Disc Golf Center
Steubenville, OH 
Beatty Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: sidewinder22 Hole #17 (Taken 3/2014)
3 / 269ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Bulworth, Almost Great!

1    3/7/2014   3/10/2014
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 106  Reviewed: 76  Exp: 8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 chainstar baskets with multiple tees on many holes. Short tees were mostly boxed gravel, and long tees just a piece of wood and the asphalt road was used on a few holes. Decent signage and navigation. Practice basket. Excellent use of the terrain, creek, and elevation especially around the baskets. Good variety of shots, most heavily wooded defined fairways with good elevation, but a few fairly open and flat holes, and a few chuck and pray mixed in, mostly short par 3 holes with a few short par 4s toward the end. Nice handrails and stone steps for traversing some of the steep slopes. Benches galore in the park with interesting structures and ancient ruins around. Portapotty. Lots of wildlife, I saw my first live turkey or a dozen of them, and lots of deer and woodpeckers!
Cons: The practice basket is right in the fairway of hole 1. Hole 4 crosses the fairway of hole 1 as well. IMO hole 1 which is rather bland should move, not hole 4. A few holes play up, down, and across the road and a parking lot. Tee sign for hole 13 was ripped in half. Could use some bridging across the creek you have to cross several times.

If the park doesn't get crowded then some of the layout cons are not much an issue. I understand some of the holes have been redesigned because there was too much walking back to the parking lot. Well now 18 ends right by hole 1 and the parking lot. IMO I'd rather walk than have compromised a few better holes/less holes in the danger zone(road/parking).
Other Thoughts: What an awesome piece of property for disc golf! This course while not a long beast should be a blast to play for most disc golfers. With a few improvements this could easily be a 4 disc rating. I love the elevation through hardwoods and the greens around the baskets! Many of the baskets are on a flat tier with roll-a-way slopes around the circle or near water and protected by trees. This course will be on my radar to play again the next time I'm back in the Pittsburgh area and makes a great combo with the Black Course in Moundsville, WV.


1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Ned v. Warren

1    7/14/2013   7/23/2013
Review By: swatso
Played: 347  Reviewed: 346  Exp: 6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Variation of elevation changes, ranging from flat to somewhat extreme, but mostly mild/moderate.

Nice new signs and other navigational aids - relatively easy to navigate, even for a first-time visitor sans map.
Cons:
The access road serves as a tee and/or fairway on a few occasions.

A few bridges to assist with the stream crossing would be nice.
Other Thoughts:
Course plays up, down, across, and along two wooded ridges, separated by an access road and a shallow, paralleling stream. The stream crosses some fairways, or lurks near some baskets, but is quite shallow, so could add strokes, but should not steal discs.

Fairways range from open (the access road) to moderate (former access drives) to somewhat tight (wide walking paths), but nothing too tight. Some holes are open throughout, and a few play from/to open to/from woods, but about half are wooded in their entirety. You'll need a variety of shot shapes - straight, lefts, rights, and a few S-shapes. A few holes offer shape choices - pick your preference.

Front nine (longest hole < 280') is definitely easier than the back nine (six holes > 280', three near 400'). The more interesting holes, like up-slope, twisting, to basket-in-front-of-cabin-ruin #11, steep downhill through trees with stream just behind #12, and up-n-over wooded ridge, battling right-to-left slope while doing so, #18, are all on the back.

Tee signs are good. Some holes appear to have an alternate (longer/blue) tee location. Most tees are natural, but if a hard surface was available, it was used. Evidently, a hole was inserted near the midpoint, as the basket numbers start being off by one, but the number on the signs are correct.

Quite an enjoyable course, worth a visit if nearby.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Hometown Course that I will Always Return To!

