Fairfax Station, VA 
Burke Lake Park Share
Uploaded By: Giant Hole #2 (Taken 7/2010)
3 / 160ft.   3 / 184ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee Sign



Reviews: 42
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Beautiful course

1    7/15/2012   8/2/2012
Review By: FrisbeeFrogs
Played: 12  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Beautiful scenery, tees in good condition, nice signs, enough variation between different holes.
Cons: People not playing disc golf wandered occasionally to the fairways which caused some delay.
Other Thoughts: Being a Finnish player the Burke Lake Park was an exotic experience. Lots of beautiful scenery and very different flora and fauna.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Fun little course

1    6/26/2012   6/27/2012
Review By: EdMcMuffin
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I really enjoyed the flow of this course. The signs were very well done (Full color, showed path to next hole, pegs showed which current hole was in use). There were plenty of ace possibilities, as a few holes were very short. Manditories were also well marked.
Cons: The biggest complaint I have with this course are the ultra-high tee pads (There were more than one occasion where I was sure I was going to fall off and twist my ankle). My other big complaints were the foot traffic around the course, how close each hole was to one another, and the amount of other players on the course. Not that a lot of players is a bad thing, but when the holes are that close to each other, you run the risk of hitting someone on another hole and visa versa. As for the foot traffic, the course is situated between a carousel, train, and trail. One hole was so close to the carousel that we got heckeled by the riders. The joggers with thier kids also made the way onto the course as they used it for a short cut to the train or ice cream shop. My last complaint is all the trash. For a public park, there were a ton of empty beer cans and no trash cans.
Other Thoughts: I know I rambled on with my complaints, and while there were a lot of them, this was still a fun & exciting course to bring a couple newcomers to. They had a great time and so did I !

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Vacation Disc Golf, loved it!

1    4/14/2012   4/14/2012
Review By: discgolfcrazy
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I would have never thought there would be a course here.

Uses lots of different shots. i had to use BH, FH, AND OH.

It is situated on a 888 acre lake with a merry go round and a small train.

Then, you step up to hole one and it is right across from the 7 hole, so you step onto the awesome concrete teepads and look at these beautiful tee signs. They have real pictures of the landscape and and the pictures of the different pins for each hole. the pins are marked with a screw that is in the specific hole on the sign. So you see all this and the hole is one of the easiest holes i have ever played, 146ft.I deuced the hole and the baskets were innove discatchers in nice shape.

The first 5 holes were my favorite holes on the course, elevation was good, lots of drops and easy deuces.

However, once you got to get to the back 9, it gets way more difficult. Hole 9 is a hole with 250ft, and lots of elevation and the basket is kind of tucked away in the woods. hole 10 and 11 are the only open holes on the course, and of course i manage to lose my black dyed monarch on hole 10, the most open hole on the course.

Then you cross the street and its back to the very tight, wooded area. On a couple holes i threw a fh and it skimmed past a tree but hit a tree right behind it -_-.

On 18, it shoots back around to the beginning of the course, and then on the way out you can get some ice cream!
Cons: very crowded!!! On the first 5 holes there is a jogging path with lots of people and children.

There also was lots of dgers and i had to wait for some guys from holes 10-18 and then there were some guys behind me waiting for me.

The fairways were very close together and i had to stop several times because im not the most accurate player and feared i might hit other people.

Also, there were people walking across the fairways on hole 1 and 2.

Costs $10 if your not a fairfax county resident( but when i rented a car with a virginia plate, I just said i had just moved here and didnt have any proof and they let me in for free.)
Other Thoughts: very beginner friendly and would love to come back. I got a 53, -2 :) next time i go and see my aunt i must come back on a weekday though because it was too crowded. I didnt get to actually see the shop, but i hear that there is a place where you can buy some discs, like 15-16 for champion. they only carry innova and nothing special, like kites and maybe a teebird. also if you have the time, the fishing was also really fun, i caught a bass and a couple catfish. :)

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Train rides and ace runs!

