Chicago, IL 
Illinois Institute of Tech DGC Share
Uploaded By: RollinInnovas Hole #7 (Taken 8/2009)
4 / 351ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Tight, Tight, Tight

1    5/5/2012   8/10/2012
Review By: Shogun
Played: 14  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 9.4 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This little 9 hole is a technical shooter for sure. The tees and grounds are super well maintained. Great atmosphere for a course being in the city, giving it that uber urban feel (it is a campus course after all). I liked throwing out across statues and different obstacles beyond trees and bush.
Cons: Tight!! Man this course is squished together. If you have ever wanted to see a person get hit with a disc, this is the course its going to happen at. On some fairways, you are literally crossing huge walkways for students. You almost have to yell FORE for every throw thats not a putt.
Other Thoughts: For practice on your tight technical shots, this course rocks, but due to the traffic, there are times you just dont know if you will get to throw....

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Everybody DUCK!!

2-4    6/11/2012   6/11/2012
Review By: alexjensen
Played: 42  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Living in Chicago this is really one of the only options in terms of a free course located within the city. This leads to definitely the biggest pro of this course...Location.

Other things I like about this course include its surprisingly wide array of shots you will likely encounter. Pretty much every hole but two are very reachable with a driver (or putter for that matter) but holes 5 and 9 are challenging bombs over the tops of low trees and bushes. Holes 2,4,and 6 are fairly short straight shots that you can certainly make a good ace attempt at. Hole 1 is a mild left-hooking shot just under 300ft. Hole 3 for me is a short but fun Hyzer around a giant pine. Holes 5 and 9 are 400+ foot bombs accross walking paths and over trees (watch for pedestrians) and holes 7 and 8 are fairly straight forward left-hooking shots around 350 ft.

I think the course designers did an excellent job working with what they had, a college campus with enough trees to make a fun 9 hole course that is great for beginners and pros alike. I'm actually living on the IIT campus this summer so I'm sure I'll be playing this course on a weekly basis.
Cons: The biggest negatives about this course are pretty much unavoidable consequences of an urban course. TONS of foot traffic around the campus, and actual traffic on the streets surrounding. Playing this course you have to be VERY careful not to overthrow your shots. Hole 1 I hit a window on the building behind on the pin, hole 2 I put my drive into the middle of the street behind the pin almost hitting a police officer, and you will encounter similar situations on virtually every hole.

Another con includes the fact that the tee pads are dirt, and some have roots sticking out of the ground which look to be good ankle twisters if you're not careful. Also people like to hang out on holes 1 and 7 so sometimes you are not able to play these holes without being a jerk. I have had to skip hole 1 because of people sitting by the pin on more than one occasion now.
Other Thoughts: This course is actually a pretty fun little niner inside the city. If you just want something to play a quick nine holes on without driving out to the suburbs this course is a great option. I would recommend not throwing drivers on the majority of the holes just to reduce the risk of overthrowing into the streets or people on the sidewalks. As long as you're aware and polite to the people around you there will be no problems and it will certainly be worth your time to play this fairly unique urban course. Happy discin!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Urban discing

5+    6/8/2012   6/8/2012
Review By: axiom
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Right off the Red and Green lines, and State St buses
- Very scenic by south-side Chicago standards
-excellent signage, with a clear map at hole 1

- Good variety of holes:
--Holes 2, 4, 6 are aceable (almost aced 6, myself... maybe next time)
--Holes 5, 7, 8, & 9 offer a chance to practice your long drive

