Menomonie, WI
Lambs Creek @ Pioneer Grill Share
Uploaded By: extreme18rotation Hole #6 (Taken 8/2010)
4 / 177ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Great course!

2-4    7/30/2013   7/30/2013
Review By: simm
Played: 34  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 11.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Some nice variety in shots, beautiful serene course, not many other people playing. Plays quick so you could play several rounds if you choose. Some good risk/reward shots in the back holes. The creek is shallow enough to easily retrieve a misthrown disc. Food at the bar is fantastic!
Cons: Holes are mostly pretty short. First 4 or 5 holes aren't anything too unusual. There is a $1 fee to play, but it's definitely worth it. Course can be muddy in the summer, I'm assuming worse in the spring.
Other Thoughts: Great little spot that I'm glad I tried out. I now play it regularly. Certainly not a course for long bombers, but a challenge and some really neat holes/shots in 6-9. Definitely give it a try if you are playing the other Menomonie courses. They have put some serious time and effort into building and maintaining it!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

My first course behind a bar!

1    5/5/2013   5/14/2013
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 174  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 21.9 Years
This review was updated on 11/12/2013
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The design of this course is well thought out and challenging for a Nine-holer. You will navigate a small field and woods along a small creek, and hillside that really packs a nice punch or variety for such a small layout. Nothing is too long, or too difficult to scare beginners away - except perhaps the creek, which may gobble up discs if running high. The course is picturesque and very quiet, as it (and the saloon) reside outside of town in the countryside.

The saloon was a very welcome part of my experience, and marvelous way to end my round. They make pizzas here, so I would highly recommend the calzone they serve!
Cons: This probably doesn't apply to all seasons, but the course had recently been bombed by a huge snowstorm and many limbs and trees were down. The bridge between 5 & 6 was impassable too. I did not rate the course lower due to this, but it was a con on the day I visited, due to the rough conditions and extra walking.
Other Thoughts: This course has a lot of potential, and I would recommend alternate tee pads or even more holes to make this a disc destination (you could even say the alternate tee pads would be holes 10-18). As it stands, the course is quite short, and your round is over before you know it. It would be nice to have more shots/holes to play to make the drive out of town more appealing! The bar certainly adds something extra, but since the design of the course is solid, adding more to it would bring this place to the next level!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nature's Wonder

2-4    10/7/2012   4/21/2013
Review By: Ramapa
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Lambs Creek Disc Golf Course shows a unique skillful design in the use of a meandering stream throughout, steep hillside, and thick trees. The course displays a well thought out plan on placement and workmanship of tees, baskets, and signage. The tees have names that compliment the Pioneer Grill and Saloon bar and eatery, which upon the land the course is located a mere 5 miles from Menomonie and UW-Stout. Included are ample seating and garbage collection containers. The paths are well designed, groomed, and kept up best as can be; even though Mother Nature adds flavor to challenge in play with the weather and seasons. Lambs Creek DGC encompasses characteristics of short/technical, water/elevation, risk/reward, and challenging/satisfying. There are an additional four baskets colorfully lit up as night decoration and putting practice area close to the Pioneer Grill and Saloon outdoor entertainment and recreation area and right next to hole 1.
Last but not least are the amenities of the Pioneer Grill and Saloon offering a full menu. Here is an excellent place for camaraderie, great place to kick back, relax, and warm up. Above all you can enjoy the locals, events going on, live entertainment, music and FOOD.

Cons:
At times it can be muddy and slippery in a couple of places.
Other Thoughts:
Lambs Creek Disc Golf Course is rewarding to play in any season. You will enjoy the display of Wisconsin's finest natural wonders. Here is a great getaway and course to play only a few miles from Menomonie.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Another Great Course

5+    4/14/2013   4/14/2013
Review By: jwilly
Played: 36  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course has a great natural feel to it. Combined with the wide variety of complex and technical shots and the fact that it is located next to a delicious bar, this is one of the best 9 hole courses I have ever played.

New concrete tee pads, and the water hazards on 4 of the holes also add to the experience. It has a good flow and is easy to follow.
Cons: Very short holes. Really no need for a driver most of the time.

This course is very steep and muddy in the spring.

There is supposed to be a $1 pay to play.
Other Thoughts: Order some food before you go out to play and you can have an awesome meal on top of an awesome course. It's fun for all skill levels and you should try it if you are in the area.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

a very natural feel

5+    11/17/2012   11/15/2012
Review By: AdmiralQuack
Played: 72  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2 Years
This review was updated on 11/18/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1-nice signage on every hole (except 4, it's faded away)

2- most holes have concrete tee pads,(BRAND NEW TEE BOXES ON 6-9)

3-excellent use of the small area available

4-wide variety of hazards that keep you honest, including water on 5,6,7,and 9

5-even if you end up in the water, it's mostly shallow and pretty clean

6-it's located at a bar with good food and beverages, discount while discing

7-trash cans on every hole or nearby

8-benches and/or tables on each hole

9-it feels very natural
Cons: 1- #6 is almost always muddy, I believe there is a spring above it.