1    10/28/2011   11/18/2011
Review By: tistoude
Played: 166  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was a fun, crazy little course.

First off you walk through a mini carnival to get to hole #1. There is an ice cream parlor, playground, bathrooms, miniature golf, vending machines, a train and a freakin carousel! This could be the easiest course ever to convince your wife and kids to come to so you can get a round in.

Next up you get to hole #1 and look at the tee sign which just happens to be "The Nicest Tee Sign Ever"! And there are 17 more of these little beauties out there. They are full color, accurate overviews of the hole (and surrounding area), with distance for all pin positions and tees and where the next tee is located. There is also peg hole to indicate which pin position it is currently in. These signs should be held up as shining examples of what disc golf tee signs can be. Of course after you look at the sweet tee sign you realize that the hole is like 140 ft long and a super easy deuce/ace runů

Burke Lake has a really nice progression to it. The course starts pretty easy with a lot of deuce opportunities on the front 9 but as you go along the holes become a little more difficult, the distance increases a bit, the elevation changes get a little bigger and the angles to pin are harder.

All but 2-3 holes are in thick woods but the fairways are easy to navigate and the underbrush is minimal. There is a good balance to the holes with maybe a slight edge to a gentle anny off the tee. Some good line shaping is necessary to get a shot at a deuce on most holes and the whole course places a nice emphasis on hitting your lines and touch shots. Even if you do get offline though the rough is pretty forgiving.

The Innova Disc Catchers are in great shape and are good to have since they are so visible in the thick woods. There are two concrete tees every hole with the "Advanced" tee adding some extra distance and usually a shifted starting angle.

Maintenance on the course is very good. The grass (what little there is) was mowed and there was very little debris on the course.

Navigation was very easy even without the tee signs telling you where the next tee is. There is a very good flow to the course that makes it easy to follow.

A very fun course with a lot to offer for all levels of players.
Cons: Busy. Even without the mini carnival in operation this course gets a good amount of play on it. On a weekday morning there were easily 10 groups playing. With the fairways so close together that means a lot of discs flying close by. There were also lots of joggers and pedestrians near the course (although I didn't see any non dgers on the course itself). You might run into back ups here and you definitely want to keep an eye out for other players.

Some of the tees had some pretty significant drop offs around them. A couple were 6 to 8 inches off the ground which can easily lead to turned ankles or falls.

Short and not terribly challenging. On this course it is unlikely that you will need to break out the drivers. If you can throw a controlled mid you should get a lot of deuce looks here. If you like to air out your plastic then this is not the course for you.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course that I can see has a good following with good reason.

There are lots of deuces available with a couple of good ace runs. I would love to take a beginner out on this course since it would be challenging for them without being discouraging.

It is always nice to have to other courses right down the road in Giles Run and Pohick Bay.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Solid Course

1    10/28/2011   10/30/2011
Review By: lancesven
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.1 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The signs were great here. The course flowed really well and was easy to follow. There were pro and am tees on nearly every hole which made it more challenging.
Cons: There weren't many 4 holes and no 5 holes. It would have been nice to air it out on a few but a flick shot was always enough.
Other Thoughts: Some of the Pro tees were covered over a bit, so it didn't seem like they were played all the time. But always check to see if they are there, they make it a more enjoyable round.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Park

2-4    6/25/2011   9/14/2011
Review By: VaDGer
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.3 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great signs. Good mix of open and wooded holes.
Cons: Busy. A lot of other foot traffic through the course; dog walkers etc. I couldn't find any maps and I am sure I couldn't have navigated this course without help of a local player I joined. Fairly congested, long throws will put you in another fairway
Other Thoughts: This is a good recreational course. Other enjoyable things to do while in the park.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Obstacles Galore

