Chicago, IL 
Illinois Institute of Tech DGC Share
Uploaded By: RollinInnovas Hole #9 (Taken 8/2009)
4 / 347ft.   4 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great!! (For the Area)

5+    6/16/2013   6/16/2013
Review By: jnskender
Played: 31  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -In downtown Chicago
-Great practice for approaches
-Not a lot of foot traffic in the summer
-A couple of holes to use a driver and let loose
-Technical OB's that can punish
-Very cool urban feel

Cons: -Flat
-Open shots do get repetitive
-Tees could use some kind of marker or better yet concrete
Other Thoughts: I love this course do to it basically being in my backyard (About a 5 minute bike ride). That being said, it is not artfully designed but is adequate to get a quick round or two to get your fix in for the day.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Touched By Engineers

2-4    5/19/2012   6/7/2012
Review By: ohtobediscing
Played: 153  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 35.1 Years
This review was updated on 6/24/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is the closest to downtown Chi-town. Amtrak gave me 5 hours to kill, so I jumped the #29 to IIT, played 3 rounds and bussed back with an hour to waste on a Jimmy John's hoagie and a bomber.
Its a sweet little 9, with 4 holes amazingly in the 400+ range, one 167 ft. ace run and the rest 250-290'. The various species of trees range from 15 ft. to mature, but except for #7 are scattered singly or in loosely open groups. The course travels in a tightly-wound infinity symbol, which surely seems like blasphemy to the mathmatically precise.
#1 crosses an open depression to a basket surrounded by small maples.
#2 throws over a 3' wall to a basket backed closely by mature oaks.
#3 throws from under the same oaks to a similar stance across the field, but with one spreading fir in the middle.
#4 is a shorty ace hole, with a large overhanging tree just right of the basket.
#5 Is 446' with tallish shrubs and a cabin-like sculpture in the 1st half, and mature trees in the 2nd half.
#6 is shortish, again throwing to a basket under mature oaks.
#7 is long, and traverses entirely under low-canopy oaks with no discernable line. The best route is in from the left.
#8 is long, but crosses an open field in its middle 3rd before entering the mature trees at the end.
#9 resembles #5 in length & vegetation, with the added challenge of a long left hook.

The signage is beautiful but the tees are natural, and a few are very rooty. Benches or tables, and garbage cans on every hole.
Cons: Its in the middle of all the IIT buildings. If class is changing, you might as well sit down. If classes are in, you might play with frequent stoppage for pedestrians. Best to play weekends.
No C2H6O or C21H30O2. Wink wink.
The only bathrooms are in buildings, which are locked late/weekends, to keep the nerds' yankfests to pictures of the Mars rovers at a minimum. Absolutely no place to pee outside.
Other Thoughts: The NATO summit was in full swing downtown while I was there. K9 units swept the train 40 miles from Chi-town, and hoodied, bandana-ed anarchists with garbage-can lid shields and foam swords roamed around State St. and the Sears [watchu talkin' 'bout, Willis?] Tower. Thank God I could disc.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Making do

2-4    4/21/2012   4/21/2012
Review By: tfu42
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.4 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -It is in the city.
-with limited space, obstacles are used in the right spaces to give a challenge.
Cons: -Short, these 9 holes go by so fast.
-The people do not understand what you are doing and will walk in front of you as you throw, or pick up your disc to give back to you.
Other Thoughts: I think this course is great for a quick run through, or for people just starting out.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 good stuff

2-4    3/18/2012   3/18/2012
Review By: tarzan0608
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 12.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: For being the only course in the chi, this is super fun. I just moved down here and was bummed about not beind around much disc. Easy access off the red. Most everything is prettty easy, even the long ones are makeable. Just a great relaxing day of disc. Easy to play a few quickies
Cons: Overall fairly short and straight forward. Great beginner course though, brought a newbie out and he had the hang of it by the 3rd round
Other Thoughts: Overall very fun, for being in chicago i was very entertained by my day here. Will be returning regularly now

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    6/10/2009   6/10/2009
Review By: DiscGolfinTheD
Played: 21  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 10.5 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very easy to navigate and fun to play. The only course within the chicago city limits, its awesome to be able to jump off the CTA and be at a disc golf course instead of just more city. Holes clearly marked, easy to follow next tee directions, and very friendly atmosphere. Great beginner course due to the length of most holes.
Cons: There are a few drives you can bomb but you need to be wary of people either not understanding they are on a disc golf course or people just walking between the buildings. A few of the fairways play back and forth over walkways in between the buildings and 2 holes you actually shoot towards the road.
Other Thoughts: Even with these cons as long as you understand your "bag" and just be patient with the walkers it is a great course. Also at tee 1 there is a larger map for newer players so you know where to go. It states there are score cards and pencils but the box has always been empty as far as i know. Other reviews state there is nowhere to go to the bathroom; well if you go right across the street to the mccormick center they have public bathrooms in there and a 7-11 if you need something else. All and all if it was longer and had less pedestrians I would give this course a 4 no problem.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Great City Course

5+    9/10/2008   9/11/2008
Review By: SunIsBlue15
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.5 Years
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Overall a pretty solid course. This course gets some extra points for me simply because it's located so close to the city, and so close to public transportation. The signage on the course is great, and the baskets are high quality and new. There are nice benches all over the course (it is on a campus afterall), and a lot of those benches are right next to the tee box. Small trash cans are also by a lot of the tee boxes. At hole #5 they have a spot for "Fresh Water'...but it's never been filled since I've been playing there.
Cons: Unfortunately they don't have concrete pads to tee off from. It's just dirt...and since it tends to rain a lot in Chicago I've slipped several times. Not a huge deal. Also, the course is a bit short which makes it pretty easy to get a lot of birdies. I would rate myself as a pretty average player, and I can birdie every hole.

Once school is in session it's almost impossible to play a round during the early afternoon / morning without nailing people. I don't even bother. But after 5 it's fine.
Other Thoughts: I talked with someone that works for IIT and he said they were probably going to put concrete pads in. That would be a huge plus for me as I slip a lot when driving. I'm extremely grateful for a well-though out course in the middle of a city campus. Without it I wouldn't be able to play nearly as much as I get to now.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Short but Sweet

1    6/8/2008   6/23/2008
Review By: jace
Played: 42  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 6.7 Years
This review was updated on 3/23/2009
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great tee signs which indicated the hole layout. Also had scoredcards at first tee with a map which was awesome.

We loved the hole variety and placement of the baskets amidst the trees. Very challenging short course that was extremely fun because we were typically putting for birdie every hole.

The layout of the course between campus buildings was also very well done. Very easy to navigate hole to hole and played very quickly since there was NOBODY else playing.

Even though the course was relatively short, I found there were several options right of the tee pad as well as some approach shots that left me taking chances for the birdie quite often. Again - basket location around the trees was great!
Cons: Only 9 holes
Muddy tees after a rain
Campus Buildings locked - no restroom
No terrain changes - very flat
Other Thoughts: location was right off the "el green line" at 35th street. Only 10 minutes from downtown Chicago.
Concrete tees would make it a 3.5.
Another 9 holes and this is a great short course that anyone can play and have alot of fun on!!! in my opinion a perfect course on a college campus that introduces a wide variety of people to the sport - great to play!

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.