Scarborough, ME 
Pleasant Hill DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #17
4 / 317ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 Next >
 A Great Beginner Course

1    6/29/2010   7/1/2010
Review By: sneakyalien
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of variation from hole to hole
Interesting pin placement
Decent pro-shop
Cons: Can get wet
Busy at times
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a great place to hit up in order to play a quick game in the Portland area. This is a great place to bring a beginner to practice.
Would play here again, but nothing really stands out as "special."

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and convenient

5+    6/24/2010   6/27/2010
Review By: xphelanx
Played: 21  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The pro shop is great, with excellent pricing on a wide variety of discs. Dave is very knowledgeable and willing to help out. They post lost discs online from time to time and usually call if you mark your phone number. I know I've received a couple calls for my discs that were dredged out of the dreaded Water Hole of Doom. Interesting pin placement makes for challenging shots on a few holes. I play here every week and I don't get tired of it. It currently has the longest hole in Maine, known to some as "the Don Johnson" on the Pro course. Always very well manicured greens with barrels at each tee pad for refuse/recycling.
Cons: Definitely use water-safe footwear, as it can get pretty soggy out there, even after some dry weather. The Water Hole of Doom (was 3, now 12 after the flip-flop)
Other Thoughts: I think the $5 fee to play is very reasonable for what you get. It's an easy 10 minute drive from downtown Portland, so it's great for an after-work round (or two).

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Grip it and rip it!

5+    4/19/2010   4/21/2010
Review By: Bendoggin
Played: 31  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 11.9 Years
This review was updated on 6/13/2014
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well groomed, open course with challenging water and woods shots. Convenient to the highway and Portland Area.
Cons: Lots of wet spots, wear boots. Windy at times.
Other Thoughts: There are some great pin placements (hole #6) and lots of room for the big arms (#1, #8, #13). The prices are about average for a pay-to-play, and they put in the effort.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 good variety

5+    4/13/2010   4/14/2010
Review By: eric.peavey
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: awesome grooming. Great pro shop.
Cons: marshy everywhere! learn how to dig an irrigation canal. cramped. Not enough variety and trees.
Other Thoughts: ive been playing this course plenty of times in the past four years. It's only been very very slightly improved in that time, compare this to gorham that gets much better every year.

i enjoy this course much more now that i've purchased an expensive pair of waterproof shoes.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Pleasant Surprise!

1    7/25/2009   8/9/2009
Review By: Spoonie-J
Played: 23  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 15.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Extremely well manicured grounds like a traditional golf course. This may be a turn off for some who would rather a conventional DG course with more woods but I found it unique and refreshing. Well designed with challenging water hazards and basket positions. 1108 ft. hole 9 is the longest I've played to date and was really tough.
Cons: Mostly out in the open with a country club/traditional golf course vibe. Lack of trees would make it very tough on a windy day.
Other Thoughts: Water hazards may bother some but they are supposed to make it hard! If you don't want to lose a disc just lay up and play it safe! The price may be high for DG, but I did not have an issue with it because it was clear they have invested a lot of time and money in professionally maintaining the course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    11/2/2008   11/18/2008
Review By: javy.pierre
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 12.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/7/2011
4 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: $5 for all day play, great course for those who like to air out big drives. Although it's open, it plays to a technical player's strengths also.
Cons: Water hazards may scare some newer players away, but just play away from them.
Other Thoughts: Great course for beginners and skilled players. Highly recommended.

4 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Water eats my Discs

11/24/2007   3/17/2008
Review By: CanadaDisc
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.2 Years
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Long holes, very wide open for long distances drives. Unique holes that are interesting and fun to play.
Cons: $7 is rather expensive to play, and I usually lose a disc there making a round or two cost at least $20. The holes would be just as fun if they weren't so close to the water. I finally bought a disc that floats after losing 4 in the various ponds.
Other Thoughts: Damn you water hole #3!

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.