-Almost impossible to lose a disc, unless you throw a really high drive and it ends up on a roof (happened to me once on 6), or in a tree
-Bathrooms, vending machines, and air-con in every building on campus, and as long as you're not shoeless, you should be able to pass as a student.
-Pretty close to the lake, Comisky (yep...still Comisky to me) and the nice neighborhoods of Bridgeport and Chinatown
-Upkept fairly well, and ample private campus security (if you're worried about the neighborhood)
Cons: -In the middle of a city, so, even when class is out, there can be a lot of foot traffic
-When there are classes, it can be impossible to play, with people everywhere, and occasionally laying in the fairways on warm days (weekends are best, and summer is pretty good too)
-Frequent functions make hole 6, 7, 8 unplayable
-Fairways 5 and 9, as well 7 and 8 cross
-the Robert Taylor Homes have long since been demolished, but there are still housing projects to the north, and dodgy neighborhoods to the east and south
-dirt tees that aren't very obvious as to where you need to throw by (come to a group consensus)
-sprinkler systems occasionally in use, and last time I played, all the grass was treated with a lawn-growth chemical
-If you're driving, parking is a problem. Expect to pay, or walk a half mile or so from Bridgeport... if there's a Sox game, don't drive.
Other Thoughts: The first course I've ever played (as I'm a student), so I can attest that it's actually pretty beginner friendly.

Some of the holes might seem rediculously easy, but if you play all concrete as an out-of-bounds penalty (instead of just main streets, like the sign at hole 1 suggests), then holes 2, 4, and 6 will be significantly more challenging.

Play hole 3 with a mandatory left around the middle trees (which seems to be how the tee-sign suggests) for an added challenge.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Touched By An Engineer

2-4    5/19/2012   6/7/2012
Review By: ohtobediscing
Played: 235  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 36.9 Years
This review was updated on 4/29/2015
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is the closest to downtown Chi-town. Amtrak gave me 5 hours to kill, so I jumped the #29 to IIT, played 3 rounds and bussed back with an hour to waste on a deep dish slice, a bomber and the Tribune.
Its a sweet, technical little 9, with 4 holes amazingly in the 400+ range, one 167 ft. ace run and the rest 250-290'. The various species of trees range from 15 ft. to mature, but except for #7 are scattered singly or in loosely open groups. There are no elevation changes and no undergrowth to lose discs. The course travels in a tightly-wound infinity symbol, which surely seems like blasphemy to the mathmatically precise.
#1 crosses an open depression to a basket surrounded by small maples.
#2 throws over a 3' wall to a basket backed closely by mature oaks.
#3 throws from under the same oaks to a similar stance across a field, but with one big spreading fir in the middle.
#4 is a shorty ace hole, with a large overhanging tree just right of the basket.
#5 is 446' right hook with tallish shrubs and a cabin-like sculpture in the 1st half, and high-canopy mature trees in the 2nd half.
#6 is shortish, again throwing to a basket under mature oaks.
#7 is long, and traverses entirely under low-canopy oaks with no discernable line. The best route is in from the left.
#8 is long, but crosses an open field in its middle 3rd before entering the mature trees at the end.
#9 resembles #5 in length & vegetation, with the added challenge of a long left hook.

The signage is beautiful but the tees are natural, and a few are very rooty. Benches or tables, and garbage cans on every hole.
Cons: Its in the middle of all the IIT buildings. If class is changing, you might as well sit down. If classes are in, you might play with frequent stoppage for pedestrians. Best to play weekends.
No C2H6O or C21H30O2.
The only bathrooms are in buildings, which are locked late/weekends, to keep the nerds' yankfests to pictures of the Mars rovers at a minimum. Absolutely no place to pee outside.
Other Thoughts: The NATO summit was in full swing downtown while I was there. K9 units swept the train 40 miles from Chi-town, and hoodied, bandana-ed anarchists with garbage-can lid shields and foam swords roamed around State St. and the Sears [watchu talkin' 'bout, Willis?] Tower. Thank God I could disc.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Unique Chitown Location

5+    4/23/2012   4/23/2012
Review By: #19325
Played: 342  Reviewed: 177  Exp: 15.3 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is one of the most unique urban settings I've ever played disc golf in. Every person that stops and plays seems to be amazed by the course. It's really fun. The course is located a short walk from US Cellular field. It plays in small open areas and between buildings. It has several obstacles that make holes creative. If you play sidewalks and others areas out of bounds it makes it much more challenging.

Course has nice Innova Disctachers and tee signs.

It's one of the few courses located within the city limits of Chicago.

Great exposure for disc golf as hundreds are exposed every day.