2-it's not free. it's $1 to play (not too big of deal really, but a con nevertheless)

3-the personnel working never pointed out where #1 tee was, it's behind the bar

4-the bar is a few miles outside of town, hidden away
Other Thoughts: I enjoy this course very much! It's short and sweet! I believe it would be hard to lose a disc here. Holes 6, 7, and 9 are great to challenge your confidence and accuracy. All skill levels should enjoy this course, and feel tested. I took a brand new player here and they had a blast throwing as well as enjoying the natural surroundings. BRAND NEW TEE BOXES ON 6-9!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Probably pretty sweet in the summer.

1    10/7/2012   10/29/2012
Review By: cydisc
Played: 169  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 18 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Wisconsin roadhouse backyard setting
- Widely varied topography (hills, trees, water, etc...)
- Logical flow
- Decent baskets and signage
- Well balanced shots
Cons: - Maybe some safety issues
- Tees not the greatest
Other Thoughts: I'd been meaning to play this course for years, as it's on the way from my home in Iowa to my parents' place near Shawano. Never had a chance to stop until now. It was the first weekend in October, on a Sunday afternoon, so the joint was empty except for some locals hanging out at the bar, watching some NFL on the tube. I paid the $1 green fee and headed out the back door. I know I'll have to come back sometime in the Summer. This place has a lot of stuff going on, including sand volleyball, an outdoor music stage and probably some other stuff that wasn't obvious without people being there.

At the first tee, there are a number of baskets clustered down around a slope that I guess is a putting area that looks to be lit at night. I don't know if the entire course could be illuminated, but that would be a nice feature.

After the first couple of holes, it was clear that I was not going to use my entire bag. It was mid-range and putter drives for the most part, though there were quite a few interesting shots. The course utilizes the ground well, playing around and through the stream that runs through the property and up, down and along the ample steep terrain. There are a few holes at the start of the course that play along the flat and one that ends close to the volleyball courts that you want to be careful if anyone is playing.

In summary, it's a nice little short-game course in a very interesting venue.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Super fun 9 with great food too

2-4    9/23/2012   9/23/2012
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 108  Reviewed: 70  Exp: 10 Years
Pros: Lambs creek comes into play on about half the holes. They must've redesigned the course within the last year because no holes go over the parking lot or volleyball courts anymore. Water and rollaways are a huge challenge here. Very fun course with some concrete tees. #s 1, 2, 3, 4, and 5 i believe. Rubber mats on the others. Back half plays around a steep hillside and along and over Lambs Creek. Challenging holes on the backside of the course. You need to pick your poison on a number of holes and execute to score well. Disccatchers are in excellent shape too. Signs pointing to next tee on all holes. Flow is very well done. Only $1 to play and is way more fun and challenging than Wakanda. If you're in menominee, Check this out. Food is reasonably priced and DELICIOUS too.
Cons: Erosion in spots is a little tricky to navigate up or down the hills. The map on the scorecard didn't match the layout but like i said i think they just revamped it for the better.
Other Thoughts: Very fun course at a very nice bar. They use the creek very well here to offer challenge. Not a deep creek but you'd rather not have to get your disc outta the water so be smart with your shots. Played Axldog then this and had an absolute blast, neither let me down slightly. Highly recommend this one.

Great 9hole!

2-4    7/13/2012   7/14/2012
Review By: PTJohnston
Played: 21  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Easy to navigate
Plenty of seating
Great use of nature to shape holes
short but challenging

Played it twice in a row, and had a great time playing in the creek and watching the crawfish.

Pioneer Grill that owns the course was a great time too. We ate lunch there afterwards and were treated to quite a show by a couple locals. Much bantering and good humored ribbing later we were treated to a couple beers on the house.
Cons: A little short.
Very wet, even when its been dry.
Other Thoughts: A great course, we played this and Brickyard, thinking we would be left wanting to have played 18hole courses, but we were wrong. This course is one of the best 9holes I've ever played, and is attached to all the fun that is Pioneer Grill.

Highly recommended.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Pioneer

1    4/22/2012   4/25/2012
Review By: sturmans
Played: 12  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Course goes well with the nature. It is a challenging par three with many obstacles in the way. The new BBQ menu at the courses restaurant is worth the eat!
Cons: Easy to throw the disc into the stream on a variety of holes.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Tough but Fun

1    7/16/2011   7/16/2011
Review By: CoolEggman
Played: 12  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 20.1 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Short but difficult holes.
Half of the holes follow a shallow creek, if you miss a shot it is easy to grab your disc.
Good use of the terrain.
Pioneer Grill has good burgers and cheap beer.
Cons: Was muddy when we went, but rain just moved through.
Thick underbrush.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.