Norton Shores, MI 
Ross Park Share
Uploaded By: rshrevo Hole #7 (Taken 7/2010)
3 / --   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
I guess this counts as Disc Golf

1    8/31/2012   11/19/2013
Review By: B3NDER
Played: 94  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 9.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Not a fan of this course, but I'll try to rate it fairly-

The scenery itself isn't shabby, as the course sits back in a patch of woods, and definitely puts those woods to work.

Plenty of tight tunnel shots and dog-legs mixed in to keep your accuracy game on point. Very technical course with plenty of trees to taco your plastic.
- Variety in terms of shots is here (Not long bombers at all, but it covers shooting tunnels, left handed and right handed shots)


Basically brand new chainstar baskets, first season in use, nice and shiny with a good amount of grab.

The paths from basket to next tee are very "announced" and make navigation a snap, so that is a huge plus when you play a new course without a local.

Cons: Teepads barely existed, most holes had dirt little patches, with wooded strips that you could trip over if you weren't careful, then again you had to FIND them to fall over them.

Absolutely no signage at the pads to cover distance or lines (had to scout ahead a few times to figure out which way the basket was)

Course was flat as could be, no elevation change (Not a huge con, but a little "up and down" never hurts)

Pretty short overall, at only 9 holes. Probably best as a "Well I have time for a quick round on break" sorta deal here.

No real risk reward feeling here, unless you want to count "making it through that impossible tree jail" a reward....it's pretty straight forward what line you want to take, or face the iron leaf.
Other Thoughts: I think with some work this place could go from "bleaugh" to "meh" at the very least. I realize there isn't a whole lot of land to work with, and that's probably why it's only a 9 hole setup, but I think with a little tweaking of the lanes, the possibility for some new shots to open up would do this place some good.

As I said, this place is best suited as a "I have time for a quick round" scenario. I wouldn't go out of my way to play this course again, but a bad round of disc golf usually beats a "good" day at work.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Ross Park

5+    1/15/2013   1/15/2013
Review By: nickrockey
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I can be there in 5 minutes!
It's sort of tucked away, yet close to town. If you are looking to just get out for a few, this is perfect. If you are on the back of the course and need to leave asap, it's quick. Neat hole layouts. Will have you hone in on you details. Tight shots, dog-legs, tons of trees. Very easy to 'get in jail' so you need to pay attention.
Cons: Teepads are dirt, which is lame, but they could be worse. I play it often so I know it pretty good, but if you don't it's confusing to figure out where to go. Every old guy with a dog like to walk the fairways, so watch where you step.
Other Thoughts: Way better than nothing. Nice baskets. Lots of room to add on, I think The City of Norton Shores just needs to hear it for the people who play it! This course has alot of potential

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Baskets are in!!

1    8/31/2012   8/31/2012
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 243  Reviewed: 236  Exp: 4.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Aesthetic--plays through a multiuse park. other activities are not impacted by DG and vice versa

Baskets--nice new chainstars. Grippy.

Routing/nav--easy, trails are clear and easy to follow. not easy to get lost here

Variety--for a small park. it has it's bases covered. left, right, and straight.

Cons: teesigns-or the lack thereof

teepads--kick strips on 7 of 9 holes. pretty rutty and (loose) sandy.

only a 9-hole--but I don't think this course could support 18.

Risk v reward--none to speak of.

Elevation change--none to speak of

Blind holes--had to scout damn near every hole to figure out where the basket was.
Other Thoughts: this course isn't as bad as b3nder makes it sounds. I had fun.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Ross Park

2-4    11/25/2011   11/26/2011
Review By: alex.topspin.uganski
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice location. It is easily accessible.
Cons: The holes are poles instead of baskets, also the leaves are not well maintained. It is very difficult to find the next hole when so many leaves are covering everything.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Ross Park

2-4    5/1/2012   9/7/2010
Review By: rshrevo
Played: 38  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 18.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/15/2012
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: course has been redesigned to add more length and trees into the mix. the new layout makes it a lot more challenging then the old 70's style layout that they had. Just got word from the city of Norton Shores that Baskets are on the way for this year. they are still clearing some of the fairways. Concrete pads are not in this years plans but they are looking into it as well.
Cons: posts instead of baskets. but when the baskets arrive it won't be a con anymore. hole 1 post to where i believe hole 2 starts is a good distance away with no visual indication of which way to go that i could see. Hole 2 starts in my opinion up the path on the 3rd base side of the ball field near the big pile of dirt is where i started from. No indication of where the actual tee locations are. I did find some stakes and pounded them into the ground where i felt the tee box should be.
Other Thoughts: they do have someone working on the course improvements so it should be a lot better then what it used to be. i would be watchful as to where your disc lands due to the massive amount of leaves on the ground. hole 1, 2 and 9 are probably the longest holes on the course with a chance to drive a long drive. just be careful with 2 and 9 since you are throwing down a wooded path. I am trying to contact the parks department to help make small improvements to the course like tee post markers, tree limb lined pathways so you know which way to go to the next hole. just little things like that. but overall I think it is a lot better course then what it used to be.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/19/2012   4/28/2009
Review By: Mark R
Played: 84  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 12.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/20/2012
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: New nine hole course is in for 2012. The old course and posts are completely gone in favor of a new wooded course with holes 200-350 feet long, including new Chainstar baskets. Has some respectably challenging fairways, and is a big improvement over what had been the lowest rated course in the area.
Cons: Still only nine holes, with some other areas of the park available for golf not put to use. Poor dirt tees, tricky navigation (Holes 2, 3, 6 and 8 are hard to find). Hole 8 is an awkward right hand turn that could use some redesigning, with no real paths available.
Other Thoughts: Some work has gone in to clearing respectable fairways in a flat, wooded field between the border of the Muskegon Country Airport and Martin Rd. Course expands to the south and east of previous course. Character wise, it seems to be a flat, wooded course similar to Winstrom Park or some sections of Whitehall Township Park. Still not the top-notch park that the area still needs, but solid improvement over the previous course.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Ross park

1    5/30/2008   9/10/2008
Review By: DR.M
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.2 Years
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: there aren't any really its a god place to practice accuracy and precision but other then that nothing. good place to play if you are really bored and have nothing to do.
Cons: Short holes. takes only twenty min. to play if you play all nine twice. no baskets just poles.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Putt Putt

5/15/2008   5/16/2008
Review By: FoleyT
Played: 86  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 9.3 Years
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: If you've got limited time available and happen to be in the neighborhood, this is a good place to practice putting and approach shots. I managed to play 18 (twice through the course) in twenty minutes flat (I was the only person in the park at 5:00 on a Thursday afternoon)
Cons: Tiny little neglected course. Very short distances. You play from one pole to the next. Most holes are straight shots through the trees. Landscaping and upkeep look like they haven't been taken care of in a long time.
Other Thoughts: Directions listed on this site are misleading. There are multiple park entrances, and you need to take one more left turn at the end of Randall before you take the right turn into the parking lot.

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.