Chicago, IL 
Illinois Institute of Tech DGC Share
Uploaded By: RollinInnovas Hole #9 (Taken 8/2009)
4 / 347ft.   4 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Engineers Engineers Everywhere but not one to Design it

1    6/20/2014   6/20/2014
Review By: nivek1385
Played: 22  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 24.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good course to show the sport off to new players and it is accessible via both the green and red lines. Right in the middle of the IIT campus, I wish this had existed when I attended IIT. The tee signs are well designed. In addition, there is a full course map displayed near the first tee. There is also a box for scorecards to use, complete with a map of the course (see images for the scorecards).
Cons: There are no tee pads so to speak, just bare dirt. Many of the "tees" haven't even cleared surface-level tree roots to smooth out the tees. Without the map on the scorecard, I would have played hole 8 by accident instead, though that may have just been me (5's tee is the closest tee to 4's basket). Hole 6's tee is currently inaccessible. Being familiar with the IIT campus, I would have liked to have some holes on the other side of State St. and maybe even a hole or two over by the Stuart Building and soccer field (across 31st). Holes 5 and 9 cross each other which can lead to issues if the course gets busy. Being on a college campus, I would imagine that it is nearly unplayable during the regular school year because of pedestrians.
Other Thoughts: The course uses the land it is on quite well, but I think that it could have been designed a little better. It really needs better tee boxes, especially after the rain from the last two days.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

City Course

2-4    7/26/2012   1/20/2014
Review By: Bltsandwich1
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a nice(ish) course that is in very short walking distance from both red-line and green-line CTA stops along with numerous buses. It is located in the heart of the IIT campus (though this is mostly a negative).

The course weaves through the central part of campus with most obstacles coming from trees, although the placement of tees also makes some statues viable obstacles
Cons: IN THE HEART OF CAMPUS forget playing this course during the school year. I had the blessing of being able to play over the summer when students were few and far between, and STILL I had to adapt my shots not to the course, but to avoid pedestrians. This took fun out of a course that was already just OK.

Navigating the course can be a challenge, but there are signs at every tee which is nice.
Other Thoughts: If you have a chance over the summer take a train down and visit. It's worth the fare to experience once. but avoid during the school year.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Decent 9 hole city course

2-4    8/8/2013   8/8/2013
Review By: Furry Lint Trap
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Only course in Chicago

- Close to public transit/easy parking

- It is on campus, which makes use of buildings, crosswalks, sculptures...pedestrians as obstacles

- Nice baskets, Tee markers with hole info
Cons: - Short and can get repetitive

- Can get busy during school, which makes peds a real problem and hazard

- Natural tees...and only 1 set
Other Thoughts: A solid, short, urban course. Reason I love it is I work in the Loop and can get in a round or 2 after 5pm no problem. Although this is a beginner course, use caution newer players as if you go long, you can very easily hit buildings, peds, parked (and moving) cars. Played here a couple weeks ago and friend pegged a lady sleeping on a bench. She was not happy. To our credit, we screamed FORE, and she WAS in the middle of a course. Can get a little repetitive, but good practice for your Mid-range/putter. If you have a bit more time, make the drive to Katherine Legge Memorial Park in Hinsdale. This course will continue to be my practice, after work course until something better comes along to Chicago.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great!! (For the Area)

5+    6/16/2013   6/16/2013
Review By: jnskender
Played: 27  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -In downtown Chicago
-Great practice for approaches
-Not a lot of foot traffic in the summer
-A couple of holes to use a driver and let loose
-Technical OB's that can punish
-Very cool urban feel

Cons: -Flat
-Open shots do get repetitive
-Tees could use some kind of marker or better yet concrete
Other Thoughts: I love this course do to it basically being in my backyard (About a 5 minute bike ride). That being said, it is not artfully designed but is adequate to get a quick round or two to get your fix in for the day.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    1/19/2013   1/21/2013
Review By: Mark R
Played: 84  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 12.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Free course with decent signs and baskets. Holes are of respectable length and challenge. Hole 5 at 446 feet allows a chance to air it out. Small trees are often difficult to drive through. Also has a number of obstacles made from campus buildings and other objects. A driver is handy and often necessary, particularly on windy days.
Cons: A flat course in an enclosed area. Parking is a fairly long walk from Hole 1 and is costly. Dirt tees are in poor shape. Signs are parallel rather than perpendicular to the fairway, which may have you looking in the wrong direction for the basket. Several holes overlap, and there are only nine of them to begin with. Small area has little opportunity for improvement. Students and windows are often within striking distance, inhibiting course play level.
Other Thoughts: Course winds through the campus of the Illinois Institute of Technology. Hole 1 is located near the corner of 33rd and State St.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Right by Cellular Field

