alone often tips the balance for us to drive the extra miles. Drainage is excellent after the big rains, no mud or standing water to contend with. From what I understand the openness lends itself well to winter play when after the sun has a chance to skin the snow over.

- Five bucks plays all day.
- 9 & 18 finish back at the clubhouse
- Clubhouse has packaged snacks, restrooms and heat.
- Disc prices are competitive with the internet
- Friendly owners
- Retrieval tools at water hazards
- Baskets have arrowed bricks to mark direction of next tee
- Concrete tees (set forms or pavers) with grip textured surface and good drainage
- Stray discs are easily found

The course utilizes a very clever standardization of hole distances in increments of 100 feet, plus the number of feet matching the hole number. For instance hole #1 is 501 ft, hole #2 is 302 ft, so on through hole 18 at 218 ft. You can easily distinguish the difference of a hundred feet, so this allows you to always have awareness for distance management, without having to look at or remember what a sign said. To compliment this, you can always see the basket from the tee in the direction the tee pad is set (might have to lean right or left on a couple to get a clean look). There are no signs at the tee box, only the hole number stenciled on each hole's trash bin. I guess I would prefer both, but if I had to pick between a sign and this method, I think I get more value from this way.

The course is widely open with only a couple tees you can't rip a bomb from. As fun as that is, it's arguably rather uniform and perhaps unchallenging in this regard. However, by my quick count there are only 5 holes that don't have some form of standing obstacle or water hazard to contend with. A few more obstacles would be better, but as-is, this course is not too far south of an open/technical balance, which I find makes for an enjoyable, not overly frustrating, round.
Cons: There aren't really any cons that would deter me in from coming back often - but here are a few opportunities for improvement … or not.

- Tee box signage
- Discs are kept behind the counter; I prefer to thumb through all the fluorescent baubles when making a selection. (When requested though, they are quick to set a selection of them on the counter for you.)
- There is a selection of Discraft, Latitude and Innova discs, but the variety of colors and weights for each disc is a bit limited compared to the largest area pro shops.
- The follow-through step off the tee boxes has caught me off guard a couple times. Some are slippery and some a drop which could lead to a groin pull or twisted ankle.

In the category of "it is what it is" cons:
- The course has essentially no elevation changes in play.
- Can be impossibly blustery at times from being open and near the ocean
- At least 10 minutes from the highway, more in traffic.
Other Thoughts: For right hand back hand, I don't find the water hazards threatening at all. That said, I've played the course a dozen or so times and have been in the water twice. Hole three got in my head once and I grip locked one into the water (retrieved) and the wind helped an understable Wahoo on eight carry way over to go for a tour of the water on three (also retrieved).

Because of the location in a population center, the course is often well attended. There have been times I thought for sure we would get hung up behind slower groups or five+ groups, but we never have. Even the newbs here seem to catch on to offering through play pretty readily. My last 4 weekend rounds, played in a twosome, ranged between 1:17 and 1:44, according to the scorecard app on my phone.

Wind is part of the game here - Take it as a challenge to be mastered.
Grass is part of the game here too - Holy rollers! (Wish I were better at throwing them)

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Recreational and relaxing

2-4    10/16/2011   10/21/2011
Review By: jtreadwell
Played: 37  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 4.7 Years
This review was updated on 5/7/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -One of the best maintained (if not the best) in the area
-Decent mix of shots and hole types
-An excellent pro shop and snack bar
-Family friendly with a relaxed atmosphere
-Decent signage
Cons: -A bit damp
-Larger groups abound
-Some holes leave you with dejavu
-The transition from hole 8 to 9
Other Thoughts: Having played about 10 area courses, this is the first one that had anywhere near the level of maintenance as a ball golf course. The fairways were neatly trimmed for optimal disc skipping, and the rough, while accomplishing it's purpose of stopping your discs, was never a hindrance to finding a disc. Baskets and concrete tee pads are all in great shape, and many of the holes had greens made of stone circles or wood chips. The par is very generous (I shot a -7 and -9 course par) but that works out well for the multitudes of younger and newer players that were in attendance. Despite newer players, most everyone was polite and respectful of the course and there was no trash on the ground anywhere or rambunctious guys causing trouble. The ponds are utilized very well and are usually avoidable with cautious play. Only those truly going for the glory will really risk a wet disc. While the holes are all entertaining, some felt a bit repetitive, particularly the long, open holes. This was tempered somewhat by many large trees, including some devastating weeping willows. Signage is decent, with a lot of holes using easily spotted stones and stumps to direct you to the next tee. The only navigation problem we had was finding hole 9. The flow of the course is completely thrown out the window and you have to walk past several tee boxes and around the lake to find it. Even with the map we had to ask the locals where it was. Aside from that, this was a lovely course with a very relaxed atmosphere and a lot of disc golf fun. We also played BAP in Gorham and the two courses (exact opposites of each other) made for an unforgettable day. Try it! Everybody's doing it!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.