Fairfax Station, VA 
Burke Lake Park Share
Uploaded By: Giant Hole #4 (Taken 7/2010)
3 / 157ft.   3 / 210ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee Sign



Reviews: 42
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Course Near the Train Tracks

2-4    8/13/2012   8/17/2012
Review By: timbur3
Played: 75  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 7.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The signs and tee pads were great which is the first thing you notice when you walk up to the first tee. Easy to follow course. It has nice medium length holes that seem longer sometimes which is nice. The signs have the pars on there for you which is awesome.
Cons: The first 5 or 6 holes are right near the entrance to a kiddie train ride and an ice cream stand and a playground. So on a busy day ( like when we went) kids will wander on to the course and put sticks in the baskets which we had to remove and warn kids to get out of the way so they wouldn't get hit. But not to many course cons I can think of which is great.
Other Thoughts: The first few holes are very short but after hole 5 it gets a bit longer with some tougher drives to make the course more challenging. This course requires a good mid-range game and putting well will help get those birdies.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Fun little course

1    6/26/2012   6/27/2012
Review By: EdMcMuffin
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I really enjoyed the flow of this course. The signs were very well done (Full color, showed path to next hole, pegs showed which current hole was in use). There were plenty of ace possibilities, as a few holes were very short. Manditories were also well marked.
Cons: The biggest complaint I have with this course are the ultra-high tee pads (There were more than one occasion where I was sure I was going to fall off and twist my ankle). My other big complaints were the foot traffic around the course, how close each hole was to one another, and the amount of other players on the course. Not that a lot of players is a bad thing, but when the holes are that close to each other, you run the risk of hitting someone on another hole and visa versa. As for the foot traffic, the course is situated between a carousel, train, and trail. One hole was so close to the carousel that we got heckeled by the riders. The joggers with thier kids also made the way onto the course as they used it for a short cut to the train or ice cream shop. My last complaint is all the trash. For a public park, there were a ton of empty beer cans and no trash cans.
Other Thoughts: I know I rambled on with my complaints, and while there were a lot of them, this was still a fun & exciting course to bring a couple newcomers to. They had a great time and so did I !

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Train rides and ace runs!

1    10/28/2011   11/18/2011
Review By: tistoude
Played: 166  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 6.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was a fun, crazy little course.

First off you walk through a mini carnival to get to hole #1. There is an ice cream parlor, playground, bathrooms, miniature golf, vending machines, a train and a freakin carousel! This could be the easiest course ever to convince your wife and kids to come to so you can get a round in.

Next up you get to hole #1 and look at the tee sign which just happens to be "The Nicest Tee Sign Ever"! And there are 17 more of these little beauties out there. They are full color, accurate overviews of the hole (and surrounding area), with distance for all pin positions and tees and where the next tee is located. There is also peg hole to indicate which pin position it is currently in. These signs should be held up as shining examples of what disc golf tee signs can be. Of course after you look at the sweet tee sign you realize that the hole is like 140 ft long and a super easy deuce/ace runů

Burke Lake has a really nice progression to it. The course starts pretty easy with a lot of deuce opportunities on the front 9 but as you go along the holes become a little more difficult, the distance increases a bit, the elevation changes get a little bigger and the angles to pin are harder.

All but 2-3 holes are in thick woods but the fairways are easy to navigate and the underbrush is minimal. There is a good balance to the holes with maybe a slight edge to a gentle anny off the tee. Some good line shaping is necessary to get a shot at a deuce on most holes and the whole course places a nice emphasis on hitting your lines and touch shots. Even if you do get offline though the rough is pretty forgiving.

The Innova Disc Catchers are in great shape and are good to have since they are so visible in the thick woods. There are two concrete tees every hole with the "Advanced" tee adding some extra distance and usually a shifted starting angle.

Maintenance on the course is very good. The grass (what little there is) was mowed and there was very little debris on the course.

Navigation was very easy even without the tee signs telling you where the next tee is. There is a very good flow to the course that makes it easy to follow.

A very fun course with a lot to offer for all levels of players.
Cons: Busy. Even without the mini carnival in operation this course gets a good amount of play on it. On a weekday morning there were easily 10 groups playing. With the fairways so close together that means a lot of discs flying close by. There were also lots of joggers and pedestrians near the course (although I didn't see any non dgers on the course itself). You might run into back ups here and you definitely want to keep an eye out for other players.

Some of the tees had some pretty significant drop offs around them. A couple were 6 to 8 inches off the ground which can easily lead to turned ankles or falls.

Short and not terribly challenging. On this course it is unlikely that you will need to break out the drivers. If you can throw a controlled mid you should get a lot of deuce looks here. If you like to air out your plastic then this is not the course for you.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course that I can see has a good following with good reason.

There are lots of deuces available with a couple of good ace runs. I would love to take a beginner out on this course since it would be challenging for them without being discouraging.

It is always nice to have to other courses right down the road in Giles Run and Pohick Bay.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Winter at Burke Lake

5+    12/18/2010   12/20/2010
Review By: thanxmikey
Played: 48  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 21.6 Years
This review was updated on 1/19/2011
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Please keep in mind this round was played with 3 inches of snow on the ground. The tees boxes were not slippy at all. They are made of that coarse concrete that has a slight roughness to it. This helped with traction alot and although I could not use as much leg action in my throw it was close considering the conditions.

