Chicago, IL 
Illinois Institute of Tech DGC Share
Uploaded By: RollinInnovas Hole #7 (Taken 8/2009)
4 / 351ft.   4 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Decent 9 hole city course

2-4    8/8/2013   8/8/2013
Review By: Furry Lint Trap
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Only course in Chicago

- Close to public transit/easy parking

- It is on campus, which makes use of buildings, crosswalks, sculptures...pedestrians as obstacles

- Nice baskets, Tee markers with hole info
Cons: - Short and can get repetitive

- Can get busy during school, which makes peds a real problem and hazard

- Natural tees...and only 1 set
Other Thoughts: A solid, short, urban course. Reason I love it is I work in the Loop and can get in a round or 2 after 5pm no problem. Although this is a beginner course, use caution newer players as if you go long, you can very easily hit buildings, peds, parked (and moving) cars. Played here a couple weeks ago and friend pegged a lady sleeping on a bench. She was not happy. To our credit, we screamed FORE, and she WAS in the middle of a course. Can get a little repetitive, but good practice for your Mid-range/putter. If you have a bit more time, make the drive to Katherine Legge Memorial Park in Hinsdale. This course will continue to be my practice, after work course until something better comes along to Chicago.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Everybody DUCK!!

2-4    6/11/2012   6/11/2012
Review By: alexjensen
Played: 42  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Living in Chicago this is really one of the only options in terms of a free course located within the city. This leads to definitely the biggest pro of this course...Location.

Other things I like about this course include its surprisingly wide array of shots you will likely encounter. Pretty much every hole but two are very reachable with a driver (or putter for that matter) but holes 5 and 9 are challenging bombs over the tops of low trees and bushes. Holes 2,4,and 6 are fairly short straight shots that you can certainly make a good ace attempt at. Hole 1 is a mild left-hooking shot just under 300ft. Hole 3 for me is a short but fun Hyzer around a giant pine. Holes 5 and 9 are 400+ foot bombs accross walking paths and over trees (watch for pedestrians) and holes 7 and 8 are fairly straight forward left-hooking shots around 350 ft.

I think the course designers did an excellent job working with what they had, a college campus with enough trees to make a fun 9 hole course that is great for beginners and pros alike. I'm actually living on the IIT campus this summer so I'm sure I'll be playing this course on a weekly basis.
Cons: The biggest negatives about this course are pretty much unavoidable consequences of an urban course. TONS of foot traffic around the campus, and actual traffic on the streets surrounding. Playing this course you have to be VERY careful not to overthrow your shots. Hole 1 I hit a window on the building behind on the pin, hole 2 I put my drive into the middle of the street behind the pin almost hitting a police officer, and you will encounter similar situations on virtually every hole.

Another con includes the fact that the tee pads are dirt, and some have roots sticking out of the ground which look to be good ankle twisters if you're not careful. Also people like to hang out on holes 1 and 7 so sometimes you are not able to play these holes without being a jerk. I have had to skip hole 1 because of people sitting by the pin on more than one occasion now.
Other Thoughts: This course is actually a pretty fun little niner inside the city. If you just want something to play a quick nine holes on without driving out to the suburbs this course is a great option. I would recommend not throwing drivers on the majority of the holes just to reduce the risk of overthrowing into the streets or people on the sidewalks. As long as you're aware and polite to the people around you there will be no problems and it will certainly be worth your time to play this fairly unique urban course. Happy discin!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner/Intermediate

1    11/14/2010   11/15/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 414  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 11 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in the school's campus, complete with statues, buildings, and a ton of concrete. Pretty much dead flat overall.
- Holes are spread out nicely, allowing for some good length and variety. With four of the holes around or well over 350', there are plenty of places to let the drives rip. A few shorter holes, including some ace runs, help to keep a good balance.
- Good amount of obstacles to be found here, mostly in the form of short trees, but also with some statues, light posts, and buildings to avoid. #7 pretty much forces a RHBH anhyzer, #8's tee is out of a small grove, definitely some tricky shots.
- Tons of OB pavement, on nearly every hole. Great punishment when trying to go for the ace or the long approach.
- Great signs, good baskets, tees are in good shape.
Cons: - Location of the course does provide some headaches. Pedestrians, cars, roads, and nasty man-made obstacles are different, but still not that enjoyable.
- Fairways cross at some parts, notably #5 and #9, and #7 and #8. Not much of a choice, but still a problem.
- A fair amount of holes are wide open, and don't have much to them. OB helps, but still no-brainers.
Other Thoughts: - A very solid course, for being in a big city college campus. Some holes provide a real challenge, with line-shaping and good length. A few ace runs (with tons of OB), and some simpler ones. Might be a bit straightforward for an advanced player, but everyone else should enjoy the urban setting.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Decent Little Course

1    5/14/2008   5/16/2008
Review By: darktoaster
Played: 34  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 13.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/29/2009
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course weaves between campus streets, buildings, and random sculptures to create some interesting shots. Additionally the holes were all fairly different. The tee signs and scorecards were very nice.
Cons: It is only a 9 hole course and roughly a third of the holes are very short( less than 200ft). On nearly all of the holes you will have to contend with walkers. The pads were all dirt/grass/mud.
Other Thoughts: It is easily reachable from downtown chicago via the 'el' trains green line. There was a fairly strong steady wind but that was to be expected due to the fact that the course is in the "Windy City". Due to the relative newness of the course many students and employees on campus asked me what I was playing.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.