5+    5/8/2013   7/23/2013
Review By: philio37
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Variety of Hole Lengths and Obstacles
Interesting Terrain
Plenty of Elevation Changes
Cons: Too many rough terrain
Easy to lose discs on some hole locations
Plenty of Elevation Changes
Other Thoughts: Front Nine is Simple, Back Nine is a bit trickier. Plenty of trees to mess things up. One of the most fun and exciting courses that I've ever played. And even though it is my home course, I've traveled to quite a few around the country and always enjoy coming back to play this one!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great course

2-4    1/13/2013   1/13/2013
Review By: jhilton
Played: 47  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 3.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - nice hole variety
- neat old structures to play around
- nice use of elevation and land
- good mix of open shots and tight hallways
- challenging enough to be interesting but lets newer players score too
Cons: - tee areas can be a little rough
- some holes on the back nine seem repetitive
Other Thoughts: This place is great. Neat use of a small piece of land, and love the variety of shots, especially on the front nine.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Hikin' 'n Discin'

1    11/11/2012   11/11/2012
Review By: el_duder
Played: 37  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 2.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: +Nice baskets: including a practice basket
+Nice scenery and a pretty rugged hike through this little valley.
+Good signs: tee signs are pretty good and there are plenty of signs to get you to the next tee.
+Amenities: benches at many holes, garbage cans easily accessible, port-a-john and restrooms, and picnic tables
Cons: -Tee pads/areas are a little rough or poorly defined on many holes.
-Layout: front nine a bit cramped, a park road runs through the front nine, several stream crossings and no foot bridges.
Other Thoughts: The park is in a pretty narrow valley and this contributes to some of the challenges and some of the downsides of this course.

The front nine are a bit more open than the back and played a little easier. Hole 4 stood out for me on the front nine. It is a downhill shot that throws over the creek to a small flat. The back nine pick up the challenge a bit and offer a little bit more distance. Notable holes include 12, a big downhill shot to the basket tucked just feet from the creek. Hole 18 is another nice hole consisting of an uphill throw to a dogleg and then downhill approach shot to a green on a little flat just above the creek.

I think that there is some really good use of land with a very good mix of uphill and downhill shots. There is also pretty good pin placement. Many holes, particularly on the back nine, require a pretty well placed tee shot to set up a good approach or birdie chance. One of the biggest gripes is the lack of footbridges. Just two would make navigating holes 4 through 8 a bit easier.

Overall, I think it is a pretty good course, it definitely challenged mine and the pups hiking legs. I don't know that I'd drive from Pittsburgh again just to play it alone, but I wouldn't hesitate to include it in a future road trip through the area.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Good Course could be great

1    8/20/2012   9/23/2012
Review By: hogwild428
Played: 79  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 15.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very nice course with good signs and other markers to navigate throught the woods. Offers great variety of shots through the woods with a nice mix of long open shots mixed in too. Use of elevation makes this course unique.
Cons: There is a creek that you have to cross over a few times. Adding a bridge or two could improve this course.
Other Thoughts: Well worth making a special trip to come play this one.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Literally Just a Disc Golf Park

1    8/20/2012   8/22/2012
Review By: timbur3
Played: 75  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 7.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course had great baskets. It also had amazing signs and arrows on trees to lead you from hole to hole which made navigating a breeze. The course used pavement where they could as the tee pads, but the natural tee pads were fine also. Had a few big downhill tee off which are always fun. Had a mix of long and short and a mix of ones that were very wooded and some more open tees.
Cons: You had to cross this creek bed a bunch of times and it could be hard for older players because there are no bridges. A couple more trees could be cut down to make legitimate fairways. Not to many cons for this course.
Other Thoughts: A great Ohio course, I would recommend anyone within 45 minutes or an hour take a weekend and come play this once or twice because it is worth it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Swizscenic

