Chicago, IL 
Illinois Institute of Tech DGC Share
Uploaded By: RollinInnovas Hole #6 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 184ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Unique Chitown Location

5+    4/23/2012   4/23/2012
Review By: #19325
Played: 315  Reviewed: 168  Exp: 13.2 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is one of the most unique urban settings I've ever played disc golf in. Every person that stops and plays seems to be amazed by the course. It's really fun. The course is located a short walk from US Cellular field. It plays in small open areas and between buildings. It has several obstacles that make holes creative. If you play sidewalks and others areas out of bounds it makes it much more challenging.

Course has nice Innova Disctachers and tee signs.

It's one of the few courses located within the city limits of Chicago.

Great exposure for disc golf as hundreds are exposed every day.

Excellent beginner course. Pretty much impossible to lose a disc unless you throw on top of a building. Nice walk on campus.

It has a handful of holes where you can let them rip.
Cons: Tee pads are natural and worn. Can be muddy after rain.

Can be very very busy with traffic.

Hard to navigate with a few longer walks. Bring a map. There are next tee signs that help.

Couple of fairways cross.
Other Thoughts: Access from CTA (Bronzeville)

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Making do

2-4    4/21/2012   4/21/2012
Review By: tfu42
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -It is in the city.
-with limited space, obstacles are used in the right spaces to give a challenge.
Cons: -Short, these 9 holes go by so fast.
-The people do not understand what you are doing and will walk in front of you as you throw, or pick up your disc to give back to you.
Other Thoughts: I think this course is great for a quick run through, or for people just starting out.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 good stuff

2-4    3/18/2012   3/18/2012
Review By: tarzan0608
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 12.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: For being the only course in the chi, this is super fun. I just moved down here and was bummed about not beind around much disc. Easy access off the red. Most everything is prettty easy, even the long ones are makeable. Just a great relaxing day of disc. Easy to play a few quickies
Cons: Overall fairly short and straight forward. Great beginner course though, brought a newbie out and he had the hang of it by the 3rd round
Other Thoughts: Overall very fun, for being in chicago i was very entertained by my day here. Will be returning regularly now

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 At least this is close to mid town

2-4    5/8/2011   5/8/2011
Review By: Jeffro Skull
Played: 105  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/20/2011
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Ease of access from CTA (Bronzeville)
-Every easy to follow, with markers for next tees
Cons: -Short holes not very challenging and longer holes are considered par 4's.
-Dirt tee pads with lots of roots from surrounding trees.. tripping hazzard.
Other Thoughts: For being the only course inside the metro area of Chicago, not bad.
I did not expect a whole lot since this is located on IIT's campus. Played on Sunday morning so no students or faculty to worry about. Not sure how the course plays during the winter, but I would assume the tee pads are a mess.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Back to school

1    4/22/2011   4/22/2011
Review By: bhoff
Played: 32  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Only course in metro-Chi. Accessable off I-94. Quality built with benches & signs at every tee. Nice tight 9 hole layout amid campus setting. Shorter distances to work on mid-game. Could play my Roc most of the time.
Cons: Mid-campus setting has buildings, people, roads, professors, etc. to avoid. tight lines rewarded accuracy - wait times for people to clear rewarded patience. Short course - not too many opportunities to let loose a drive. Muddy when we were there - and many areas roped off for maintenance.
Other Thoughts: Curious onlookers asked us what we were doing - actually took our pictures (tourists?) Fun spot to play a quick 9 while visiting Chicago.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner/Intermediate

1    11/14/2010   11/15/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 414  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 11 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in the school's campus, complete with statues, buildings, and a ton of concrete. Pretty much dead flat overall.
- Holes are spread out nicely, allowing for some good length and variety. With four of the holes around or well over 350', there are plenty of places to let the drives rip. A few shorter holes, including some ace runs, help to keep a good balance.
- Good amount of obstacles to be found here, mostly in the form of short trees, but also with some statues, light posts, and buildings to avoid. #7 pretty much forces a RHBH anhyzer, #8's tee is out of a small grove, definitely some tricky shots.
- Tons of OB pavement, on nearly every hole. Great punishment when trying to go for the ace or the long approach.
- Great signs, good baskets, tees are in good shape.
Cons: - Location of the course does provide some headaches. Pedestrians, cars, roads, and nasty man-made obstacles are different, but still not that enjoyable.
- Fairways cross at some parts, notably #5 and #9, and #7 and #8. Not much of a choice, but still a problem.
- A fair amount of holes are wide open, and don't have much to them. OB helps, but still no-brainers.
Other Thoughts: - A very solid course, for being in a big city college campus. Some holes provide a real challenge, with line-shaping and good length. A few ace runs (with tons of OB), and some simpler ones. Might be a bit straightforward for an advanced player, but everyone else should enjoy the urban setting.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Fun campus course

1    5/8/2010   5/9/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 749  Exp: 12.4 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through a small college campus through and across small quad areas and between buildings and sculptures. There is lots of sidewalk and road ob waiting to punish an errant drive on several holes, and the buildings and sculptures make for some very different obstacles than you're used to on a course.

