Steubenville, OH 
Beatty Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: sidewinder22 Hole #10 (Taken 3/2014)
3 / 289ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee Area: Tee in foreground, basket up by building



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Cool Natural Setting

2-4    3/24/2015   3/31/2015
Review By: BigAl724
Played: 102  Reviewed: 92  Exp: 2.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beatty Park is an interesting spot, located in a peaceful, natural setting right in Steubenville. The course makes you feel far away from the city and offers some picturesque shots. It's a very narrow park with steep hills on each side and you play on the narrow flat part, around the hills, and a few times across the road from hill to hill. Parking is available right where the course begins and ends and there are bathrooms, a practice basket, and local tourney/club info on a bulletin board near the first tee.

The best part about this course is the natural setting that it's in. The design makes good use of the type of land offered with numerous uphill, downhill, and hill to hill throws. Some of these are blind shots - adding to the challenge - while multiple holes contend with the creek as O.B. Rollaway potential is found again and again, and a good drive or upshot is never completely safe while playing on the hillsides. Bad tree kicks can send discs far off the fairway. Hole 3 is a highlight, a sharp downhill anny shot to a blind pin on an island-like flat green surrounded by slopes. This is my favorite hole on the course.

While there aren't many open bomber shots, there are a few par 4's that offer a good test of length and precision. Holes 14-18 are good examples of this, combining multiple lanes to the basket with challenging elevation.

Flags and orange cones on top of the pins serve well in making them easier to find in the dense woods. Arrows on the pins pointing you in the direction of the next tee and a few rails and steps on the steep hills help navigation. However, there are several navigational issues here as noted below.
Cons: There was some attempt in guiding you through the course, but this is still one of the hardest I have ever had to navigate. A lot of times the direction to the next tee isn't obvious or intuitive, especially in the woods where there aren't always clear paths. Even with a map, some tees are hard to find and a big factor is because the holes have been renumbered. The pins display a number one less than the actual hole number starting with 8 I believe.

It is also tough to navigate the course in a physical sense. I wouldn't recommend playing here unless you like to hike, as this course is just as much a hike as it is a round of golf. You have to cross the creek numerous times and there is nothing in place to help you get across. When the creek is any bit high, you'll end up getting your feet wet a few times. Also, if the leaves are wet, you may struggle traversing up and down the steep hills.

Because the park is so narrow, multiple holes play on, near, or across the park road.

The tees are a blend of natural and gravel and are often uneven and somewhat uncomfortable to throw from.

There are a few holes that have no clear fairway, just throw and pray your disc doesn't get kicked too far.
Other Thoughts: This course isn't "typical" like a 2.5 rating suggests on here. This is a very cool, natural setting and I enjoyed playing some of the unique holes and shots. However, the navigational issues really hurt this course's rating for me and combining all factors I think it deserves a 2.5. I recommend playing here to experience this unique course, but make sure you have a map and try to find a guide to play with.

Make sure you follow the directions on this site and not use googlemaps or mapquest to try to find it. They will not get you here, but the directions on here are great.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Bulworth, Almost Great!

1    3/7/2014   3/10/2014
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 123  Reviewed: 113  Exp: 8.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 chainstar baskets with multiple tees on many holes. Short tees were mostly boxed gravel, and long tees just a piece of wood and the asphalt road was used on a few holes. Decent signage and navigation. Practice basket. Excellent use of the terrain, creek, and elevation especially around the baskets. Good variety of shots, most heavily wooded defined fairways with good elevation, but a few fairly open and flat holes, and a few chuck and pray mixed in, mostly short par 3 holes with a few short par 4s toward the end. Nice handrails and stone steps for traversing some of the steep slopes. Benches galore in the park with interesting structures and ancient ruins around. Portapotty. Lots of wildlife, I saw my first live turkey or a dozen of them, and lots of deer and woodpeckers!
Cons: The practice basket is right in the fairway of hole 1. Hole 4 crosses the fairway of hole 1 as well. IMO hole 1 which is rather bland should move, not hole 4. A few holes play up, down, and across the road and a parking lot. Tee sign for hole 13 was ripped in half. Could use some bridging across the creek you have to cross several times.