2-4    3/10/2011   7/4/2011
Review By: Brent Renken
Played: 19  Reviewed: 9
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It's a course where you wouldn't think there would be one. It challenges you to make precision shots on 90% of the holes which is good for those with a soft touch and bad for those who like to let her rip with all they have. I like that there are a lot of tree's lined up directly in your path and that the mandatories make it near impossible to cut through the ruff but the short distances leave you in danger of overthrowing the basket if you do happen to get through. This, of course, is a part of the fun. Most of it is in the forest but there are a few holes that cross into open terrain designed to let you air it out. The holes are well marked and you're unlikely to lose your frisbee.
Cons: $8 fee. Heavily used course means your either waiting or passing through a lot. Errant throws easily wind up on other fairways since the holes are packed in so tight and there are walking paths right next to the baskets. The same reason you respect the tree obstacles leads you to hate them as well once you hit the point of wishing you could just chuck the disc out without the thunk that comes with the effort.
Other Thoughts: It's a great course to practice with a variety of discs and to test out various throws. The overhand throw came in handy more than once. Forehand and backhand throws were needed as well. It's a good course and you'll be happy you played it but it's not the best available in the area.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Winter at Burke Lake

5+    12/18/2010   12/20/2010
Review By: thanxmikey
Played: 48  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 21.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/19/2011
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Please keep in mind this round was played with 3 inches of snow on the ground. The tees boxes were not slippy at all. They are made of that coarse concrete that has a slight roughness to it. This helped with traction alot and although I could not use as much leg action in my throw it was close considering the conditions.

There were only two other groups of golfers so we had the whole course practically to ourselves.

The snow made it easy to find discs. The last few times we played here the leaves got thick so this was a nice treat.

Course in good shape.

Bathrooms are open in main house before hole # 1.
Cons: A lot of hikers on trails but not enough to impact throws.
Other Thoughts: I was elated to be out playing a game of golf on a brisk december day. temp was about 31 but no wind and a very nice day.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Been Awhile.

5+    11/30/2008   11/30/2010
Review By: lxdawg25
Played: 32  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 10.1 Years
This review was updated on 10/24/2011
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It's been awhile since I played this course so if there is a new layout I haven't seen it. This was always a fun course to play. My wife (fiance) at the time lived close by to this course and it was always a great place to go play a round before I went to work. This course is slightly short but this doesn't mean it is by any means easy. The holes for the most part are densely wooded which forces you to be accurate instead of just having huge throws. Great flowing layout very easy to follow and navigate the course. I tended to play early in the morning and during weekdays and the crowds were rarely a factor. The length of this course made it great to play a quick round if you are in the area.
Cons: I do remember one weekend when I was trying to play and spent 10 minutes waiting for a family who's child had wandered away from the carousel. I really did not want to shot while the child was there but they were in no hurry to get off the fairway. During the fall months the leaves on the ground can be brutal for finding a disc that you know is sitting in the middle of the fairway
Other Thoughts: Sometimes they do try to charge you if there is a guard at the guard house and you do not have a local ID. I would usually give them my fiance's (wife now) address and just tell them I had not gotten ID changed they never really questioned me.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 mini amusement park

1    11/21/2010   11/21/2010
Review By: prerube
Played: 204  Reviewed: 186  Exp: 7.1 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: the best part is the amenities: vending machines, restrooms, mini golf, ice cream parlor, Carousel, train rides, playground, etc.
Beautiful new tee signs that have a screw to mark basket location.
Concrete tee pads.
excellent place to introduce the sport.
Good Discatcher baskets
Cons: $8.00to get into the park
Holes are really short, 1/3 of the course is under 200 feet. Average hole is 217 feet. Longest hole is 293, so Drivers are not needed.
Course is crowded, pedestrians are often in dangerous areas and walk very close to baskets.
Other Thoughts: Course looks like it is a very family friendly place and disc golf is a side attraction. This course would be a place to bring the family and you can sneak away for 45 minutes to play and get back to your family, or introduce them to the sport here.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.