There are a couple really short ace run holes, and a few from 350'-450' where you can open up a little more and throw some drives as long as you can stay away from the windows. Several holes are straight ahead, but a couple force left to right or right to left shots, and most have some trees to keep it a little more interesting.

There is a nice course map at the first tee, and great tee signs throughout the course with distance and hole layout. The baskets are newer discatchers that catch great. Most tees have benches and trashcans, and there are some next tee signs to help with navigation. The campus is pretty and well taken care of, there was no trash or vandalism on the course and all the fairways were well mowed.
Cons: The biggest issue with this course is the safety issues. Even on a weekend, there were a lot of people around, none of whom seemed to know what we were doing. We spent quite a bit of time waiting for pedestrians to clear fairways so we could throw safely. On top of that, there are a lot of windows in danger from this course, and lots of picnic tables and benches on several of the fairways, frankly I'm amazed that's never been a problem here. There are also a few holes that play very close to roads and parking lots.

The tees are natural, and not well defined as to where you're actually supposed to throw from. They can be muddy and rutted after a rain, and several have roots sticking up through them making for less than stellar footing on drives.

The flow is a little odd, though the design does a great job with the odd spaces around campus. Make sure you take a look at the map before playing, the first 5 holes are scattered a little, with tees that aren't visible from the previous basket. The last 4 holes are all in the same area and play very close to one another, and hole 9 crosses back over 5s fairway. There is a long walk from 9 back to 1 if you want to play again, and the visitor parking lots ($2 an hour except for Sundays) are also a little bit of a walk from the course.
Other Thoughts: This is a very unique and fun course to play, but there isn't quite enough challenge or variety in the design for me to give it a better rating. There are a couple fun holes, the rest feel like filler holes squeezed wherever they could find space between the buildings. That said, I'll be back as this is the closest course to me and it's a totally different playing experience.

Beginners won't find the course to terribly challenging, with no rough and several shorter holes, though the safety issues are magnified with newer and less accurate players. More experienced throwers won't find the course too challenging other than length on a couple holes, but it's worth stopping by for the playing experience, especially the couple holes that play through the sculptures.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Unique course in the city

5+    11/22/2009   5/4/2010
Review By: DocHaole
Played: 72  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 7 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A unique course that's just minutes from downtown! For a 9 hole course it gives a decent mix hole locations and obstacles. All holes are well marked and sometimes they have scorecards for you.

This is a fun change from your typical disc golf course. Playing on a college campus offers many unique obstacles including buildings, sculptures and students.
Cons: When school is in session this course is almost unplayable with all the people. Hole 1 is often used as a flag football field. I would recommend approaching this course as if it is only open on the weekends and possibly late evenings.

Also 9 can be dangerous. The hole is a long hyzer shot that is basically a blind shot around a building. Definitely use a spotter to make sure no one is walking out the doors as you are throwing.
Other Thoughts: If you live in the city this course is a must see. and unlike most courses this one is almost deserted on the weekends. Not overly challenging but very fun.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 interestng urban and artsy

1    11/18/2009   11/27/2009
Review By: tallpaul
Played: 706  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 26.2 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Noil's review is right on and excellent. Read that and I concur with all statements.
Next basket arrows on most holes; which is needed. I am kind of surprised they stay where they are put.
Tee signs excellent.
Buildings, students, sculpture's, all in play.
This course has huge amounts of sidewalk that could be played o.b., to add another level of toughness to course.
Cons: Next tee arrow to #8 tee was missing. We ended up shooting a crazy fun shot from a tee of our own making, between three buildings, around many students, in the near dark, to basket for #9 (I believe). It was a crazy tough, shot and I had a 3, while my playing partner took a four.
I know this doesn't matter....but, it was the best shot of the course. uh oh What I guess I'm saying, is this course probably offers great opportunities for some safari disc. Probably tough to find a time when tons of students aren't about. We played at dusk, and there were 100s of young people and teachers and such, about. We had to wait briefly and throw well, but pulled it off without endangering anyone. There is one hole in which, even with a spotter, a pedestrian coming out of a door way at the wrong time, would be dangerous.
We had students on the picnic tables/benches in fairway #7 as well. I played a safer shot away from them, than the line I probably would have chosen. Cost me a stroke to. They seemed like good guys...kind of hippy looking....just oblivious to the possible danger.
Other Thoughts: I almost want to give this one a 3, for the enjoyment and interest factor. The golf just isn't "all that and a box of cheez-its". Make sure to give a friendly wave to the life sized sculpture man, sitting on a bench, watching your drive from the #4 tee.
If you're using a GPS, don't put in the "design" school address. This will take you downtown. You want the main campus entered. We learned the hard way.
No one else has mentioned the fact that errant shots could hit buildings, with lots of glass, here. We didn't hit any, and it would probably take a quite off line shot; but, I'm sure it's been done. Kudos to whomever has made this course happen and to the school administration for allowing such an interesting course to exist, with so much stuff, including students, in the line of fire. Be safe and friendly as guests on this campus.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Chicago's only metropolitan disc golf course.