2-4    1/11/2012   9/4/2012
Review By: steven2361
Played: 170  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 6.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It is one of the only courses around in Chicago. It's pretty fun playing between all the campus buildings and art sculptures. The sidewalks and roads add some challenge when you play them ob. The signage is good along with the baskets being decent innova discatchers. It does have a few holes with some real distance.
Cons: This course is mostly short and open. Be very wary of pedestrians. The tees are poor being just dirt.
Other Thoughts: A fun lil course in the middle of a big city. Good for beginners and the family to play. Make sure you park in a legal space to avoid tickets!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Tight, Tight, Tight

1    5/5/2012   8/10/2012
Review By: Shogun
Played: 14  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 7.4 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This little 9 hole is a technical shooter for sure. The tees and grounds are super well maintained. Great atmosphere for a course being in the city, giving it that uber urban feel (it is a campus course after all). I liked throwing out across statues and different obstacles beyond trees and bush.
Cons: Tight!! Man this course is squished together. If you have ever wanted to see a person get hit with a disc, this is the course its going to happen at. On some fairways, you are literally crossing huge walkways for students. You almost have to yell FORE for every throw thats not a putt.
Other Thoughts: For practice on your tight technical shots, this course rocks, but due to the traffic, there are times you just dont know if you will get to throw....

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Everybody DUCK!!

2-4    6/11/2012   6/11/2012
Review By: alexjensen
Played: 42  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Living in Chicago this is really one of the only options in terms of a free course located within the city. This leads to definitely the biggest pro of this course...Location.

Other things I like about this course include its surprisingly wide array of shots you will likely encounter. Pretty much every hole but two are very reachable with a driver (or putter for that matter) but holes 5 and 9 are challenging bombs over the tops of low trees and bushes. Holes 2,4,and 6 are fairly short straight shots that you can certainly make a good ace attempt at. Hole 1 is a mild left-hooking shot just under 300ft. Hole 3 for me is a short but fun Hyzer around a giant pine. Holes 5 and 9 are 400+ foot bombs accross walking paths and over trees (watch for pedestrians) and holes 7 and 8 are fairly straight forward left-hooking shots around 350 ft.

I think the course designers did an excellent job working with what they had, a college campus with enough trees to make a fun 9 hole course that is great for beginners and pros alike. I'm actually living on the IIT campus this summer so I'm sure I'll be playing this course on a weekly basis.
Cons: The biggest negatives about this course are pretty much unavoidable consequences of an urban course. TONS of foot traffic around the campus, and actual traffic on the streets surrounding. Playing this course you have to be VERY careful not to overthrow your shots. Hole 1 I hit a window on the building behind on the pin, hole 2 I put my drive into the middle of the street behind the pin almost hitting a police officer, and you will encounter similar situations on virtually every hole.

Another con includes the fact that the tee pads are dirt, and some have roots sticking out of the ground which look to be good ankle twisters if you're not careful. Also people like to hang out on holes 1 and 7 so sometimes you are not able to play these holes without being a jerk. I have had to skip hole 1 because of people sitting by the pin on more than one occasion now.
Other Thoughts: This course is actually a pretty fun little niner inside the city. If you just want something to play a quick nine holes on without driving out to the suburbs this course is a great option. I would recommend not throwing drivers on the majority of the holes just to reduce the risk of overthrowing into the streets or people on the sidewalks. As long as you're aware and polite to the people around you there will be no problems and it will certainly be worth your time to play this fairly unique urban course. Happy discin!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Urban discing

5+    6/8/2012   6/8/2012
Review By: axiom
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Right off the Red and Green lines, and State St buses
- Very scenic by south-side Chicago standards
-excellent signage, with a clear map at hole 1