If the park doesn't get crowded then some of the layout cons are not much an issue. I understand some of the holes have been redesigned because there was too much walking back to the parking lot. Well now 18 ends right by hole 1 and the parking lot. IMO I'd rather walk than have compromised a few better holes/less holes in the danger zone(road/parking).
Other Thoughts: What an awesome piece of property for disc golf! This course while not a long beast should be a blast to play for most disc golfers. With a few improvements this could easily be a 4 disc rating. I love the elevation through hardwoods and the greens around the baskets! Many of the baskets are on a flat tier with roll-a-way slopes around the circle or near water and protected by trees. This course will be on my radar to play again the next time I'm back in the Pittsburgh area and makes a great combo with the Black Course in Moundsville, WV.


1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Ned v. Warren

1    7/14/2013   7/23/2013
Review By: swatso
Played: 374  Reviewed: 351  Exp: 6.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Variation of elevation changes, ranging from flat to somewhat extreme, but mostly mild/moderate.

Nice new signs and other navigational aids - relatively easy to navigate, even for a first-time visitor sans map.
Cons:
The access road serves as a tee and/or fairway on a few occasions.

A few bridges to assist with the stream crossing would be nice.
Other Thoughts:
Course plays up, down, across, and along two wooded ridges, separated by an access road and a shallow, paralleling stream. The stream crosses some fairways, or lurks near some baskets, but is quite shallow, so could add strokes, but should not steal discs.

Fairways range from open (the access road) to moderate (former access drives) to somewhat tight (wide walking paths), but nothing too tight. Some holes are open throughout, and a few play from/to open to/from woods, but about half are wooded in their entirety. You'll need a variety of shot shapes - straight, lefts, rights, and a few S-shapes. A few holes offer shape choices - pick your preference.

Front nine (longest hole < 280') is definitely easier than the back nine (six holes > 280', three near 400'). The more interesting holes, like up-slope, twisting, to basket-in-front-of-cabin-ruin #11, steep downhill through trees with stream just behind #12, and up-n-over wooded ridge, battling right-to-left slope while doing so, #18, are all on the back.

Tee signs are good. Some holes appear to have an alternate (longer/blue) tee location. Most tees are natural, but if a hard surface was available, it was used. Evidently, a hole was inserted near the midpoint, as the basket numbers start being off by one, but the number on the signs are correct.

Quite an enjoyable course, worth a visit if nearby.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Hometown Course that I will Always Return To!

5+    5/8/2013   7/23/2013
Review By: philio37
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Variety of Hole Lengths and Obstacles
Interesting Terrain
Plenty of Elevation Changes
Cons: Too many rough terrain
Easy to lose discs on some hole locations
Plenty of Elevation Changes
Other Thoughts: Front Nine is Simple, Back Nine is a bit trickier. Plenty of trees to mess things up. One of the most fun and exciting courses that I've ever played. And even though it is my home course, I've traveled to quite a few around the country and always enjoy coming back to play this one!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

2-4    1/13/2013   1/13/2013
Review By: jhilton
Played: 47  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - nice hole variety
- neat old structures to play around
- nice use of elevation and land
- good mix of open shots and tight hallways
- challenging enough to be interesting but lets newer players score too
Cons: - tee areas can be a little rough
- some holes on the back nine seem repetitive
Other Thoughts: This place is great. Neat use of a small piece of land, and love the variety of shots, especially on the front nine.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Hikin' 'n Discin'

1    11/11/2012   11/11/2012
Review By: el_duder
Played: 40  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 3.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: +Nice baskets: including a practice basket
+Nice scenery and a pretty rugged hike through this little valley.
+Good signs: tee signs are pretty good and there are plenty of signs to get you to the next tee.
+Amenities: benches at many holes, garbage cans easily accessible, port-a-john and restrooms, and picnic tables
Cons: -Tee pads/areas are a little rough or poorly defined on many holes.
-Layout: front nine a bit cramped, a park road runs through the front nine, several stream crossings and no foot bridges.
Other Thoughts: The park is in a pretty narrow valley and this contributes to some of the challenges and some of the downsides of this course.

The front nine are a bit more open than the back and played a little easier. Hole 4 stood out for me on the front nine. It is a downhill shot that throws over the creek to a small flat. The back nine pick up the challenge a bit and offer a little bit more distance. Notable holes include 12, a big downhill shot to the basket tucked just feet from the creek. Hole 18 is another nice hole consisting of an uphill throw to a dogleg and then downhill approach shot to a green on a little flat just above the creek.

