Chicago, IL
Illinois Institute of Tech DGC Share
Uploaded By: RollinInnovas Hole #3 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 209ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
City Course

2-4    7/26/2012   1/20/2014
Review By: Bltsandwich1
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a nice(ish) course that is in very short walking distance from both red-line and green-line CTA stops along with numerous buses. It is located in the heart of the IIT campus (though this is mostly a negative).

The course weaves through the central part of campus with most obstacles coming from trees, although the placement of tees also makes some statues viable obstacles
Cons: IN THE HEART OF CAMPUS forget playing this course during the school year. I had the blessing of being able to play over the summer when students were few and far between, and STILL I had to adapt my shots not to the course, but to avoid pedestrians. This took fun out of a course that was already just OK.

Navigating the course can be a challenge, but there are signs at every tee which is nice.
Other Thoughts: If you have a chance over the summer take a train down and visit. It's worth the fare to experience once. but avoid during the school year.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    1/19/2013   1/21/2013
Review By: Mark R
Played: 83  Reviewed: 65  Exp: 11.8 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Free course with decent signs and baskets. Holes are of respectable length and challenge. Hole 5 at 446 feet allows a chance to air it out. Small trees are often difficult to drive through. Also has a number of obstacles made from campus buildings and other objects. A driver is handy and often necessary, particularly on windy days.
Cons: A flat course in an enclosed area. Parking is a fairly long walk from Hole 1 and is costly. Dirt tees are in poor shape. Signs are parallel rather than perpendicular to the fairway, which may have you looking in the wrong direction for the basket. Several holes overlap, and there are only nine of them to begin with. Small area has little opportunity for improvement. Students and windows are often within striking distance, inhibiting course play level.
Other Thoughts: Course winds through the campus of the Illinois Institute of Technology. Hole 1 is located near the corner of 33rd and State St.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Right by Cellular Field

2-4    1/11/2012   9/4/2012
Review By: steven2361
Played: 155  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It is one of the only courses around in Chicago. It's pretty fun playing between all the campus buildings and art sculptures. The sidewalks and roads add some challenge when you play them ob. The signage is good along with the baskets being decent innova discatchers. It does have a few holes with some real distance.
Cons: This course is mostly short and open. Be very wary of pedestrians. The tees are poor being just dirt.
Other Thoughts: A fun lil course in the middle of a big city. Good for beginners and the family to play. Make sure you park in a legal space to avoid tickets!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Tight, Tight, Tight

1    5/5/2012   8/10/2012
Review By: Shogun
Played: 14  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 7.1 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This little 9 hole is a technical shooter for sure. The tees and grounds are super well maintained. Great atmosphere for a course being in the city, giving it that uber urban feel (it is a campus course after all). I liked throwing out across statues and different obstacles beyond trees and bush.
Cons: Tight!! Man this course is squished together. If you have ever wanted to see a person get hit with a disc, this is the course its going to happen at. On some fairways, you are literally crossing huge walkways for students. You almost have to yell FORE for every throw thats not a putt.
Other Thoughts: For practice on your tight technical shots, this course rocks, but due to the traffic, there are times you just dont know if you will get to throw....

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun campus course

1    5/8/2010   5/9/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 747  Reviewed: 747  Exp: 12.1 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through a small college campus through and across small quad areas and between buildings and sculptures. There is lots of sidewalk and road ob waiting to punish an errant drive on several holes, and the buildings and sculptures make for some very different obstacles than you're used to on a course.

There are a couple really short ace run holes, and a few from 350'-450' where you can open up a little more and throw some drives as long as you can stay away from the windows. Several holes are straight ahead, but a couple force left to right or right to left shots, and most have some trees to keep it a little more interesting.

There is a nice course map at the first tee, and great tee signs throughout the course with distance and hole layout. The baskets are newer discatchers that catch great. Most tees have benches and trashcans, and there are some next tee signs to help with navigation. The campus is pretty and well taken care of, there was no trash or vandalism on the course and all the fairways were well mowed.
Cons: The biggest issue with this course is the safety issues. Even on a weekend, there were a lot of people around, none of whom seemed to know what we were doing. We spent quite a bit of time waiting for pedestrians to clear fairways so we could throw safely. On top of that, there are a lot of windows in danger from this course, and lots of picnic tables and benches on several of the fairways, frankly I'm amazed that's never been a problem here. There are also a few holes that play very close to roads and parking lots.

The tees are natural, and not well defined as to where you're actually supposed to throw from. They can be muddy and rutted after a rain, and several have roots sticking up through them making for less than stellar footing on drives.

The flow is a little odd, though the design does a great job with the odd spaces around campus. Make sure you take a look at the map before playing, the first 5 holes are scattered a little, with tees that aren't visible from the previous basket. The last 4 holes are all in the same area and play very close to one another, and hole 9 crosses back over 5s fairway. There is a long walk from 9 back to 1 if you want to play again, and the visitor parking lots ($2 an hour except for Sundays) are also a little bit of a walk from the course.
Other Thoughts: This is a very unique and fun course to play, but there isn't quite enough challenge or variety in the design for me to give it a better rating. There are a couple fun holes, the rest feel like filler holes squeezed wherever they could find space between the buildings. That said, I'll be back as this is the closest course to me and it's a totally different playing experience.

Beginners won't find the course to terribly challenging, with no rough and several shorter holes, though the safety issues are magnified with newer and less accurate players. More experienced throwers won't find the course too challenging other than length on a couple holes, but it's worth stopping by for the playing experience, especially the couple holes that play through the sculptures.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 C- = a little below average for a 9 holer

1    10/10/2009   11/6/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 363  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 19.9 Years
7 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: This is an amazing course in that it is in an urban area yet affords a real/legit disc golf experience! It is pretty and green and should work well to get college students knowing the fun that is DG. Major kudos to those involved in getting this course in the ground!

Unfortunately, I am not rating this against other urban campus courses. Rather, my review will rank this course against what I personally like and how it stacks up in my list of 9 hole courses:

1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == C-
(Other than hole #7, there really is no punishment that has a chance of adding an extra stroke to your score after screwing up.)

2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I throw 300' accurately, 360' max. == C-
(The short holes were too short for me to be rewarding and the long ones were to long to expect to reach but short enough to make a score of 3 very routine/boring. The exception is 351' #7 (which also has good shape and OB lurking - the best hole by far!))

3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == C+
(There are decent amount of variety in shot shape, but nothing really unique. No terrain worth mentioning.)

4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == C-
(While it is lush and green and clean for an urban area, .......it is an urban area.)

5) Bonus points for multi-throw holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == N/A
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (149 18-hole, 91 9-hole as of late 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me….that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

7 of 14 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.