Excellent beginner course. Pretty much impossible to lose a disc unless you throw on top of a building. Nice walk on campus.

It has a handful of holes where you can let them rip.
Cons: Tee pads are natural and worn. Can be muddy after rain.

Can be very very busy with traffic.

Hard to navigate with a few longer walks. Bring a map. There are next tee signs that help.

Couple of fairways cross.
Other Thoughts: Access from CTA (Bronzeville)

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Making do

2-4    4/21/2012   4/21/2012
Review By: tfu42
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.3 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -It is in the city.
-with limited space, obstacles are used in the right spaces to give a challenge.
Cons: -Short, these 9 holes go by so fast.
-The people do not understand what you are doing and will walk in front of you as you throw, or pick up your disc to give back to you.
Other Thoughts: I think this course is great for a quick run through, or for people just starting out.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 good stuff

2-4    3/18/2012   3/18/2012
Review By: tarzan0608
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 14.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: For being the only course in the chi, this is super fun. I just moved down here and was bummed about not beind around much disc. Easy access off the red. Most everything is prettty easy, even the long ones are makeable. Just a great relaxing day of disc. Easy to play a few quickies
Cons: Overall fairly short and straight forward. Great beginner course though, brought a newbie out and he had the hang of it by the 3rd round
Other Thoughts: Overall very fun, for being in chicago i was very entertained by my day here. Will be returning regularly now

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 At least this is close to mid town

2-4    5/8/2011   5/8/2011
Review By: Jeffro Skull
Played: 112  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/20/2011
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Ease of access from CTA (Bronzeville)
-Every easy to follow, with markers for next tees
Cons: -Short holes not very challenging and longer holes are considered par 4's.
-Dirt tee pads with lots of roots from surrounding trees.. tripping hazzard.
Other Thoughts: For being the only course inside the metro area of Chicago, not bad.
I did not expect a whole lot since this is located on IIT's campus. Played on Sunday morning so no students or faculty to worry about. Not sure how the course plays during the winter, but I would assume the tee pads are a mess.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Back to school

1    4/22/2011   4/22/2011
Review By: bhoff
Played: 32  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Only course in metro-Chi. Accessable off I-94. Quality built with benches & signs at every tee. Nice tight 9 hole layout amid campus setting. Shorter distances to work on mid-game. Could play my Roc most of the time.
Cons: Mid-campus setting has buildings, people, roads, professors, etc. to avoid. tight lines rewarded accuracy - wait times for people to clear rewarded patience. Short course - not too many opportunities to let loose a drive. Muddy when we were there - and many areas roped off for maintenance.
Other Thoughts: Curious onlookers asked us what we were doing - actually took our pictures (tourists?) Fun spot to play a quick 9 while visiting Chicago.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner/Intermediate

1    11/14/2010   11/15/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 461  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 13.1 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in the school's campus, complete with statues, buildings, and a ton of concrete. Pretty much dead flat overall.
- Holes are spread out nicely, allowing for some good length and variety. With four of the holes around or well over 350', there are plenty of places to let the drives rip. A few shorter holes, including some ace runs, help to keep a good balance.
- Good amount of obstacles to be found here, mostly in the form of short trees, but also with some statues, light posts, and buildings to avoid. #7 pretty much forces a RHBH anhyzer, #8's tee is out of a small grove, definitely some tricky shots.
- Tons of OB pavement, on nearly every hole. Great punishment when trying to go for the ace or the long approach.
- Great signs, good baskets, tees are in good shape.
Cons: - Location of the course does provide some headaches. Pedestrians, cars, roads, and nasty man-made obstacles are different, but still not that enjoyable.
- Fairways cross at some parts, notably #5 and #9, and #7 and #8. Not much of a choice, but still a problem.
- A fair amount of holes are wide open, and don't have much to them. OB helps, but still no-brainers.
Other Thoughts: - A very solid course, for being in a big city college campus. Some holes provide a real challenge, with line-shaping and good length. A few ace runs (with tons of OB), and some simpler ones. Might be a bit straightforward for an advanced player, but everyone else should enjoy the urban setting.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.