1    7/13/2012   7/14/2012
Review By: kinger
Played: 36  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 4.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
~Very technical w/ lots of elevation change
~Some holes have numerous different paths to the basket
~Serene wilderness within the city limits
~Great signage & good baskets
~Lots of rustic items "built" into the landscape
~Many different shots are required
~Some of the holes utilize pavement for the tee pad
Cons:
~Lots of overgrowth throughout the course
~A few areas where the holes cross or are close to it
~Around half of the tee pads are loose and uneven
~No holes for big ol' drives (I like at least a few)
~Favors right hand back hand (I'm a lefty)
Other Thoughts: Played while down in Steubenville for work, and this heavily wooded 18 gave me a tremendous work out. Constant elevation change coupled with tight wooded holes made for lots of hiking around. Much of the course could use some bottom clearing along with bringing down a small tree here and there, but aside from that it plays real nice. Pavement is utilized as tee pads on some holes while the rest are natural creating some difficulty for a good tee shot. Mid ranges and putters were the only discs to come out of my bag the entire time, and it was great to shape lines and weave your way to basket instead of trying to throw big distances. Navigation got easier after the first handful of holes thanks to helpful tee signs and arrows on trees throughout. The creek was all but dried up for me so tossing into the water was never an issue. The deeper into the park you play the more beautiful and inspiring it becomes. Old stone structures, stairs, and tables are built into the landscape which create a really cool vibe. The course has plenty of modern benches placed throughout for catching your breath, for which I was grateful. Aside from the need for some clearing and the lack of firm/level tee pads I was pleased overall with my experience. Very cool place for a tight technical round.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/21/2012   6/21/2012
Review By: thewishman
Played: 67  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great use of terrain! Hole 4 is very fun - throwing across the width of the park. 12 downhill is a cool shot. 13 is throwing across the valley again in a different area.

Nice reward for taking a risk on most holes, but the penalty for a bad miss is high.
Cons: A couple of holes are boring (1 and 9) but just a couple, and those had some obstacles to make up for it - partially.
Other Thoughts: Looks like a new hole 11 added. That puts the old #11 at the bottom of the hill, and subsequent holes off on the basket markings, the signs are correct, though.

Several chances to throw across the whole park (it is a narrow park).

If there were tee pads, I would have gone to 4.5.

My GPS did not want to take me to the right entrance - make sure you approach from Lincoln Ave.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

What a workout!

1    10/15/2011   10/16/2011
Review By: rhelt100
Played: 22  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5 Years
This review was updated on 7/6/2014
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great use of the land to present many unique challenges. Great scenery throughout and some old ruins to explore here and there.
This course has many holes that I would consider signature holes:

Hole 11 - As others have stated...WOW! I've never seen a hole quite like this one. I felt like I was looking into a pit with a basket at the bottom. The ruins near the tee are great too.
Hole ? (somewhere in the back 9,can't remember the number) - This hole had two line options, one left one right. It had the feel of an "island green" in ball golf. Just a tee, lots of trees and a round splash of green in the distance with a basket in the middle.
Hole #16 (I think) - A par 3 over two sections of the stream with a HUGE lip in front of the basket. I ended up on the little peninsula and could only see the top of the basket for my birdie putt. Very cool hole.
Cons: The biggest con for my group was the lack of bridges over the creek. Due to errant throws and confusion as to where the next hole was in a few spots, I think we crossed the creek at least 10 times. In many spots, there were high banks on both sides so it was interesting. I took a bit off of my rating simply due to this. A bridge or two (or three or four) would greatly improve this course.
There are many areas, particularly on the back nine, that could use some clearing
The final thing noticed by my group was the rough terrain, LOL. We started with six people and a dog. Three of us finished the round. You will get a workout, especially on the back 9 but it's well worth the effort.
Other Thoughts: This is simply a phenomenal disc golf course. I had a blast trying (and often failing) to hit some of the tight tunnels. The highlight of the course, IMO, is hole #11...it made my day.

Note: The 3.0 rating is based primarily on the "rawness" of the course. This course will be a 4-4.5 rating once it's beat in a for a few years and bridges are in place.

Update: Played from the blues on 7/5/2014. Had a blast! The stream wasn't much of an issue this time since the water was low. Upping my rating .5.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.