There were only two other groups of golfers so we had the whole course practically to ourselves.

The snow made it easy to find discs. The last few times we played here the leaves got thick so this was a nice treat.

Course in good shape.

Bathrooms are open in main house before hole # 1.
Cons: A lot of hikers on trails but not enough to impact throws.
Other Thoughts: I was elated to be out playing a game of golf on a brisk december day. temp was about 31 but no wind and a very nice day.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Starter

1    7/2/2010   7/5/2010
Review By: Gmasterandy
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: its a good starter course nice and wooded loved it that way great area for a family outing lots of stuff to do for families...not very changeling but has a few good holes
Cons: some of the pro teas are not very well marked but kinda figured it out as we went along...think there is to many people that just walk onto the course without starting from the beginning since the baskets are so close together so not a good idea to hit someone while they play the course when they just randomly walk and play any holes they want
Other Thoughts: there should be a box for score cards with the map on it at number 1 tea box or as u walk onto the course at 1

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 burke lake

5+    5/13/2010   5/13/2010
Review By: superphreak169
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 14.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: good starter course with a few technical holes from the long tee's. The park is well maintained they just mowed the fields again. There are only a few trash cans speckled trough out the course but people seem to be pretty good about keeping the park clean
Cons: lots and lots of people, you will have to wait on the tees for larger groups. watch out for people picking up discs on some of the longer holes when the park is busy if you shot is not on the fairway people seem to think its ok to just pick up your disc and walk away with it
Other Thoughts: fun coarse but get there early to avoid the crowds. watch out for people picking up discs if you can throw. some of the baskets are blind from the tee so if you can get you frisbee down near the basket you are right along the trail. I had a disc stolen by a runner on hole 2 last week.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 A is for Atmosphere

2-4    4/11/2010   4/11/2010
Review By: jrawk
Played: 81  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 5.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beyond friendly atmosphere makes this a down-right fun course. You can't possibly have a bad temper at Burke Lake. Everyone smiles! (See other thoughts section for details).

- Midrange shot-shaping course through woods with defined fairways. While all are short, nearly all holes are Dog Legs and scattered with trees. The straighter holes will benefit from overhand shots and rollers.
- Cement Tee Pads, two per hole, and well marked baskets.
- Easy to follow layout with accurate tee signs.
- Elevation Changes on every hole, however nothing extreme.
- Favorite hole: #16 is Dog Leg Right with a Mando in middle of fairway. The drive is a 200' up and down hill shot, finishing well right of the Mando behind a couple tree-stump obstacles.
Cons: No need for distance drivers. Even though some are longer, nothing feels beyond 260 even from the hard tees due to elevation changes.

- The holes marked Par 4 are too generous and are easily played in 3.
- The lake itself never comes into play, and there are no water hazards.
- Easy to hit a tree and ricochet on other fairways. On busy days you will need to be aware of other golfers.
- Entrance fee: $8.00 -- although worth it if staying for more than Disc Golf.
- Very busy park during good weather. Many pedestrians wondering fairways thinking they are hiking trails.
Other Thoughts: Friendly for entire family. $8.00 entrance fee is steep, but it will get you inside a fantastic community park with great features. Plan a day with your friends, family, or special someone and enjoy everything the park has to offer.

A 218-acre lake with fishing, boating, rowboat rental, camping, a miniature train, a carousel, outdoor volleyball courts, open fields, an 18-hole par 3 golf course, clubhouse with snack bar and driving range, horse shoe pits, an ice cream parlor, picnic areas with grills, 3 playgrounds, trails, amphitheater, and miniature golf course.

http://www.fairfaxcounty.gov/parks/burkelake/

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good but Crowded

5+    5/28/2009   5/31/2009
Review By: Lumberg
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 19.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 holes, new white tees added as of May 2009 to change up an old course, well maintained, free entrance with VA plates, lake scenery, trees that add challenge, close to home for me, good for beginners
Cons: fairly short course, takes longer on weekends, very popular for NOVA residents and crowded - families walk from carousel to lake right in your way and are clueless
Other Thoughts: where i grew up and learned to play...nice classic course

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 My first course

5+    9/12/2008   4/12/2009
Review By: tmahan
Played: 86  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 31.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Pretty setting by a lake. A few really nice tight shots like #3, #7, #14, #15 and #17. #18 is a nice closing hole. Some interesting technical holes like #13 and #16. Lots of other attractions in the park like boating, fishing, golf (and putt putt), attractions for kids like the mini-railroad and merry-go-round.
Cons: Course has been overtaken by advances in disc technology. Remember, it was installed in 1979.
Other Thoughts: This was the first course I ever played so it will always have a special place in my heart. I think I may have played over a 1000 rounds there, most of them from '83 - 89. Started with Super Pros until I saw Whamo 86's on sale in Bradlees. Back then disc technology hadn't advance to where it is today so it was pretty challenging. The course has been tweaked and lengthened over the years to add diificulty where at all possible. I think it's been stretched as much as possible, it'll take some more real estate (which is hard to come by) to stretch it any more.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.