- Good variety of holes:
--Holes 2, 4, 6 are aceable (almost aced 6, myself... maybe next time)
--Holes 5, 7, 8, & 9 offer a chance to practice your long drive

-Almost impossible to lose a disc, unless you throw a really high drive and it ends up on a roof (happened to me once on 6), or in a tree
-Bathrooms, vending machines, and air-con in every building on campus, and as long as you're not shoeless, you should be able to pass as a student.
-Pretty close to the lake, Comisky (yep...still Comisky to me) and the nice neighborhoods of Bridgeport and Chinatown
-Upkept fairly well, and ample private campus security (if you're worried about the neighborhood)
Cons: -In the middle of a city, so, even when class is out, there can be a lot of foot traffic
-When there are classes, it can be impossible to play, with people everywhere, and occasionally laying in the fairways on warm days (weekends are best, and summer is pretty good too)
-Frequent functions make hole 6, 7, 8 unplayable
-Fairways 5 and 9, as well 7 and 8 cross
-the Robert Taylor Homes have long since been demolished, but there are still housing projects to the north, and dodgy neighborhoods to the east and south
-dirt tees that aren't very obvious as to where you need to throw by (come to a group consensus)
-sprinkler systems occasionally in use, and last time I played, all the grass was treated with a lawn-growth chemical
-If you're driving, parking is a problem. Expect to pay, or walk a half mile or so from Bridgeport... if there's a Sox game, don't drive.
Other Thoughts: The first course I've ever played (as I'm a student), so I can attest that it's actually pretty beginner friendly.

Some of the holes might seem rediculously easy, but if you play all concrete as an out-of-bounds penalty (instead of just main streets, like the sign at hole 1 suggests), then holes 2, 4, and 6 will be significantly more challenging.

Play hole 3 with a mandatory left around the middle trees (which seems to be how the tee-sign suggests) for an added challenge.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Touched By Engineers

2-4    5/19/2012   6/7/2012
Review By: ohtobediscing
Played: 153  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 34.9 Years
This review was updated on 6/24/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is the closest to downtown Chi-town. Amtrak gave me 5 hours to kill, so I jumped the #29 to IIT, played 3 rounds and bussed back with an hour to waste on a Jimmy John's hoagie and a bomber.
Its a sweet little 9, with 4 holes amazingly in the 400+ range, one 167 ft. ace run and the rest 250-290'. The various species of trees range from 15 ft. to mature, but except for #7 are scattered singly or in loosely open groups. The course travels in a tightly-wound infinity symbol, which surely seems like blasphemy to the mathmatically precise.
#1 crosses an open depression to a basket surrounded by small maples.
#2 throws over a 3' wall to a basket backed closely by mature oaks.
#3 throws from under the same oaks to a similar stance across the field, but with one spreading fir in the middle.
#4 is a shorty ace hole, with a large overhanging tree just right of the basket.
#5 Is 446' with tallish shrubs and a cabin-like sculpture in the 1st half, and mature trees in the 2nd half.
#6 is shortish, again throwing to a basket under mature oaks.
#7 is long, and traverses entirely under low-canopy oaks with no discernable line. The best route is in from the left.
#8 is long, but crosses an open field in its middle 3rd before entering the mature trees at the end.
#9 resembles #5 in length & vegetation, with the added challenge of a long left hook.

The signage is beautiful but the tees are natural, and a few are very rooty. Benches or tables, and garbage cans on every hole.
Cons: Its in the middle of all the IIT buildings. If class is changing, you might as well sit down. If classes are in, you might play with frequent stoppage for pedestrians. Best to play weekends.
No C2H6O or C21H30O2. Wink wink.
The only bathrooms are in buildings, which are locked late/weekends, to keep the nerds' yankfests to pictures of the Mars rovers at a minimum. Absolutely no place to pee outside.
Other Thoughts: The NATO summit was in full swing downtown while I was there. K9 units swept the train 40 miles from Chi-town, and hoodied, bandana-ed anarchists with garbage-can lid shields and foam swords roamed around State St. and the Sears [watchu talkin' 'bout, Willis?] Tower. Thank God I could disc.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.