Fairfax Station, VA 
Burke Lake Park Share
Uploaded By: Giant Hole #6 (Taken 7/2010)
3 / 180ft.   3 / 239ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee Sign



Reviews: 42
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Fun, tight course

5+    2/5/2013   11/11/2013
Review By: djros
Played: 29  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 4.2 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice park with good amenities near the first tee, including snack bar (closed in winter), a nice playground, and a kiddie train. Concrete tee pads and multiple basket positions per hole with long tees on a few of the holes. The signs here are excellent with nice diagrams of the holes and markers to indicate the current basket position and distances to each of the positions. While there isn't a ton of distance here, the fairways are tight, and require good accuracy with all of your shots to score well here. A few more open holes to allow you to open up and throw a nice long shot.
Cons: A few of the holes play a little close to some of the walkways in this park. The worst hole for this is #3, where you basically start your disc directly towards a path to have it come back to the fairway. I mostly played this course when it wasn't busy, and occasionally put my disc right on this path, which is a bad shot, but would still be a concern when the park is busy.
Other Thoughts: Regarding the other park users in the fairways, in the roughly 30+ times I've played this course, I've only had people hanging out in fairways a few times, and only once was it an unpleasant experience with a couple that chose to have their makeout session on a log in the middle of the 15th fairway. They looked like the type that would be confrontational about it, so I skipped the hole after waiting on the tee for a little bit. I rarely played this course at its busiest times, so I may not have experienced the worst of the park patrons. The few times I had families in the fairway, they were out of the way fast enough that it never bothered me. A couple of the long basket positions (15 and 16) should not be used anymore as they are in excessively thick trees, but fortunately they are rarely used basket positions.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Don't hit the kids!

5+    1/10/2013   1/29/2013
Review By: KevinTheRandom
Played: 18  Reviewed: 2
This review was updated on 3/30/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course for both beginners and experts!
Concrete tee boxes and detailed tee signs make for a great start.
They occasionally will change up the hole locations which keeps the course new and exciting every time you go.
Course layout is well thought out and maintained.
Lots of traffic on the course makes it easy to follow and difficult to lose discs.
Cons: My biggest complaint is the parents pushing their kids in strollers and moms having conversations in the middle of the fairways, totally oblivious to the fact that they are on a disc golf course. There are paths to get down to the lake, and the course is NOT one of them! The park needs to put up some signs at the entrance of the course to deter these clueless people or something.
Besides that, great course!
Other Thoughts: Vending machines in front of the concession building always steals my quarters!
There are bathrooms in the concession building.
During the summer, the concession building is staffed and they sell ice cream, food, drinks, and will give you a free water cup if you ask!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful course

1    7/15/2012   8/2/2012
Review By: FrisbeeFrogs
Played: 12  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Beautiful scenery, tees in good condition, nice signs, enough variation between different holes.
Cons: People not playing disc golf wandered occasionally to the fairways which caused some delay.
Other Thoughts: Being a Finnish player the Burke Lake Park was an exotic experience. Lots of beautiful scenery and very different flora and fauna.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Solid Course

1    10/28/2011   10/30/2011
Review By: lancesven
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.1 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The signs were great here. The course flowed really well and was easy to follow. There were pro and am tees on nearly every hole which made it more challenging.
Cons: There weren't many 4 holes and no 5 holes. It would have been nice to air it out on a few but a flick shot was always enough.
Other Thoughts: Some of the Pro tees were covered over a bit, so it didn't seem like they were played all the time. But always check to see if they are there, they make it a more enjoyable round.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Been Awhile.

5+    11/30/2008   11/30/2010
Review By: lxdawg25
Played: 32  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 10.1 Years
This review was updated on 10/24/2011
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It's been awhile since I played this course so if there is a new layout I haven't seen it. This was always a fun course to play. My wife (fiance) at the time lived close by to this course and it was always a great place to go play a round before I went to work. This course is slightly short but this doesn't mean it is by any means easy. The holes for the most part are densely wooded which forces you to be accurate instead of just having huge throws. Great flowing layout very easy to follow and navigate the course. I tended to play early in the morning and during weekdays and the crowds were rarely a factor. The length of this course made it great to play a quick round if you are in the area.
Cons: I do remember one weekend when I was trying to play and spent 10 minutes waiting for a family who's child had wandered away from the carousel. I really did not want to shot while the child was there but they were in no hurry to get off the fairway. During the fall months the leaves on the ground can be brutal for finding a disc that you know is sitting in the middle of the fairway
Other Thoughts: Sometimes they do try to charge you if there is a guard at the guard house and you do not have a local ID. I would usually give them my fiance's (wife now) address and just tell them I had not gotten ID changed they never really questioned me.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Great for casual player

1    7/31/2010   7/31/2010
Review By: dbertrand
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: As a casual player, this course is perfect for me. Holes are generally short and wooded, so accuracy is more important than length. New signs at every tee box with hole map & length are welcome addition. Also added some new hole placements.
Cons: Some holes are close to well used trail, so watch your errant throws. Also get the occasional oblivious park user wandering through.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  First & Favorite (So Far)

5+    7/29/2010   7/30/2010
Review By: TidBitWitIt
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There are all types of holes on this course, open and closed, long and short, blind and obvious. It's a beautiful cluster of fun.

You'll often see pro's out and about because of how fun this course is and how inconsistently difficult it can be.
Cons: During certain times of the year, some hole locations can get a little peculiar and ridonkulous --- as far as how deep in the woods they are.

Families sometimes obliviously walk through the course - on weekends mainly - that walk aimlessly and slowly, but yet, amazingly, straight down the middle of the fairway, staring at the people in front of them with strange plastic saucers in their hands.
Other Thoughts: I love this course, it's ace-able at times, it's perplexing at times, and yet it's almost always fair while playing all par 3's (except #15 when they reposition the hole mad deep in the woods). Conclusion, it's tough to just play one round.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Local Course

5+    9/17/2008   9/17/2008
Review By: heyraffaello
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Definitely my favorite course in the area. A good mix of terrain from woods, to open, to fairways covered in a large quartz formation (Hole 2) that stops discs cold if they get low (and it's a downhill course). Exceptionally well maintained, and heavily used so there are plenty of obstacles, but none you will lose a disc in.
Cons: Course is short, but when played as all Par-3 holes, and from the long tees, it can be challenging. On weekends, course gets crowded with families and beginner players, but that is not nearly the problem that angry soccer moms walking their kids down the fairways pose.
Other Thoughts: Very nice and interesting park. There is a carousel, ice cream parlor, and mini train for kids, a mini golf course, boating, and picnic areas. While I have never used any of the other activities at the park, they all appear to be well staffed and taken care of.

There is an $8.00 parking fee per car for non-county residents during the summer and on all weekends and holidays. I have been told that since Fairfax County has abolished property tax stickers for cars, you can remove your county sticker (with VA plates) and get waved through the gate. Haven't needed to try it, but I've heard it works.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.