Steubenville, OH 
Beatty Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: sidewinder22 Hole #3 (Taken 3/2014)
3 / 271ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Wooded Disc Golf

2-4    1/16/2010   9/14/2010
Review By: tistoude
Played: 166  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 6.4 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Located in a very nice, secluded park. The park itself is a little rundown but there are pavilions, a playground, great walking trail and a port-a-john.

Great use of available land. The course plays down a stream valley between two large hills. The front nine is more open* with less elevation changes* (*both relative). The back nine is very heavily wooded, with longer holes and larger elevation changes.

Great tunnel shots and lots of shots over/around the creek. Alot of the holes provide you with alot of choices on routes to take and there are very nice risk/reward shots. Errant throws are punished.

Great locals (Bill). There might not be a ton of them but they are always friendly and helpful. They provide the score cards and maps at hole #1
Cons: Bad tees. This course is not heavily funded and is maintained by just a few people so the tees are not able to be upgraded. As people have mentioned previously they are gravel which is never all that great but is better than throwing from mud ruts like some courses have.

I think it is hole #4 that crosses hole #1's fairway. Admittedly this course is never very busy so it is not really a factor but holes that cross are never a good idea.
Other Thoughts: I really had a good time at this course. It has a very high fun factor, and it has a very different feel to it than alot of other courses I have played. The fact that this very nice course was put in and maintained by about 4 or 5 guys is pretty impressive.

The hillsides are steep and can be a little treacherous (not a con) so be prepared. Also you will be crossing the creek a few times so if it has rained recently get ready to get your feet a little wet.

One last note: I would advise against playing the back 9 if there is more than an inch or so of snow on the ground since it becomes pretty dangerous.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great course in an area that needs it

1    4/10/2010   5/12/2010
Review By: Bikinimower
Played: 140  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 12.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It's a work out
Great use of available land
Really fun and interesting course
Some fantastic elevation changes
It's in an area (Ohio Valley) that filled with great land for Disc Golf. Also filled with nice people with not a lot to do. I think this is a good place to introduce Disc Golf
Cons: Not a lot of variety, Mostly hilly and wooded
Can be a little confusing to navigate
Gravel Tees, ouch. I hate Gravel Tees, they kill my knees
Footing can be a problem
This course will punish you on mis-throws
Other Thoughts: When I was getting ready to play the first hole, a Gentleman and his wife drove by. He stopped to introduce himself and wish me luck, said he helped design and maintain the park. He was very friendly and I was happy to met him

The course itself is almost entirely tight wooded shots up and down a very large hillside. That's not necessarily a bad thing depending on your preferences, I personally prefer it. Be ready to get your feet wet and be ready for a good hike. Make sure you have good footing because you can fall easily in the mud or loose dirt. There also seems to be a lot of old structure debris hidden around the area you don't want to fall into.

Power is not emphasized on this course, accuracy is much much more important. Tight and Technical

Hole number 11 is the best one. (I'm so predictable) It was about 200 feet straight down (and I mean straight down) a tight tunnel. I can honestly say I have never played a hole quite like it.

I'm a sucker for elevation changes and nature so this course was right up my alley. If your a local, it a must. And if you love road trips (like me) and you live within 4 hours of this place then I definitely would hit it up. Good job Stuebenville

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/5/2009   7/6/2009
Review By: thadon
Played: 33  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 9.6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Challenging Course that palys back and forth across a small stream with some major elevation changes. Offers some really unique holes as well as pin placements.
I particularly liked hole 11, plays straight down from at least 200ft up to pin nestled between sometrees on the creeks edge.

The back 9 is a hike!! You will go up and down the mountain at leas 2 or 3 times. Heavly wooded , and errant shots will just make you miserable, if not make you want to give up on looking for your disc.

Very Nice signage on all tees. Hole 8 is on the path with the sign attached to the bridge on right side.
Cons: Disc swallowing bushes, Some overlapping holes. Gravel tees...ouch!!
Other Thoughts: I happen to think this was a beautiful course. I am partially biased because Im a mountain guy. The par its self appears to be nestled between 2 very large mountains. Lots of nice scenery, Rock formations and cliffs line the right side of the park. You will find abandoned stone structures throughout the park. Stone tables are in several locations.From what i have been able to research this use to be a cemetery. If anybody has more info on the history of this park please message me.

There is a playground and some pavilions, along with a outhouse. Scorecards are availble at the start and have map on them as well. I would've posted the map on here, but i lost my scorecard.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 challenging course, even tougher hike

2-4    7/29/2008   7/31/2008
Review By: crandellfamily
Played: 26  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 10.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/8/2010
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of variety in the second nine layout. #10 is a very tight uphill to the stone foundation of an old house - kind of cool to find it there. 11 is a beautiful steep downhill to the edge of the creek. 13 makes a twisting slight downhill s-curve to the hole. 16 is another fun one near the creekbed, with a generous landing area to the right if you can start straight enough.

Lots of tactics to think through, but it's never an option to thoughtlessly rip a long drive.

Very clear and helpful tee signs. Be sure to check the "next tee" indicators on those signs. There's also some low-to-the-ground posts that help confirm the path from basket to tee.
Cons: A bit too much back and forth and up the road on the front nine. On the other hand, I liked the downhill drives on both 4 and 5.

No cement tees or multiple tees - lots of gravel tees make a run-up drive impractical. Same situation in 2010, as in 2008.

Lots of bugs along the water when I was there.

Huge walks from hole to tee - starting with the walk up the road to get to #8. Most of the back nine tees require a bit of a hike. You need a lot of time and energy to finish 18 - not to mention one more walk back up the road to the starting point.
Other Thoughts: The two nines are extremely different in challenge required - back nine took twice as long for me to play.

#14 is no longer a massive slog from the creek, straight up the hill. It now follows the trail, with the basket slightly uphill and to the right. Cuts down significantly on the walk to the tee, and keeps the score down a bit. I'm guessing it's close to 250 ft. now.

Tee for #8 is the middle of the road, and the best option for a shorter driver seems to be "keep it on the asphalt." I don't know the OOB rules for that one.

I talked with one of the course designers after my round. These guys deserve a lot of credit for making a good fun course. The park itself looked somewhat rundown - the course is the best thing that could happen to the area. It also sounds like they have some good local events set up.

Flight paths to the basket seemed a little clearer through the woods, compared to two years ago. There are still several holes are set up tight along the walking paths. There's no alternative to a controlled straight shot.

It's not too hard to lose a disc - 15 is one example. Hole placement invites a fade left, and it's downhill, so you could go a long way depending upon your luck with the trees. But anything short - straight or left - gets swallowed in extensive brush.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.