I think that there is some really good use of land with a very good mix of uphill and downhill shots. There is also pretty good pin placement. Many holes, particularly on the back nine, require a pretty well placed tee shot to set up a good approach or birdie chance. One of the biggest gripes is the lack of footbridges. Just two would make navigating holes 4 through 8 a bit easier.

Overall, I think it is a pretty good course, it definitely challenged mine and the pups hiking legs. I don't know that I'd drive from Pittsburgh again just to play it alone, but I wouldn't hesitate to include it in a future road trip through the area.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Good Course could be great

1    8/20/2012   9/23/2012
Review By: hogwild428
Played: 81  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 16.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very nice course with good signs and other markers to navigate throught the woods. Offers great variety of shots through the woods with a nice mix of long open shots mixed in too. Use of elevation makes this course unique.
Cons: There is a creek that you have to cross over a few times. Adding a bridge or two could improve this course.
Other Thoughts: Well worth making a special trip to come play this one.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Literally Just a Disc Golf Park

1    8/20/2012   8/22/2012
Review By: timbur3
Played: 77  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 8.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course had great baskets. It also had amazing signs and arrows on trees to lead you from hole to hole which made navigating a breeze. The course used pavement where they could as the tee pads, but the natural tee pads were fine also. Had a few big downhill tee off which are always fun. Had a mix of long and short and a mix of ones that were very wooded and some more open tees.
Cons: You had to cross this creek bed a bunch of times and it could be hard for older players because there are no bridges. A couple more trees could be cut down to make legitimate fairways. Not to many cons for this course.
Other Thoughts: A great Ohio course, I would recommend anyone within 45 minutes or an hour take a weekend and come play this once or twice because it is worth it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Swizscenic

1    7/13/2012   7/14/2012
Review By: kinger
Played: 40  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 5.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
~Very technical w/ lots of elevation change
~Some holes have numerous different paths to the basket
~Serene wilderness within the city limits
~Great signage & good baskets
~Lots of rustic items "built" into the landscape
~Many different shots are required
~Some of the holes utilize pavement for the tee pad
Cons:
~Lots of overgrowth throughout the course
~A few areas where the holes cross or are close to it
~Around half of the tee pads are loose and uneven
~No holes for big ol' drives (I like at least a few)
~Favors right hand back hand (I'm a lefty)
Other Thoughts: Played while down in Steubenville for work, and this heavily wooded 18 gave me a tremendous work out. Constant elevation change coupled with tight wooded holes made for lots of hiking around. Much of the course could use some bottom clearing along with bringing down a small tree here and there, but aside from that it plays real nice. Pavement is utilized as tee pads on some holes while the rest are natural creating some difficulty for a good tee shot. Mid ranges and putters were the only discs to come out of my bag the entire time, and it was great to shape lines and weave your way to basket instead of trying to throw big distances. Navigation got easier after the first handful of holes thanks to helpful tee signs and arrows on trees throughout. The creek was all but dried up for me so tossing into the water was never an issue. The deeper into the park you play the more beautiful and inspiring it becomes. Old stone structures, stairs, and tables are built into the landscape which create a really cool vibe. The course has plenty of modern benches placed throughout for catching your breath, for which I was grateful. Aside from the need for some clearing and the lack of firm/level tee pads I was pleased overall with my experience. Very cool place for a tight technical round.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/21/2012   6/21/2012
Review By: thewishman
Played: 67  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great use of terrain! Hole 4 is very fun - throwing across the width of the park. 12 downhill is a cool shot. 13 is throwing across the valley again in a different area.

Nice reward for taking a risk on most holes, but the penalty for a bad miss is high.
Cons: A couple of holes are boring (1 and 9) but just a couple, and those had some obstacles to make up for it - partially.
Other Thoughts: Looks like a new hole 11 added. That puts the old #11 at the bottom of the hill, and subsequent holes off on the basket markings, the signs are correct, though.

Several chances to throw across the whole park (it is a narrow park).

If there were tee pads, I would have gone to 4.5.

My GPS did not want to take me to the right entrance - make sure you approach from Lincoln Ave.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.