5+    11/14/2009   11/15/2009
Review By: Noill Golf
Played: 112  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5 Years
This review was updated on 9/13/2010
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Quick thoughts list:
1. Great little course (9 hole) actually in Chicago which is a major plus for those of us that can't get out to the suburbs often enough.
2. Well marked course. Little signs by most baskets directing you to the next hole.
3. Course map by the first tee.
4. Generally a good atmosphere. Everyone seems friendly and interested in what you are doing. Be prepared for people to stop and observe. You may even get some converts by doing this which is good for the sport.
5. Security personnel on site are very helpful and will direct you to the nearest restroom if needed. I brought my wife and 4 yr old girl who both needed to use the restrooms at different times.
6. Starbuck's nearby on 35th St!! Just head south from tee #1 to the next intersection. Big plus for me since I love coffee so much and a sandwich can also be a plus if you play out multiple rounds.
7. Funny slogans painted on multiple rocks (that read "You got Ninja'd" as of this post). Enough for a chuckle anyway.

Deeper considerations list:
1. Holes 1,2,4 and 6 offer some real ACE opportunities. I just about skip Aced hole 4.
2. Interesting obstacles besides trees such as several statues. Plus it is really cool to see statues on a disc golf course. I'd recommend avoiding DX or Pro-D plastic if you have a tendency to hit such things as they have sharp corners and pointy parts all over. That will tear up your disc pretty badly.
3. Holes 5, 7, 8 and 9 are pretty technical by varying degrees. You seem to get an easy time of things at the beginning of the course and end up with a greater challenge towards the end. These holes are also the long ones with 7,8 and 9 in the mid to upper 300's and hole 5 actually at 446'. Hole 5 is also one of the ones that has a couple of statues as well as trees for obstacles.
4. Hole 3, while very short (209') has a huge pine and some brush right in the middle between tee and basket. It has become a nice little hole for me to work out big hyzer shots. This is the only one that I shoot with a forehand so that it goes to the left of the pine and comes back in toward the basket. The hole is blind from the tee but I'm waiting for the day that I hear a resounding CHING and get a very cool ace.
Cons: 1. No alternate tees.
2. People wondering about seemingly clueless as to what is going on. They tend to choose the longest path through the fairway.
3. Hole 1 is sometimes turned into a rugby field so you might have to skip it on some days.
4. Hole 9 can be a bit scary as you can't really see if people have just exited the building by the basket. Yelling "fore" just doesn't cut it either so hope your luck holds out or play it safe. This can be an awkward situation as you really want to play the hole but you could wind up really knocking someone out.
5. Holes 5 and 9 overlap.
6. The teepad for 7 is about 10 feet from the basket for 6. Throwers at 6 can easily hit a thrower teeing off on 7.
7. Holes 7 and 8 run along each other and throwers at either may have to wait for a group to finish or move off to the farther side of the fair.
8. Picnic tables on hole 7 tend to attract students pondering their lives. They seem completely lost in their own thoughts and don't really notice that discs are landing around them. These tables are "protected" by trees so very small chance you will hit them on your drive but on the chip shot you will have to watch how you throw.
9. Occassionally, there seems to be a prayer tent or something like that erected right on the fairway for hole 4. This can be good if you think of it as an obstacle but bad if you actually hit it...seems like something you wouldn't want to hit (fortunately the tent has not been up for awhile)
10. Natural tees (not annoying for me but to some this is a negative)
Other Thoughts: All in all, this is the perfect course for Chicagoans and those visiting Chicago. It's easy to find, easy to park (not always the case in Chicago), clean (no beer cans or cigarette butts) and well thought out for the most part. The fact that the designers were able to fit 9 holes on the IIT campus and weave them in between the buildings is a small miracle. I've always felt good while throwing there even when I have to wait for pedestrians or have to skip a hole for the rugby players (hole 1).
I give it a 2.5 because it really is cool but then again it is only 9 holes and there are some issues with pedestrians and hole overlap....well, it is in Chicago which is a godsend so I upped it from a 2.
edit: I lowered the rating by a full point b/c in retrospect, it really isn't a 3.5 and is much more a 2 but the fact that it is in the metro area really does deserve a .5 bump.
edit: Free parking lately by hole 3...there are meters but they are turned off or something like that... if you're coming from 55, take the exit for 31st, turn left on 31st, go under the viaduct, then right after that is Federal (it's really just a parking lot though), right on Federal and you can park by hole 8 or go to the end and park by hole 3.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.