Layout Extinct

Holyoke, MA 
HCC DGC - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #10
3 / 206ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Not Much Fun

5+    8/8/2010   7/23/2010
Review By: kretschy
Played: 17  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/8/2010
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Free to play with plenty of parking
-Grounds on front 9 are very well kept (a result of the front 9 being mowed, manicured as part of the foreground for the college)
-Baskets are all in great shape
-Front 9 has some places for wide open, long throws for the big arms, and back 9 forces you to play position and accuracy as you traverse a very wooded course
-Course map/scorecard available in Athletic Center or online (a necessity if it's your first time here, very easy to follow but navigation might be impossible without it)
Cons: -Not enjoyable: On the front 9 you throw around fences, ball fields, sheds, tennis courts, roads, pathways, parking lots (which all pavement is OB), and the back 9 isn't well kept with lots of trash.
-No tee signage
-Tees are natural (12 and 15 have very short tee boxes, 12 is nasty footing with sharp rocks, 2 tee boxes on the front are pavement walkways)
-Long walks between a lot of the holes (I don't mind hiking or steep grade changes as part of the course, which there are plenty of here, but I can't get into these long treks when I'm not even on a hole)
-Can't play some holes if ball games are going on (holes 7 and 8 are lost if there is a softball game)
-Roads and people (I like to play disc golf, not think about waiting for passing cars, avoiding parked cars or keeping the discs away from pedestrians)
Other Thoughts: This course may appeal to people as it isn't a terrible course strictly based on tee to hole, basket placements, etc. I would recommend that everyone play it and see for themselves, as I think some people may really like it.

Update: I've had a chance to play this course a few more times since my review, and the course has grown on me considerably. I have increased my rating from 2.0 to 3.0 as I am placing more emphasis on the actual course (tee to pin) and less emphasis on the site, surroundings and upkeep of the course (back 9).

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Treacherous footing

1    11/13/2009   11/14/2009
Review By: solomon.trenton
Played: 75  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 12/22/2009
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: First and foremost the scenery is amazing, especially for a community college campus. The navigation is very easy (except for holes 5-8) and the aid of next tee signs makes it very pleasurable to play. There is a huge change of elevation from the front nine (mostly flat and open) to the back nine (wooded and hilly). This adds to the luster of such a small course. The course map is spot on and very easy to follow. You could easily play with just three discs. The course doesn't force you to use your whole bag but makes you think about how you are going to utilize the discs you have.
Cons: Several of the tees and fairways are parallel to the street and/or parking lots. The parking lots and roads were super busy when I went so I had to be super careful. Holes four through eight are way too congested. It's difficult to know which basket you are throwing to. So make sure to walk the fairway before you throw. There are no tee signs or distance markers. When you get to the back nine most holes are on the side of a hill which can make for some treacherous footing. The fairways are clogged with leaves which add to the slippery footing and makes finding discs harder.
Other Thoughts: The tees are marked by painted stones in the ground or spray painted on the pavement. To get to hole 10's tee cross the old tennis court (now a parking lot) go onto the dirt path in the woods. On the right hand side will be the tee box. Make sure to bring the course map as you will need it.

I played with lots of leaves on the ground which made for, as my title states, Treacherous footing. So be careful if playing in late autumn or early winter.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Worth checking out

1    9/6/2009   9/16/2009
Review By: coast2coast
Played: 93  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 11.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great variety and use of elevation. Several elevated tees and challenging sloped greens. Arrows at each basket pointing the way to the next tee. Only one other group out on a sunday afternoon. Free to play.
Cons: Hard to navigate. The last few holes have long walks between them. Front nine play around track and ball fields, so several holes would be unplayable during games or practice. Natural and sidewalk tees with no signage. Windy in the afternoon.
Other Thoughts: This course was surprisingly challenging. The woods are thick and rugged and there are a couple of long holes. Park as close to the gym as possible. I parked in the visitor lot up on the hill and the 1st tee was like a half-mile away.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Play the Wind !

2-4    2/14/2009   2/20/2009
Review By: CaptainAnhyzer
Played: 79  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 29.4 Years
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great mix of open and wooded holes. The front nine are NO indication of what's in store for you out on the back 9.
Cons: Holes that crossover ballfiled and almost each other will be a problem. The wind seems to come and go whenever you DON"t want it to.
Other Thoughts: Play on the weekend, you should be clear of ballplayers at least. Bring your hiking legs, the back 9 are not for flatlanders.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center